View Full Version : Changing Times

jamesd
27/08/2008, 1:23 PM
Once again another meeting has taken place filled with many versions but all about the same issue.......finance.

I have to admit I was shocked to see so many who had been closest supporters of the Chairman, finally having the confidence to stand up and be counted and when they questioned anything he said, they were told they were out of order.

How the hell can you run a Club when members are ruled out of order for expressing their opinions?

It is now proven, Cobh Ramblers is been led by a dictatorship and not a leadership.

But again, nobody here will admit this.

27/08/2008, 1:39 PM
Once again another meeting has taken place filled with many versions but all about the same issue.......finance.

Well it was a finance information meeting!

I wish jamesd that you'd stop stirring and looking for reactions:mad:

I wasn't there so I can't comment but what I do know is that anytime something happens in this club your always first to comment and you know what, it's rarely about team matters and it's always negative toward the running of the club.

Grow up for feck sake!:p:mad:

Claret & Blue
27/08/2008, 1:54 PM
He only get a reaction because you take the bait each time.

The easiest way to ignore these posts is for no-one to respond!

At least if he is only talking to himself there is no argument!

the sub
27/08/2008, 2:33 PM
that is the best way to stop all the negative crap... no response and they go away

6yardpunisha
27/08/2008, 3:03 PM
time to move on lads, must say the critiscm of the foot.ie and off forum by certain people last night is bordering on paranoia.what is it with these people are they afraid of technology or what. disgraceful behaviour all round by some of these numnuts.

jfarlo
27/08/2008, 6:34 PM
DICTATORSHIP. A form of government in which a single individual, who has seized power by force, exercises complete and often arbitrary control over all aspects of government.
DEMOCRACY is government by the people in which the supreme power is vested in the people and exercised directly by them or by their elected agents under a free electoral system."
I presume not even you need help seeing which one of these is in place jamesd. Im sure if you have trouble choosing the minutes from the recent egm where the chairman was shown full support by the people under a free electoral system might help ya.

jamesd
27/08/2008, 7:20 PM
DICTATORSHIP. A form of government in which a single individual, who has seized power by force, exercises complete and often arbitrary control over all aspects of government.
DEMOCRACY is government by the people in which the supreme power is vested in the people and exercised directly by them or by their elected agents under a free electoral system."
I presume not even you need help seeing which one of these is in place jamesd. Im sure if you have trouble choosing the minutes from the recent egm where the chairman was shown full support by the people under a free electoral system might help ya.

Full support of whom??? It is truly amazing to see people attending meetings as season ticket holders who don't attend matches.

And for any Chairman to bark at members and say put up or shut up, well it certainly is not professional conduct by a so called leader.

And of course best of all, we have a manager who has not delievered for the club, pleading with people to put their hands in their pockets and support the club.

The manager would be better advised to keep his opinions to himself and channel his energies into figuring out a way to keep the team in Premier Division.

The sooner that the Football is kept apart from the running of the club the better.

don ramo
28/08/2008, 6:29 AM
lad no more replies, just let it die,

thread out

28/08/2008, 6:36 AM
thread out

what?? :D

don ramo
28/08/2008, 6:44 AM
what?? :D

thats what 3 12 hour night shifts do to ya;);)

Redshanks
28/08/2008, 10:31 AM
Seems to me that the infamous 'Jamesd' is the one who took the bait there. As soon as someone replied to him, he left his mask drop once again and showed his pathetic twisted hand.

You can bet he didnt put his hand in his pocket or sign up to save 'His' club though! :D

jamesd
28/08/2008, 11:47 AM
Seems to me that the infamous 'Jamesd' is the one who took the bait there. As soon as someone replied to him, he left his mask drop once again and showed his pathetic twisted hand.

You can bet he didnt put his hand in his pocket or sign up to save 'His' club though! :D

On the contrary, I would do anything I can to help out the club. My only concern is that where are the assurances that this kind of financial mess won't happen again.

You are all ready to chew me when I question the Chairman and Committee. I am entitled to do so, and I would argue that if it were any other Chairman in office, many here would be the first to seek his/her removal.

Let me state, that I have no personal grevience with the Chairman, in fact I have been an admirer of his for many years. And like I have suggested to him, I believe it is time for a fresh start. I also believe that all Committee positions should only be held for a maximum of three years.

