X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Harsh ref
    • Sep 2023

Personally for me and my experience 20 years in Aul finishing 3rd in the premier this year nothing to write home about teams in that division wouldn’t hold their own in premier A and that’s **** poor to worst Premier in years in my opinion Corkbeg village wanderers Glenthorn leaking 5 and 6 goals regular this year few years back all ten times were tough to get points off tbh standard of players is gone way down hill

Comment

• TurnTheFullback
      • Jan 2024

Agreed, they have a good year as they have only falling short compared to 2 teams that the rest of the league have behind for years so harsh to judge them on that , especially with college players and their window with the team being so small , hard to get a feel of the league in the first year and sneak out them results that would have them higher , newly promoted and 3rd , you’d take it.

Comment

• Harsh ref
        • Sep 2023

For me Jonny sets good standards excellent manager and sound bloke think personally he would honest say himself he’d be disappointed

Comment

• TurnTheFullback
          • Jan 2024

This is also true , hopefully with Castleview coming it , it adds another strong team to the league as it needs it. Personally would love to see Watergrasshill there as I feel they are more than capable to hang in the premier.

Comment

• The Goldfish
            • Sep 2023

Coachford and gratten are the bench mark for every team each season in the premier but people were saying ucc are gonna shake up the division well they were miles off it in my opinion frm them 2 teams so ill say again finishing 3rd is not a good season winning trophies is a great season all they done this season was talked the talk but couldn't back it up against the better sides

Comment

• goal-achio
              • Mar 2010

Who talked what talk?
              the ball is not a bomb........

Comment

• latte2012
                • Sep 2016

A lot of ye talk about relegation and promotion here like it actually means something in the AUl anymore. With teams folding, moving to MSL, reforming etc… the leagues are just made up in the summer with some teams being asked to move up a division or 2. I know there’s a few teams don’t even know if they’ll exist come the summer so relegation isn’t even a concern.

Also I noticed the comments about UCC having such a luxury of having so many players to choose from. That in itself brings its own problems. Nothing like having the same group of players playing together for years and then just adding 1 or 2 in the summer.

Comment

• Harsh ref
                  • Sep 2023

Totally agree latte blow inns and trophies hunter no good to any team solid base of regular and added few way better

Comment

• fruice
                    • Nov 2009

Originally posted by latte2012
                    A lot of ye talk about relegation and promotion here like it actually means something in the AUl anymore. With teams folding, moving to MSL, reforming etc… the leagues are just made up in the summer with some teams being asked to move up a division or 2. I know there’s a few teams don’t even know if they’ll exist come the summer so relegation isn’t even a concern.

Also I noticed the comments about UCC having such a luxury of having so many players to choose from. That in itself brings its own problems. Nothing like having the same group of players playing together for years and then just adding 1 or 2 in the summer.
                    And the point you make is a very valid one.

But unfortunately there is always going to be this element with AUL as you are dealing with teams not clubs there is no structure in a lot of the teams they are here today gone tomorrow or in sone cases they are somebody else tomorrow.

These teams are the down fall of the AUL and to be fair there is nothing that can really be done about it.

But any serious AUL side will have targets at the start of the season and ultimately that’s what defines whether a season is a success or not.

Comment

• Harsh ref
                      • Sep 2023

All eyes on Aoh this week lads think village Coachford for me

Comment

• Cityboy66
                        • Nov 2023

Should b two great games hoping to get down to the northside derby Sat can’t pick a winner in either weather meant to be good too makes for a great set of games

Comment

• Harsh ref
                          • Sep 2023

Be delighted if knocka did get through but think Billage just have the edge

Comment

• Jason Bourne
                            • Feb 2022

Criteria for acceptable into the senior league is basically, dose the senior league want you.

All this talk of underage this an that is utter nonsense.

The Aul teams who jumped ship and now bascially popullate the senior 2nd division had underage teams but no real strength in dept squad wise an it showed after a few seasons.

The senior league wants establised teams with the ability to continue season after season.

Stability is the key criteria.

Village or Knocka

Village.

Watergrasshill or Coachford

Coachford

But these games are never straight forward

Comment

• Harsh ref
                              • Sep 2023

Village v knocka be a battle what ever score ends up think we’ll have plenty challenges and cards

Comment

• Jd2793
                                • Jan 2016

Originally posted by Who?
                                Is it true castleview full senior team are dropping down the aul the best part of them did last year but full team is I'm hearing
                                id be very surprised if that was the case.

Comment

Working...