View Full Version : Tonight's latest

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

cheech
06/08/2008, 5:56 PM
"Would have been the biggest smash and grab and history of football!"......Roddy really is a total f**king bawbag.

He is so transparent with his Dunphyesque crap that it turns my stomach.

Well played Drogs. So unlucky. Did the league proud.

Gareth
06/08/2008, 5:56 PM
I feel sick. I don't think I screamed as loud since Hadjuk Split. I have never cursed so much in the space of 1 minute in my life. Great stuff. Man, if onlys kill me. Trying to not if only there. Only thing of comfort is small co-eff addition :)

Gypsy1890
06/08/2008, 5:57 PM
Drogheda were very unlucky not to win that. Zayed's miss at the start, then how did Hughes miss that?
Great goal by Gartland. I was sure Robinson's effort had gone in when he hit it.
Well done Drogheda, did the league proud. Roddy Collins is absolutely pathetic, thick príck.

great result Drogs - well done.

f*** off Roddy Collins

I'd like to second that motion

What an arsehole

adamd164
06/08/2008, 5:58 PM
Thiam should have started, he caused some real problems. They needed someone of his stature all night to hold up the ball and bring others into play. Zayed did nothing of note.

A poor miss and a bit of bad luck cost them at the end.

gufcfan
06/08/2008, 5:58 PM
Did the league proud.

They did indeed. Don't over look the fact that they managed to get a draw away in Kyiv. Hardly the easiest thing to do.

I shouted as loud as I would next door in Terryland Park.

Saint_Charlie
06/08/2008, 5:59 PM
Hard luck Drogs.

cheech
06/08/2008, 6:00 PM
Thiam should have started, he caused some real problems. They needed someone of his stature all night to hold up the ball and bring others into play. Zayed did nothing of note.

A poor miss and a bit of bad luck cost them at the end.

spot on.

SPXcyan
06/08/2008, 6:01 PM
I throw my chinese food all over the place HOW THE FECK DID DROGHEDA NOT WIN!! omggg my voice is gone too!! fantastic game that was! did the league proud :)

kingdomkerry
06/08/2008, 6:01 PM
Aw sickened I was sure both chances were going to hit the net. What can you say?

sullanefc
06/08/2008, 6:02 PM
They did indeed. Don't over look the fact that they managed to get a draw away in Kyiv. Hardly the easiest thing to do.

Exactly, great result. But could have been so much better. :(

At least there is a small coeffecient addition there.

As much criticism as Thiam gets, he made a great contribution when he came on. Big and strong and just what the doctor ordered for that game.

Louth4sam
06/08/2008, 6:03 PM
Hard luck drogs, great result and brought some more respect to the league. Kiev thought they only had to turn up. It certainly shows that Full-Time and summer football is needed if Irish clubs are to compete in Europe.

Thiam should have started, he caused some real problems.
Nah, they didn't have enough possession to make use of him for the first seventy minutes. Would have been playing with ten men. It was crying out for someone to replace/supplement Zayed for ten minutes before Kiev scored, as much to keep the ball as to threaten. Doolin is braindead when it comes to European football. His players dug him out this season.

brianw82
What an UNBELIEVABLE FINISH!!!!

Drogheda were SOOO close! I don't know how those 2 chances didn't go in.

Celdrog
06/08/2008, 6:06 PM
Aw sickened I was sure both chances were going to hit the net. What can you say?Well if you are a complete ***** you can say that over the two legs Kiev deserved it (based on the stats).
If you are anyway normal you can say we should be through.

I can't believe it. I'd have gleefully taken a draw before the match but I'm gutted.

I think it shows the league has improved, never mind what that arsehole says.

mr.untitled
06/08/2008, 6:07 PM
sheridan, usually you talk sense

but really

i mean really

ur as bad as roddy

Celdrog
06/08/2008, 6:08 PM
Nah, they didn't have enough possession to make use of him for the first seventy minutes. Would have been playing with ten men. It was crying out for someone to replace/supplement Zayed for ten minutes before Kiev scored, as much to keep the ball as to threaten. Doolin is braindead when it comes to European football. His players dug him out this season.
Waheyyy - Roddy on's the web !!!!!!!!

06/08/2008, 6:09 PM
I didn't say anything remotely critical about Drogheda, I thought they were heroic and contrary to what that ******** said, had as many good chances as Kiev in this leg.

barney
06/08/2008, 6:09 PM
Didn't see the game but well done Drogs.

