View Full Version : Newstalk - Ger Gilroy
barney
13/08/2008, 11:32 PM
I know this is a variation on a well worn theme but...
On the bus on the way to work this morning listening to Newstalk's breakfast show and they are previewing Liverpool's game against Liege and Ger Gilroy starts by saying, "The Champions League returns tonight when Liverpool and Arsenal..." I could have marched into their office and pulled the little **** over his desk and kicked the c**p out of him.
What does he think Drogheda were playing in only last week? I could maybe give a bit of leeway if Liverpool and Arsenal were playing in the group stages but they were playing in the same qualifying rounds that Drogheda played in (albeit one round further on). Could you imagine his indignation if England got a round further than Ireland in the World Cup and declared that the competiton only started there.
This is apparently one of the country's brightest broadcasting talents who started his journalistic career writing about football and he spouts this sort of rubbish. Only a week ago he interviewed Roddy about the second leg on the same show. I fully understand that English football is, and may always be, more popular than the domestic game but to completely deny, through willful ignorance, the brilliant achievements of Drogheda is absolutely disgraceful. I wasn't slow about texting my disdain by text, but funnily enough, they never read it on air.
Still fuming over it.
Rant over.
finnpark
13/08/2008, 11:42 PM
On the bus on the way to work this morning listening to Newstalk's breakfast show and they are previewing Liverpool's game against Liege and Ger Gilroy starts by saying, "The Champions League returns tonight when Liverpool and Arsenal..." I could have marched into their office and pulled the little **** over his desk and kicked the c**p out of him.
What does he think Drogheda were playing in only last week? I could maybe give a bit of leeway if Liverpool and Arsenal were playing in the group stages but they were playing in the same qualifying rounds that Drogheda played in (albeit one round further on). Could you imagine his indignation if England got a round further than Ireland in the World Cup and declared that the competiton only started there.
This is apparently one of the country's brightest broadcasting talents who started his journalistic career writing about football and he spouts this sort of rubbish. Only a week ago he interviewed Roddy about the second leg on the same show. I fully understand that English football is, and may always be, more popular than the domestic game but to completely deny, through willful ignorance, the brilliant achievements of Drogheda is absolutely disgraceful. I wasn't slow about texting my disdain by text, but funnily enough, they never read it on air.
Still fuming over it.
Rant over.
They should lose their licences for promoting british football. RTE and the Irish media in general are behond a joke when it comes to premiership football. Whats with the obsession? Thankfully, the money is going out of it and it will dwindle it a little.
Post up his email address and we will all email saying what a disgrace his pro british football obsession is sad and a waste of public airway license.
BCI should be contacted also at info@bci.ie. These radio stations shouldn't be awarded licenses to promote this british rubbish.
At least it looks likes RTE's premiership programme is on its last legs. Poor ratings has led to a change in time and name.
That reminds me, MNS wasn't on this week, whens it on?
It was on around midnight on Monday/Tuesday
Saint_Charlie
14/08/2008, 12:29 AM
That reminds me, MNS wasn't on this week, whens it on?
It was on at 11.50pm on Monday. Same again next Monday I think. The Olympics.
SMorgan
14/08/2008, 5:40 AM
Goodness you're sensitive. There is absolutely nothing wrong with making that statement before any round right up to the final. I've heard it said many many times throughout a season.
It appears some people scan the airways looking for every opportunity to be offended.
14/08/2008, 7:42 AM
This is apparently one of the country's brightest broadcasting talents who started his journalistic career writing about football and he spouts this sort of rubbish.
You obviously didn't see his World Cup thing and his van, really bad TV
Good idea it was but the man has no personality
barney
14/08/2008, 7:52 AM
Goodness you're sensitive. There is absolutely nothing wrong with making that statement before any round right up to the final. I've heard it said many many times throughout a season.
It appears some people scan the airways looking for every opportunity to be offended.
So you think there would be nothing wrong each week with saying "And the Premiership returns this week"? It was quite clear that the implication was that last night was the start of this season's CL.
I'm not normally one to have a go at the media for giving the EPL precedence over the eL because I understand why that is the case. However, to completely disregards Drogheda's exploits, like I believe he did, was out of order.
Heard that too, thought that had I been pedantic enough to complain they'd make some point about this being the "proper" Champions League.
Didn't remember till I read the papers this morning that it was still the qualifiers! Cheeky fecker clearly meant 'Champions League returns to relevance for barstoolers tonight' anyway...
back of the net
14/08/2008, 9:57 AM
Still fuming over it.
