X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • pineapple stu
    Biased against YOUR club
    • Aug 2002

Originally posted by SligoBrewer
    im not trying to be funny here right, serious question for the ucd lads... how many stewards at a game would ye have?

would 4 or 5 be enough?
    or is it campus security?
    Never seen many more than the 4 or 5 you mention; more for games like Rovers and Bohs.

I've seen them at other events, so they'd be hired for the evening.

Comment

• Poor Student
      • Sep 2004

Originally posted by SligoBrewer
      would 4 or 5 be enough?
      or is it campus security?
      Have no clue to be honest but they're private, not campus security. When we play the likes of Bohs and Rovers there's usually a bigger presence and a Garda presence. I met one of them on the way into a match once, he couldn't find Belfield Park and I showed him the way. Chatting to him he told me that he didn't give a toss about the football. You need stewards who aren't really concerned with what's going on the park and have no leanings towards any sets of fans.

Comment

• sligoman
        Viva El Presidente!
        • Sep 2004

I was right at the entrance to the Blue stand and from what I saw was a Sligo Rovers fan calling the UCD fan "four eyes" and other abusive terms and then seen an empty plastic bottle been thrown at the UCD fan. Then the UCD fan approached the two stewards at the entrance to the blue stand and they brought him over to the side and spoke to him and the other UCD fan with him(who was let go back to watch the game).

Some of the stewards in the Showgies leave a lot to be desired, really bad, just sit down and watch the game for free. Others then are grand and do their job.

Comment

• bomber82290
          • Apr 2006

Two Of Your Supporters Caused Trouble At The Gate When They Wouldnt Pay The Entrance.cans Of Alcohol In A Bag Are Called A Bag Of Cans.there Was One Fan Thrown Out At Ireland Vs Slovakia Game Last Week Out Of 72,000 So Sounds About Right For Ucd.
          Last edited by bomber82290; 03/04/2007, 6:24 PM.

Comment

• pineapple stu
            Biased against YOUR club
            • Aug 2002

Originally posted by bomber82290
            cans Of Alcohol In A Bag Are Called A Bag Of Cans.
            Why thank you. I didn't know that.

We've noted that the cans weren't in a bag though. We've noted that three rules were not broken in the first five minutes of the game, as you claimed. I didn't see or hear of any trouble at the gate such as you mentioned.

Are you going to answer my questions on the standard of the Sligo stewarding?

Also, turn off the caps lock.

Comment

• Schumi
              • Jun 2001

Two Of Your Supports Caused Trouble At The Gate When They Wouldnt Pay The Entrance.
              They were looking to pay student price but didn't have student ID and were just trying to talk the ticket woman into allowing them to pay student price. To call that trouble is completely over the top and reduces your credibility.

cans Of Alcohol In A Bag Are Called A Bag Of Cans.
              Only if there's nothing else in it. If I have two cans of beer in my bag along with books and other stuff it's hardly a bag of cans. Regardless, I don't think the two cans found in the ground (or at least the ones in our area) were in a bag.

there Was One Fan Thrown Out At Ireland Vs Slovakia Game Last Week Out Of 72,000 So Sounds About Right For Ucd.
              This doesn't make any sense, you should probably take your finger out of your nose.

Comment

• pineapple stu
                Biased against YOUR club
                • Aug 2002

schumi, can we lock this thread and/or throw the rubbish into rubbish?

Comment

• Bald Student
                  • Mar 2003

Originally posted by pineapple stu
                  schumi, can we lock this thread and/or throw the rubbish into rubbish?
                  Leave it open, I think it's fun.

Comment

• John83
                    • Feb 2003

Originally posted by Bald Student
                    Leave it open, I think it's fun.
                    I agree, but I wonder what the more level headed punters like Student Mullet and Schumi think.
                    You can't spell failure without FAI

Comment

• bomber82290
                      • Apr 2006

Do the maths, you are the students. 1/72,000 at Croke Park versus 1/15 UCD fans get thrown out of football matches. If you come to games to cause trouble, don't bother. We don't need the money that much. Summerhill College students in Sligo have no ID cards but if you forget to bring yours and still want to get in at student rate, it is your mistake.
                      Last edited by Schumi; 03/04/2007, 8:49 PM. Reason: poster's illiteracy

Comment

• John83
                        • Feb 2003

do the maths you are the students 1/72,000 at croke park versus 1/15 ucd fans get thrown out of football matchs.If ye come to games to cause trouble dont bother.We dont need the money that much.Summerhill college students sligo have no id cards but you forget to bring yours and still want to get in at student rate your mistake.
                        I hope Summerhill College is ashamed of its English teachers.

Someone misbehaving doesn't mean the rest of us can't expect decent, nay even half-assed stewarding, or criticise opposition fans for hypocritically accepting the same behaviour from their own that they agree was wrong from one of ours.
                        You can't spell failure without FAI

Comment

• feo123
                          • Jun 2005

Originally posted by Schumi
                          If I have two cans of beer in my bag along with books and other stuff .
                          why were you bringin books to a football match anyway? thats just wrong!

Comment

• pineapple stu
                            Biased against YOUR club
                            • Aug 2002

Four hour bus journey there and back maybe?

Comment

• pineapple stu
                              Biased against YOUR club
                              • Aug 2002

Do you have to pass some sort of basic intelligence exam to be a steward? (Seriously)

Comment

• bomber82290
                                • Apr 2006

No not in recent times.F.A.I trained stewards have to pass an exam on health and safety, crowd control ,fire safety(handling of flares),some first aid.Personality is something you learn yourself but you give what you receive.Cop-on is learnt by your mistakes of which i trust your man has learnt from his trip to the showgrounds.

Comment

Working...