View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26

kaka
03/02/2009, 5:30 PM
-----------------------------------------
Where is Regionals Field?
Is it the same as there b team?
i think so topper, and if so great field and if i know john mc he,ll have the pitch in tip top shape !! i think regional will win this one , might of being a differant story if it was being played below in dougles hall home pitch , but there playing well at the moment , one to watch .

kaka
03/02/2009, 5:33 PM
Probably dont want to make it public until they look after their friends and foe's
lads, this is the FAI we are on about....this is a crowd who couldnt organise footballs for a football team...unfortunatley we play football under their umbrella
could,nt of said it better myself leather,true words spoken there!!!!!!!!!!

abbeyvale
03/02/2009, 5:51 PM
You probably saw the paper tonight, but this was the
Pike team-
Bennis
Mitchel
Mullins
Enright
Mcgarry
Corbett
Hartnett
O'Shea
Boyle
Nabs
Maloney

Subs :
O'Donovan for Mitchel
Not sued
O'Grady
Purcell
Barry

Pike up 1 nil (hartnett) at half with not much between the sides. Eris equalised immediately inthe 2nd hald. Boyle get a reply minutes later. Eris get one abouit 20 mins later and then a free kick into the box not dealt with and they take the lead. Pike throw everything at them and missed a few good chances.Conditions and pitch was not great.

Don't think erris will win the comp. but they did enough to win yesterday!

At what minute/stage did Pike go 3-2 behind???

Goals4fun
03/02/2009, 5:57 PM
At what minute/stage did Pike go 3-2 behind???

rough guide somewhere between 25-20 mins to go.

abbeyvale
03/02/2009, 6:06 PM
rough guide somewhere between 25-20 mins to go.

Were you at the game? Why the hell wasn't Pa Barry or another attack minded player brought on after they went 3-2 down????

I'm assuming when O'Donovan came on for Mitchell, Corbett went and played right full???

Then surely with 10-15mins to go, a defender or a holding midfielder could have been sacrificed for an attacker??

Goals4fun
03/02/2009, 6:11 PM
Were you at the game? Why the hell wasn't Pa Barry or another attack minded player brought on after they went 3-2 down????

I'm assuming when O'Donovan came on for Mitchell, Corbett went and played right full???

Then surely with 10-15mins to go, a defender or a holding midfielder could have been sacrificed for an attacker??

was at the game alright. pike did change formation went 3 at the back but to no avail..... i would have brought pa on also

maestro
03/02/2009, 6:31 PM
it would be hard for them to be fightin with mcgarry when he wasnt even on the bus, get ur facts right before you start spreadin rumours:mad:

Typical idiots trying to spread rumours as usual , just cos Pike are out of the FAI doesn't mean they are gone into meltdown , its a cup competition and these things happen. As regards the fighting on the bus rumour thats just laughable as McGarry was half way to limerick in a car at the time, and who in their right mind would fight Ian Bennis without a chainsaw and some power tools:p

Goals4fun
03/02/2009, 6:40 PM
who in their right mind would fight Ian Bennis without a chainsaw and some power tools:p

even with that i would stay away....

halo16
03/02/2009, 7:58 PM

for all your faith in pa barry abbeyvale he doesnt seem to be gettin much of a lookin up in pike.surprised he isnt gone back to ye to be honest

kaka
03/02/2009, 8:02 PM
for all your faith in pa barry abbeyvale he doesnt seem to be gettin much of a lookin up in pike.surprised he isnt gone back to ye to be honest
have to agree with halo yap anybody know why not a regular up there ????

Pike B
03/02/2009, 8:15 PM
Battling for a position with a couple of better players in my opinion. Would love him on the B team though!!! :D

kaka
03/02/2009, 9:09 PM
Battling for a position with a couple of better players in my opinion. Would love him on the B team though!!! :D
pa barry a b player i dont think so !!!!! are u telling me pa barry isnt good enough for premier ?

Goals4fun
03/02/2009, 9:13 PM

normally battling for the left wing with young hanrahan who was away on international duty last weekend, so he is up against good quality !!

abbeyvale
03/02/2009, 9:56 PM

Oh trust me, I have tried.......but in all fairness, from the reports I've been getting from the game, I'm surprised he wasn't thrown on with 15 mins to go, coz he is just the type of player the oppostion wouldn't want running at them in the last few mins.

abbeyvale
03/02/2009, 10:00 PM
normally battling for the left wing with young hanrahan who was away on international duty last weekend, so he is up against good quality !!

But surely if Hanrahan was away, then he should have been given a chance????

What kind of a message does that give Pa!!!!

He travels all the way up, stays overnight, thinking to himself that the regular left winger is out, so this is he's chance, only to find himself on the bench, and to add further insult, doesn't even get a run...........Too many strokes being pulled when picking the team if you ask me.......thats why Pike will never win the FAI imo.

