FAI Intermediate Cup 2008
Collapse
X
-
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com -
-
douglas should have enough of a squad to not miss 2 players that said can't see avondale giving up with out a fight could have all the makings of a great game,but i'll stick with douglas to squeeze through this
Bake em away ToysComment
-
Douglas Hall 1-1 Avondale Utd
Hall equalised in the very last minute so will be relieved they'll have their players back for the replay."Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.comComment
-
Rockmount 2-0 Belgrove
Tough day at the office for Rockmount, but in the end progress to the semis was attained by two good early goals and a solid defensive display from then on in. Excellent performance against a tough side. Robbie Deasy and Ross O Callaghan were the goal scorers, Deasy got the first. Happy days for the Mount lads.The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.Comment
-
Heard the interviews on the Big Red Bench last night, heard there was a touch of offside about the first and that it got a tad nasty near the end.
It was when the reporter asked Billy if despite the clubs success that when teams play them are they surprised by the long ball tactics as opposed to playing it on the deck?
Might be the last interview that lad gets
St Marys 1-1 Wayside Celtic
Wayside got a penalty in the dying minutes, heartbreak for Marys.
Still they live to fight another day.Last edited by razor; 03/03/2008, 9:36 AM."Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
-
Good weekend for the Cork sides. Pity about Marys, would've been a scalp. Was anyone at the game? I was impressed with Wayside when I saw them earlier this season so would be interesting to see how they faired. You have to fancy Wayside to win the replay though. Do Marys still have the bulk of the team that played in the premier division a few years ago? Mylod, Tomas etc?
What about the Avondale game? Who were the two suspended Hall players Razor? Who deserved it on the day?
Still a great chance of an all Cork final.
P.S. I am still amazed by the fact that Drogheda Town are still in the competition. They are a poor side and will probably get relegated from the LSL first division.Comment
-
I do believe Marys still have a few players but a lot of youngsters too, Deccie Daly was out training with them last week but as their manager Malcolm Stokes said on the radio they are still a First Division side.Good weekend for the Cork sides. Pity about Marys, would've been a scalp. Was anyone at the game? I was impressed with Wayside when I saw them earlier this season so would be interesting to see how they faired. You have to fancy Wayside to win the replay though. Do Marys still have the bulk of the team that played in the premier division a few years ago? Mylod, Tomas etc?
What about the Avondale game? Who were the two suspended Hall players Razor? Who deserved it on the day?
Still a great chance of an all Cork final.
P.S. I am still amazed by the fact that Drogheda Town are still in the competition. They are a poor side and will probably get relegated from the LSL first division.
Didn't make any games over the weekend but my sources tell me that Hall were lucky.
Bangor Celtic 0-0 Drogheda Town was the final result from the weekend."Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
-
Heard the interviews on the Big Red Bench last night, heard there was a touch of offside about the first and that it got a tad nasty near the end.
It was when the reporter asked Billy if despite the clubs success that when teams play them are they surprised by the long ball tactics as opposed to playing it on the deck?
Might be the last interview that lad gets
St Marys 1-1 Wayside Celtic
Wayside got a penalty in the dying minutes, heartbreak for Marys.
Still they live to fight another day.
Alan Weldon was coming out and didn't go near the ball, that's not offside anymore - Deasy broke onto ball well onside. Rules changed a few years ago, they may not have reached Dale yet as Caulfield has his own set of rules...
The Dubs got frustrated with only being able to create one shot on goal and became increasingly dirty, one was sent off another should have gone for a straight red also.
Rockmount can play whatever game is necessary to beat the opposition no matter how limited they are. If teams want to slug it out they can try it or if they want to come and play ball they can. I find we never shirk either way of playing and if needs must we will adjust to any type of tactics. If sore losers or bad journos want to dress it up that we weren't as fluent as Arsenal or Barca then thats up to them. The day I see a team come to Rockmount Park to play ball is the day I see us tear a team apart for fun.
See you Sunday eh?The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.Comment
-
Very defensive, you I mean.Rockmount can play whatever game is necessary to beat the opposition no matter how limited they are. If teams want to slug it out they can try it or if they want to come and play ball they can. I find we never shirk either way of playing and if needs must we will adjust to any type of tactics. If sore losers or bad journos want to dress it up that we weren't as fluent as Arsenal or Barca then thats up to them. The day I see a team come to Rockmount Park to play ball is the day I see us tear a team apart for fun.
See you Sunday eh?
It wasn't meant as an attack Cliffy, just sayin what I heard.
In fairness Billy reacted well to the question, saying that with a player of Ross height it'd be a shame not to use it.
I haven't seen Rockmount recently so I can't say myself but from reports I hear that Willie has been the outstanding player for Mount, pity he didn't do the business at City.
Lovely lad too.
Any truth in the rumours that some of the Behind the Goal Brigade (Mount OAPs) were after a fee for Alan O'Connor?
Don't get to many games anymore but have good contacts
Last edited by razor; 03/03/2008, 1:23 PM."Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
-
Naw didn't take it as an attack, just pointing out that we won't be a pushover if teams want it that way. If ever a team come to play ball that will suit Mount fine. Doesn't happen as they are so afraid of getting spanked so Mount have to utilise whatever tactics it takes to break down 11 men and a ref behind the ball....Very defensive, you I mean.
It wasn't meant as an attack Cliffy, just sayin what I heard.
In fairness Billy reacted well to the question, saying that with a player of Ross height it'd be a shame not to use it.
I haven't seen Rockmount recently so I can't say myself but from reports I hear that Willie has been the outstanding player for Mount, pity he didn't do the business at City.
Lovely lad too.
Any truth in the rumours that some of the Behind the Goal Brigade (Mount OAPs) were after a fee for Alan O'Connor?
Don't get to many games anymore but have good contacts

Billy always is composed and relaxed, not surprised he batted it away for a four.
We should be entitled to a fee surely for O Connor? Giving him a platform to be spotted, is it true City would give him away for nothing a la Doyle and Long if he goes on to become a hot property?The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.Comment
-
Like the last time Dale lost an Intermediate Cup game out there, twas definitely 11 men and a ref against them, he even went for a drink with ye after.Naw didn't take it as an attack, just pointing out that we won't be a pushover if teams want it that way. If ever a team come to play ball that will suit Mount fine. Doesn't happen as they are so afraid of getting spanked so Mount have to utilise whatever tactics it takes to break down 11 men and a ref behind the ball....

He just doesn't come across as the cricketing type. But you never know..
Of course."Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
-
Aw jaysus, your not still on about that one are ya? Ha ha, handball is handball is handball in any man's language. In the box it's a spotter. Nothing the ref can do about it, yet again another occasion where our keeper was in danger of getting frostbite on his fingers from lack of action, but of course it was the ref's fault...
If he or any other ref wants to socialise with such luminaries as the Mount club then it's better to do it with the upper echelons rather than slum it with other half arsed clubs....
With regard to earlier, Willie Byrne is indeed playing very well as usual - in a back 5 that are playing well, behind a midfield who are playing very well, with an attack that are playing very well.The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.Comment
-
Just pointing out that its not always 11 men and a ref that the mighty Mount have to overcome, sometimes its made a tad easier
In Tipples??
Last edited by razor; 03/03/2008, 4:39 PM."Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
-
The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.Comment
Comment