X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • RiffRaff
    • May 2003

Wouldnt be surprised if Ogbene got some interest from French clubs on the back of that performance. He's definitely better than championship level

Comment

• SkStu
      • Feb 2007

Originally posted by paul_oshea
      Collins header was a completely free one. Awful marking he had a lot to aim at
      https://twitter.com/leflofloo/status...lBYqBB9pofQ_og
      It was a world class save. The second one in two minutes.
      I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Comment

• ontheotherhand
        • Nov 2017

Originally posted by RiffRaff
        Meaning we were losing narrowly at home to top teams when Kenny took over
        Did you think changing our style of play was going to result in us beating the best teams in the world? Can you bottle that optimism up and send me some? I might need it for the current LoI season.
        22 leagues and 26 cups and....well....none of you will ever catch up if we're being honest.

Comment

• pineapple stu
          Biased against YOUR club
          • Aug 2002

Wouldn't be too hard on Collins; it was a good header and one of the best saves I've seen. Two quality saves in a row in fact, having had nothing to do all game.

Really does feel like a point dropped. Has to be said France were dreadfully lethargic which obviously helped us and though I think we kept great defensive shape throughout, we weren't the cause of the French lethargy.

But to concede the goal we did and see those two late saves... Also we did waste far too many set pieces before then.

Would almost have preferred no MotM award tbh; that was a great team effort. Pretty much the great performance I had hoped for beforehand and yet it feels an awful result. That's football I guess.

Question now is can we play that well against Greece and Gibraltar in June? Completely different ask as we've seen time and again under Kenny.

Comment

• da bishop
            • Mar 2008

Brilliant effort from both the manager and the players all game ,most of these lads at championship level putting in that performance against players from PSG,AC Milan,Real Madrid etc.

Comment

• Olé Olé
              • Sep 2011

Originally posted by ontheotherhand
              Genuinely, what does this mean? We played well but we haven't moved forward enough to beat the WC runners up?

Do even the positive performances have to turn into a referendum on the manager?
              Anthony Barry and/or John Eustace would be proud of that performance.

Comment

• ontheotherhand
                • Nov 2017

Originally posted by RiffRaff
                Wouldnt be surprised if Ogbene got some interest from French clubs on the back of that performance. He's definitely better than championship level
                He was excellent. Mbappe can't have had many quieter nights and a lot of that was down to Ogbene helping out. Great call by Kenny. That Ogbene was still our biggest threat going forward as well is fairly amazing given the job he had. Would like to see him play at RWB against the weaker sides where we don't need him and Coleman working too much defensively. Just let him get forward and rely on his pace to get back when needed.
                22 leagues and 26 cups and....well....none of you will ever catch up if we're being honest.

Comment

• Nesta99
                  • Jul 2007

I think thats why he seemd so annoyed with himself at FT. If he had hit the bigger target of the goal it was probably in, he took the glancing header instead and the keeper was up to it. Retrospective thinking by him free header or not. He hit the target, didnt go in and thems the breaks.

Comment

• third policeman
                    • Jun 2008

Credit to the team and on the whole Kenny too. Maybe some of the substitutions could have been made earlier and Smallbone would have been a more progressive option in midfield, and offered better set piece quality, when Knight was obviously struggling. Frustrating lapse for the goal, but as others have said, we've been here before - decent performances against better teams without getting the result we maybe deserved, but it's whether we can perform against the likes of Greece and Gibraltar. That's the acid test for Kenny.

Comment

• Nesta99
                      • Jul 2007

Originally posted by ontheotherhand
                      Did you think changing our style of play was going to result in us beating the best teams in the world? Can you bottle that optimism up and send me some? I might need it for the current LoI season.
                      It'll be fine, Bradley will be fine, he has his LoI service under the belt for when he gets the Ireland job in July!

Comment

• ontheotherhand
                        • Nov 2017

Originally posted by Nesta99
                        It'll be fine, Bradley will be fine, he has his LoI service under the belt for when he gets the Ireland job in July!
                        As long as Kenny doesn't come the other way......

Comment

• Razors left peg
                          • Mar 2008

Im too heartbroken to be coherent at the moment, all I can say right now is anyone who wants to be negative after than can fcuk off.
                          Its really not that complicated!!!

Comment

• mark12345
                            • Feb 2008

Not a night for knocking Kenny, but one puzzling decision he made was to bring Idah on 20 minutes before Obafemi.

Comment

• mark12345
                              • Feb 2008

I'll be negative but not about the performance because it was really good. Looking ahead to Athens in a few months, we'll be beaten by the heat that night and it'll be back to gloom and doom again with tonight's performance a distant memory

Comment

• texidub
                                • Jul 2007

I love the way they kept the heads up, gathered themselves, and kept playing after going a goal down against a team that just lashed the Dutch out of it 4-0. That shows real character and belief. And they kept playing decent football too - not the turgid stuff we got for years.

Ogbene put in an epic performance. They all did. As noted elsewhere, we could do with some luck. 1-1 would have been fair. Collins will be scratching his head for a month by the looks of the footage at the end of the match. The younger players should take a huge amount of confidence from tonight.

I might have brought Smallbone on instead of Idah/Browne. Cullen was below his usual high standard, a bit flat compared to his usual Ireland performances. But those are minor quibbles.

The niggling thought is whether this is a turning point or a false dawn, of course.

Greece will be the measure of all things in a few months. Until then, I'm going with turning point!

Comment

Working...