6yardpunisha
28/08/2008, 1:00 PM
On the contrary, I would do anything I can to help out the club. My only concern is that where are the assurances that this kind of financial mess won't happen again.

You are all ready to chew me when I question the Chairman and Committee. I am entitled to do so, and I would argue that if it were any other Chairman in office, many here would be the first to seek his/her removal.

Let me state, that I have no personal grevience with the Chairman, in fact I have been an admirer of his for many years. And like I have suggested to him, I believe it is time for a fresh start. I also believe that all Committee positions should only be held for a maximum of three years.

Redshanks asked you a direct question and this is what you came back with, vague answer

jamesd
28/08/2008, 1:35 PM
Redshanks asked you a direct question and this is what you came back with, vague answer

Where was the question?? He made a statement assuming that I wasn't prepared to assist the club. How wrong he is.

What really annoys me here is that people assume too much. If I say something wrong then I will put my hand up and apologise. But when I question how things are run, I am told to shut up.

As a member of Cobh Ramblers FC and someone who has served in the past, I should be entitled to my opinion like anyone else without been slated or abused. I am not a member of "any side" as people here are fond of saying.

But it really frustrates me that members are been asked to dish out their money without been assured that this kind of financial mess won't happen again. Its not so long ago when the Club was in dire straits and again we were told it was all sorted.

If that is been negative and knocking, I apologise but so be it. There can be no quick fixes here. We need a clear vision for the future regardless of who is in charge.

6yardpunisha
28/08/2008, 5:14 PM
Where was the question?? He made a statement assuming that I wasn't prepared to assist the club. How wrong he is.

What really annoys me here is that people assume too much. If I say something wrong then I will put my hand up and apologise. But when I question how things are run, I am told to shut up.

As a member of Cobh Ramblers FC and someone who has served in the past, I should be entitled to my opinion like anyone else without been slated or abused. I am not a member of "any side" as people here are fond of saying.

But it really frustrates me that members are been asked to dish out their money without been assured that this kind of financial mess won't happen again. Its not so long ago when the Club was in dire straits and again we were told it was all sorted.

If that is been negative and knocking, I apologise but so be it. There can be no quick fixes here. We need a clear vision for the future regardless of who is in charge.

havent the committee appointed two people with a third to come to run the finances of the club, thats what i took out of the meeting the other night. So when they come back with their financial plan for the future of the club then it should be interesting to see what they propose

marty
28/08/2008, 6:07 PM
I"d have to agree with both sides here,jamesd has only stated the truth and seems to have the club at heart but is getting aggressivly attacked from fellow supporters.If this were a proper run business the current board would have been run a long time ago,ppl will have to accept no matter whos in charge there will be opposition I for one would not give a cent to the current chairman but hes in charge of our club so its best just getting on with things.The end of the season will tell a lot and this new fundraising commatee is a massive posative but they need to have full control of finances meaning any spending will have to be put to them first then the chairman cant be singled out.

PS..Just to let ppl know how bad this club is I know of supporters who paid the 100 euro for the season ticket up front but were never approached for the balance,this is not proper planning.

luka
28/08/2008, 7:29 PM
PS..Just to let ppl know how bad this club is I know of supporters who paid the 100 euro for the season ticket up front but were never approached for the balance,this is not proper planning

That maybe so (and I say MAYBE) but sure whose job was it at the time before closing date of 26th May to chase these people down for any outstandsing balance?

6yardpunisha
28/08/2008, 7:46 PM
That maybe so (and I say MAYBE) but sure whose job was it at the time before closing date of 26th May to chase these people down for any outstandsing balance?

the treasurer?, did we have one then?

28/08/2008, 8:02 PM
The end of the season will tell a lot and this new fundraising commatee is a massive posative but they need to have full control of finances meaning any spending will have to be put to them first then the chairman cant be singled out..

Its the financial committee not fundraising

marty
28/08/2008, 9:39 PM
Financial commatee,thats even better id imagine they"ll will have the final say on spending so at least things cant get worse.

Im not sure whos job it was to go chasing ppl for money but the POINT is it went un-noticed and this not a club who can afford such a lazy attitude

Id agree the club has moved forward but basics such as the above need to be addressed in the future,communication is vital.

