View Full Version : Boylesports Sponsorship

Pages : 1 [2] 3

29/08/2008, 4:02 PM
Sorry but I have to laugh at the notion that dropping "of Ireland" somehow makes the product more marketable. It was the eL (no Ireland) for years & it did not make the slightest difference.

29/08/2008, 4:04 PM
All the same, 1890 was a great year altogether on the, er, island.

Blueandproud
29/08/2008, 4:13 PM
Decent sponsor.

I'm glad the League of Ireland has gotten a high profile sponsor
to replace eircom.

eircom League - R.I.P.

29/08/2008, 4:19 PM
Decent sponsor.

I'm glad the League of Ireland has gotten a high profile sponsor
to replace eircom.

eircom League - R.I.P.

It's not quite dead yet!

KevB76
29/08/2008, 4:29 PM
I think if we lost the "of Ireland" and just said per se the "Eircom(or whoever sponsors the league next season) Premiership" or the "Eire League" we would have a better product to sell to the people who don't go the games.

Eircom League >> Eire League.
Not seeing a huge difference there!

oriel
29/08/2008, 6:52 PM
Sheridan, your comments to Ealing Green were totally obnoxious and against the general good level of banter on this forum. You should have checked your info first for a start, everyone knows the IFA was the first association on this Island as at the time it repersented the whole Island as NI only became a (partially) legal entity in 1926.

The term Irish Lge admitably must be confusing to say people in england etc, but then again to them its all Ireland, not political just pure lack of interest on their part. Hence you will hear sky etc mixing up the FAI and IFA, quite common and hardly a big deal.

So put this to bed

gotaroundbetter
30/08/2008, 12:07 AM
The "of Ireland" was only appended to the "eircom League" last year. League of Ireland will always be a generic term for the competition regardless of its official title. It's called that because the shower up North lay claim to the title Irish League.

Quick someone reclaim the title "Irish League" as I'm sure UTV advertised the fixtures as the JJB sports Premiership this evening ;)

Boh_So_Good
30/08/2008, 12:21 AM
eircom League - R.I.P.

Is that an opinion or the mission statement of the Irish sports media?

Penfold
30/08/2008, 1:00 PM
Saw a report that Boyle Sports will be giving 1 million euro over 4 years. Is that a league prize pot of 250,000eur per year? Or is it allocated in different ways. Anyone heard anything on this?

new to forum

Penfold

finnpark
31/08/2008, 10:46 PM
I think its for round the pitch advertising? I thought it was 600K per year but could be wrong.

Fair play to Boylesports, hopefully Ladbrokes will now get behind the league.

Those other Irish independent bookies should be getting behind the league too.

I think that each club should have a betting partner anyway like whats done in England. See Crewe for example, their betting partner appears on their website etc: http://www.crewealex.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Home/

Inside Man
31/08/2008, 10:54 PM
Its 1m over 4 years.
But the FAI are working hard to try and get other sponsors involved in different aspects of the league. So don't expect this to be the last sponsorship deal you will hear about.

Neish
31/08/2008, 11:44 PM
Are people gonna start calling it the Boylesports League, BL or BSL or just go back to the real name League of Ireland or LOI.

01/09/2008, 12:31 AM
Its not going to be for title sponsor of the league. The main part of the deal is to have boyles be "betting partner" of the FAI.

I wonder how the FAI will enforce this advertising board thing around the league. What rate do they pay? I'd imagine it costs more for an ad at Turners Cross than it does at Morton. What if clubs have already sold all available space for the season?

Oh and what ever happened EA Sports taking out boards at LOI games?

Fair play for the FAI simply not forgetting about the league. Thats certainly a step up....

01/09/2008, 7:55 AM
I reckon Liga babyfood should sponsor the League of Ireland. you could incorporate the new sponsor in there too while making it sound a bit different. Liga of Ireland sounds good doesnt it? Foreign sounding and sexy!

Battery Rover
01/09/2008, 8:31 AM
I wonder how the FAI will enforce this advertising board thing around the league. What rate do they pay? I'd imagine it costs more for an ad at Turners Cross than it does at Morton.

Taken from what clubs received when it was announced

"clubs will be commercially remunerated for at their existing rate card price"

What if clubs have already sold all available space for the season?

