View Full Version : Keely looks for Galway to be sanctioned Over Cousis Wages

Rovers Maniac
01/08/2008, 9:58 AM
Galway seem to be telling more fibs according to Mr Keely, They have not paid Tony Cousin's wages for a number of weeks which they have agreed to do so for the remainder of his contract. He likens it Shelbourne a few seasons ago and how they were relegated. He claims that the FAI can't do anything at the moment until the end of the season. Next season could be very interesting but Farce is never far away in this league.

Duggie
01/08/2008, 10:24 AM
why dosent keely shut his big gob and worry about shels. tosser

jinxy lilywhite
01/08/2008, 10:28 AM
I'd say fair comment by Keeley. As always in this league it seems that some always get away with it more than others. Galway are the darlings of the FAI anyway

Duggie
01/08/2008, 10:32 AM
maybe so but sick listening to keely - bla bla bla summer football isnt working bla bla bla full time teams wont last bla bla bla...shut up already.

01/08/2008, 10:35 AM
Can't believe I'm standing up for Galway but.......since when has Dermot Keely been the judge and jury in the Eircom League? If he produces evidence that Galway aren't paying their contracts than they should be punished, until then it's idle talk designed to sell papers

DRDoc
01/08/2008, 10:37 AM
maybe so but sick listening to keely - bla bla bla summer football isnt working bla bla bla full time teams wont last bla bla bla...shut up already.

Are you maybe mixing Keely up with your chairman?

Rovers Maniac
01/08/2008, 10:37 AM
To be honest Keely is the Chairman of the managers association and he is only looking for one of the members it represents. This is situation brought about by Galway not acting like not only a professional football club but even like decent amatuers. It is nearly every week they are in the news and it is always negative and reports like this does not make it easy for the league to attract sponsorship.

01/08/2008, 10:38 AM
Are managers contracts governed the same way? I doubt its a points docking affair.

And its ****ing laughable that he's trying to compare it to the Shels situation

Duggie
01/08/2008, 10:39 AM
Are you maybe mixing Keely up with your chairman?

nope :D

Rovers Maniac
01/08/2008, 10:41 AM
Can't believe I'm standing up for Galway but.......since when has Dermot Keely been the judge and jury in the Eircom League? If he produces evidence that Galway aren't paying their contracts than they should be punished, until then it's idle talk designed to sell papers

Jebus you are not really standing up for them. I don't think the Chairman of the managers association would make up a pack of lies?

01/08/2008, 10:47 AM
Jebus you are not really standing up for them. I don't think the Chairman of the managers association would make up a pack of lies?

I don't either, but if he has evidence he can produce it and the league can go from there. Did he write this in his Sun column?

Duggie
01/08/2008, 10:49 AM
I don't either, but if he has evidence he can produce it and the league can go from there. Did he write this in his Sun column?

well all the other stuff in there is ****e :rolleyes:

Rovers Maniac
01/08/2008, 10:52 AM
Are managers contracts governed the same way? I doubt its a points docking affair.

And its ****ing laughable that he's trying to compare it to the Shels situation

Totally agree but if this is true then it simply can't continue it is so difficult to attract sponsors, players etc to the league without these jokers actling like a major club while behind the scenes they have been accused of bullying players into existing the club taking pay cuts and not paying their commitments. For the good of the league they need to be thought a lesson ( no pun intended :)).

Rovers Maniac
01/08/2008, 10:53 AM

Yes he did

01/08/2008, 11:57 AM
Rovers Maniac,despite your obsession with GUFC,you know nothing about our Club whatsoever.
We may have been in financial turmoil for a period but nevertheless paid all our players every week.
You can rest assured that the spoofer will get what he is owed.Keely is a complete gombean and comparing this rubbish to the Shels fiasco shows his complete ignorance.

Rovers Maniac you're easily the biggest WUM on this site.When you have Jebus disagreeing with you and defending GUFC you know you've gone to far.

01/08/2008, 12:04 PM
Yes he did

Thought as much, given the tabloidesque linking of Galway to Shels, wouldn't trust his word on it so as it's just designed to sell his column.

By the by Conor, I do think Galway need to be investigated by the league to see how far your irregularities went. Certainly the threat GUFC made to players like O'Flynn is something that warrants explaining, and if GUFC are found in breach of the league's standards then they should be punished. I'm just saying Keely isn't the man to push this investigation

01/08/2008, 12:12 PM
Thought as much, given the tabloidesque linking of Galway to Shels, wouldn't trust his word on it so as it's just designed to sell his column.

By the by Conor, I do think Galway need to be investigated by the league to see how far your irregularities went. Certainly the threat GUFC made to players like O'Flynn is something that warrants explaining, and if GUFC are found in breach of the league's standards then they should be punished. I'm just saying Keely isn't the man to push this investigation

GUFC made no threats to O Flynn.I'm not going to post it here but if people knew what O Flynn had been up to they wouldn't be feeling sorry for him.Any other Club would have done the same in the situation,considering his actions.

I spoke to him after the Derry game and he said he wanted time off anyway to get over his injuries.He'll be making himself available again next season.

Demoshield
01/08/2008, 12:28 PM
Totally agree but if this is true then it simply can't continue it is so difficult to attract sponsors, players etc to the league without these jokers actling like a major club while behind the scenes they have been accused of bullying players into existing the club taking pay cuts and not paying their commitments. For the good of the league they need to be thought a lesson ( no pun intended :)).

You would want to look a little closer to home for players not getting paid on time. You do no what happens when you fail to pay the tax man,not alone for this season but when you break an agreement to pay him outstanding taxes from last season also?;)
PS.
Was it you who was using the Rovers Avatar until some one pointed out that it was infact the the real Rovers avatar and the SRFC on the green & white crest did not refer to Sligo?:D:

01/08/2008, 12:43 PM
Keely moans so much I can't take anything he says seriously.

01/08/2008, 1:00 PM
Galway are the darlings of the FAI anyway

Awwww...

SMorgan
01/08/2008, 1:31 PM
Of course Galway should be investigated and hammered if they broke the rules.

geezer
01/08/2008, 1:48 PM
**** cousins was a spoofer of the highest order i hope that no team has to endure the absolute boredom that was his idea of football, Keely and himself are buddies.
the less said about the god awful bunch of signing he made the better. He was truly useless. He should take his roddy style secondhand suits and shoes and crawl back under
whatever rock he came out of and stay there embarrassed forever.

he was worse than dave connell

Rovers Maniac
01/08/2008, 2:09 PM
So far we have had the professional footballers association chairman and The Football managers chairman of Ireland who have both called for sanctions against one club in particular they i don't think they both can't be wrong? I have nothing at against GUFC i have simply started a thread about what i seen in the Newspaper this morning blam Keely he wrote the article but i have a funny feeling if you do push this issue you will end up with more egg on that face of yours.

Rovers Maniac
01/08/2008, 2:16 PM
]**** cousins was a spoofer of the highest order[/B] i hope that no team has to endure the absolute boredom that was his idea of football, Keely and himself are buddies.
the less said about the god awful bunch of signing he made the better. He was truly useless. He should take his roddy style secondhand suits and shoes and crawl back under
whatever rock he came out of and stay there embarrassed forever.

he was worse than dave connell

It does not mean he should not get paid geezer? I don't feel sorry for you because of action like these. It actually makes me angry as it makes it more difficult for the rest of us to get a sponsor for the league.

01/08/2008, 2:57 PM
GUFC made no threats to O Flynn.I'm not going to post it here but if people knew what O Flynn had been up to they wouldn't be feeling sorry for him.Any other Club would have done the same in the situation,considering his actions.

If you're not willing to actually detail the alleged misdeeds of the player then why post that? And if he was as troublesome as you imply why not terminate his contract? If you post unproven (and it's unproven until you offer some sort of evidence) speculation about a player why can't Dermot Keely do it about a club?

Spoons
01/08/2008, 3:13 PM
Keeley is quite laughable at this stage .......didn't hear anything from Keeley when Rico got the bullet from Cork or Connor got the bullet from Bohs...:ball:

Demoshield
01/08/2008, 3:43 PM
It does not mean he should not get paid geezer? I don't feel sorry for you because of action like these. It actually makes me angry as it makes it more difficult for the rest of us to get a sponsor for the league.

Do you think a club which has failed to pay it's tax bill for the last season and a half is making it easier to get a sponsor?
It actually makes me angry when some don't pay their taxes.
Any arrangements GUFC have come to with players have been done so with the input of both the PFAI and the FAI.

Rovers Maniac
01/08/2008, 3:55 PM
Do you think a club which has failed to pay it's tax bill for the last season and a half is making it easier to get a sponsor?
It actually makes me angry when some don't pay their taxes.
Any arrangements GUFC have come to with players have been done so with the input of both the PFAI and the FAI.

As i said clubs get into financial trouble in this league on frequent occassions (which is sad to say) We will have our tax fully paid up in a few days (so don't worry about us). I felt sorry for Galway when the news broke but it was the way you reacted which was terrible and lost you a lot of people's respect.

The league's image suffered badly with players coming out with remarks like they were been bullied out of the club. This indeed was the case according to the PFAI and it's chairman, What you have done is drag the name of the league through the mud. Dolan described you are an half arsed rag tag professionaly run football club (i don't agree with him). But the bullying of the players which the PFAI were on to and refused to let you away with may be the reason behind the league losing an high end sponsor recently. You were brought up instead of Dundalk for off the field matters which is fair enough but i think the FAI will have to invesitgate what actually went on with Galway this year.

GuisaSaigon
01/08/2008, 4:46 PM
Certainly the threat GUFC made to players like O'Flynn is something that warrants explaining
Did they threaten to take his pint away?
Bebo was a joke of a "professional" footballer, he was as well know for his exploits on the streets of Galway as some of the local winos. Cousins was up in Dublin driving the taxi while Bebo was urinating in public against the stand at the Galway Races and singing about the banks of The Lee on Quay Street. Updating fans about his sessions on his public online social networking page wasn't the brightest move either. Recovering from his "injury" by wobbling around Galway pubs at 11AM was novel if ineffective physio treatment. It did however seem to help him breakdance in his y-fronts when he was unfit to play.

AFAIK Galway United were very patient with him and I cant remember any threats that were made to him.

Keely is a moron, the Sun is expensive toilet paper.

DotTV
01/08/2008, 7:35 PM
As i said clubs get into financial trouble in this league on frequent occassions (which is sad to say) We will have our tax fully paid up in a few days (so don't worry about us). I felt sorry for Galway when the news broke but it was the way you reacted which was terrible and lost you a lot of people's respect.

The league's image suffered badly with players coming out with remarks like they were been bullied out of the club. This indeed was the case according to the PFAI and it's chairman, What you have done is drag the name of the league through the mud. Dolan described you are an half arsed rag tag professionaly run football club (i don't agree with him). But the bullying of the players which the PFAI were on to and refused to let you away with may be the reason behind the league losing an high end sponsor recently. You were brought up instead of Dundalk for off the field matters which is fair enough but i think the FAI will have to invesitgate what actually went on with Galway this year.

I'm sure Eircom made their decision long before this and either way it's a lot more probable that internal financial matters at Eircom were more at play than the alleged actions of one club.

geezer
01/08/2008, 9:02 PM
2-0 versus harps, keely, dolan and co tossers

blackholesun
01/08/2008, 10:04 PM
Keely is technically right on this issue ... if any club isnt paying their players, current or former management or their tax bill etc then they should be sanctioned by the FAI.

"it is the clubs who cheat that are winning" - Michel Platini

bhs

geezer
01/08/2008, 10:14 PM
some other club who arent paying the tax bill not gufc. Gufc have taken corrective action on the 65% rule. Cousins was a triple jobbing spoofer of the highest order and the signings he made were absolutely pathetic. O Flynn was a **** taking moron most noted for ****ing up against walls than scoring goals. Good riddance to the lot of them and on tonights result the board at gufc could be proved right to take action. They have admitted mistakes. If u see dolan or keely in terryland anytime soon handing in money i would be shocked these guys have always took money out of clubs and never handed in a penny. Leeches

HarpoJoyce
01/08/2008, 10:27 PM
Keely is technically right on this issue ... if any club isnt paying their players, current or former management or their tax bill etc then they should be sanctioned by the FAI.

"it is the clubs who cheat that are winning" - Michel Platini

bhs

Where is the consistency of naming and shaming?
I know the last manager who had to go to the civil court in this juristictin because the Dublin club he worked for instigated a hate campaign against him, which was followed by a very public humiliation from the members of the same football club.

The abuse was raised on this forum (TG).

However, the individual manager in question did need to go to the Civil Court to get some compensation for the abuse he had suffered.

Perhaps, I understand the chap is still recovering.

02/08/2008, 4:29 AM
**** cousins was a spoofer of the highest order

He kept you up in your first season back in the PD. Looks like his successor may take you down in your second, having had 3/4's of the season to turn it around. What does that make him?? :confused:

brianw82
02/08/2008, 11:56 AM
Looks like his successor may take you down in your second, having had 3/4's of the season to turn it around. What does that make him?? :confused:

On the evidence of last night, it looks like Galway will be staying up.

And Rovers Maniac, please put the shovel away and stop digging. Sligo Rovers fans (myself included) have no right to comment on the (implied!) financial mis-management of other clubs.

02/08/2008, 12:06 PM
On the evidence of last night, it looks like Galway will be staying up.

And Rovers Maniac, please put the shovel away and stop digging. Sligo Rovers fans (myself included) have no right to comment on the (implied!) financial mis-management of other clubs.

hopefully Brian, Jeff had to endure a bad start to his management career after the team he had inherited from the spoofer had no belief in themselves. Funny that 2 of the 3 players he has brought into the team are players that Cousins believed werent up to it(murphy and davoren). He still has a lot to offer himself as well. The third player jorgensen too seems to be a good find. The players that he has got rid of arent been missed either, so good calling there from Jeff as they were all first team players that were starting during our poor run.

From the start of the season up until the 1st of july we only got 7 points. Since then, we have released the deadwood and high earners, brought through the youth, added the few mentioned above and have got 7 points out of a possible 12 !

P.S.
Rover maniac got himself suspended too !!!

brianw82
02/08/2008, 12:26 PM
From the start of the season up until the 1st of july we only got 7 points. Since then, we have released the deadwood and high earners, brought through the youth, added the few mentioned above and have got 7 points out of a possible 12 !

Yeah, it's a good return. As I said in the 'tonight's latest' thread though, the style of play might be more suitable to playing away - they absorbed a lot of Harps pressure last night. But the most important thing is that the players now seem to believe they can get results.

geezer
02/08/2008, 3:06 PM
He kept you up in your first season back in the PD. Looks like his successor may take you down in your second, having had 3/4's of the season to turn it around. What does that make him?? :confused:

you didnt have to sit thru that utter ****e of a season, he had about as much chance of gettin 11 lads to play for him as i have of going to the moon next week. Look he was a lovely player but a spoofer manager and the charisma of a big fart

JC_GUFC
02/08/2008, 3:40 PM
I wouldn't be rushing to celebrate us staying up just yet.

UCD and Harps both have a game in hand and the reason we have 14 points is because we've been ****e this season.

Obviously we're the "form" team at the bottom with only 1 loss in 4 but we were lucky to get a point at home against Sligo, we were lucky to beat Bray, we were lucky to only lose 4-0 to Derry but finally last night we got a deserved win!

There's a hell of a long way to go in this relegation battle but at least we've given ourselves a chance.

Oh and geezer, I think this is what you're looking for...

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/8898582/

02/08/2008, 7:00 PM
you didnt have to sit thru that utter ****e of a season, he had about as much chance of gettin 11 lads to play for him as i have of going to the moon next week. Look he was a lovely player but a spoofer manager and the charisma of a big fart

Here, we went 11 games without a win, from the time we won in Galway, til the time we next beat Galway. I did have to sit through that crap.

You've claimed 7 points from 12 but they were at Bray and Harps. The fact you lost 4-0 at home to Derry is a truer measure of where you're currently at.

02/08/2008, 9:02 PM
hy is this not moved to the Galway Section like the Michael Keane one. total Bias by the admins.

gordongekko
02/08/2008, 9:45 PM
Here, we went 11 games without a win, from the time we won in Galway, til the time we next beat Galway. I did have to sit through that crap.

We had to go 13 games last year at home without a win under tc and it was torture so he can wait a few weeks for payment while relying on his two other jobs for a wage.

gg

Tir Oilean
02/08/2008, 9:46 PM
as far as i am aware tc is bein paid off along with a host of former employees. But hey feel free to join the we hate galway campaign spearheaded by such noblemen as pat dolan and dermot keely. Guess what.... We dont care.

02/08/2008, 9:52 PM
I was talking about the threats made to O'Flynn and the other players you lot released (find a club or you'll be taken off the wage bill), when they had signed contracts with GUFC. It was very unprofessional of Galway to put that in the publin domain

gordongekko
02/08/2008, 10:04 PM
It was very unprofessional of Galway to put that in the publin domain

Its hardly professional to allegedly take a **** in front of 30000 people at the races either.

gg

02/08/2008, 10:16 PM
Its hardly professional to allegedly take a **** in front of 30000 people at the races either.

gg

No it's not, but did the whole lot of them do this? Cause they were all issued with the same threat. Also two wrongs don't make a right, and O'Flynn still had a contract

gordongekko
02/08/2008, 10:45 PM
I was talking about the threats made to O'Flynn and the other players you lot released (find a club or you'll be taken off the wage bill), when they had signed contracts with GUFC. It was very unprofessional of Galway to put that in the publin domain

No it's not, but did the whole lot of them do this? Cause they were all issued with the same threat. Also two wrongs don't make a right, and O'Flynn still had a contract

All Galway United players have been paid in full and in accordance with their contracts. If you have any information to dispute this please forward this to the fai and the pfai who will deal with it in accordance to their rules.

gg

gilberto_eire
02/08/2008, 11:03 PM
I'd say fair comment by Keeley. As always in this league it seems that some always get away with it more than others. Galway are the darlings of the FAI anyway

Will ye ever get over the promotion, it's been nearly two years now and Dundalk fans are still playing the ''Everone's against us'' card......

To be honest Keely is the Chairman of the managers association and he is only looking for one of the members it represents. This is situation brought about by Galway not acting like not only a professional football club but even like decent amatuers. It is nearly every week they are in the news and it is always negative and reports like this does not make it easy for the league to attract sponsorship.

Are you serious?. How can you have a go at us over holding the league back in terms of sponsorship, your crowd were telling us ye were going to fold if ye did'nt get €120-€130k by the end of the month, that does'nt deter sponsors more then gossip by Keely:rolleyes:

Also you might want to check your sources we never had a manager called Cousis on our payroll

02/08/2008, 11:48 PM
All Galway United players have been paid in full and in accordance with their contracts. If you have any information to dispute this please forward this to the fai and the pfai who will deal with it in accordance to their rules.

gg

When did I say they haven't been paid? I was talking about the threats GUFC made against the players a few months ago