• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Lionel Ritchie
    • Nov 2003

Originally posted by pete
    Definitely a traveller so.
    In that case from now on you may call me by Sham name "Hatchet".

Lionel Hatchet Ritchie. Now there's a name you're not likely to see on a motor insurance form.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Comment

• Superhoops
      • Sep 2004

Definitely a traveller so.
      Only definite if no tax and insurance
      Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Comment

• hamish
        • Dec 2004

Originally posted by paul_oshea
        hamish please correct me if im wrong, but you are referring to tinkers ( from the 60s/70s? )there in your above post and not gypsies/travellers, there is quite a subtle difference between the two.
        Hi POS - I suppose they were called Tinkers then as far as I can remember.

There is a settled traveller family just about a 100 yards up from my house. They're well liked and not regarded as "them", if you follow me, just good neighbours.

I can admit now that there were some lovely girls in that famlly and, boy, did they dress real sexy.

In fact, I can admit now**, that I actually went out with one of them about 20 years ago for a few dates. She was blonde and great craic. I met her through other lady friends - we all mixed together and there was no "us" and "her" TBH.

It kinda fizzled out when, dropping her home one night, she said, "My boy friend (husband to be) would kill you if he what we were up to"

Hamish say, "me no snob".

God, she was hot.

**Admit now 'cos she no longer lives around here - married for years now in some other part of the country.

Hope Bubbles doesn't read this 'cos I'll get such a slagging.

Comment

• hamish
          • Dec 2004

Originally posted by Lionel Ritchie
          As I spent most of my 20's in the back of a van* on the highways and byways of Ireland and the UK ...do I count as a traveller? Am I now a settled traveller? Did the fact I sold CDs on these travels help? Does the fact they weren't counterfeit not help?

*Just a van -couldn't afford a Caravan.

Oooooooooooooooooooooooooooo phuck

Lionel

You didn't marry a gorgeous blonde bird about 12 to 15 years ago??

Comment

• Snoop Drog
            • Mar 2005

Originally posted by tiktok
            Racism? Yeah, Gareth hates the Irish, he always has

Love the way you implied travellers are the ''lowest members of society" while you're busy lecturing others on their attitudes.
            Congrats tiktok on totally missing the point. Surely you understand what I mean by "lowest members of society"??? If not, replace it with the phrase "those on the fringes of our society".

Comment

• Dodge
              Now with extra sauce!
              • Jun 2001

Just to go off topic a bit but i find it insulting when travellers refer to me as a "settled person". To the best of my knowledge i have never been unsettled.
              So you admit you've never been unsettled, and therefore must be settled, and are insulted by being called settled. How strange....

Comment

• paul_oshea
                • Apr 2005

well snoop drog, i havent been able to find it on the internet but growing up i was always led to beleive by my parents/neighbours/auld ones in general that tinkers, were those displaced from the famine, they would come to town do odd jobs/makes buckets and sell them on, and if they ever called to the door they would be fed and watered etc, where as gypsies were those that came from around the 15/16th century and were generally more frowned upon, beleived to be displaced during cromwellian times. However i havent been able to back this up on the internet/though anyone who led me to beleive this doenst know how to use the internet!!! and at the end of the day the internet is a knowledge base created by man!

Comment

• tiktok
                  • Feb 2003

Originally posted by Snoop Drog
                  Congrats tiktok on totally missing the point. Surely you understand what I mean by "lowest members of society"??? If not, replace it with the phrase "those on the fringes of our society".
                  What I understand by someone using the phrase "lowest members of society" is that the person is using this to describe a group that they look down on (patronisingly in your case as you tell stories about how your family has looked after the poor traveller for generations) and that they don't consider that group at 'their own level' within the society the're discussing.

You're giving out sh!t to people on here for their opinions, callign them racist ffs, then you go and call travellers the "lowest members of society".

Your quote was, "heard once that you should judge a society on how they treat the lowest memers of that society". The way we treat travellers reflects poorlly on the Land of a Thousand Welcomes

Whatever you claim you meant, If you're going to chastise people for a phrase or opinion, at least don't be so hypocritical as to share it with them while you reply.
                  Last edited by tiktok; 23/11/2005, 10:57 AM.
                  Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Comment

• Lionel Ritchie
                    • Nov 2003

Originally posted by sirhamish
                    Oooooooooooooooooooooooooooo phuck

You didn't marry a gorgeous blonde bird about 12 to 15 years ago??

you're safe enough hamish. The only girl of traveller stock I ever went out with had jet black hair. Though that was about 13 yrs ago.

...Fit is too small a word for it.
                    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Comment

• hamish
                      • Dec 2004

Originally posted by Lionel Ritchie
                      you're safe enough hamish. The only girl of traveller stock I ever went out with had jet black hair. Though that was about 13 yrs ago.

...Fit is too small a word for it.

Whew!!! --- to the first three sentences.

Very true, very true to the last sentence. When you mentioned you safe enough, you aren't the blonde beor's brother KF? Can't remember if she had brothers then I wouldn't be watching them anyway.
                      Last edited by hamish; 23/11/2005, 1:20 PM.

Comment

• Snoop Drog
                        • Mar 2005

Originally posted by paul_oshea
                        well snoop drog, i havent been able to find it on the internet but growing up i was always led to beleive by my parents/neighbours/auld ones in general that tinkers, were those displaced from the famine, they would come to town do odd jobs/makes buckets and sell them on, and if they ever called to the door they would be fed and watered etc, where as gypsies were those that came from around the 15/16th century and were generally more frowned upon, beleived to be displaced during cromwellian times. However i havent been able to back this up on the internet/though anyone who led me to beleive this doenst know how to use the internet!!! and at the end of the day the internet is a knowledge base created by man!
                        That makes sense in a way though p_o's so you could be right. That hasn't been my experience but what you say does make some sense.

Comment

• Snoop Drog
                          • Mar 2005

Originally posted by tiktok
                          What I understand by someone using the phrase "lowest members of society" is that the person is using this to describe a group that they look down on (patronisingly in your case as you tell stories about how your family has looked after the poor traveller for generations) and that they don't consider that group at 'their own level' within the society the're discussing.

You're giving out sh!t to people on here for their opinions, callign them racist ffs, then you go and call travellers the "lowest members of society".

Your quote was, "heard once that you should judge a society on how they treat the lowest memers of that society". The way we treat travellers reflects poorlly on the Land of a Thousand Welcomes

Whatever you claim you meant, If you're going to chastise people for a phrase or opinion, at least don't be so hypocritical as to share it with them while you reply.

tiktok, I have thought about this and I reckon what I said first time was right. "the lowest members of our society"- Lowest paid, lowest life expectancy, highest infant mortality (hey- something that's high!), looked "down" on by the rest of society in general.

But I suspect you know what I meant all along and you are just a cnut.

Comment

• tiktok
                            • Feb 2003

Originally posted by Snoop Drog
                            .....you are just a cnut.
                            Charming
                            Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Comment

• Gareth
                              • Feb 2005

Snoop Drog, from all the chatboards I know tiktok on he is far from being close to a cnut. He is also one of the fairest posters around. Your insulting the wrong lad. Even Shels Supporters like him and he's a Corkie
                              For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Comment

• paul_oshea
                                • Apr 2005

tiktok, i think he means you are BEING a cnut. not necessarily one! if ye get me

Comment

Working...