Finanally can anyone tell me if i can get my hands on a white ramblers jersey only seen them on kids??

don ramo
28/08/2008, 10:28 PM
at saturdays game, they should have a season ticket check, anyone not payed up has there card taken, made pay, and will get the card back when there ticket is fully paid,

stamp it out:mad:

Redshanks
29/08/2008, 7:41 AM
Question is, have they a record of whose not fully paid up on the season tickets?

Suderland game was a fundraiser to help the club avoid the situation we are now in, yet i watched as some in so called control of our club didnt even buy a ticket to that event ,let alone help to sell them. I'll include some of the so called club saviours that were appointed the other night in that!

Yet they all praised and clapped the Sunderland committee at that meeting -What a vicious circle of hypocracy and insincerity!

chimpster
29/08/2008, 8:01 AM
Im not sure whos job it was to go chasing ppl for money but the POINT is it went un-noticed and this not a club who can afford such a lazy attitude. Id agree the club has moved forward but basics such as the above need to be addressed in the future,communication is vital.

Which takes me back to the point I've been making on this forum for the last 18 months.... We have to appoint a general manager to co-ordinate the running of the club to ensure that all jobs are done on time and to the proper standard. The days of giving fellas big pats on the back for slapdash efforts must end.

jamesd
29/08/2008, 8:35 AM
Which takes me back to the point I've been making on this forum for the last 18 months.... We have to appoint a general manager to co-ordinate the running of the club to ensure that all jobs are done on time and to the proper standard. The days of giving fellas big pats on the back for slapdash efforts must end.

Chimpster, I agree with you completely. Having a General Manager would be great and all elected including the GM would have to be accountable.

Believe me, I have the future of Cobh Ramblers very much at heart.

I think it is only appropriate that we spare a thought too for our friends in Cork City. You can't but feel for them, and I just hope that we won't get docked 10 points like them.

Like I have said many times, I am ready and willing to do anything I can to help.

29/08/2008, 10:07 AM
lad no more replies, just let it dieWhich part of this are you thicks having trouble with? If you don't agree with someone's opinion, either refute it with logic or ignore it. If you don't, you're just going to end up suspended from the site, which hardly seems like a win to me.

Grow up for god's sake, you're embarassing yourselves and your club.

29/08/2008, 10:55 AM
Grow up for god's sake, you're embarassing yourselves and your club.

Our club has embarrassed itself more than we could ever do in recent weeks so a little friendly fire amongst ourselves won't do nothing!

6yardpunisha
29/08/2008, 11:11 AM
Our club has embarrassed itself more than we could ever do in recent weeks so a little friendly fire amongst ourselves won't do nothing!

your best post yet:D

the sub
29/08/2008, 11:15 AM

Its nothing got to with me, but the above quote says it all.. City is in a worse state than Cobh, but do you see them kicking the crap of each other.

Looking at one thread that no one responded to, you got two sponsors to pay for the bus for your reserve team to Dublin so your reserve team could fill their fixture. Otherwise you would rec another big fine from the fai. That is a positive talk about that and your team which is more important!! OR IS IT

Redshanks
29/08/2008, 2:09 PM
I'm lost here. One member asked another not to reply to a third person whom he felt was being provocative and stiring up trouble, and for that he was accused of embarassing his club.

Whats embarassing about this is the warning and threats he recieved for trying to defuse an embarrassing situation. And then GOD crowned it off by telling him and the rest of us that we are Thicks!

Nice one -day day!

6yardpunisha
29/08/2008, 2:11 PM
I'm lost here. One member asked another not to reply to a third person whom he felt was being provocative and stiring up trouble, and for that he was accused of embarassing his club.

Whats embarassing about this is the warning and threats he recieved for trying to defuse an embarrassing situation. And then GOD crowned it off by telling him and the rest of us that we are Thicks!

Nice one -day day!

brilliant:D

29/08/2008, 2:57 PM
I'm lost here. One member asked another not to reply to a third person whom he felt was being provocative and stiring up trouble, and for that he was accused of embarassing his club.Have you not figured out why the Quote tag is called "Quote" yet? If anything, I was complimenting don ramo on his intelligent comment. And you wonder why I call some of ye thicks... :rolleyes:

Does anyone else want to comment on the actual topic, or is it time to lock this thread?

Cici900
29/08/2008, 3:30 PM
lock it we could do without this

Redshanks
29/08/2008, 3:59 PM
Well if you 'God' feel a threat is a compliment, then we must be thicks and maybe you should lock it!