Pike B
03/02/2009, 10:04 PM
pa barry a b player i dont think so !!!!! are u telling me pa barry isnt good enough for premier ?
Not at all. Just tough task getting into our A team. Fine player, and a sound bloke. Plenty of Premier teams would love to get him.

kaka
03/02/2009, 10:33 PM
Not at all. Just tough task getting into our A team. Fine player, and a sound bloke. Plenty of Premier teams would love to get him.
but like abbeyvale said if hanrahan was,nt there why did,nt pa start ?

Pike B
03/02/2009, 10:42 PM
I wasn't even there. F@cked if I know..

fourtwotwo
04/02/2009, 8:34 AM

He travels all the way up, stays overnight, thinking to himself that the regular left winger is out, so this is he's chance, only to find himself on the bench, and to add further insult, doesn't even get a run...........Too many strokes being pulled when picking the team if you ask me.......thats why Pike will never win the FAI imo.
only the managers can answer that, he wasnt the only player not to get a run, but hes part of a big squad and thats the way it goes sometimes, imo he should have been brought on along with o'grady they had fresh legs and would have made a differance

Fr Damo
04/02/2009, 8:54 AM
Anyone know when the next round is due to be made and played??

prince20
04/02/2009, 8:59 AM
Next Sunday morning for the draw and the ties to be played on the weekend of 21/22 feb09

halo16
04/02/2009, 11:40 AM

agree 100% with everything you say in your post abbeyvale.i thought the same,would have made practicable sense imo.obviously the pike management think different.its a shame that he is warming the bench most weeks up in pike.too good a player to be wasting time up there.he would have been better off staying down in star or joining the boro.the only reason i can think of why they dont play him id that he tenda to drift in and out of games.

Abbey Road
04/02/2009, 1:00 PM
agree 100% with everything you say in your post abbeyvale.i thought the same,would have made practicable sense imo.obviously the pike management think different.its a shame that he is warming the bench most weeks up in pike.too good a player to be wasting time up there.he would have been better off staying down in star or joining the boro.the only reason i can think of why they dont play him id that he tenda to drift in and out of games.

Wad there a reason why Philip Purcell didn't start???Funny that he is good enough for the Oscar Traynor but not for Pike especially in such a big game!Experience is valuable in these kind of games.....

old git
04/02/2009, 1:09 PM

seems a bit like the robbie keane situation at liverpool.. but end of day managers have the final saw on who plays .. :ball:

Mixer
04/02/2009, 2:34 PM
Wad there a reason why Philip Purcell didn't start???Funny that he is good enough for the Oscar Traynor but not for Pike especially in such a big game!Experience is valuable in these kind of games.....

The reason is he's not good enough to start with Pike, Mullins and Enright are the 1st choice and rightly so they are better than him.

hula4
04/02/2009, 2:40 PM
how does he get into the oscar traynor team then? surely managers dont have favourites!!:D:D

Abbey Road
04/02/2009, 2:42 PM
The reason is he's not good enough to start with Pike, Mullins and Enright are the 1st choice and rightly so they are better than him.

That's fair enough!!Not good enough even at full back??Just thought that Philip is a good,tough experienced player and would have been ideal for a game like that!You seem to know more than me so i'll value your opinion!

widow
04/02/2009, 3:03 PM
the managers can only pick eleven players. If Pa Barry or Purcell did start ye'd be saying the same about who ever wass left out. From what I heard it was just one of those games where things went wrong. Joys of having a big squad, these things are only discussed when a team loses.

widow
04/02/2009, 3:05 PM
how does he get into the oscar traynor team then? surely managers dont have favourites!!:D:D

this years oscar traynor team was based on the team from last season who did so well and got to the final. Enright has no interest in playing for the oscar traynor. Purcell would probably walk into any other team in town besides pike who have an embarassment of riches at center half.

halo16
04/02/2009, 3:15 PM
this years oscar traynor team was based on the team from last season who did so well and got to the final. Enright has no interest in playing for the oscar traynor. Purcell would probably walk into any other team in town besides pike who have an embarassment of riches at center half.
would agree with you there widow

referee
04/02/2009, 3:46 PM
Typical idiots trying to spread rumours as usual , just cos Pike are out of the FAI doesn't mean they are gone into meltdown , its a cup competition and these things happen. As regards the fighting on the bus rumour thats just laughable as McGarry was half way to limerick in a car at the time, and who in their right mind would fight Ian Bennis without a chainsaw and some power tools:p

Whoever started that rumour of fighting in the bus was wrong. It all happened in the dressing room after the match. So iv been told by one of the parties involved and i dont think he would be spreading rumours like that.

