Thread: Newstalk - Ger Gilroy

Newstalk - Ger Gilroy

I know this is a variation on a well worn theme but...

On the bus on the way to work this morning listening to Newstalk's breakfast show and they are previewing Liverpool's game against Liege and Ger Gilroy starts by saying, "The Champions League returns tonight when Liverpool and Arsenal..." I could have marched into their office and pulled the little **** over his desk and kicked the c**p out of him.

What does he think Drogheda were playing in only last week? I could maybe give a bit of leeway if Liverpool and Arsenal were playing in the group stages but they were playing in the same qualifying rounds that Drogheda played in (albeit one round further on). Could you imagine his indignation if England got a round further than Ireland in the World Cup and declared that the competiton only started there.

This is apparently one of the country's brightest broadcasting talents who started his journalistic career writing about football and he spouts this sort of rubbish. Only a week ago he interviewed Roddy about the second leg on the same show. I fully understand that English football is, and may always be, more popular than the domestic game but to completely deny, through willful ignorance, the brilliant achievements of Drogheda is absolutely disgraceful. I wasn't slow about texting my disdain by text, but funnily enough, they never read it on air.

Still fuming over it.

Rant over.

Quote Originally Posted by barney View Post

On the bus on the way to work this morning listening to Newstalk's breakfast show and they are previewing Liverpool's game against Liege and Ger Gilroy starts by saying, "The Champions League returns tonight when Liverpool and Arsenal..." I could have marched into their office and pulled the little **** over his desk and kicked the c**p out of him.

What does he think Drogheda were playing in only last week? I could maybe give a bit of leeway if Liverpool and Arsenal were playing in the group stages but they were playing in the same qualifying rounds that Drogheda played in (albeit one round further on). Could you imagine his indignation if England got a round further than Ireland in the World Cup and declared that the competiton only started there.

This is apparently one of the country's brightest broadcasting talents who started his journalistic career writing about football and he spouts this sort of rubbish. Only a week ago he interviewed Roddy about the second leg on the same show. I fully understand that English football is, and may always be, more popular than the domestic game but to completely deny, through willful ignorance, the brilliant achievements of Drogheda is absolutely disgraceful. I wasn't slow about texting my disdain by text, but funnily enough, they never read it on air.

Still fuming over it.

Rant over.
    They should lose their licences for promoting british football. RTE and the Irish media in general are behond a joke when it comes to premiership football. Whats with the obsession? Thankfully, the money is going out of it and it will dwindle it a little.

Post up his email address and we will all email saying what a disgrace his pro british football obsession is sad and a waste of public airway license.

BCI should be contacted also at info@bci.ie. These radio stations shouldn't be awarded licenses to promote this british rubbish.

At least it looks likes RTE's premiership programme is on its last legs. Poor ratings has led to a change in time and name.

That reminds me, MNS wasn't on this week, whens it on?

It was on around midnight on Monday/Tuesday
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    That reminds me, MNS wasn't on this week, whens it on?
    It was on at 11.50pm on Monday. Same again next Monday I think. The Olympics.

Goodness you're sensitive. There is absolutely nothing wrong with making that statement before any round right up to the final. I've heard it said many many times throughout a season.

It appears some people scan the airways looking for every opportunity to be offended.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    This is apparently one of the country's brightest broadcasting talents who started his journalistic career writing about football and he spouts this sort of rubbish.
    You obviously didn't see his World Cup thing and his van, really bad TV
    Good idea it was but the man has no personality

Quote Originally Posted by SMorgan View Post
    Goodness you're sensitive. There is absolutely nothing wrong with making that statement before any round right up to the final. I've heard it said many many times throughout a season.

It appears some people scan the airways looking for every opportunity to be offended.
    So you think there would be nothing wrong each week with saying "And the Premiership returns this week"? It was quite clear that the implication was that last night was the start of this season's CL.

I'm not normally one to have a go at the media for giving the EPL precedence over the eL because I understand why that is the case. However, to completely disregards Drogheda's exploits, like I believe he did, was out of order.

Heard that too, thought that had I been pedantic enough to complain they'd make some point about this being the "proper" Champions League.

Didn't remember till I read the papers this morning that it was still the qualifiers! Cheeky fecker clearly meant 'Champions League returns to relevance for barstoolers tonight' anyway...

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts

Still fuming over it.

Rant over.
    let me echo you sentiments barney - disgraceful

its just the mentality lads...annoying but it aint gonna change, and they got loads of exposure with roddys rants as well...........they did give a bit of coverage last week about the actual game and also before we played kiev at home......I noticed even uefa.com give better exposure to the 3rd round than the 2nd/1st rounds so there u go........... if only we'd qualified... if if if

Thsis reminds me of an ad I saw on Setanta the other day for the return of English football and Ireland matches and that. At the end I think it had their phone number and website and that for people to subscribe and at the top of the page was an Ireland crest, with the Premiership logo on one side and the FA Cup logo on the other. Says it all really.
    "Give franchise football the red card."
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Joey Killester View Post
    Thsis reminds me of an ad I saw on Setanta the other day for the return of English football and Ireland matches and that. At the end I think it had their phone number and website and that for people to subscribe and at the top of the page was an Ireland crest, with the Premiership logo on one side and the FA Cup logo on the other. Says it all really.
    They show the exact same ad on English stations with the English crest instead of the Irish one.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    They show the exact same ad on English stations with the English crest instead of the Irish one.
    FFS Setanta are a commercial operation. They obviously want to maximise their viewing figures. Whats your problem???
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mayo_Bhoy View Post
    FFS Setanta are a commercial operation. They obviously want to maximise their viewing figures. Whats your problem???
    I don't have a problem with it. My point was that they change the crest depending on their target market and that they aren't deliberately associating the Irish crest with the English Premier League logo...
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    I can accept that since they are English competitions!
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

Quote Originally Posted by Joey Killester View Post
    They are going to be showing Premiership, FA Cup and Ireland international matches so they show the Prem logo, FA Cup logo and Irish logo. Would ye ever relax ffs. What do ye expect them show??
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

Still fuming over it.

Rant over.
    Lads FFS, if this is all yee have to worry about consider youselves lucky! Theres a lot worse going on in life to get worked up about than some random throwaway comment like this.
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

Go to a politics site so if you want to rea about more serious matters.
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

Quote Originally Posted by Mayo_Bhoy View Post
    They are going to be showing Premiership, FA Cup and Ireland international matches so they show the Prem logo, FA Cup logo and Irish logo. Would ye ever relax ffs. What do ye expect them show??
    Yes obviously I know thats why they were shown but do you not see how its slightly rediculous looking having out national crest side by side Englands two major competitions?
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

The commercial media are just giving the people what they want.

Ger Gilroy does hate the LOI & it was good to see him leave their sports show.