View Full Version : Bohs V Rovers

05/08/2008, 9:34 PM
im not sure where to put this so move it if it has to be done but :

i live in an estate in the centre of town and not 10mins ago there was a full scale riot in the middle of it from Bohs and Rovers "fans". cars parked in the estate were being battered,kids playin in the estate where thrown out of the way and pushed to the ground as "fans" ran through. the police arrived about 10mins later and kind of calmed things down but then roughly 150 (not exageration) Rovers appeared from nowhere and there was vans and cars (police) driving along with them in an escort fashion. a few of the group ran over to my estate and SPAT in a young girls (about 12yrs old) face and called her a fat northside ****!! all in all id say the 2 gangs were even numbers so thats 300+ running riot in crowded areas with weapons etc etc. you wanna know why people dont go to the EL?? i have just given you your answer!!

05/08/2008, 9:38 PM
If anyone has any issue with what happened tonight, report it to the local Gardai. That is the only thing that will effect change if this did actual happen.

inchicore_saint
06/08/2008, 8:02 AM
People are texting in Today FM saying there was a riot in town last night involving Bohs and Rovers fans.RTE are saying there was a brawl in town last night.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0806/dublin.html

06/08/2008, 8:11 AM
Here we go. foot.ie about to outdo the tabloids with an 8-page supplement on hooliganism.

06/08/2008, 8:31 AM
Here we go. foot.ie about to outdo the tabloids with an 8-page supplement on hooliganism.

Is there a free gift of OVERBLOWN OUTRAGE included in said pullout?

inchicore_saint
06/08/2008, 8:36 AM
Not trying to stir the **** here lads just wondering why people are texting in Today FM.

ForzaHoop
06/08/2008, 8:45 AM
Lads it says nothing about Rovers or Bohs in that Breaking News from RTE ! ! !

irishfan
06/08/2008, 9:10 AM
Apparently the BSC got ran all over the place before the game with even your average Bohs fan having a laugh at what was going on because it happended down near the Jodi stand enterance. Dont think to much happened thought.

I also herd after the game was much worse. And the BSC were armed with baseball bats, glasses and bottles but still got the sh*t kicked out of them down near jervis street.

charliesboots
06/08/2008, 9:14 AM
loads of people decapitated I heard..........:rolleyes:

06/08/2008, 9:16 AM
Sweep it under the carpet lads!!! It never happened!!!

Until some innocent gets badly injured.

06/08/2008, 9:16 AM
Apparently the BSC got ran all over the place before the game with even your average Bohs fan having a laugh at what was going on because it happended down near the Jodi stand enterance. Dont think to much happened thought.

I also herd after the game was much worse. And the BSC were armed with baseball bats, glasses and bottles but still got the sh*t kicked out of them down near jervis street.

And to think I was sitting out home bored off my trolley last night, I could've gone down to Supermacs and pulled up a window seat if I'd known. Bebo you fail me yet again :rolleyes:

06/08/2008, 9:20 AM
Moderation:

People, keep a handle on this. Think before you post and consider what effect your post will have. If it is deemed as trouble making then it will be deleted.

If this thread starts taking up too much resources for the Mods then it will be locked.

Be sensible, it works better for everyone involved !!

06/08/2008, 9:21 AM
Are there any links to a credible report on this?

06/08/2008, 9:24 AM
Are there any links to a credible report on this?

None that i know of anyway.

stovelid
06/08/2008, 9:27 AM
WE SHOULD BAN EL FOOTBALL IMMEDIATELY.

It's obvious that young scobes never, ever fight with each other unless they have been attending one of the these league of Ireland match thingys.

06/08/2008, 9:28 AM
you wanna know why people dont go to the EL?? i have just given you your answer!!

I fail to see how this effects Galway Utd's dissapointing attendances.

06/08/2008, 9:33 AM
WE SHOULD BAN EL FOOTBALL IMMEDIATELY.