Clubs will always find room for another sign.

jinxy lilywhite
01/09/2008, 8:41 AM
Could this see the possibility of betting kiosk in grounds?

01/09/2008, 8:50 AM
Cheers battery. I knew the second bit too, unfortunately.

Still have to wonder how it'll work with us though

01/09/2008, 9:39 AM
Its 1m over 4 years.
But the FAI are working hard to try and get other sponsors involved in different aspects of the league. So don't expect this to be the last sponsorship deal you will hear about.

Its not going to be for title sponsor of the league. The main part of the deal is to have boyles be "betting partner" of the FAI.

Who is the main sponsor going to be so? Do ye know something we dont?

Oh and what ever happened EA Sports taking out boards at LOI games?

Was that meant to happen yeah? When was that?

Fair play for the FAI simply not forgetting about the league. Thats certainly a step up....

Definitely, fair play to them. Cant wait to see who else is lined up.

01/09/2008, 9:41 AM
Who is the main sponsor going to be so? Do ye know something we dont?

No, I just read the FAI release on this. If they were to be main League sponsor, I'm sure they'd have mentioned it

01/09/2008, 9:44 AM
I wonder will the new sponsors be given the same amount of media attention as when 'eircom are pulling out/the sky is falling down' recently?

Some members of the media really nailed their colours to the mast on that one. They have a choice now, stay with their opinion now matter what happens now or how foolish and out of touch them might appear, or go with balanced unbiased accurate coverage of the new deals and what it means for the league.

01/09/2008, 9:51 AM
No, I just read the FAI release on this. If they were to be main League sponsor, I'm sure they'd have mentioned it

I have only read it now (http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3498) to be honest. Its not exclusively the league but its good news. If they promote games in all their shops then its would be brilliant.

01/09/2008, 9:58 AM
But is promoting them, just sticking up a LOI coupon? PP already do that...

galwayhoop
01/09/2008, 10:17 AM
i know boylesports aren't becoming the main sponsor but whoever does a good name would be the "xxx irish premier league/premiership"
eg: "boylesports irish premier league"

i know that the 6 county league is the "irish league" and we are the LoI but their newly branded league has dropped irish league and is now (afaik) the JJB Premiership. the whole structure would still be the LoI but the top division would be rebranded. Just a thought.

EalingGreen
01/09/2008, 10:58 AM
i know that the 6 county league is the "irish league" and we are the LoI but their newly branded league has dropped irish league and is now (afaik) the JJB Premiership. the whole structure would still be the LoI but the top division would be rebranded. Just a thought.

The name "Irish League" legally and effectively belongs the IFA and if anyone else tried to appropriate it, the IFA would unquestionably sue for theft of copyright etc.

The fact that the IFA chooses to call its competitions different names, in order to recognise sponsors etc, is entirely coincidental - as afficionadoes of e.g. The Pat Grace Famous Fried Chicken League(:eek:) will aver...

P.S. You can keep the "six counties" name for yourself, if you like :rolleyes:

jinxy lilywhite
01/09/2008, 11:31 AM
In England they don't the Premier League the English Premiership
In Scotland the don't call it the Scottish Premiership.
Its simply the premiership because in their eyes there is no other league.
Even the Norths JJB Premiership sounds better than the Eircom league of Ireland Premier League.
What I am trying to say is that you should only really allow those outside the country attach the nationality of the league.

01/09/2008, 11:47 AM
In Scotland the don't call it the Scottish Premiership

Nope, they call it the SPL

Seriously jinxy, there's wwrse problems with the marketing of the league. As pete said it was the (Insert sponsor here) League for decades...

01/09/2008, 11:54 AM
There's a good old fashioned greasy chipper in Wexford town called 'The Premier' someone from the FAI should give them a call then we could have 'The Premier League'. Now where have I heard that before...

galwayhoop
01/09/2008, 1:04 PM
The name "Irish League" legally and effectively belongs the IFA and if anyone else tried to appropriate it, the IFA would unquestionably sue for theft of copyright etc.

The fact that the IFA chooses to call its competitions different names, in order to recognise sponsors etc, is entirely coincidental

Did I say to call it the irish League??? Or did I say to rebrand competitions different names, in order to recognise sponsors etc, as in "The Boylesports Irish Premier League". There is no conflict there as the BIPL or BSIPL would just be a seperately named competition within the LoI. There would be no conflict with the Irish League of which the JJB Premiership is a part of.

