leaving out your own ground.whats your fav and your least fav grounds to visit and why??
Printable View
leaving out your own ground.whats your fav and your least fav grounds to visit and why??
Depends on the question.
The best is Tolka. Easily. Anybody who says anything else is saying it because they hate Shels. Worst was Whitehall. Haven't been to Pike Rovers but I believe its terrible.
Least favourite to visit is Dalymount. The Connaught st side is truely appalling. Favourite to visit would be Longford.
have to put richmond as my fav, simpley because its across the road from my apartment....worst.......finn park, not a nice place at all
Nothing to Kildare's ground, haven't been the Pike. Worst in the Premier is Drogheda - doesn't meet current standards, can't see how it can get a Licence. Belfield is a joke at the moment too.
Best probably Tolka or Turners Cross - seated capacity mainly though. Think Flancare looks okay, with 3 sides the same (soon to change though).
Favourites - Least Favourite definitely Belfield, a soul destroying place to watch football. Favourite Richmond Park - always a good, vocal Town support be it against Rovers (non-7pm kick offs) or Pats.
The worst i visited was Rathbane when Limerick played there. I doubt if Pike Rovers is much better. Best _-Tolka Park although Buckley Park is quite nice too.
Favourite place to visit is Longford but Dalymount or Cork are probably the best grounds. The view is pretty $hit from a lot of Tolka.
Least favourite place to visit is probably Bray (cold, no roof, annoying kids) but Whitehall is the worst ground I've been to by a distance although with Limerick and Athlone this year that might change!
(Swore I wouldn't comment on other people's opinions but...)
Dalymount is terrible. One great stand but the rest is poor seats on a bad terrace witha roof that covers less than half (School End), a car park, poorly put in seats on a crumbling terrace (Connaught St) and a delapitated terrace thats closed due to safety reasons (Shoppin Centre end)
:D I knew a Rovers or Pats fan would object! Yeah, the rest of the ground is pretty $hit but the Jodi is so far ahead of anything else in the league that it puts it up there. Half of Tolka is uncovered, the dug-outs block your view from a good chunk of the main stand and the poles in the Riverside block the view a lot so it's far from perfect too.Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge
I havent been to every ground so cant really comment, but, of where i have been Richmond would be my fav, purely on atmosphere, anytime ive been the place has had a great buzz around it + plus last league meeting between pats and us we stuffed them 4-1 :D Dayler would be 2nd. Dont like Tolka, or Finn Park.Quote:
Originally Posted by the 12 th man
But theres nothing like a day @ the Carlisle when the suns out ! (very rare thou !)
best ground is tolka or turners cross! favourite ground to visit would have to be richmond and tolka! worst Belfield and drogheda!!
just because of the atmosphere at our away games there mostly!!
A shameless plug for my own site but here goes
www.ifgrounds.com
Hey .... if it helps people decide !! :)
Why its my favourite. Has everything a stadium could need, except facilities...Quote:
Originally Posted by Hayser(the 2nd)
My Fav is Dalymount cause we won there friday night :D
Yeah, but we're talking about best ground, not best stand. Best stand in the league is the Jodi, but one stand doesn't make a decent ground. If you're going that way, Rovers will automatically have the best ground if they ever finish it - Tallaght has better facilities already than the Connaught Street side of Dalyer! ;)Quote:
Originally Posted by Schumi
Depends
Richmond because there is usually good craic there with the City fans and any Pats fans over the age of 14, pity about the place itself, the little knackers and the woeful security.
Dalymount becuase the Jodi is miles ahead of anything in the league, the security is very good (when City play there at least) and you can get cheap drink.
Longford if they threw a roof over some of the seats and got a bar under the stand (I think they are working on both of these?) would IMO be the best.
I think Derry would take issue with you over a statement like that. "A Grade" Licence and All....... :D :D :D :D :DQuote:
Originally Posted by Macy
but one stand doesn't make a decent ground.
the best stadium has got to be turners cross. the worst has got to be pike rovers although the sheep shaggers from ballyofey come close to limerick.
:D :D :D
Originally Posted by Sparkey
lads are yis that snappin that we have a UEFA "A" LicenseQuote:
I think Derry would take issue with you over a statement like that. "A Grade" Licence and All.......
I reckon most clubs would have got one if the closed over half the ground down in fairness