It's obvious that young scobes never, ever fight with each other unless they have been attending one of the these league of Ireland match thingys.

Just go the full way and ban everything

06/08/2008, 9:59 AM
ah typical EL fans. A Face,you can lock this or bin it again if you want. i forgot how blind EL fans were when it came to criticizing EL teams/fans.

for those who think this was just kids then you are so wrong its not even funny. i am someone who actually witnessed this,not 20 feet from my front door...it was grown men aswel as teenagers.
i know of lads who are "banned" from all EL games but long and behold they are there EVERY week in Dalymount (it just happens to be Bohs lads i know). Clubs need to take some of the responsability!

id well beleive Rovers ran all over Bohs as there was a few smaller groups of Bohs running through and 2 huge groups of Rovers.

but go ahead and sweep it under the carpet as per usual. british hooligans = scum. EL hooligans = what are ya on about? its only kids.

06/08/2008, 10:02 AM
I fail to see how this effects Galway Utd's dissapointing attendances.

obviously im not sayin it is the sole reason why. people see this in the paper,tele,the net,hear it on the radio etc etc and think "jasus all the games must be like that". its the reason alot of people dont go to games. i myself watch any EL game thats on the tele and live close to a few grouds but dont go because of this.

i knwo not all teams are like this but why run the risk?

06/08/2008, 10:09 AM

Sure why bother going outside your door at all.

I still havent seen any credible report that there was a riot involving supporters or Bohemian Football Club or Shamrock Rovers Football Club, I've heard chinese whispers of trouble in Dublin last night.

There is trouble in every town and city in the UK on a Saturday night, yet the EPL is one of the best supported leagues in the world.

This thread should be in off topic not eircom league IMO.

06/08/2008, 10:11 AM
Amazing that it was two new users that witnessed this mayhem that apparently made mullingar look like a game of conkers. :rolleyes:

06/08/2008, 10:19 AM
are you not allowed post or start threads unless you have a certain amount of post written???
yous give out about the brutal reporting on irish football every week yet now youre swearing by it with "if its not in the paper then it didnt happen"

i honestly didnt expect to be fighting my corner on mayhem caused by 300+ "fans" against you lot today who just seem to want to wait until someone gets seriously injured before anything is done.

the reason nobody else is putting this up is probably because where i live,i doubt many people use foot.ie and rovers or bohs fans are hardly gonna get on and say "oh yeh,hes right...we were killing eachother"

06/08/2008, 10:24 AM
Nobody wants to see mindless violence on our streets, unfortunatley this is a social problem that we have to deal with. Your post is unsubstantiated gossip which you are saying is the reason why people dont go to watch homegown Football matches.

I fail to understand your contention.

06/08/2008, 10:32 AM
and yet we didn't see a 25,000 page thread on how a load of trouble went on at the end of the Munster U-21 Hurling match the other week - resulting in a match official being verbally and physically attacked.

But sure - it doesn't involve the big bad wolf that is LoI soccer - so it doesn't get mentioned...

06/08/2008, 10:40 AM
dont be such a fool,there is 1.5 pages. ok so what youre saying is that if its not in the papers then it didnt happen and nobody else gave out about the hurling so lets not give out about the football? i have nothing against the EL and watch it alot so get off your high horse and stop thinkin that everyone (me included) is out to slag off the league! im not!

06/08/2008, 10:44 AM
Anyway I thought it was a great game last night, ( I would say that) I thought it was a great advertisement for the league, as there was a great atmosphere at it and Bohs played some great stuff on the deck with Fenn at the heart of it. Is this the same player that played under Connor last year.

06/08/2008, 10:44 AM
300 people rioting? Surely we could come up with a credible news source if that happened and not a bunch of bed wetters ringing into Today FM about a scuffle?

