X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Colie
    • Mar 2005

Actually adding injury to insult

Just to add insult to injury or injury to insult, or whatever, I think I may have broken my left leg, or injured it pretty badly. I would have gone to casulty today but I'm going to see the Presidents Of The United States Of America in the Templebar Music Centre tonite & was afraid that if I did go I'd be in hospital & miss it. Probs have to hit St Vincents tomorrow morning. I'm afraid you'll have to count me out of the Friday half time extravaganza.

Must say thought twenty four nil or smenty four nil, it was still good craic.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Comment

• John83
      • Feb 2003

Originally posted by Colie
      Just to add insult to injury or injury to insult, or whatever, I think I may have broken my left leg, or injured it pretty badly. I would have gone to casulty today but I'm going to see the Presidents Of The United States Of America in the Templebar Music Centre tonite & was afraid that if I did go I'd be in hospital & miss it. Probs have to hit St Vincents tomorrow morning. I'm afraid you'll have to count me out of the Friday half time extravaganza.
      Hard luck man. I hope it's not broken.

Must say thought twenty four nil or smenty four nil, it was still good craic.
      Very true.
      You can't spell failure without FAI

Comment

• Maynard
        • Aug 2003

Have to give credit where it is due here actually lads. Despite the scoreline mounting, none of our goals came about by any of the UCD players simply giving up and allowing us to score. Every player did his best until the 90 minutes were up, and that was commendable. Personally I enjoyed the game, and that surface was a joy to play on (although perhaps had the game been closer, slide tackles and the likes would have been made nigh on impossible)

Just as a point of note that was our 4th game together as a team since last year. We've only played Shamrock Rovers once and Shelbourne twice.
        We don't train together or anything, but 90% of our players would be playing some kind of regular competitive football. (SuperLeague would seem an obvious choice for you lads )

Oh and we've never had a problem putting a team together Galway Harp. Most Dublin City fans I know are actively involved in local football sides.
        Good luck in your future games lads, and we would be willing to play again in the future no problem. I would recommend keeping bangers to a minimum, as you wouldn't be able to rely on them showing up and it's impossible to build any cohesive style if people don't know each others names etc Our team yesterday was 98% of the team that drew 0-0 with Shels 2 weeks ago.

Comment

• Poor Student
          • Sep 2004

Originally posted by Maynard
          Our team yesterday was 98% of the team that drew 0-0 with Shels 2 weeks ago.
          That's means roughly 20% of one player disppeared?

Maynard if none of your goals came from our lads giving up then that is a very sad thing indeed.

Thanks for the advice though. Hopefully I can play against you lads sometime.

Comment

• pineapple stu
            Biased against YOUR club
            • Aug 2002

Have to give credit where it is due here actually lads. Despite the scoreline mounting, none of our goals came about by any of the UCD players simply giving up and allowing us to score. Every player did his best until the 90 minutes were up, and that was commendable.
            That's even more depressing - at least if we'd given up, we could have claimed the scoreline flattered youz!

I would recommend keeping bangers to a minimum
            Definitely. Problem is, we've never played an 11-a-side game before (7-a-side at max), and with so many people out of the country or at work, we were kind of forced into a patchwork team...

Our team yesterday was 98% of the team that drew 0-0 with Shels 2 weeks ago.
            Who was the unlucky 1/5th of a player to miss out?

Comment

• Poor Student
              • Sep 2004

Pineapple that post was relatively similar to mine. Great minds?

Comment

• pineapple stu
                Biased against YOUR club
                • Aug 2002

Definitely fools!

Comment

• student
                  • May 2005

It seems then that the first team isnt the only team in the club that struggles to score.....

Maybe lads you'll be a bit more sympathetic on McWalther and the lads in future
                  Where you start is not as important as where you finish!!!!

Comment

• Martinho II
                    • Nov 2003

well lads our team is set! i very much doubt we will hammer ye but may the best team win on firday!

Comment

• Breifne
                      • Oct 2003

Originally posted by pineapple stu
                      I think heads dropped after the fifth goal, which was an unnecessary overhead kick from five yards to an empty net.
                      No i think that was actually the sixth or seventh, cause i got the fifth and went on and the lad that came on decided to stick the ball away with the overly flamboyant overhead / scissors / fall over kick from four / five / two yards.

Great game, and really enjoyed it, we should set up some sort of a one day competition, if UCD were able to swing the use of the five-a-side pitches for a day, say in late october, towards the end of the season, and get a bit of publicity, shouldn't have any problem getting a bit of sponsorship for it.

What you think, i'd be prepared to do a lot of the leg work, and recruiting a panel of 12 from each of the 22 teams, come to Dublin on a Saturday / Sunday, play a champions league style competition. Could maybe even show the highlights of the final on eircom league weekly that week.

Just a suggestion.

Comment

• pineapple stu
                        Biased against YOUR club
                        • Aug 2002

Definitely. It's something that was looked into on foot.ie a while back (or an alternative idea where supporters play against a team of supporters from whatever team they're playing that week). It'd have to be after the season, I think, but certainly is a runner. UCD may be a problem 'cos the astro pitches are in such high use during the season, although now that there's more of them, that may ease. We can but check anyway!

Comment

• Breifne
                          • Oct 2003

I'll have a quick chat with Maccer when he gets back from his holidays.

Never know might be able to swing something.

Comment

• sorbothegreek
                            • Jun 2001

Originally posted by Schumi
                            A team no worse than yesterday's drew with Longford in a half-time game two years ago and a slightly better one beat them 9-6 in Longford over an hour or so the year before. It'll close enough I'd say.
                            Lads, i think you could actually be starting favourites for Friday. At least you've played together within the last 6 months. As it stands, (correct me if im wrong Martinho) we have 4 definites for the game with an estimated average weight of 13-14 stones (Ave height: 5 9'). We are not fit! We are not colse to fit either! If your as bad as you say, it could be close. Either ways, it should be a bit of comedy for the masses..

Comment

• pineapple stu
                              Biased against YOUR club
                              • Aug 2002

Originally posted by sorbothegreek
                              an estimated average weight of 13-14 stones
                              13 stone average! Sure Aberdonian Stu nearly brings our team average to that on his own! Even I'm over 13 stone (and I'm only 5'6"!! )

Comment

• Schumi
                                • Jun 2001

Originally posted by sorbothegreek
                                We are not fit! We are not colse to fit either!
                                Good stuff. That's that even at least!

Comment

Working...