X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • RoversInn
    • Sep 2006

Was in the West Stand myself, Right on the corner flag.

Devasted, We were nowhere near good enough to win a cup final today. Richie Ryan should leave the club after that performance. Doyler had a good game in fairness to him. We seemed to lose it when Raf came off. I would have brought on Turner for him but Meenan came on and did well in fairness. The wind had a major effect aswell. Was sitting right beside the Fingal fans and they were pathetic. 10 of them sung I'd say, and the rest were 6-12 year olds. Fair play to the singing section, Could hear ye throughout.

We blew it completly.

Comment

• srfc1928
      • Jan 2008

Im heartbroken

Comment

• sligoman
        Viva El Presidente!
        • Sep 2004

I don't think I've ever felt this bad...such a let down after waiting for so long.

Comment

• Boo_Boy
          • Sep 2007

Heartbroken, our support was bloody fantastic. A few tears at full time after waiting so long and to lose in injury time. Such a bad week with what happened Wednesday.

Now I'm just wet, cold and depressed. I think I sprained my ankle too .

Safe trip home lads.

Comment

• sligofan4ever
            • Mar 2008

Originally posted by dong
            Just back. In shock after that. We were poor I thought. Not one player you could say really had a good game.
            Magnificent support. Looked savage with the massive banner moving across the stand at the start.
            Fingal were worth their win I thought. We switched off after Cretaro had to go off and thay created as much as we did, probably more.
            Penalty may have been debatable but no major injustice was done.
            Was a ****e day for football (in more ways than one)
            Sad day but we'll have our chance again. Let's hope we don't have to wait as long.

Have to disagree, tought Doyle and Keane played well, Boco did good too, especially in the build up for the goal. Keane was solid at the back, he was partly to blame for the penalty but that aside I tought he was rock solid.
            Coleman for Ireland

Comment

• MMVIII
              • Aug 2008

I feel so ****. Never felt this bad.

We threw it away. So ****ing close

Comment

• avvenalaf
                • Nov 2005

Originally posted by boris
                just want to say that sligo fans were a credit to the club today and i can only hope the someday fingal will get such support. extra time would probably have been fairer to both teams who at least attempted to play football and it really could have gone either way. until next season
                Cheers for that, Boris. Readers here will know that I flagged the difficulty we would have in beating SF. I really hope that this will be a major help in the building of your club as Liam Buckley is one of the good guys and your team try top play the way I feel it should be played. I am really distraught. You have all your history before you. We may have ours behind us. Anyway, keep plugging away in Fingal. Any team that can beat Shams in Tallaght has both my gratitude and admiration.

Comment

• Shedzer
                  • Nov 2005

Keane and Doyle were very good...Blinky tried hard and Peers made a mighty tackle its worth mentioning

Maybe the occasion got to a few of them, Cook included. As i said in my long pre match post, Cash and Ryan arent up to the standard, it was inevitable that Cash would go off for Morrison, only a matter of when and Ryan isnt even worth mentioning to be honest.

When Raf got injured i thought we went way to defensive, Marshall/Turner or Doyle could have played upfront with Blinkhorn and stayed with 4-4-2 rather than got 4-5-1. Thats not to say Meehan did badly, he didnt, he ran more in 20 minutes than Ryan did all day. I think if Raf and Ryan had of came off when Raf was injured, put Meehan in the centre and Marshall up front we would have kept shape. Meehan and Marshall are young lads, hungry to play, id keep them and work with them and let an other two who started go free in the close season.

Was really gutted, this defeat was bad enough but will also have financial knock on effects.

Great support, **** day, decent game, poor performance, bad result...

Comment

• Blowin_Rover
                    • Sep 2009

We were in the North Face(sorry i mean stand!)and was the coldest i have ever been at a match, but the support was absouletly amazing,the Sligo Flag going up and down the main stand was awesome! I dont think we can be too harsh on the lads the conditions were brutal for both teams.Just wish we had a few more shots in the first half as the ball was swirling all over the place,but how cruel this game can be the highs are great but the lows are a hard pill to swallow,but lets take a positive out of this and next season press for a top finish.

Comment

• SligoBrewer
                      • Oct 2005

Originally posted by Red&White Rover
                      Just the fact in meant nothing to the Fingal "fans". Like absolutely nothing.
                      It could have been a day of celebration for 7000+ people, now the winners don't even care and 7000+ people are desolate.

The world is such a load of ******** its unreal.

Comment

• sligofan4ever
                        • Mar 2008

Originally posted by Shedzer
                        Keane and Doyle were very good...Blinky tried hard and Peers made a mighty tackle its worth mentioning

Maybe the occasion got to a few of them, Cook included. As i said in my long pre match post, Cash and Ryan arent up to the standard, it was inevitable that Cash would go off for Morrison, only a matter of when and Ryan isnt even worth mentioning to be honest.

When Raf got injured i thought we went way to defensive, Marshall/Turner or Doyle could have played upfront with Blinkhorn and stayed with 4-4-2 rather than got 4-5-1. Thats not to say Meehan did badly, he didnt, he ran more in 20 minutes than Ryan did all day. I think if Raf and Ryan had of came off when Raf was injured, put Meehan in the centre and Marshall up front we would have kept shape. Meehan and Marshall are young lads, hungry to play, id keep them and work with them and let an other two who started go free in the close season.

Was really gutted, this defeat was bad enough but will also have financial knock on effects.

Great support, **** day, decent game, poor performance, bad result...
                        *Cue Ireland supporter who dosen't support a LoI club to read this and not understand why Shedzer is praising Keane and Doyle in the FAI Cup Final*

Did anyone notice over at the apartments/Hotel, whatever it was, 2 lads tried to see if the camera would notice their banner which read "un-fair play F.I.F.A.,Wheres our Replay ?"
                        Coleman for Ireland

Comment

• Shedzer
                          • Nov 2005

Originally posted by sligofan4ever
                          *Cue Ireland supporter who dosen't support a LoI club to read this and not understand why Shedzer is praising Keane and Doyle in the FAI Cup Final* ++++

++++ *Cue Stevie Wonder*

Comment

• SligoBrewer
                            • Oct 2005

Doyle was brilliant and deserved MOTM.

Peers, Boco, and Blinkhorn were their usual brilliant selves.
                            Trying to analyse this game is impossible.

Comment

• prodsc
                              • Mar 2008

Gutted for the club and the great crowd today.
                              Thought the team didn't use the wind in the first half to their advantage, thought Doyle was poor first half, leaving Kendrick very exposed, much better 2nd half performance. Danny was very poor, we so missed C'oG's leadership. Ryan no comment. Raf disappointing again- his ego and mouthing don't belong. Sitting back defending a 1-0 lead with a team that show great hunger towards the end baffles me.

Well done Sporting Fingal for your hunger and spirit.

Comment

• Jeebus
                                • Sep 2005

I haven't read any of this thread. I'm 27 years following rovers (i'm 31) and i'm struggling to get over today. I think my da summed it up in the maldron after, he said that u should know well that with rovers we have to take the rough with the smooth. thats 4 cup finals he's seen us lose. I've seen alot of downs with my club, and there will probably be alot more between now and the day i die. But we'll always be there. This whole season was a rollercoaster. Albania was definitely the highlight for me tho. At least tho i know i am, i'm sure i am. I'm rovers till i die!

Comment

Working...