Re: your newbie status, it doesn't stop you posting new threads, but ask yourself why we should believe you without a credible news source? You're not known around here so for all we know you could have signed up to post a thread to **** us off, it's not like it hasn't happened before

galwayhoop
06/08/2008, 10:47 AM
"jasus all the games must be like that". its the reason alot of people dont go to games. i myself watch any EL game thats on the tele and live close to a few grouds but dont go because of this.

i agree.

over the past few years I stopped going to the bank (they get robbed you know) and instead do all my banking on-line, it has nothing to do with the fact it is easier and requires less effort and is in fact the lazy man's dream - it is out of the fear of being held up.

I also stopped going to out to pubs and clubs - have you seen the violent CCTV footage??, again me stopping going to these venues has nothing to do with me reaching a certain age and having more responsibilities.

I also stopped working recently - have you seen how many fatal accident their are in the work place?? I mean it is madness. Again me giving up my job has nothing to do with me being a lazy tosser I am just petrified.

I recently stopped my children going to school because of the bullies, I just can't take the risk.

I also stopped them using the internet because of all of the paedo's out there....

I am looking to move house to a similar house accross the street so my kids don't have to cross the road and get knocked down by drunken drivers or joy-riders....

I refused a tetnis shot recently because I didn't want to catch Hepatitis from the needle...

I stopped going to mass as the priest was going to abuse me....

I stopped reading because I might go blind....

I better stop typing because there could be anything on this keyboard...

niallsparky
06/08/2008, 10:58 AM
are you not allowed post or start threads unless you have a certain amount of post written???
yous give out about the brutal reporting on irish football every week yet now youre swearing by it with "if its not in the paper then it didnt happen"

i honestly didnt expect to be fighting my corner on mayhem caused by 300+ "fans" against you lot today who just seem to want to wait until someone gets seriously injured before anything is done.

the reason nobody else is putting this up is probably because where i live,i doubt many people use foot.ie and rovers or bohs fans are hardly gonna get on and say "oh yeh,hes right...we were killing eachother"

Why label these as Bohs and Rovers fans? And individuals involved in antisocial behaviour in the middle of town are scumbags and it's up to the Gardaí to sort them out. Do you expect Bohs and Rovers to employ security to escort people around town or do you expect them to run educational programs on the problems of football hooliganism?

I agree with you that this problem has to be tackled but by new legistlation (as happened in England) or by educational programs in schools provided by Government, not by football clubs.

06/08/2008, 10:59 AM
funny post :rolleyes:

why would i waste my time trying to wind anybody up? im suprised myself that it hasnt made the news but you always say the EL gets no coverage dont you....maybe the fighting now doesnt either. im ragin now that i didnt record it myself on my phone...

this is obviously gettin me nowhere as people arent beleiving this happened at all and are mocking the fact it did. il come back when i have 1000 posts and see if i get any more credability then.

06/08/2008, 11:04 AM
last post on the subject :

i "labelled" these clubs fans due to them actually wearing jerseys (very few of them in fairness). the only way i was able to tell them apart really was the the chants of "BOHS BOHS BOHS" and "ROVERS ROVERS ROVERS" along with "YOURE JUST NORTHSIDE KNACKERS,NORTHSIDE KNACKERS" from the Rovers fans aimed at everyone looking out from there doors,windows from the estate.

it is an anti social thing and there should be more done but i know of fans that are banned from all grounds by the CLUBS yet they are at EVERY game. whats the point in banning someone who they let back in??

also read on another forum that both sets of fans were let out at the same time? is this true? if so then someone should be sacked or something....i dont know this for fact though.

galwayhoop
06/08/2008, 11:04 AM
funny post :rolleyes:

why would i waste my time trying to wind anybody up? im suprised myself that it hasnt made the news but you always say the EL gets no coverage dont you....maybe the fighting now doesnt either. im ragin now that i didnt record it myself on my phone...

this is obviously gettin me nowhere as people arent beleiving this happened at all and are mocking the fact it did. il come back when i have 1000 posts and see if i get any more credability then.

i am not saying you are making it up. i don't care one way or the other. you did however state that the fear of being involved in violence was THE reason you choose not to go to EL games. that sounds like a poor excuse to me.

furthermore by your own account staying in your own estate is obviously more dangerous than actually going to the games ;)

06/08/2008, 11:10 AM
it is an anti social thing and there should be more done but i know of fans that are banned from all grounds by the CLUBS yet they are at EVERY game. whats the point in banning someone who they let back in??