EalingGreen
01/09/2008, 2:20 PM
Did I say to call it the irish League??? Or did I say to rebrand competitions different names, in order to recognise sponsors etc, as in "The Boylesports Irish Premier League". There is no conflict there as the BIPL or BSIPL would just be a seperately named competition within the LoI. There would be no conflict with the Irish League of which the JJB Premiership is a part of.

Read this:
"The IFA Premiership - formerly the Irish Premier League and before that the Irish Football League - and still known in popular parlance simply as the Irish League, is the national football league in Northern Ireland, and has historically been the league for the whole of Ireland. It should not be confused with the FAI League of Ireland, which is the league for the Republic of Ireland. At the end of the season, the champion club is presented with the Gibson Cup.
The Premiership is sponsored by JJB Sports and is marketed as the JJB Sports Premiership."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_League

Now run along and think of another name....:rolleyes:

finnpark
01/09/2008, 2:28 PM
Boylesports Super League ;)

01/09/2008, 2:30 PM

Get a grip ealing. have you now humour in you at all

galwayhoop
01/09/2008, 2:43 PM
Read this:
"The IFA Premiership - formerly the Irish Premier League and before that the Irish Football League - and still known in popular parlance simply as the Irish League, is the national football league in Northern Ireland, and has historically been the league for the whole of Ireland. It should not be confused with the FAI League of Ireland, which is the league for the Republic of Ireland. At the end of the season, the champion club is presented with the Gibson Cup.
The Premiership is sponsored by JJB Sports and is marketed as the JJB Sports Premiership."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_League

my God!!! you 6 county boys really are passionate about holding onto stuff aren't ye..............

EalingGreen
01/09/2008, 5:36 PM
Get a grip ealing. have you now humour in you at all

Er, did I miss the humour when galwayhoop posted the following:
"Did I say to call it the irish League??? Or did I say to rebrand competitions different names, in order to recognise sponsors etc, as in "The Boylesports Irish Premier League". There is no conflict there as the BIPL or BSIPL would just be a seperately named competition within the LoI. There would be no conflict with the Irish League of which the JJB Premiership is a part of."
Seemed like a perfectly serious (if misplaced) suggestion by gh to me...

Or what would you say if I suggested calling the IFA's new League the "JJB League of Ireland" (or "JJB Premier League of Ireland")?

It seems to me that there are a few posters on this Board who show little or no respect for their neighbour's footballing history and heritage, in a way which is not replicated in the other direction.

EalingGreen
01/09/2008, 5:38 PM
my God!!! you 6 county boys really are passionate about holding onto stuff aren't ye..............

Well, if we didn't have quite such "acquisitive" or disrespectful* neighbours, we could maybe be a bit more relaxed about these things.

* - "Disrespectful" as in "six counties", perhaps? :rolleyes:

01/09/2008, 5:56 PM
I reckon Liga babyfood should sponsor the League of Ireland.

...thought they already sponsored the Spanish league?

WoodquayBoy
01/09/2008, 6:10 PM
You know what I have always called it, irrespective of sponsor? The League, simple as that.
I know, I know, havr to brand it for non-believers, but I always called it The League, and will continue to do so, wheter it is eircom, Bord Gais or Pat Grace sponsoring the bloody thing

boovidge
01/09/2008, 7:15 PM

How is "6 counties" disrespectful? I hear the ROI being referred to the 26 counties all the time

eelmonster
01/09/2008, 8:52 PM
Well, if we didn't have quite such "acquisitive" or disrespectful* neighbours, we could maybe be a bit more relaxed about these things.

The faux-outrage. 'Beggar' is alright, yeah? Mopey hypocrite.

Candystripe
01/09/2008, 11:17 PM
"Boyle sports Irish premier league" has a decent ring to it!

EalingGreen
02/09/2008, 4:57 PM
How is "6 counties" disrespectful? I hear the ROI being referred to the 26 counties all the time
Duh! Referring to the "26 counties" is just the other side of the same (disrespectful) coin.

The correct name is "Northern Ireland" (both area and football team), with "NI" being a lot quicker to type than the various other titles we are often accorded.

EalingGreen
02/09/2008, 5:13 PM
The faux-outrage. 'Beggar' is alright, yeah? Mopey hypocrite.

