X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • DonegalHoop
    • Oct 2024

Dublin Ice Arena

This one looks a very interesting story. Proposal to build a 5000 seated ice arena in Cherrywood and house an EIHL ice hockey team. Looks like they are well down the planning route overall with some serious people and partners involved. Good article in the Times yesterday with the groups Chairman outlining some of the detail involved -

• EalingGreen
    • Aug 2006

"Meet the man trying to bring professional ice hockey to Ireland"

Er, I think Ms. Daly (journo) needs a geography lesson

The most up-to-date breaking Belfast Giants hockey news from the official source including interviews, announcements statistics, schedules and more.

Comment

• John83
      • Feb 2003

Originally posted by EalingGreen
      "Meet the man trying to bring professional ice hockey to Ireland"

Er, I think Ms. Daly (journo) needs a geography lesson

https://www.belfastgiants.com/news/p...-giants-060525
      I think you need a civics lesson, EalingGreen. I draw your attention to article 4 of the Constitution of Ireland.
      The electronic Irish Statute Book (eISB) comprises the Acts of the Oireachtas (Parliament), Statutory Instruments, Legislation Directory, Constitution and a limited number of pre-1922 Acts.
      You can't spell failure without FAI

Comment

• EalingGreen
        • Aug 2006

Originally posted by John83
        I think you need a civics lesson, EalingGreen. I draw your attention to article 4 of the Constitution of Ireland.
        https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/cons/en/
        Are you telling me that Belfast isn't in Ireland?

That headline clearly implies that yer man is trying to bring pro ice hockey to Ireland as if that was a new thing, yet the Giants had already done so years ago - a fact even acknowledged in the article itself further down!

What she/her sub-editor should have said was: "Meet the man trying to bring professional ice hockey to Dublin"

As for civics lessons, the state in which you reside may call itself whatever it likes, Gulf of America-style, but I'll still think of it this way:

(Incidentally written by Omagh's finest, Jimmy Kennedy )

Comment

• John83
          • Feb 2003

Are you telling me that Belfast isn't in Ireland?
          Is Buenos Aires an American city?
          You can't spell failure without FAI

Comment

• EalingGreen
            • Aug 2006

Originally posted by John83
            Is Buenos Aires an American city?
            Do you always answer a question with another one?

Comment

• ifk101
              • May 2003

the state in which you reside may call itself whatever it likes, Gulf of America-style, but I'll still think of it this way
              Oh look, orange men renaming the world as they please. Well I never, never, never.

Comment

• EalingGreen
                • Aug 2006

Originally posted by ifk101
                Oh look, orange men renaming the world as they please. Well I never, never, never.
                Er, I'm not the one saying Belfast isn't in Ireland, cos I'm pretty sure it is!

Though it seems John83 is still needing time to think. Does he need to phone a friend?

Comment

• seanfhear
                  • Dec 2007

Is there Real Giants playing for the Belfast Giants though ?

That is the real important question ?

Comment

• EalingGreen
                    • Aug 2006

Originally posted by seanfhear
                    Is there Real Giants playing for the Belfast Giants though ?

That is the real important question ?
                    Yes, they're absolutely massive - but only if you're very close up:

Last edited by EalingGreen; 13/05/2025, 9:24 PM.

Comment

• seanfhear
                      • Dec 2007

Yes, they're absolutely massive - but only if you're very close up:

https://c.tenor.com/f1Qbu1PwkOQAAAAd/tenor.gif
                      Ya definitely have to practice getting down that bean-stalk fast, and have a sharp axe an the bottom !

Comment

• EalingGreen
                        • Aug 2006

Originally posted by seanfhear
                        Ya definitely have to practice getting down that bean-stalk fast, and have a sharp axe an the bottom !
                        Wha?

Haven't I been trying to tell yiz all, they're Irish giants, not English ones!

Ye know, Finn McCool, Causeways and the likes...

I mean, what has Dublin got to offer against that?

Some oul biddy with a shiny chest, who smells of fish

Comment

• ifk101
                          • May 2003

Er, Giant's Causeway is not in Belfast. Geography is not your forte is it. Dublin can lay claim to the Eiffel Tower by that measure.

Comment

• seanfhear
                            • Dec 2007

Wha?

Haven't I been trying to tell yiz all, they're Irish giants, not English ones!

Ye know, Finn McCool, Causeways and the likes...

I mean, what has Dublin got to offer against that?

Some oul biddy with a shiny chest, who smells of fish
                            Manys the fella that was grateful for a good night with a Biddy, with a shiny chest ! !

Comment

• EalingGreen
                              • Aug 2006

Er, Giant's Causeway is not in Belfast.
                              It's a mere stone's throw away - literally in big Finn's case!

Besides, I omitted to mention Samson and Goliath:

Geography is not your forte is it. Dublin can lay claim to the Eiffel Tower by that measure.
                              Er, right. Good luck with that one....

Comment

Working...