Rant over.
let me echo you sentiments barney - disgraceful
mandrake
14/08/2008, 10:21 AM
its just the mentality lads...annoying but it aint gonna change, and they got loads of exposure with roddys rants as well...........they did give a bit of coverage last week about the actual game and also before we played kiev at home......I noticed even uefa.com give better exposure to the 3rd round than the 2nd/1st rounds so there u go........... if only we'd qualified... if if if
Joey Killester
14/08/2008, 2:26 PM
Thsis reminds me of an ad I saw on Setanta the other day for the return of English football and Ireland matches and that. At the end I think it had their phone number and website and that for people to subscribe and at the top of the page was an Ireland crest, with the Premiership logo on one side and the FA Cup logo on the other. Says it all really.
14/08/2008, 2:52 PM
Thsis reminds me of an ad I saw on Setanta the other day for the return of English football and Ireland matches and that. At the end I think it had their phone number and website and that for people to subscribe and at the top of the page was an Ireland crest, with the Premiership logo on one side and the FA Cup logo on the other. Says it all really.
They show the exact same ad on English stations with the English crest instead of the Irish one.
Mayo_Bhoy
14/08/2008, 3:22 PM
They show the exact same ad on English stations with the English crest instead of the Irish one.
FFS Setanta are a commercial operation. They obviously want to maximise their viewing figures. Whats your problem???
14/08/2008, 3:38 PM
FFS Setanta are a commercial operation. They obviously want to maximise their viewing figures. Whats your problem???
I don't have a problem with it. My point was that they change the crest depending on their target market and that they aren't deliberately associating the Irish crest with the English Premier League logo...
Joey Killester
14/08/2008, 4:12 PM
I can accept that since they are English competitions!
Mayo_Bhoy
14/08/2008, 4:21 PM
They are going to be showing Premiership, FA Cup and Ireland international matches so they show the Prem logo, FA Cup logo and Irish logo. Would ye ever relax ffs. What do ye expect them show??
Ireland4ever
14/08/2008, 4:32 PM
Still fuming over it.
Rant over.
Lads FFS, if this is all yee have to worry about consider youselves lucky! Theres a lot worse going on in life to get worked up about than some random throwaway comment like this.
Joey Killester
14/08/2008, 5:29 PM
Go to a politics site so if you want to rea about more serious matters.
Joey Killester
14/08/2008, 5:33 PM
They are going to be showing Premiership, FA Cup and Ireland international matches so they show the Prem logo, FA Cup logo and Irish logo. Would ye ever relax ffs. What do ye expect them show??
Yes obviously I know thats why they were shown but do you not see how its slightly rediculous looking having out national crest side by side Englands two major competitions?
The commercial media are just giving the people what they want.
Ger Gilroy does hate the LOI & it was good to see him leave their sports show.
The Premiership sadly is the only soccer that matters to the majority of "fans" in this country lads. Anyone see the RTE ad with the bemused fella walking around the deserted streets of Dublin. The date flashes up "16th August." I figured this must be a promo for the Dublin-Tyrone game as there will be 82,000 people at that. Silly me. Yer man picks up a newspaper off the ground and is distraught to realise he is missing the opening day of the Premiership. Laughable stuff.
Joey Killester
14/08/2008, 7:24 PM
Yeah, I saw that too. Quite depressing.
brianw82
14/08/2008, 9:30 PM
The ad is obviously a play on '28 days later'
I guess it's kinda clever, but it is sad if you choose to read more into it, that the streets of Dublin are empty because of English football.
BTW, 'Premier Soccer Saturday'? [comic book guy]Worst. Name. EVER![/comic book guy]
barney
14/08/2008, 10:25 PM
The commercial media are just giving the people what they want.
Ger Gilroy does hate the LOI & it was good to see him leave their sports show.
You're dead right and I have no problem with that but to not even acknowledge Drogheda were in the competition really grates with me. I could handle him cheerleading the English clubs but not by completely dismissing something that happened a week ago.
The f**ker is out of his depth on the Breakfast Show anyway. Hope he gets pushed off that soon.
corkharps
14/08/2008, 10:37 PM
This has probably bein talked about a thousand times BUT what are the viewing figures like for MNS?
Officially less than 100k, I heard 80k mentioned somewhere.
Drogs v Kiev got 126k or 16th on Network 2 that week.
15/08/2008, 8:50 AM
It appears some people scan the airways looking for every opportunity to be offended.It appears you scan the EL threads looking for every opportunity to troll about domestic football. You might want to have a look at your avatar.
They are going to be showing Premiership, FA Cup and Ireland international matches so they show the Prem logo, FA Cup logo and Irish logo. Would ye ever relax ffs. What do ye expect them show?? Setanta Cup?
The f**ker is out of his depth on the Breakfast Show anyway. Hope he gets pushed off that soon.
Totally agree, McWilliams to Dunphy to Gilroy/Byrne. Total dumbing down of the show. Newstalk is in serious decline in terms of quality. However, not sure he hated the LoI as much as the current crowd of Off the Ball clowns.
Mouthpiece
18/08/2008, 8:56 PM
Let's flip it around lads, who can be considered to be a pro-Eircom League broadcaster?
Con Murphy for one, can't think of too many others