Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: best & worst e/l ground

250 Posts

best & worst e/l ground

leaving out your own ground.whats your fav and your least fav grounds to visit and why??

Depends on the question.

The best is Tolka. Easily. Anybody who says anything else is saying it because they hate Shels. Worst was Whitehall. Haven't been to Pike Rovers but I believe its terrible.

Least favourite to visit is Dalymount. The Connaught st side is truely appalling. Favourite to visit would be Longford.

have to put richmond as my fav, simpley because its across the road from my apartment....worst.......finn park, not a nice place at all
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Nothing to Kildare's ground, haven't been the Pike. Worst in the Premier is Drogheda - doesn't meet current standards, can't see how it can get a Licence. Belfield is a joke at the moment too.

Best probably Tolka or Turners Cross - seated capacity mainly though. Think Flancare looks okay, with 3 sides the same (soon to change though).

Favourites - Least Favourite definitely Belfield, a soul destroying place to watch football. Favourite Richmond Park - always a good, vocal Town support be it against Rovers (non-7pm kick offs) or Pats.

The worst i visited was Rathbane when Limerick played there. I doubt if Pike Rovers is much better. Best _-Tolka Park although Buckley Park is quite nice too.

Favourite place to visit is Longford but Dalymount or Cork are probably the best grounds. The view is pretty $hit from a lot of Tolka.

Least favourite place to visit is probably Bray (cold, no roof, annoying kids) but Whitehall is the worst ground I've been to by a distance although with Limerick and Athlone this year that might change!

(Swore I wouldn't comment on other people's opinions but...)

Dalymount is terrible. One great stand but the rest is poor seats on a bad terrace witha roof that covers less than half (School End), a car park, poorly put in seats on a crumbling terrace (Connaught St) and a delapitated terrace thats closed due to safety reasons (Shoppin Centre end)

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Dalymount is terrible. One great stand but the rest is poor seats on a bad terrace witha roof that covers less than half (School End), a car park, poorly put in seats on a crumbling terrace (Connaught St) and a delapitated terrace thats closed due to safety reasons (Shoppin Centre end)
    I knew a Rovers or Pats fan would object! Yeah, the rest of the ground is pretty $hit but the Jodi is so far ahead of anything else in the league that it puts it up there. Half of Tolka is uncovered, the dug-outs block your view from a good chunk of the main stand and the poles in the Riverside block the view a lot so it's far from perfect too.

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man
    leaving out your own ground.whats your fav and your least fav grounds to visit and why??
    I havent been to every ground so cant really comment, but, of where i have been Richmond would be my fav, purely on atmosphere, anytime ive been the place has had a great buzz around it + plus last league meeting between pats and us we stuffed them 4-1 Dayler would be 2nd. Dont like Tolka, or Finn Park.

But theres nothing like a day @ the Carlisle when the suns out ! (very rare thou !)

best ground is tolka or turners cross! favourite ground to visit would have to be richmond and tolka! worst Belfield and drogheda!!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

just because of the atmosphere at our away games there mostly!!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

A shameless plug for my own site but here goes

www.ifgrounds.com

Hey .... if it helps people decide !!
    Last edited by A face; 04/05/2004 at 1:49 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hayser(the 2nd)
    Can`t beleive Richmond is amoung peoples fave grounds
    Why its my favourite. Has everything a stadium could need, except facilities...

My Fav is Dalymount cause we won there friday night

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    Yeah, the rest of the ground is pretty $hit but the Jodi is so far ahead of anything else in the league that it puts it up there.
    Yeah, but we're talking about best ground, not best stand. Best stand in the league is the Jodi, but one stand doesn't make a decent ground. If you're going that way, Rovers will automatically have the best ground if they ever finish it - Tallaght has better facilities already than the Connaught Street side of Dalyer!

Depends

Richmond because there is usually good craic there with the City fans and any Pats fans over the age of 14, pity about the place itself, the little knackers and the woeful security.

Dalymount becuase the Jodi is miles ahead of anything in the league, the security is very good (when City play there at least) and you can get cheap drink.

Longford if they threw a roof over some of the seats and got a bar under the stand (I think they are working on both of these?) would IMO be the best.
    Oh no not them again

Originally Posted by Macy
    but one stand doesn't make a decent ground.
    I think Derry would take issue with you over a statement like that. "A Grade" Licence and All.......

the best stadium has got to be turners cross. the worst has got to be pike rovers although the sheep shaggers from ballyofey come close to limerick.

Originally Posted by Sparkey
    I think Derry would take issue with you over a statement like that. "A Grade" Licence and All.......
    lads are yis that snappin that we have a UEFA "A" License

I reckon most clubs would have got one if the closed over half the ground down in fairness

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast