X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Green Tribe
    • Nov 2004

Eurovision Uberthread

Who do u think should represent Ireland in the Eurovision this year in the Ukraine? If we seriously want Ireland to win, The Henry Girls HAVE to go. Europe will fall for the traditional/instrumental theme and they are excellent singers. Pete Fagan, a guy with a guitar, this has not worked recently. Unfortunately, even if u have a good song/singer, u have to be quite lively and dramatic to win this contest. It kind of helps nowadays also to have plenty of continental neighbours and not be an island, preferably be one of the Balkan countries. I seriously hope the brother sister mcCauls(or something) don't go, they were shocking singing an elvis combination, it scared the sh*te out of me and monsieur Wogan would rip them apart.
    Henry girls- please vote for them

Forza Donegal!!!!!!!!
    Last edited by sligoman; 24/12/2005, 4:31 PM.
  • Hibs4Ever
    • Jul 2004

Watched it every year without fail. No more thought. The Eastern european countries are taking the p*ss with their voting. Although I won a fair few quid last 3 years betting that Greece and Cyprus would give each other 12 points. It's a banker this year too

Comment

• Babysis
      • Oct 2004

Was always an excuse for a huge session at uni. Load of us would stock up on a huge amount of cheap wine/beer and snacks and all pile into someones room. Watch it, get wasted, then head in to Brighton to carry on the night. happy days
      http://www.bebo.com/DaveL544

Comment

• Eire06
        • Jan 2005

haven't watched euro star yet this year but heard there was a good group with a harp and all.. ment to be the best of a bad bunch.. will have to tune in this weekend to see what the craic is...
        Is it true Jordan in goin for the english version??

Comment

• Peadar
          • Jun 2001

Originally posted by Eire06
          Is it true Jordan in goin for the english version??

She will have to battle it out with five other hopefuls in a live TV Eurovision Vote on the BBC's show Make Your Mind Up on March 5th

Comment

• Jim Smith
            • Jun 2001

Originally posted by Eire06
            l.. ment to be the best of a bad bunch..
            It a master-stroke by RTE:

1) People are strangely sucked into watching cheap rubbish - I'm as guilty as everyone else.
            2) I'm pretty sure that they will get a cut of the phone revenue.
            3) They don't have to worry about the financial implications of actually winning the thing.

All they are short of are the deluded fools that pop up on American Idol and the show would be complete
            don't worry, they couldn't hit an elephant at this dis......

Comment

• Maz
              • Mar 2003

Loved the Eurovision when we used to win! The year the Quinn girl won it, everything seemed to go down hill. You're a Star is muck, people are voting for who they know and who they fancy. Its not about singing any more, its a stage show (just look at last years). If you're willing to spend money on costumes etc then grand you have a chance but not with one man and his guitar or girls with violins.
              The best of a bad lot is the McCauls, they have talent but just not the full package.
              Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Comment

• Lionel Ritchie
                • Nov 2003

Hope we never win it again, hope we finish last and don't qualify for the next one, am generally embarrassed (mercifully rare occasions now) when we do well and wouldn't have Ireland involved if it were up to me. Have watched the voting in the past -just til I'm sure Ireland are dead in the water and then tune out. Shameful waste of money.
                " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Comment

• mypost
                  • Dec 2004

Originally posted by kerr's tribe
                  Who do u think should represent Ireland in the Eurovision this year in the Ukraine? If we seriously want Ireland to win, The Henry Girls HAVE to go. Europe will fall for the traditional/instrumental theme and they are excellent singers. Pete Fagan, a guy with a guitar, this has not worked recently. Unfortunately, even if u have a good song/singer, u have to be quite lively and dramatic to win this contest. It kind of helps nowadays also to have plenty of continental neighbours and not be an island, preferably be one of the Balkan countries. I seriously hope the brother sister mcCauls(or something) don't go, they were shocking singing an elvis combination, it scared the sh*te out of me and monsieur Wogan would rip them apart.
                  Henry girls- please vote for them
                  RTE promised us a different take on YAS this year, and what did we get? The same format as before, with schoolkids voting for their local representative in the show. The special show, where the public could choose the Eurovision song after the performer was selected, has been cancelled.

Only 10 countries in the ESC semi-final, qualify for the ESC final, and as we're up against all the Balkan, and Baltic countries who vote for their neighbours, it will take a great song, and performance from our ESC performers in the semi-final to have any chance of making the final 2 nights later. I think if we send the brother and sister, with Jade as the backing dancers, and an upbeat, vibrant, pop song with good choreography, it may make an impression on European televoters. That's what you need to do well in Eurovision now.

