Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Sean South
    • Apr 2007

It was far from enjoyable. There was no craic and in my humble opinion the Jinks is perfect the way it is, I wouldn't change it. Up there with Drogheda's away end.

Comment

• bullit
      • Mar 2010

Originally posted by Sean South
      It was far from enjoyable. There was no craic and in my humble opinion the Jinks is perfect the way it is, I wouldn't change it. Up there with Drogheda's away end.
      Have ya not made it down to Dundalk's away patch yet BUD? Bloody amateurs the lot off yee! "Come down once and don't come back MATE! " is the motto and we have no plans to change the situation anytime soon YIS...FreeeeekkkkSS **

*lol *JOKE

Comment

• redobit
        • Apr 2008

Originally posted by Sam_Heggy
        From what I can gather is, most Harps folk that were down were delighted at our work-rate, fitness and team shape against a good Sligo side.
        We have a very good 1st division side, had we went there and played Sligo off the pitch, Id be extremely surprised and to be honest, Sligo would seriously need to look at themselves if that happened.
        By the updates, there were plenty of chances in the second half, surely that adds to the excitement of a game?

on a side note, most Harps folk weren't happy at Peers taking out Ciaran Coll at the knee though (I didn't see it so just going by hear-say).
        It was a fair challenge right in front of your fans. I dont think the referee even gave a free kick for it. Granted is was full blooded and that can be the problem with friendlies in some ways, different teams (and players) show different levels of committment when there isint much to play for. Probably the reason why your fans enjoyed the game as your players seemed up for it and put in a decent performance. Our performance never really got going.
        Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
        Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
        Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Comment

• Neish
          • Apr 2004

Originally posted by Sam_Heggy
          on a side note, most Harps folk weren't happy at Peers taking out Ciaran Coll at the knee though (I didn't see it so just going by hear-say).
          IMO I don't think it was as bad as some people are making it out to be. Overly ambitious and maybe miss-timed would probably be the best way to describe it. I thought it was pretty bad at the time but on reflection if Wizzy or Cowan had made a similar tackle at Finn Park in a league game most wouldn't of passed much regard to it. That being said it was a friendly game and there wasn't much danger for Sligo a the time as the ball seemed to be going out of play
          54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
          Following Harps Home & Away
          https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

Comment

• Neish
            • Apr 2004

Originally posted by redobit
            Probably the reason why your fans enjoyed the game as your players seemed up for it and put in a decent performance. Our performance never really got going.
            I think your lot never got going as Harps did an excellent job of closing the Sligo players down and not giving them much chance to do anything
            54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
            Following Harps Home & Away
            https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

Comment

• redobit
              • Apr 2008

Originally posted by Neish
              I think your lot never got going as Harps did an excellent job of closing the Sligo players down and not giving them much chance to do anything
              Na, we were just shiite on the night.

Comment

• gormacha
                • Aug 2011

Na, we were just shiite on the night.
                Yes, but were ye shiite, or did Harps make ye look shiite?

Comment

• A face
                  • Jun 2001

Comment

• sligoman
                    Viva El Presidente!
                    • Sep 2004

Originally posted by nigel-harps1954
                    Point exactly to where I said there was good football.
                    What? You actually quoted two posts, neither of which mentioned anything about you saying there was good football

Anyway, not bothered arguing about the game anymore. It was a nothing game so not worth the effort.

Bigger game for us tonight. Rovers Vs. Ballinamallard. A lot of ex-Rovers involved there these days.

Comment

• Charlie Darwin
                      Banned. Children Banned. Grandchildren Banned. 3 Months.
                      • Jan 2010

Originally posted by sligoman
                      What? You actually quoted two posts, neither of which mentioned anything about you saying there was good football

Anyway, not bothered arguing about the game anymore. It was a nothing game so not worth the effort.

Bigger game for us tonight. Rovers Vs. Ballinamallard. A lot of ex-Rovers involved there these days.
                      That's needlessly condescending.

Comment

• sligoman
                        Viva El Presidente!
                        • Sep 2004

Originally posted by Charlie Darwin
                        That's needlessly condescending.
                        I mean it was a nothing game as in nothing really happened in it. But the Harps fans seemed happy with it and that's grand. We don't have to agree.

Tonight's game is bigger for us naturally, given the number of ex-Rovers players with them. No big deal.

Comment

• bluemovie
                          • Oct 2004

Thoroughly enjoyable game in Sligo tonight. Must say though, it's been a few years since I've been in the showgrounds, and I mistakenly thought they'd replaced the old s**t blue seats, only realising tonight that they're still the same ones that are falling apart. Forgotten how utterly crap the viewing is from the away part.
                          There's an away section now?

Comment

• nigel-harps1954
                            • Feb 2009

I'm actually glad we don't have to deal with Sligo fans on a regular basis.
                            https://linktr.ee/Boy.m5

Comment

• redobit
                              • Apr 2008

I'm actually glad we don't have to deal with Sligo fans on a regular basis.
                              Can ya not come up with a better excuse than that for being stuck in the first division.

Comment

• nigel-harps1954
                                • Feb 2009

Can ya not come up with a better excuse than that for being stuck in the first division.
                                I could come up with a million excuses to be honest. Still, shows how far along the 'Champions' have come along when they couldn't beat a lowly mid table first division side.
                                https://linktr.ee/Boy.m5

Comment

Working...