Now your starting to sound credible.

If this is that case, again there is no evidence of this yet, then this is an issue for each club to deal with, but please dont make sweeping statements that because there is a fight (allegedly) in Dublin on the same night that Bohs & Rovers have served up a real feast on the pitch that violence is endemic to Irish Football. Its endemic to Irish society.

06/08/2008, 11:21 AM
Is there still not one report on this 'incident' yet? Its 12.20 now that day after it is meant to have happened and no news on it?

To date, its one person saying that various groups of fans were walking together near the ground with Gardai escorting them. Someone spat at a little girl and called her names. There was lots of chanting.

Is there anything else here?

stovelid
06/08/2008, 11:21 AM

1000 posts could take a while. Go to an actual game and post back then.

06/08/2008, 11:25 AM
Can we talk about the game last night that was a pretty good game and was great entertainment.

Brennans free-kick was sublime..............

No debate of the game in this thread.

This thread is going to rubbish if there is nothing else to confirm it. I'm not saying it didn't happen Newbie, its just the thread will cause more trouble that its worth unless there is positive discussion in it. Lack of reports doesn't help this.

And again, if anyone has any issues with incidents that occurred last night, please report them to your local Gardai in effort to address the problem.

06/08/2008, 11:28 AM
Well then split the thread and post the bits about the trouble in rubbish and leave the bits about the game in the this forum and that way Bohs V Rovers will be about football which was the main point of last night and it was a good game with a few good goals.

sullanefc
06/08/2008, 11:30 AM
you wanna know why people dont go to the EL?? i have just given you your answer!!
You have just witnessed a big fight between Bohs & Rovers scumbags. Why does that stop people from going to Turners X, Terryland, Brandywell, Richmond Park etc???

Everybody knows that Bohs and Rovers have the worst hoolie problem. That would make me think twice about bringing young kids with me to Tolka or Dalymount but not every single ground.

In short, stop making sweeping statements about eL fans when you are really only talking about two sets of fans.

ah typical EL fans. A Face,you can lock this or bin it again if you want. i forgot how blind EL fans were when it came to criticizing EL teams/fans.

Again more stereotyping, when a few people question the validity of your claims.

i know of lads who are "banned" from all EL games but long and behold they are there EVERY week in Dalymount (it just happens to be Bohs lads i know). Clubs need to take some of the responsability!

Clubs need to take some responsibility you say??? Yet it is only Bohemians FC that you know that let banned fans back in again.:rolleyes:

Do Cork City FC let banned fans back again??? Do you know?? No it is just easier for you to make sweeping statements about all el clubs.:rolleyes:

06/08/2008, 11:30 AM
Is there still not one report on this 'incident' yet? Its 12.20 now that day after it is meant to have happened and no news on it?

To date, its one person saying that various groups of fans were walking together near the ground with Gardai escorting them. Someone spat at a little girl and called her names. There was lots of chanting.

Is there anything else here?

Apparently the two sets of fans were being led down the road by Lord Lucan who was riding Shergar whilst Elvis sat behind him singing a few songs of incitement

06/08/2008, 11:36 AM
Apparently the two sets of fans were being led down the road by Lord Lucan who was riding Shergar whilst Elvis sat behind him singing a few songs of incitement

What type of songs were they? Do you have any of the lyrics?

Debate about the game in this thread (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=98203)

brianw82
06/08/2008, 11:46 AM
A genuine question:

How exactly do clubs deal with the issue of banned 'fans'? Are the folks at the turnstiles just told to look out for certain people or what?