dared
04/02/2009, 3:54 PM
Whoever started that rumour of fighting in the bus was wrong. It all happened in the dressing room after the match. So iv been told by one of the parties involved and i dont think he would be spreading rumours like that.
Lads to be fair a few harsh words or even 2 guys making a go for each other after loosing an important game is hardly unusual... this sort of thing happens in every club and to be honest id be disappointed not to see it... it shows that guys give a sh*t... If it happened so what :cool:

tedd11
04/02/2009, 4:52 PM
Lads to be fair a few harsh words or even 2 guys making a go for each other after loosing an important game is hardly unusual... this sort of thing happens in every club and to be honest id be disappointed not to see it... it shows that guys give a sh*t... If it happened so what :cool:
agreed,im sure tis water under the bridge at this stage

oscar
04/02/2009, 6:45 PM

i heard he was told he was starting because Boris was away only for Connie to then tell him he wasn't fit:eek:now before anyone from Pike has a coronary i said i heard....this doesn't mean its true:rolleyes:

manuman
04/02/2009, 6:47 PM
Lads I was at the game as a neutral and I have to say the Iorras lads are not been given the credit they deserve, they won the game whatever side the pike management put out they could only put out 11, Iorras got 3 very good goals, pike scored there first from harknett from 30 yards and there second was a sloppy 1, I would not like to be the team that meet these Iorras lads as I feel these boys are a very close team and will be very hard to beat.They are very good at the back especially.The attitude they showed at the game was that they would die for eachother, you must remember they were not given a chance before the game.:ball::ball:

pimpong
04/02/2009, 7:40 PM
i was at a touhy cup game recently and overheard a former boro manager mouthing off about the current team,saying they were the worst boro team in ages,slaging daithi off and saying st,michaels would hit them for 6,boro had a fine win while his team were hit for 6,how does that pie taste my man

while on the subject of managers 2 loud mouth pike supporters in patsys on monday nite were telling all and sundry that if pike didn't win the munster junior connie and casey were gone,a bit much if you ask me as the lads have done a fine job

tedd11
04/02/2009, 9:15 PM
i was at a touhy cup game recently and overheard a former boro manager mouthing off about the current team,saying they were the worst boro team in ages,slaging daithi off and saying st,michaels would hit them for 6,boro had a fine win while his team were hit for 6,how does that pie taste my man

while on the subject of managers 2 loud mouth pike supporters in patsys on monday nite were telling all and sundry that if pike didn't win the munster junior connie and casey were gone,a bit much if you ask me as the lads have done a fine job
ive been hearing that rubbish for the last 3 years about the 2 pike managers getting the sack.id agree they have done a pretty good job over last few years.always consistently challenge for every trophy bar the fai.the committe obviously still sickened that they just cant seem to go that extra step and win it even though since fairviews domination of the late 90's no team has really dominated it.

regarding the other issue you brought up i think everyone has heard enough on that subject at this stage.starting to sound like a broken record.its in the past,over and done with and boro to there credit have come out the better after it especially when everything nearly fell assunder for them.

Noddy
04/02/2009, 9:30 PM
Its rubbish, in two years they've won the munster junior and the league. Wasn't so long ago when Pike were nearly relegated. Alot of people seem to forget that.

hula4
04/02/2009, 10:08 PM
when were pike nearly relegated

Noddy
04/02/2009, 10:12 PM
97/98 season. Scored a penalty to avoid a playoff for relegation in the last game of the season. They've been progressing since. Last 10/11 years has been the most successful era the club has had.

Noddy
04/02/2009, 10:14 PM
I'd fancy them strongly for the league now.

hula4
04/02/2009, 10:38 PM
97/98 season. Scored a penalty to avoid a playoff for relegation in the last game of the season. They've been progressing since. Last 10/11 years has been the most successful era the club has had.

was thinking it was a good bit ago, id say the likes of colm enright and others that are there a good few years have a seriously impressive haul of medals

Jock MIB
04/02/2009, 10:45 PM
Ok lads this is a FAI thread and the conversation is going away from that so if you want to continue this talk move it to the appropriate thread please , if not then posts will be deleted

Jock Mib

Pike B
04/02/2009, 10:47 PM
Ok lads this is a FAI thread and the conversation is going away from that so if you want to continue this talk move it to the appropriate thread please , if not then posts will be deleted

Jock Mib
Well said Big Man. This aint the Pike History thread!! ;)

old git
05/02/2009, 9:29 AM

embarassment of riches at centre half :confused:.. statement is a bit of an embarassment after conceding 3 goals and going out of fai :ball:

AlwaysAHoop
05/02/2009, 11:49 AM
With 12 or 13 teams confirmed into last 16 this season seems to have thrown up a few shocks.i think it can go any way..favorites have to be carrick as they have won it before..,who do ye see as favorites and who would u like your clubs to get in draw on sunday.:)

smasher
05/02/2009, 11:59 AM
Carrick could be without a couple of their strong players due to injury for rest of season so they may not be as strong favourites as you think.

manuman
05/02/2009, 3:11 PM
What do ye think of iorras aontaithe have they any chance of going any further in the competition?

widow
05/02/2009, 3:20 PM
chances depend greatly on whether they are drawn home or away

allab
05/02/2009, 3:28 PM
if fairview get home draws they will be hard to beat..