X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Lamper.sffc
    • Mar 2008

Wexford Youths Game

I dont want to start saying this is a must win game this early in the season but i do think it is an important one to win.

We havnt had the best of starts so a win would get the club heading back in the right direction.

Does anybody know why Zayed wasnt playing against UCD.

How do some of the Wexford fans feel their side is playing at the moment.(performance wise)
  • passinginterest
    • Oct 2006

Originally posted by Lamper.sffc
    I dont want to start saying this is a must win game this early in the season but i do think it is an important one to win.

We havnt had the best of starts so a win would get the club heading back in the right direction.

How do some of the Wexford fans feel their side is playing at the moment.(performance wise)
    Against Shels Youths looked solid for the most part, without offering much in the way of attacking threat, the two goals conceded were sloppy enough, probably as a result of having a new keeper and 3 new players in the back 4. The Waterford performance has been widely described as a big dissappointment, with a very sloppy goal given away early on, conditions on the night were horrendous though so it was never going to be a night of good football.

Aagainst Fingal I think the squad should be stronger, a few that were injured for the Shels game played against Waterford and will be better for that and a couple suspended for the Waterford game will return.

I have a feeling it'll be a good game, a bit like the 2-2 draw there last year. It's already a really vital game for both teams with Youths risking being bottom if they lose and Fingal possibly sitting 8 points behing Shels if they go down.

Being optimistic I'd go for a 2-2 draw, the realist in me expects a Fingal win by 2 clear goals, maybe 3-1.
    sigpic
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Comment

• oldyouth
      • Dec 2007

Pre-season we easily matched 3 premier teams for quality and only let in a dodgy penalty. Against Shels, we were a bit negative and Mick obviously set himself up for a draw. On Friday, in apalling conditions, we were very poor. The team was greatly changed from before due to injuries and suspensions.
      Against Fingal, it will all depend on how we learn from Friday and on who we have back.

Comment

• Lamper.sffc
        • Mar 2008

If we play anywhere like we did against UCD, yous will have a chance. We where terrible. We really did look like a team that hasnt played with each other, which is fair enough but some of the simple mistakes we made where just ridiculous. Anyway ill go for a closely contested match. We will have plenty of the ball but will not know what to do with it and we will get a scrapy goal off someones backside to win 1 nil. I love how optimistic i am

It will be the result that will help gell the team though.

Comment

• Youths4Ever
          • Sep 2007

have to agree with both passinginterest & oldyouth on the review of our performances both sum up our start to the season nicely

If Zayed performance against Waterford was anything to go by probably why he did not play against UCD. When Doyle replaced Zayed against Waterford Fingal looked a much better team
          And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

Comment

• Lamper.sffc
            • Mar 2008

Originally posted by Youths4Ever
            have to agree with both passinginterest & oldyouth on the review of our performances both sum up our start to the season nicely

If Zayed performance against Waterford was anything to go by probably why he did not play against UCD. When Doyle replaced Zayed against Waterford Fingal looked a much better team
            It must have been really bad. He wasnt even on the bench

Comment

• Schumi
              • Jun 2001

I thought Zayed was injured for the game against us.

Comment

• Lamper.sffc
                • Mar 2008

Originally posted by Schumi
                I thought Zayed was injured for the game against us.
                I presumed that myself. Didnt hear anything official though

Comment

• TheFingallian
                  • Feb 2008

Heard someone say Buckley was blaming the weather for the UCD performance. Weather will be dry for this game though so we shall see if he was telling the truth. Hopefully the fog stays away...

Comment

• Youths4Ever
                    • Sep 2007

It must have been really bad. He wasnt even on the bench
                    His performance was not that bad to not be on bench as said probably injured
                    Last edited by Youths4Ever; 19/03/2009, 3:46 PM.
                    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

Comment

• Lamper.sffc
                      • Mar 2008

O Neil and Paisley out of tonight's game due to injury

Also confirmed on Sporting Fingal website, that Zayed had a hip problem for last weeks game but is available for tonights game. So i guess it will be a strikeforce of Robbie Doyle and Zayed.

Comment

• passinginterest
                        • Oct 2006

Sitting in work blinding people with my pink jersey on Looking forward to a really good game tonight.

Youths have none of their five first choice strikers available so it'll be interesting to see who get's lumped up front.
                        sigpic
                        Tallaght Stadium Regular

Comment

• Lamper.sffc
                          • Mar 2008

Originally posted by passinginterest
                          Sitting in work blinding people with my pink jersey on Looking forward to a really good game tonight.

Youths have none of their five first choice strikers available so it'll be interesting to see who get's lumped up front.
                          Oh yeah. Thats for charity isnt it, No wait a minute

Comment

• TheFingallian
                            • Feb 2008

Originally posted by passinginterest

Bloody hell! Sounds like betting on Wexford to fail to score might be of interest.

Comment

• passinginterest
                              • Oct 2006

Originally posted by TheFingallian
                              Bloody hell! Sounds like betting on Wexford to fail to score might be of interest.
                              It's hard to know to be honest. Wallace might call up someone from the under 18 squad, although the best player from that is on international schools duty, or he might play someone like Conor Sinnott up front, who would be capable of doing a job, or possibly throw one of the big lads up there to try and do a Gary Doherty type role. Wallace is so unpredictable we might just play a 5-5 formation and not bother with forwards at all.
                              sigpic
                              Tallaght Stadium Regular

Comment

Working...