X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Schumi
    • Jun 2001

Originally posted by Poor Student
    To the best of my knowledge that's wrong. If Derry win today and win the final we get feck all and 3rd place in the league gets into the Setanta. Possibly Shels in fact.
    That's my understanding too so I'm hoping Longford win and Shels don't get into the Setanta. If I'm wrong then come on Derry!

Comment

• Poor Student
      • Sep 2004

Originally posted by Schumi
      That's my understanding too so I'm hoping Longford win and Shels don't get into the Setanta. If I'm wrong then come on Derry!
      There's also the problem of the final most likely being held in either the Brandywell or Flansiro. It's not going to be an enticing prospect making your way to Derry on a week day. The plus side of Longford winning is an easier opponent, closer game and no Shels in Setanta. Negative is that cup finals are their turf. Only positive of Derry winning is that there's a minute possibility it means we qualify but I'm 99% certain the rules state we won't or surely will be made to be that way by the time they get around to announcing details.

Comment

• pineapple stu
        Biased against YOUR club
        • Aug 2002

Originally posted by student
        It would seem Pineapple is still in shock from last night so there is a link to an extensive report on the match below for anyone interested.

https://www.irishfootballonline.com/...hp?newsid=3448
        Yeah, but of a late night last night! In the bar in Tolka till 12:30 or thereabouts. Will put up a report later today, though that link is a very good report alright. Love the picture of the players celebrating!

Comment

• Poor Student
          • Sep 2004

Originally posted by pineapple stu
          Yeah, but of a late night last night! In the bar in Tolka till 12:30 or thereabouts. Will put up a report later today, though that link is a very good report alright. Love the picture of the players celebrating!
          I love the look of horror on the fans behind the goal as Martin is putting the ball into the net.

Comment

• pineapple stu
            Biased against YOUR club
            • Aug 2002

All I could think of when he was heading towards the empty goal was that he was going to miss!

Comment

• Slash/ED
              • Jun 2003

He took an age to put it in, the ****

Can't complain really, the players didn't seem to want it at all.

Comment

• pineapple stu
                Biased against YOUR club
                • Aug 2002

Originally posted by EnDai
                Good game lads. On the basis of last night, Shelbourne wouldn 't have deserved to have gone through.
                Cheers, EnDai, though I can't agree with your analysis! I thought a draw was probably fair as neither side could create anything decent, and if any team was going to go through, it was Shels.

Comment

• Poor Student
                  • Sep 2004

How did Harte play? Was he on the left wing? I'd have assumed Derek Doyle would have gotten a run out. Also how did Dupuy do?

I think the only logical thing to do is to play at least 6 U-21 reserves in the final. They have beaten Waterford and Shamrock Rovers where the seniors could not this season.

Comment

• Schumi
                    • Jun 2001

Originally posted by Poor Student
                    How did Harte play? Was he on the left wing? I'd have assumed Derek Doyle would have gotten a run out. Also how did Dupuy do?

I think the only logical thing to do is to play at least 6 U-21 reserves in the final. They have beaten Waterford and Shamrock Rovers where the seniors could not this season.
                    Harte played up front! Damo didn't do a huge amount attacking wise but we didn't get the ball up near enough. As usual he put in a lot of work tracking back and pressuring Shels players on the ball.

The seniors beat Waterford in Belfield BTW.

Comment

• bambi
                      • Apr 2003

[QUOTE=Schumi]Harte played up front!QUOTE]

harte didnt play up front he played in the middle you wally!
                      College Kids

Comment

• Schumi
                        • Jun 2001

Originally posted by bambi
                        harte didnt play up front he played in the middle you wally!
                        5 man midfield? Thought Harte was further up than Tony and Dicker but maybe my view was coloured by him wearing 10.

Comment

• EnDai
                          • Nov 2004

Originally posted by pineapple stu
                          Cheers, EnDai, though I can't agree with your analysis! I thought a draw was probably fair as neither side could create anything decent, and if any team was going to go through, it was Shels.
                          A draw would have been fair, really, but UCD wanted it (I could say wanted it more, but Shels didn't seem to want it at all) - which in my eyes makes them worthy winners. The only time we saw Shelbourne care was after the 2nd goal for you shower of gits!

That said, it did save us the mind numbing possibility of extra-time, the match was sending me to sleep as it was!
                          God

Comment

• Slash/ED
                            • Jun 2003

Originally posted by Schumi
                            5 man midfield? Thought Harte was further up than Tony and Dicker but maybe my view was coloured by him wearing 10.
                            I thought you were playing a 4-5-1 with the number 10 slightly further ahead of the mid field two alright. It wasnt two out and out strikers anyway

Comment

• Schumi
                              • Jun 2001

Originally posted by EnDai
                              That said, it did save us the mind numbing possibility of extra-time, the match was sending me to sleep as it was!
                              That thought occurred to me when you scored too!

Comment

• EnDai
                                • Nov 2004

Quality!
                                God

Comment

Working...