SeanDrog
06/08/2008, 6:10 PM
You could feel Ricos smuggness over Roddy - ha ha :)

Roddy made another plank of himself.

06/08/2008, 6:17 PM
Great away performance at this level.
That ending had to be seen to be believed.

Well done Drogheda.

LeixlipRed
Can't believe I missed the end of it!!

harpstilidie
Aww im still in shock! Can't believe neither of those chances didn't go in! Drogs have done themselves and the league proud! So so unlucky in the end up! Well done Drogs! :)

alkev
06/08/2008, 6:21 PM
You could feel Ricos smuggness over Roddy - ha ha :)

Roddy made another plank of himself.

Collins is a bitter twisted failure and his tone at the end said it all, all he could say was the better team won, but you could see that he was disgusted that the score was'nt 8 nil
How do RTE continue the use this washed up has been as a creditable analyst?
Well done Drogs the country is proud of you!!!

Celdrog
06/08/2008, 6:27 PM
I didn't say anything remotely critical about Drogheda,
Doolin is braindeadl
Whats your praise like then:D

06/08/2008, 6:28 PM
Was shouting at the TV when ball rolled across the line.

Look on keepers face when Gartland scored was priceless.

RTE seemed to cut the programme very short at the end. Maybe the save Roddys blushes.

06/08/2008, 6:29 PM
Come on - Roddy won a league and a few ties in Europe as a manager, are you saying he's not braindead? :eek:

I thought Doolin handled the tie poorly (and I don't rate him generally) but his players rose above it.

Gareth
06/08/2008, 6:37 PM
I said it to a few people on the net at the time, Doolo is leaving it a bit long for subs. 65 would have been the right time in my mind. I did say thou bring on Faz so I got the wrong man :) Either way Well Done Drogs, sickening really but well done.

EAFC_rdfl
06/08/2008, 6:38 PM
Fair play to Drogheda, and its a good sign of the league that there is so much disapointment. Fair enough kyiv got complacent but who cares. It was like the end of the CL final in 1999, same level of excitement! How did one of those not go in, such a shame, that keeper deserved to lose alone, how hopeless was he, think the rte commentary called him 'brutal'. had a laugh at that!!!

Torn-Ado
06/08/2008, 6:38 PM
Can't believe I missed the end of it!!

Ditto. The streaming finally worked for me half way through the second half and I turned it off after Kievs second goal.

sonofstan
06/08/2008, 6:43 PM
Well done Drogs the country is proud of you!!!

Unfortunately 95% of the country is probably completely oblivious to the fact that they might have something to be proud of. Too busy celebrating Rangers exit last night....

And while we're at it, RTE's broom cupboard presentation, lack of a camera of their own for interviews, and Stephen Alkin- ' 'Drogs will be scratching themselves' - and Pat Morley as commentators was a disgrace - but I guess when the real Irish teams are playing in the CL they'll go back to proper presentations.

If Bohs get a shoddy show like this next year when we take on Inter Milan, I shall be cross.....

06/08/2008, 6:43 PM
Without taking away from Drogs' performance, which was by and large excellent, how bad were Kiev? Their keeper (both sides' keepers, in fact) was awful, but the team as a whole (and I only saw the last half hour of today's match, so am having to go on comments here and by RTÉ) seemed to only play when they were level and then sit back and invite Drogheda onto them. No idea how they expect to beat Spartak.

Ultimately Collins has a point though when he says that a highly questionable penalty and two goals in the last three minutes would have been a smash and grab. Doesn't stop him being a *****, mind.

Excellent last half hour's entertainment anyway, and there's always next year. Maybe!

Blue-Army
06/08/2008, 6:44 PM
Drogs would have won had Thiam come on 10 mins earlier! He did more in the space of 5 mins than Zayed did in the whole tie.

alkev
06/08/2008, 6:48 PM
Just heard that Roddy said on Newstalk that if Drogs lost by less than two
goals he would do a forfeit. How about mailing and texting Newstalk to get him to promise that he will never appear on RTE again!!!

06/08/2008, 6:52 PM
His forfeit should be to play with traffic on the M50 for an hour...

The man is a complete and utter failure and has been reduced to putting on a pathetic Dunphy impression (without Dunphy's intelligence) of saying more and more absurd things to try and keep a media profile in the vain hope someone will give him a job.

Oh and well done Drogs :D

06/08/2008, 7:00 PM
(without Dunphy's intelligence)
Without Dunphy's what now?! :eek:

06/08/2008, 7:01 PM
well done Drogs.

