Originally posted by DeLorean
      That's fecked it for the FAI........

Comment

• back of the net
        • Jul 2007

Bloody hell!!

Considering their very poor form......wonder was he pushed or will it be a case of Lambert will soon be following him out the door?
        My Country is My Club.

Republic of Ireland Forever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um_ZvP2cUdo

Comment

• the doc
          • Oct 2007

In a way I feel a but sorry for RK, working alongside 2 managers who can't manage at the level they are in.
          Last edited by the doc; 28/11/2014, 9:54 AM.

Comment

• DeLorean
            • Jun 2008

Combining the two roles has become too difficult. Fair enough I suppose, can only be good for us.

Comment

• jbyrne
              • Sep 2004

and to think there were a number of posters on here at the time saying that keane taking on the villa job wouldn't distract from his Ireland duties

Comment

• BonnieShels
                • Jan 2009

Of course he's getting criticised for leaving as they're sinking. The chap can't do anything without criticism.
                DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Comment

• DeLorean
                  • Jun 2008

Originally posted by jbyrne
                  and to think there were a number of posters on here at the time saying that keane taking on the villa job wouldn't distract from his Ireland duties
                  Well that was an obvious concern. The fact is though, none of us have any real idea what either job entails. He obviously felt he could combine the two but underestimated the commitment needed for either one or the other, or both. Even though it's another sideshow, the timing is fine from our point of view and I'm glad he's had the honestly to accept it's not working, and that we are now his sole focus.

Comment

• DannyInvincible
                    • Sep 2006

Originally posted by the doc
                    In a way I feel a but sorry for RK, working alongside 2 managers who can't manage at the level they are in.
                    To what level is O'Neill more suited in your opinion?

Combining the two roles has become too difficult. Fair enough I suppose, can only be good for us.
                    Certainly, and at least it's clear we were still always his priority. There's an international break now until March which you might have thought would have freed him up to devote more time to Villa over the next few months, but that he wants to devote his time solely to the international role during this upcoming period is very promising.
                    My blog.
                    FIFA Player Eligibility in the Context of Ireland: The Actual Rules, the Real Facts and Dispelling the Prevailing Myths.

Comment

• DeLorean
                      • Jun 2008

In fairness though, you'd think he'd have enough experience as a player and manager to know what he was letting himself in for. He was adamant that he could combine the roles. I finished his book last night, I'd say he doesn't have a moments peace (in his own head). He seemed to be really enjoying going to Goodison, the Britannia and various places to watch the Irish lads, at his own leisure. The Villa thing was probably too full on.

Comment

• geysir
                        • Apr 2005

If he had to pick one, I'd have thought he'd have chosen Aston Villa, just for the day to day involvement in the EPL.
                        I don't know what that means for us, a bit of Roy versus a bit more of Roy?

Comment

• SwanVsDalton
                          • Oct 2006

Sounds like a heart-over-head decision. He would undoubtedly have learned more about day-to-day management by holding tight at Villa. Presumably that's what he wants, but he's too invested in our fate.

Can't help but be heartened by that. Plus he now has no split allegiances for the next time he takes a pop at a player for putting club before country.
                          Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Comment

• GypsyBlackCat
                            • Sep 2009

TBH, I don't think to has anything to do with his dual roles. Villa are in a big mess both on and off the field. I wouldn't be surprised if he felt he could do without all that.

Comment

• DeLorean
                              • Jun 2008

He surely knew all that before signing up.

Comment

• DeLorean
                                • Jun 2008

Comment

Working...