And RTE, whatever you do, don't even attempt to ask anyone to write slow ballads for the YAS winner to sing in ESC this year. If we send a ballad to Eurovision after last year's disaster, noone in Europe will vote for us.
                  NL 1st Division Champions 2006
                  NL Premier Division Champions 2010
                  NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Comment

• Pauro 76
                    • Jun 2001

Ah sure the Eurovision is a bit of craic... thought we were relegated for a year cos we finished so badly though? We've got it wrong for the last two years, guys with guitars and white suits just do not work, what the European audiences seem to demand is the tackiest show for 3 minutes with as much as flesh displayed as possible!!! Have to say love Terry Wogan's commentary on it though on the Beeb.... Apparantly Australia covered the event one year with Wogan commentating from a BBC link, they did their own link the next year and they were so ****ed off they wanted that "sarky Irish bloke" back doing commentary!!!
                    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Comment

• Lionel Ritchie
                      • Nov 2003

Originally posted by Conor74
                      Not so sure about that. I know it costs RTE a fortune, but to advertise a country across every major station in Europe for a few hours on a night would cost a lot more. When you think how much Riverdance made out of it, it's pretty cheap, only problem is that was a private venture. It's a bit like the Olympics on a miniature scale, economically it's not viable, but you'll never commend the attention of an international audience by pumping money into Fair City....
                      For what purpose? Tourism? Because the tourism dividend thing (How many of you scratched yeer chins after Latvia won and said "y'know Latvia might be nice this summer") is one of the biggest lies foisted on this country down the years regarding the exchequer flushing money into our participation in Eurovision -which as you rightly point out -benefits only private individuals or enterprises -be they Riverdance or that witch Linda Martin moving up a rung from from pub gigs and wedding receptions to corporate do's.
                      " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Comment

• town73
                        • Jan 2004

The only way to watch Eurovision is to do a sweep in the pub. Great excuse.
                        www.longfordrugby.com

Comment

• Green Tribe
                          • Nov 2004

enjoying all the comments to my thread, yes indeed, to win the grand trophy, u have to jump around(preferably being a flesh-revealing human who is easy on the eye) and be dramatic and repeat the same line all the time. shame! i think the rules should state the countries must sing in their own language( countries such as belgium or switzerland can choose one of theirs) and i would love to see more traditional music(instrumental) from each country(uk would be lost ) the fact that a lot of the countries sing in english(sometimes with a dodgy accent) ruins it, some languages are beautiful sung(spanish, russian etc) i have been listening to some of the already selected songs , not too bad some of them, but Albania takes the biscuit, it is shocking, Bulgaria is really westernized boy-band and cyprus is a copycat hilarious version of the greek entry last year. actually turkey's song reminds me of the ukraine's winning song last year, but the singer is better than ukraine.i heard jordan singing, jaysus, not good at all! ok...u are all sleeping now......sorry

Comment

• Green Tribe
                            • Nov 2004

they are jade, they are still in it. two sets of sisters, i think the henry girls are better though. more likely to win. if u check on the rte website look for you're a star, u can listen to their songs, read about it.

Comment

• CollegeTillIDie
                              • Jan 2003

Originally posted by mypost
                              RTE promised us a different take on YAS this year, and what did we get? The same format as before, with schoolkids voting for their local representative in the show. The special show, where the public could choose the Eurovision song after the performer was selected, has been cancelled.

Only 10 countries in the ESC semi-final, qualify for the ESC final, and as we're up against all the Balkan, and Baltic countries who vote for their neighbours, it will take a great song, and performance from our ESC performers in the semi-final to have any chance of making the final 2 nights later. I think if we send the brother and sister, with Jade as the backing dancers, and an upbeat, vibrant, pop song with good choreography, it may make an impression on European televoters. That's what you need to do well in Eurovision now.

And RTE, whatever you do, don't even attempt to ask anyone to write slow ballads for the YAS winner to sing in ESC this year. If we send a ballad to Eurovision after last year's disaster, noone in Europe will vote for us.
                              As regards last year's entry even the songwriter Brian McFadden said the song was not very good. Enough said. If you pick a poor song with no dramatics you're screwed. Given that it is Eurovision you have to expect a poor quality of song. However the song poor and all as it may be has to have a selling point.

What we need to even reach the final this year would be something with a rap bit in Irish in the middle of it

Comment

Working...