Hardly outrage (faux or vrai), more irritation, actually.

As for "Beggar", there is a world of difference between engaging in banter with a rival set of fans in a footballing context, and disrespecting them personally in a social setting.

For example, when NI played in Scotland last week, I happily joined in the chants ("Small part of England" etc) aimed in their direction and they reciprocated equally keenly.

But before and after in the pub and on the trains etc, we were each careful not to say anything which would bring down the atmosphere and possibly cause offence, so that everyone had a great time in each others company.

Which is why you can slag off me, our players, team, manager, fans etc, but I'd rather you showed a wee bit of respect for our country, history, property etc.

EalingGreen
02/09/2008, 5:16 PM
"Boyle sports Irish premier league" has a decent ring to it!
I know youse Derry Wans are just dying to get back into the real "Irish Premier League", but sorry, that's not the way to go about it! ;)

"Irish League" and "Irish Premier League" both belong to the Irish Football Association and they're aren't up for sale.

eelmonster
02/09/2008, 11:37 PM
Which is why you can slag off me, our players, team, manager, fans etc, but I'd rather you showed a wee bit of respect for our country, history, property etc.

That's quite absurd, I don't believe I've disrespected NI's history, property or etc once. Though I agree, such respect should be afforded, which is why I fail to understand why you and a section of your supporters continue to employ the term 'beggars' to describe our slightly larger country. I'm sure it's of little consequence that you're insulting - knowingly or unknowingly (however, as you're clearly a well-read chap, you'll know of the Punch origins of its usage) - the entire Catholic population of Northern Ireland. But, sure, it's just harmless banter, so it is.

the-blue-harp
03/09/2008, 12:16 AM
a football match is a social setting. regardless of where you take your bigotry its unwanted.

galwayhoop
03/09/2008, 9:38 AM
"Irish League" and "Irish Premier League" both belong to the Irish Football Association and they're aren't up for sale.

are you sure about that?*

i agree 100% about "Irish League" and that is old ground. Incidently it irks me when teams like St. Patricks, Shamrock and Drog-e-da are refered to as the Irish League on Sky and Setanta Sports News.

However, I don't know about owning the rights to a competition called the Irish Premier League. Your own premier competition is called the Premiership and the English don't have a monopoly on that.

As yours is The Irish League JJB Premiership aka "The JJB Premiership" then there is no legal impediment to ours hypothetically being called the League of Ireland Boylesports Irish Premier League aka "The Boylesports Irish Premier League".

Just because your league is called the Irish League that does not give you a monopoly over using the name Irish. Similarly our league title does not give us the exclusive rights to use the name Ireland. Although the island is subject to partition we both can equally claim right to being Irish and from Ireland.

However your association is not adverse to getting all wrapped up in legal battles so probably wouldn't be plain sailing - still it's a swanky name if I don't mind saying so myself.

* please refrain from quoting Wiki to back up arguements

EalingGreen
03/09/2008, 9:49 AM
That's quite absurd, I don't believe I've disrespected NI's history, property or etc once. Though I agree, such respect should be afforded, which is why I fail to understand why you and a section of your supporters continue to employ the term 'beggars' to describe our slightly larger country. I'm sure it's of little consequence that you're insulting - knowingly or unknowingly (however, as you're clearly a well-read chap, you'll know of the Punch origins of its usage) - the entire Catholic population of Northern Ireland. But, sure, it's just harmless banter, so it is.

I like to think I'm reasonably well educated and literate, but I haven't got the faintest idea what you're referring to (in bold). Then again, I've never even read "Punch", even in the Doctor's Waiting Room (In fact, does it even exist?)

Afaik, the term "Beggars" was applied to the ROI team at (or maybe soon after?) Big Jack's time in charge, when by exploiting the Granny Rule to the full, the ROI was "begging" players from all over to play for them. (You know, "Beg, Steal or Borrow"?, that sort of thing)

As it happens, I have a good mate who's Catholic, member of the same NI Supporters club as me and who I go to matches with. I'm sure I've heard him use the term "Beggar", but even if he hasn't, he never turns a hair when people use it in his company, or on websites etc.

So if you're implying that this derives from some gratuitously insulting Punch article some time back, then you're way off the mark. Just like e.g. those idiots who castigate the IFA for playing at a stadium named after the Royal Family, when the Royal Family didn't change their name to Windsor until 1917 - 12 years after Windsor Park was opened...:rolleyes:

Bizarre.

