Right lads there has been no word on this game as its been very quite on here recently.
Missed the game myself. How did we play, was there many at it etc....?
Printable View
Right lads there has been no word on this game as its been very quite on here recently.
Missed the game myself. How did we play, was there many at it etc....?
Think official attendance was 420
We were the better side I thought and had more chances, dodgy handball?(didn't really see it) gave them a penalty and their goal....O'Leary was excellent....same old story with a bit of luck we would have beaten them
We were much the better team for most of the game, created a lot of chances and had 3 shouts for a peno (should have maybe got 1) Shels of course got theirs early and that was that really.
Thought Paddy's lack of complaint for the penalty was telling. From where I was standing, you coudn't tell what part of him made contact with the ball, but the shels fans were calling for it imediately, and the lino gave it without hesitation, and Paddy accepted it without a murmur.
After that, we had quite a lot of the ball and created some reasonable chances, especially with Bobby's freekick coming back off the post. In the second hald shels were better defensively, and apart from Jeffrey just failing to get enough on a cross, and a truly sensational save from Dean Delaney to deny Bobby (I think), we didn't come too close. In fact, one of their players missed a free header from about 8 yards out after a quick freekick.
All in all, we had 80+ minutes to get a goal and didn't, so i don't think we can say we were terribly unlucky.
Fair play to Shels, they brought maybe 75-100? And were in good voice throughout.
Thought we were a bit unlucky,a good crowd of 450 when you take into account that we were playing for pride.
On a side note can't make head nor tail of the few plonkers in the stand that spent most of the match shouting abuse at the visiting fans rather that shout for their team.
add into that a lot of people might have been keeping their dosh for the International rules the next night.
http://vimeo.com/channels/shelstv
shels footage from the game.
You could travel to outer Mongolia to support the team and that wouldn't give you the right to abuse other fans. It depends on what the abuse was of course but I had to edit the second post in this thread because of an example of what is unnecessary abuse. Banter is great, abuse is not and there should be no place for it.
We have never said what we are saying is in Limericks name its our own feelings.
God bless ye and your delicate ears if we ever get up and Rovers and Bohs come to town.
Its a soccer match every league in the world people get abused get used to it.