06/08/2008, 11:52 AM
Yeah, thats it, home and away games for City. And photos and footage of people is passed around if its available.

sonofstan
06/08/2008, 12:01 PM
A genuine question:

How exactly do clubs deal with the issue of banned 'fans'? Are the folks at the turnstiles just told to look out for certain people or what?

At Dalymount, club security staff patrol the lane leading up to the turnstiles before the game and will stop banned faces at that point.

06/08/2008, 12:02 PM
Truth is clubs should be responsible for who gets into their grounds, it's good of Cork to pass out photos of known hoolies, but some will always pass into away grounds. Personally I've always felt that the travelling supporters club should do all they can to minimise the impact their clubs scum have at other grounds. Measures like not allowing them on SC buses, banning any SC member giving known hoolies a lift from the SC itself, and generally either pointing out the hoolies to the home club's stewards as someone to look out for, or/and not including them in the banter/telling them to shut up when they start their nonsense

niallsparky
06/08/2008, 12:02 PM
"i know of lads who are "banned" from all EL games but long and behold they are there EVERY week in Dalymount (it just happens to be Bohs lads i know). Clubs need to take some of the responsability!"

Do you know that these are permanant bans? You say you know these people, how well do you know them? It seems you're afraid to be around them at at match that is policed and not afraid outside of a match?

Maybe you only know "of" them. In that case, how sure can you be that they are banned and how long that their ban lasts for? As with all negative posts in this thread, there is no evidence given to back up the points.

06/08/2008, 12:51 PM
Still nothing being added to the thread. Has anyone heard of anything on the radio? Is there a residence committee somewhere up in arms? Seriously, is there nothing more than posts on this forum? People said earlier there were texts about this? Where was that at?

06/08/2008, 1:41 PM
This is being hashed out on Liveline at the moment, should be brilliant.

Gems so far - Joe: "I know Bohs were playing last night, dunno who."

What odds on the batsign going up for Byrne or Roche sometime soon.

06/08/2008, 1:51 PM
"i know of lads who are "banned" from all EL games but long and behold they are there EVERY week in Dalymount (it just happens to be Bohs lads i know). Clubs need to take some of the responsability!"

Do you know that these are permanant bans? You say you know these people, how well do you know them? It seems you're afraid to be around them at at match that is policed and not afraid outside of a match?

Maybe you only know "of" them. In that case, how sure can you be that they are banned and how long that their ban lasts for? As with all negative posts in this thread, there is no evidence given to back up the points.

no - i KNOW them. not OF them. banned for life. if you think that happens at Dalymount then you are gone in the head. i am not picking on Bohs,it just happens to be the club that i know these lads are banned from. they were involved in the incident in the North last year.
well outside of the match they dont walk around in gangs of 100 do they? also,they actually dont go on like this outside of these matches. strange i know.

06/08/2008, 1:54 PM
Still nothing being added to the thread. Has anyone heard of anything on the radio? Is there a residence committee somewhere up in arms? Seriously, is there nothing more than posts on this forum? People said earlier there were texts about this? Where was that at?

A-Face,

on another forum i use i put up the same post i put here and there is another person on that saying he witnessed the fight start and gather pace through the streets and what useless tactics the guards used on the way. will i put this up or would this not count as a decent source? even though im the actual source as i saw it with my own 2 eyes.

06/08/2008, 2:01 PM
no - i KNOW them. not OF them. banned for life. if you think that happens at Dalymount then you are gone in the head. i am not picking on Bohs,it just happens to be the club that i know these lads are banned from. they were involved in the incident in the North last year.
well outside of the match they dont walk around in gangs of 100 do they? also,they actually dont go on like this outside of these matches. strange i know.
If you have personal knowledge of people who are involved in violence, and have specific evidence, then you should contact the gardai without delay.
If you know people who are banned from Dalymount Park and are still getting in, that should not be happening. You should contact the club and provide it with their names.