RTEs Obsession With The State Pathologist?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Lionel Ritchie
    • Nov 2003

RTEs Obsession With The State Pathologist?

Another day another murder.
    Some lad in Dublin was killed last night and, while I haven't seen an RTE TV news bulletin yet, I'll take any bets their coverage includes footage of Marie Cassidy getting out of her car (showed the reg plate and all at least once). Is there any good reason for this as it seems kind of reckless? We know the state pathologist goes to murder scenes. Do they have to tell us every time and worse again show the woman -whose evidence I assume is going to be crucial in securing a conviction? No other news broadaster I know of does this.

Are they actually trying to get her whacked or is this just an RTE quirk (like not giving out LOI first division results)?
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"
  • dahamsta
    Director
    • May 2001

While you have a point, they did the exact same thing with John Harbison and it didn't get him killed.

Comment

• Monkfish
      Suspended
      • Jul 2003

Originally posted by dahamsta
      While you have a point, they did the exact same thing with John Harbison and it didn't get him killed.
      Whos to say it wont get her killed? Johnny never went make making smart anti-Limerick comments in Mayo, maybe some proud Limerick gun toating loon might see her one day...............maybe not.

Comment

• Lionel Ritchie
        • Nov 2003

Originally posted by dahamsta
        Fair comment ...though John Harbison pleaded for an assistant (and got Marie Cassidy hired) in case anything happened to him exactly because there was any number of cases that were going to be relying on evidence gathered by him to secure convictions. In that context where so much depends on so few it does seem reckless and feckless to keep pumping the profiles of the crucial individuals involved.

I read on Aertel it was Marie Cassidys assistant who went to todays scene ...which again had me wondering "do we actually need to know that?". Don't get me wrong I'm not advocating a police state where people are convicted by faceless, nameless individuals fully kitted out in trenchcoats, crombies and shades ...just a bit of basic cop on.
        " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Comment

• dahamsta
          Director
          • May 2001

Don't get me wrong either, I think RTE are morons for doing it, I was just making a point. RTE newsies are a bit thick sometimes.

Comment

• pineapple stu
            Biased against YOUR club
            • Aug 2002

I can only assume that she hasn't complained about it herself yet, so it can't be a particular threat or anything.

Comment

• Lionel Ritchie
              • Nov 2003

I can only assume that she hasn't complained about it herself yet, so it can't be a particular threat or anything
              At the same time security isn't her bag ...she's a pathologist and she shouldn't haveto be complaining.
              I wonder has the topic ever come up at any level in RTE -editorial, sub-editorial... I know a couple of people in RTE -might be worth an e-mail just to see what they say.

Incidently - saw an RTE bulletin earlier with footage from the crime scene. Marie Cassidys assistant must've popped out of a man-hole because he/she was conspicuous by his/her absence. Proper order too.

Comment

• pineapple stu
                Biased against YOUR club
                • Aug 2002

No, but if she had an issue with it, you'd have to imagine she'd have raised the issue a long time ago.

Comment

• Vitruvian Man
                  • Jul 2005

It's a grim murder in some sinkhole in Darndale or Moy Ross, RTE need a bit of glamour to keep people form switching over to American Idol.

Come on... Dr. Marie Cassidy... I would.
                  Cogito ergo Bohs

Comment

• Monkfish
                    Suspended
                    • Jul 2003

Originally posted by Vitruvian Man
                    It's a grim murder in some sinkhole in Darndale or Moy Ross, RTE need a bit of glamour to keep people form switching over to American Idol.

Thats Moyross, and the view of the Clare hills from there on a frosty January morning is a sight to behold.

Comment

• CollegeTillIDie
                      • Jan 2003

The camera loves her or something.Plus not featuring First Division results or information is also a quirk of the Irish Times ( no longer the paper of record on that basis alone )

Comment

• Raheny Red
                        • Oct 2005

Originally posted by Vitruvian Man

Agreed
                        Who Cares?!

Comment

• Dr.Nightdub
                          • Jun 2001

Woah dudes. That's only one step away from necrophilia.
                          Revenge for 2002

Comment

• kingdom hoop
                            • Dec 2006

Originally posted by Dr.Nightdub
                            Woah dudes. That's only one step away from necrophilia.
                            And often knakrophilia too I guess

Comment

• kingdom hoop
                              • Dec 2006

Originally posted by kingdom hoop
                              And often knakrophilia too I guess
                              Sh!te, it was a bit late to come up with a quip obviously. sorry dr.nightdub for associating your great witticism with the nonsensical comment above. what was I thinking Marie Cassidy has sex with knackers? Doh!

Comment

Working...