X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tiktok
    • Feb 2003

Originally posted by weecountyman
    .........and there is no reason why they shouldn't as a completely new start up club.
    Wanting to give our club every chance of survival is reason enough to be fair, that it gives people stung by Tom Coughlan the chance to recoup what they're owed is an added bonus.
    Are there risks, of course there are, they were debated last night, but they're worth taking if our club can get through this.
    If Tom gets greedy or doesn't sign, then we still have Plan B, but it's always been Plan B. Buying in is Plan A and we have to pursue it.
    The one regret I have at the moment is that we weren't in this position a couple of weeks ago, we might have hung onto Dan Murray and Danny Murphy.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Comment

• Buile Shuibhne
      • Nov 2004

There's a post over on the Cork forum saying:

money from the other 2 investors is only available to a premier divison Cork City club.
      Does this mean that Peter Gray & Michael O'Connor will only proceed with their takeover IF/AFTER they are assured of a Premier Division license by the FAI Independent Licencing Committee?
      A transient, horrible, fantastic dream,
      Wherein is nothing yet all things do seem:
      From which we're wakened by a friendly nudge
      Of our bedfellow Death, and cry: "O fudge!"

Ambrose Bierce

Comment

• higgins
        • Jun 2004

Originally posted by El-Pietro
        It will be interesting what Shelbourne and UCD fans etc, who have for a long time been giving out about clubs not paying their way and paying back everything they owe will think of our stance.
        Had we decided enough was enough, we would be starting fresh and be screwing over our creditors, ex players, suppliers, sponsers etc. But we would be in the first division.
        I think what FORAS are doing is great...
        Makes sense to me.
        If you pay off all your debs, fair play to you... that's all you can do.

Didn't help us at the tme,, they fecked us out of the league even though we had agreements in place with all creditors! it was even before any licence 65% came in. We were not let pass any deadlines,, in fact we were told if we didn't hit the first deadline we'd not even get a first division licence! best outcome for us was a first division licence.

I'm ****ed off the FAI are bending over backwards to give you every chance although i fully agree with you going in to save the club! You have to do that!!! This rubbish of simply starting again is not what it's about...
        John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
        www.ssdg.ie

Comment

• yiddo
          • Sep 2001

Originally posted by higgins
          I think what FORAS are doing is great...
          Makes sense to me.
          If you pay off all your debs, fair play to you... that's all you can do.
          The debs are grand like, tis the debts that worry me

on your general point don't blame ye one bit for being hacked off.
          "Its the bad players who are the luxury not the skillfull ones"
          Danny Blanchflower

Comment

• Mr_Parker
            • May 2005

Who and how was Cork City, with no tangable asetts valued at 1 million??????????????????

Comment

• jan molby
              • Aug 2006

Cork dont deserve a Munster license never mind a Premier license .Good riddance I say
              Last edited by jan molby; 14/02/2010, 1:21 PM.

Comment

• tiktok
                • Feb 2003

Originally posted by Mr_Parker
                Who and how was Cork City, with no tangable asetts valued at 1 million??????????????????
                It hasn't been valued at 1,000,000
                I don't know where you pulled that figure out of. It's effectively been valued at 0.00.
                Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Comment

• Schumi
                  • Jun 2001

Foras are supposed to be putting in 100k for 20% which puts the whole lot at 500k which would just be the debts I'd imagine.

Comment

• passerrby
                    • May 2006

[QUOTE=tiktok;I don't know where you pulled that figure out of. It's effectively been valued at 0.00.[/QUOTE]

its amazing how that will raise when roddy leaves
                    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Comment

• gael353
                      • Jul 2002

the figure of one million was mooted by Roddy a few weeks ago. He was the only one who suggested a price. Tommy and himself are only trying to get a pay out before they leave. Wouldnt be surprised if Tommy only appointed him as a more media friendly, face of crappness
                      www.aldi.ie

Comment

• razor
                        • Sep 2001

Last Friday was a very strange evening, I had a look of amazement when our chairman announced that the meeting may take 3 or 4 hours but it just flew by. There was a lot of emotion on show and credit must be given to the FORAS BOM, they have put in tremendous amount of work.

There certainly is honour in clearing the debts but as one speaker said they shouldn't be on our conscience, although we could hardly expect goodwill moving forward with these people. I'm a cautious person by nature and the prospect of entering into this deal with very little money in the bank fills me with dread. Plus our chances of rebuilding our war chest are now limited as surely all fundraising will be done now for the club. I cannot see a huge influx of members and am wondering for how long will our 2 partners be prepared to fund the club when we have nothing to add maybe a while but the Cork City situation could soon resemble the York City one.
                        I voted against it and I thought people voted heart above head, especially after PR's emotional speech, but i've been around too long for that but as a member am prepared to now roll up the sleeves and go with the majority vote.
                        Last edited by razor; 14/02/2010, 3:12 PM.
                        "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Comment

• weecountyman
                          • Jun 2009

Originally posted by passerrby
                          its amazing how that will raise when roddy leaves
                          :-) Tom went from "investing" "alot of money" to "a million" to "over a million" within hours of Roddy panhandling for the job - see his Star column before he'd even run out of Malta! But his contract is still property of the company FORAS and their co-investors are buying out, and it's illegal. So what will they do, keep the man and pay what's due to his current employer, or get rid of him for nothing - I've asked this already but none of the "insider" FORAS folk want to answer.

Comment

• razor
                            • Sep 2001

Originally posted by weecountyman
                            So what will they do, keep the man and pay what's due to his current employer, or get rid of him for nothing
                            Thats a tough one alright
                            "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Comment

• Mr_Parker
                              • May 2005

Originally posted by tiktok
                              It hasn't been valued at 1,000,000
                              I don't know where you pulled that figure out of. It's effectively been valued at 0.00.
                              Ta, misread it that they were getting 10% of the company for 100k.

Originally posted by Schumi
                              Foras are supposed to be putting in 100k for 20% which puts the whole lot at 500k which would just be the debts I'd imagine.
                              So they are paying 100k to buy 20% of the debt?

Comment

• weecountyman
                                • Jun 2009

Originally posted by razor
                                Thats a tough one alright
                                Except you'll still be stuck with a court case in CAS for the illegal signing of another club's coach! So no matter what, you'll need to pay to get rid of the Rod! Which is why I still stick with the case that it's easier to let the name die and keep the club going as it should be - with FORAS using their funds to build a club for Cork to be proud of with a fresh start and let Tom and ROddy fight their court cases alone - CCIFL or whatever it's caused are really and truly in schtuck!

Comment

Working...