X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Gary
    • Jun 2001

Worst Ever Cover Version??????

There have been a lot of dodgy cover version in the past. As im at home sick from work for the last week, Im tending to analyse everything to death. So here are the Covers I think are the greatest crimes against Music, almost in order.

1. Ronan Keatings “Fairytale Of New York” (okay, that’s the worst, the rest are random order).

2. Gareth Gates “Relight my Fire”

3. The new Version of “Aint Nobody” by Chake Khan, the gretaest disco track of all time ruined (anyone who was at the last Mor Disco in the Metroploe in 1999 will attest to that being played was one of the great moments of Cork clubbing history)

4. Madonnas “American Pie”

5. Robbie and the Ozzie one who was Married to Tom Cruise version of “Saying Something Stupid”

6. Jack Ls version of Kylies “Cant Get You Out Of My Head. Twas bad enough to begin with, why make it worse.

I sure theres more and there is worse, But I honestly think that Keating should be tried for murder for his attempt at that song.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.
  • Badweather Fan

je trouve bien avec cette declaration.

Originally posted by GWA
    1. Ronan Keatings “Fairytale Of New York” (okay, that’s the worst, the rest are random order).
    I sure theres more and there is worse, But I honestly think that Keating should be tried for murder for his attempt at that song.
    Fecking bang on.
    Thought of it the second i saw the thread title.
    Thats always on our p.a. in work and it can't be turned off.
    I get even more suicidal.
    Ronan Out!

Comment

• Schumi
      • Jun 2001

I never liked the original either but that version was appalling.

Comment

• Éanna
        • Jun 2001

Re: Worst Ever Cover Version??????

1. Ronan Keatings “Fairytale Of New York” and anything else he ever did- he murdered that Garth brooks song too.

2. Gareth Gates “Relight my Fire”

3. Madonnas “American Pie”

not gonna hurt my head by thinkin of any other ones.

Comment

• James
          • Dec 2001

Originally posted by Conor74
          Think that dire band that were big a few years back (Hootie and the Blowfish?) have done a number on Joni Mitchell's song about putting up a parking lot - which is ironic because Janet Jackson did a very good and unusual cover a few years back.
          that was Counting Crows NOT hootie an the fuppin blowfish
          life is random

Comment

• patsh
            • Jan 2002

Some crowd recently had a version of Neil Young's "After the Goldrush".
            That was fairly chronic......
            and yer man, Williams, his attempts at trying to pass himself off as a "crooner"..utterly appalling..

Comment

• Pauro 76
              • Jun 2001

Re: Worst Ever Cover Version??????

Originally posted by GWA
              Totally agree, what a f**k-up of a cover. All his songs are covers anyway, but that top the f**king lot.

heres one: All Saints ripping off Red Hot Chili Peppers "Under the Bridge", sacrilege!

Also that muppet Pop Idol winner Will Young, "Light My Fire" or "LIGHT MY FIAAAAARRRRGGGGGHHHHHH" as he pronounces it...
              'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Comment

• Pauro 76
                • Jun 2001

Originally posted by oddboy
                Some crowd recently had a version of Neil Young's "After the Goldrush".
                That was fairly chronic......
                and yer man, Williams, his attempts at trying to pass himself off as a "crooner"..utterly appalling..
                oh yeah that was Six, pure utter rot....

and i also heard that Russian lesbo duo, Tatu attempt a cover version of The Smiths "How Soon Is Now".... appalling, a bunch of stray cats would do a better version than that one....
                'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Comment

• Kickeroo
                  • Mar 2003

Originally posted by PAURO 7
                  oh yeah that was Six, pure utter rot....

and i also heard that Russian lesbo duo, Tatu attempt a cover version of The Smiths "How Soon Is Now".... appalling, a bunch of stray cats would do a better version than that one....
                  Well said!

Sixpence None the Richer seems to be the champs of cover songs over here, including covering the La's "There she goes" and now they butcher Crowded Houses' "Don't Dream It's Over " (not that is was a great song to begin with....)
                  official mascot of the USL-1 LEADING Richmond Kickers.

Comment

• Real ale Madrid
                    The Cheeto God
                    • Oct 2002

Originally posted by Conor74
                    Top of the pile would be

Christy Moore - Fairytale of New York. The greatest living chancer butchers another good song. And what's with using the word "poleis" instead of "police". Why didn't he through in a few "begobs" too...he did it in most other songs.

and

Christy Moore - Ride On. Mary Black did it so much better (the song, pervert, the song...)
                    Hey Conor, Leave Christy Moore alone the man is a living legend

Comment

• patsh
                      • Jan 2002

Originally posted by Kickeroo
                      Sixpence None the Richer
                      There exists a band with this name??
                      F*ck me, that even beats "Flux of Pink Indians"!!!!

Comment

• Bosco
                        • Feb 2003

Alan Partridge covered wonderwall the same time Oasis had it in the charts.It was obviously just Partridge messin around but it was fcukin awful
                        If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Comment

• Pauro 76
                          • Jun 2001

Originally posted by Bosco
                          Alan Partridge covered wonderwall the same time Oasis had it in the charts.It was obviously just Partridge messin around but it was fcukin awful
                          Dont think it was Partridge, it was this other cheesy listening chap called Mike Flowers Pops or something, no idea who he was....i heard it did even better in the charts than the actual Wonderwall, they were out round about the same time or something... but woeful cover version all the same!

Comment

• Badweather Fan

Ha ha it was Mike Flowerpops alright.
                            He also did Mr.Sandman.
                            Did better i think. Oasis was no.3 and he was top o d charts.

Comment

• Dricky
                              • Oct 2001

WOrst covers
                              Most you have listed
                              but the worst are all these R'nB songs (how it got the name R'n'B 'll never understand) taking mixes from every song and butchering it they are so unoriginal and are as bad as every reality/boy/girl band who are ripping off the songwriters with there covers.

Sheryl Crow's cover of Sweet Child O' Mine oh Sheryl you may be a ride but you murdered this one. O Sweet child of the blessed virgin
                              It's only just begun...............
                              If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

Comment

Working...