Hughes won't sleep tonight and Robinson was very unlucky.

Roddy going on about stats after the game as if Drogs were lucky to be so close. Hardly Drogs fault that Kyiv can't defend.
Surely the only relevant stat are that Drogheda lost 4-3 on agg and on the whole played well over the 2 legs AND DID OUR LEAGUE PROUD.

gufcfan
06/08/2008, 7:02 PM
Just heard that Roddy said on Newstalk that if Drogs lost by less than two
goals he would do a forfeit. How about mailing and texting Newstalk to get him to promise that he will never appear on RTE again!!!

ya, do that everyone.

whats the number 53106 isnt it?

06/08/2008, 7:07 PM
ya, do that everyone.

whats the number 53106 isnt it?

EMailing to offtheball@newstalk.ie will save you 30c.

gufcfan
06/08/2008, 7:12 PM
f** off Roddy.

"If it was a boxing match it would have been stopped"

06/08/2008, 7:21 PM
Without Dunphy's what now?! :eek:Dunphy is a bitter nark, but particularly when compared with his peer group, he has a modicum of intelligence.

Roddy doesn't.

WoodquayBoy
06/08/2008, 7:24 PM
What a shocking miss by Hughes, he would have become a league legend, not just a Drogheda one.
Thanks to Drogheda though, they did our league proud.
As for Roderick, what a complete and utter c*nt, the bitterness, the snide comments, the obvious disappointment that Drogheda didn't get tanked.
The man has zerocredibility, if he ever had any in the first place. The likes of RTE and Newstalk need to cop on and stop giving this git a soapbox for his poisonous opinions

06/08/2008, 7:25 PM
Great credit to Drogheda. Roddy was probably right:eek: in that Kiev were the better side over the two legs, but they're in a completely different league to Drogheda in every way and so they're entitled to be. They weren't as dominant as he would have you believe either. I missed the first half hour this evening, but from what I did see Drogs were certainly not over run, and when it comes down to it they were just a better finish, or a bounce of the ball away from going through. To come awy from Kiev with a draw is a considerable acheivement, under any circumstances. I don't care what any begrudger says. Well done Drogheda. (As a reward you can have Sunday off;))

Con-Con
06/08/2008, 7:30 PM
Can't believe I missed it:eek:

I left the house once Kiev scored the peno... sickened I missed it:(

hedderman
06/08/2008, 7:39 PM
Unfortunately 95% of the country is probably completely oblivious to the fact that they might have something to be proud of. Too busy celebrating Rangers exit last night....

And while we're at it, RTE's broom cupboard presentation, lack of a camera of their own for interviews, and Stephen Alkin- ' 'Drogs will be scratching themselves' - and Pat Morley as commentators was a disgrace - but I guess when the real Irish teams are playing in the CL they'll go back to proper presentations.

Fair play to Drogs. They did themselves and the league proud. If they had won, would that have sent them to the 3rd qualifying round of the CL? If only they had scored, the look on Roddy's face would've been priceless.

You're certainly right about your first point, sonofstan. But hopefully, the two great games might encourage a few more Irish fans to take a trip to their local football ground.

This is what Stephen Alkin actually said:
"Those players will be shaking their heads and scratching themselves all night, wondering...":D

I switched off when Thiam came on. He was brutal for Drogs against Derry at Brandywell this season, but from what I saw at the very end he appeared to make an impact. Zayed was poor tonight.

TheFingallian
06/08/2008, 7:40 PM
Makes me think, pity about that late goal in the first leg.

sonofstan
06/08/2008, 7:52 PM
I switched off when Thiam came on. He was brutal for Drogs against Derry at Brandywell this season, but from what I saw at the very end he appeared to make an impact. Zayed was poor tonight.

Yeah, thought he was one ofthe worst players I'd ever seen when we up in United Park earlier this season - but fair dues, he made a difference tonight.

Saint_Charlie
06/08/2008, 7:57 PM
If they had won, would that have sent them to the 3rd qualifying round of the CL? If only they had scored, the look on Roddy's face would've been priceless.

Yep. Would have been playing Spartak Moscow for a place in the group stages.

06/08/2008, 8:05 PM
Drogs did give it a good shot but Dynamo deserved to go through so Drogs shouldn't be too downhearted with the result.

IMO, if Drogs had better players, they'd have won. Ewings could've saved the first and someone better would have finished Hughes' chance.

Ifs and buts and all that...

A Drogd win would have been worth it just for the look on Roddy's face alone.