P.S. Any idea which ROI fan used the term "Beggars" on this site a wee while back? I'll give you a clue:

Forum: Ireland 08/11/2007, 1:16 AM
Eligibility proposal
Posted By eelmonster
Vote early, vote often - beggars of the world...

Vote early, vote often - beggars of the world unite:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/default.stm

Ring any bells, EM? :rolleyes:

EalingGreen
03/09/2008, 9:52 AM
a football match is a social setting. regardless of where you take your bigotry its unwanted.
I agree bigotry is unacceptable in any setting.
But someone shouting "Bigot" any time they're upset by a comment doesn't automatically make that comment bigoted.

EalingGreen
03/09/2008, 10:03 AM
are you sure about that?*
However, I don't know about owning the rights to a competition called the Irish Premier League. Your own premier competition is called the Premiership and the English don't have a monopoly on that.

As yours is The Irish League JJB Premiership aka "The JJB Premiership" then there is no legal impediment to ours hypothetically being called the League of Ireland Boylesports Irish Premier League aka "The Boylesports Irish Premier League".

Just because your league is called the Irish League that does not give you a monopoly over using the name Irish. Similarly our league title does not give us the exclusive rights to use the name Ireland. Although the island is subject to partition we both can equally claim right to being Irish and from Ireland.

However your association is not adverse to getting all wrapped up in legal battles so probably wouldn't be plain sailing - still it's a swanky name if I don't mind saying so myself.

* please refrain from quoting Wiki to back up arguements

An organisation doesn't lose the right to intellectual property just because they are not currently using it. It would be confusing, misleading and clearly open to challenge (as well as being downright cheeky) if the FAI were to attempt to appropriate the names "Irish League" or "Irish Premier League" for themselves.
Just like it would if the IFA were to seek to use the terms "League of Ireland" or "Premier League of Ireland" for their own purposes.
I'm sure this latter is not something which would ever occur to anyone in the IFA or NI, so why does anyone in the FAI or ROI consider they can get away with the former?
It's a simple matter of mutual respect.

P.S. Unless it is breaking some forum rule :confused:, I'll quote from Wiki if I consider it credibly backs up my case, thanks very much.

P.P.S. How did you know I was quoting from Wiki btw? Might it not be because you were also using it, too? ;)

P.P.P.S. At least they know how to spell "argument" on Wikipedia ;)

03/09/2008, 10:19 AM
What are you hoping to achieve EG? This thread isn't about the Irish League - it's obvious to me (and it should be to you) that whoever the new sponsor is that they will dictate the naming of the league to maximise their brand name. Unless the words "Ireland" or "Irish" is included in their brand name, every sponsor would seek the naming of the league to fully highlight and exploit their brand name - as in "the Eircom League", "the Eircom Premier Division" and "the Eircom First Division". Unless "Ireland" or "Irish" is part of their brand name, why would any sponsor seek to include extra text in the naming of the league?

As for you persistant quoting of wikipedia and google search results, maybe you could quote the opening sentence of the paragraph(s) you wish to highlight and add a link for the rest. It makes it easier for the reader to skim the waffle that way. ;)

EalingGreen
03/09/2008, 11:17 AM
What are you hoping to achieve EG?
Following the acquisition of a new sponsor, posters have been speculating on what name the new League might have. A couple or three have suggested names which are imo inappropriate, since they presume the right to use another organisation's titles, in a way which is misleading, confusing and disrespectful (as well as legally questionable).
That is the point I am seeking to make ("achieve")

As for you persistant quoting of wikipedia and google search results, maybe you could quote the opening sentence of the paragraph(s) you wish to highlight and add a link for the rest. It makes it easier for the reader to skim the waffle that way. ;)
In this entire thread, I have resorted to Wiki twice (#34 and #69), citing the complete source exactly as you suggest in #69.
In both cases, my contribution/excerpt was a mere 4 lines long.
I have only used Google to navigate quickly to other reference sites (e.g. www.fai.ie or www.irishfa.com)

Please tell me where in this thread you think I have been "persistantly" [sic] quoting wiki or google. Or in which posts I have quoted more than a paragraph, or required readers to "skim waffle" etc. :rolleyes: