View Full Version : eircom Sponsorship up for Renewal

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

24/07/2008, 5:53 PM
I cannot believe how this thread unfolded ..... Chicken Licken if i ever saw it. I would have thought that most LOI fans would know better at this stage.

There is no way eircom could pull out of a contract straight away, unless one of the parties had breached it.

The media RTE and Breaking News have [edited text] reported on this issue in a manner which is alarmist in the extreme, and they have continued to report upon it while they [edited text]knew it was misleading.

Their behaviour can only be described as reckless and irresponsible.

I have no doubt that there is a clause in the contract that will allow for a window where the FAI can look at other potential sponsors while eircom would be given the option of something similar to first refusal.

At no time did either party deny that the sponsorship was being revoked.
It is standard practice that both parties would discuss the contract given the time frame and neither party suggested that that was not happening.

On Thursday, 24 July 2008 17:39 RTE reported this ...

RTÉ Sport has learned that eircom will end their sponsorship of the Irish domestic league at the end of the current season.

This is a statement as if fact ...... They are saying that it is ending, have they been told otherwise?

They contrived and manufactured the story initially when there was nothing to suggest this was no more than standard practice and no where near the bad news story they would have us believe. How can they continue to do so?

Both deals are due to expire this year

This is clear, if the contract is for a fixed term, and this term is due to end then this is not something that you can be alarmist about. Its something that is inevitable, unless someone can stop time.

the company expected to maintain their relationship with the international side but end that with the domestic game

They are stating this as fact ..... again

The FAI have said ....

We are currently in discussions with eircom on all aspects of sponsorship. The talks are at an advanced stage and we won't be commenting any further until they have concluded.

So its not the FAI that are supporting RTEs claims, is it eircom?

Or is this just another typical RTE stunt again? Is this what we are paying out license fee for? Tabloid gutter journalism? [edited text] RTE should be trying to maintain standards?

Can the FAI/eircom take action against them? I can see how they wouldn't have a case given the time frames involved here throughout the day.

24/07/2008, 5:54 PM
While I agree there's a lot of alarmist comment, do you have any sort of back up at all that the RTÉ report is full of lies?

Jinxy
24/07/2008, 6:03 PM
On 6.1 now - Tony O'Donoghue presenting as unmitigated bad news and linking it with the precarious position at Sligo Rovers......

[edit] Should have known Stu would beat me...

Oh, and its to be followed by a report on vicious racist abuse against a 14 yo by the followers of our fine national games

Yep. We were all there. Disguised as 14 year old girls.:rolleyes:

Their behaviour can only be described as reckless and irresponsible.

That's as alarmist a comment as I've read on this thread to be fair, they're hardly reporting that Sellafield has gone into meltdown and law and order has broken down for our remaining few minutes

sonofstan
While I agree there's a lot of alarmist comment, do you have any sort of back up at all that the RTÉ report is full of lies?

Can't see any reason why RTE would be making this up ....

Here it is for ya ....

Do they have anything to suggest that anything out of the ordinary was happening?

Can they tell us that there was anything other than standard practice was being adhered to?

Can they tell us if either party were not fulfilling their contractual obligations?

Was there any breach of contract? was there any arbitration?

Given all the other sponsorship deal across all the other codes, can they give us grounds as to why they singled out this particular deal and reported on it as if things had soured, and continued to report on it when told it was not the case.

If they ran with the story initially, would it not be up to them to support their reasons for being so alarmist. How exactly does this deal differ from any other deal that is due to expire?

Why is it a bad news story if both parties were discussing the sponsorship and agree to leave it run its course, leaving the FAI available to find an improved sponsor.

My problem with this in a nutshell, NOTHING in this story so far suggests it is bad for the league, so why is it being reported as such.

sullanefc
24/07/2008, 6:05 PM

Do they have any sort of back up that the report is true?? They said in the report that the FAI & eircom are refusing to comment. So who told them???

24/07/2008, 6:07 PM
Can't see any reason why RTE would be making this up ....

Unless there was a certain Monday night show up for the chop......:eek:

24/07/2008, 6:07 PM
I'm trusting that they're not making stuff up, which I admit is a bit of a leap of faith when it comes to journalists. But they clearly have some source, whereas A Face is just making stuff up.

Greenforever
24/07/2008, 6:14 PM
The Lansdowne Naming rights are being negotiated in the near future.

The most likely outcome is that whoever gets them may well want to sponsor bothe the national soccer and rugby teams.

Eircom, or any other major company, are unlikely to enter into a new sponsorhip agreement until the naming rights have been sorted. In fairness if O2 get the naming rights like at the Point, do you see Eircom sponsoring the soccer team, at the home of a potential major competitor???

The most likely sequence of events is

Naming Rights for Stadium Finalised.

This company to sponsor both IRFU and FAI or the deal being subject to either or both organisations agreeing new sponsorhios with non conflicting partners.

If Eircom are still on board as FAI main sponsors they will sponsor the LOI and if not the new major FAI sponsor will most likely be the LOI sponsor as well.

So IMO it's a load of bull**** from tabloid jounalists who know f*** all.

24/07/2008, 6:20 PM
I'm trusting that they're not making stuff up, which I admit is a bit of a leap of faith when it comes to journalists. But they clearly have some source, whereas A Face is just making stuff up.

What am i making up?

What part of this story anywhere suggests that this was a bad news item, that it was bad for the leagues interests?

I'm not saying fans thinking the sky is falling down, they dont count
I'm not saying the alarmist 'we'll sell a few more papers' attitude of the media
I'm not saying the 'no more comment' rebutal to the media when the FAI already said they were both in talks as you would expect

I'm saying the actual story itself as we can see it now.

What part is bad?

24/07/2008, 6:23 PM
This, for example -

The media RTE and Breaking News have fabricated a story of lies and deceit

- is an allegation you've completely failed to back up. Ditto -

They contrived and manufactured the story

they are lying

All this makes you as bad as you're making RTÉ out to be, to be honest.

24/07/2008, 6:26 PM
So IMO it's a load of bull**** from tabloid jounalists who know f*** all.

Thats my point exactly. They made this story up, a load of old cobblers and they have been found out. They must of known from the start that it wouldn't hold much water.

I dont know who was huddled around the table saying "right folks, a bit of straw clutching here for a story" but they had very little to work with first day. I'd say they are lovin' it that it actually got this far.

24/07/2008, 6:27 PM
They made this story up
You keep saying that. Do you have any proof to offer? If not, you're as bad as you're making RTÉ out to be, and you're the biggest over-reactionary on the thread.

24/07/2008, 6:31 PM
All this makes you as bad as you're making RTÉ out to be, to be honest.

Come on Stu, do you not think its sad that the National Broadcaster has to crutch up a story which is completely contrived and manufactured with a sob story from Sligo Rovers chairman when its completely two separate issues :eek: For gods sake, they are a communications company, i'm just some guy from the internet

Does the Rovers Chairman get fined now for this? Talking about something he is not even involved in?

24/07/2008, 6:34 PM
You've just called them liars again without so much as a shred of proof. Do you not see the irony in that?

24/07/2008, 6:39 PM
You keep saying that. Do you have any proof to offer? If not, you're as bad as you're making RTÉ out to be, and you're the biggest over-reactionary on the thread.

I dont have proof that they made it up, because its not there, they are the only ones to come up with it.

I look at that facts, i see there is nothing out of the ordinary and no cause for alarm ..... i think its inexplicable that they get 27 for 2 + 2

I do not except that i'm as bad as RTE here because ..... i dont take vast amounts of money from licence fee payers to report cobblers back to the people i take the money from.

I am looking at the way they have handled this story and i have made a call on it ..... i'm saying that its pathetic and sad state of affairs if the National Broadcaster have to stoop this low to get a news story

Are there not countless other ways they could have reported the factual content of this story and not in a misleading and contrived manner.

soccerc
24/07/2008, 6:44 PM
Thats my point exactly. They made this story up

No they didn't

They must of known from the start that it wouldn't
hold much water.

Has it been denied?

I dont know who was huddled around the table saying "right folks, a bit of straw clutching here for a story" but they had very little to work with first day.

.,,.but you've called them liars all the same without knowing the source or its' veracity

I'd say they are lovin' it that it actually got this far.

I sincerely doubt that attitude pervails in editorial terms at the national broadcaster.

TV3 lead with it too, but you didn't castigate them.

Relax and chillout, it must be the oxgygen debt up on the high horsey :cool:

24/07/2008, 6:49 PM

You've just called them liars again without so much as a shred of proof. Do you not see the irony in that?

You are trusting them that they are not making it up ..... I AM NOT. I have seen it countless times before and i will put money down on it that it wont be the last time we see it either.

Stu, they got the whole day out of it with their alarmist drivel, there was five pages of it on here before i commented. I dont have a shread of evidence that they have lied except from the facts, the facts that they didn't report on.

I personally would love to see how they came to the conclusion, that this was bad for the league. Who made this decision? How did they come to this conclusion and report on it as if it were fact.

I see the irony Stu .... and two wrongs dont make a right, i hear ya but are you not tired of this? Why do they always go to make bad news out of something when there is nothing there. Why does the league always suffer?

24/07/2008, 6:52 PM
Have you read soccerc's post at all? Or did that not fit in with your world view?

24/07/2008, 7:00 PM
why do RTE always jump on board with negative news highlighting the eircom sponsorship and adding to it with sligo,galway and waterford financial trouble ---the gave f*** all coverage to Drogs great win

Because most journalists not only don't care about the league, actively want it to fail. You'll notice the majority of these articles aren't written by the excellent young LOI journos such as Dan McDonnell or Mike Scully.

One journo told me before of his editors insturctions on a particular angle. When he refused to write that article he was relegated from the features writer. Large national newspaper too...

24/07/2008, 7:08 PM
TV3 lead with it too, but you didn't castigate them.

I do castigate them. Dont get me wrong .... i am lumping them all into one. Any media group, paper, whatever

How can any journalist worth his/her salt look at this story and come up with that stuff?

I am struggling to see where they could have come up with it, if they were reporting that both were going to arbitration then i'd say fair play, do your worst-est, and i'm sure they would do a fine job too ..... BUT if they cannot report that then how can they come up with it.

I'm saying if it the talks are concluded and both parties walk away at the end of the term and the FAI need another sponsor, even if that is the case, how still is that a bad story?

It was never a secret that the contract would end at some stage, it wasn't open ended. So i'm struggling to see how this is bad? Or is it just a guaranteed 'bad news' story that was always there to cash in on when the time comes? If that is the case then when is the next GAA sponsorship deal up for renewal? Will it be treated equally?

If they are putting themselves up on the soap box claiming that this is a bad news item then they should pad it out with a bit more fact if they dont want people to draw conclusions about their reporting.

sullanefc
24/07/2008, 7:08 PM
Angry email, just sent to MNS.

Rovers Maniac
24/07/2008, 7:09 PM
National broadcaster v Dodge hmmm i wonder who knows more? :)

soccerc
24/07/2008, 7:14 PM
I do castigate them. Dont get me wrong .... i am lumping them all into one. Any media group, paper, whatever

How can any journalist worth his/her salt look at this story and come up with that stuff?

I am struggling to see where they could have come up with it, if they were reporting that both were going to arbitration then i'd say fair play, do your worst-est, and i'm sure they would do a fine job too ..... BUT if they cannot report that then how can they come up with it.

I'm saying if it the talks are concluded and both parties walk away at the end of the term and the FAI need another sponsor, even if that is the case, how still is that a bad story?

It was never a secret that the contract would end at some stage, it wasn't open ended. So i'm struggling to see how this is bad? Or is it just a guaranteed 'bad news' story that was always there to cash in on when the time comes? If that is the case then when is the next GAA sponsorship deal up for renewal? Will it be treated equally?

If they are putting themselves up on the soap box claiming that this is a bad news item then they should pad it out with a bit more fact if they dont want people to draw conclusions about their reporting.

Because the sponsorship link between the league and international team are set to be broken. The International angle was the leverage to secure decent sponsorship for the league that hardly registers in peoples minds.

That's why it is bad news

Candystripe
24/07/2008, 7:18 PM
Is this not normal practise?

Their (eircom) contract is up at the end of the season and my guess is the F.A.I. are negotiating with them and more than likely others so maybe eircom are being asked to up their financial package from the current one.

Eircom maybe trying to play hardball and let it slip to the press that they are not renewing the LOI part and then go and deny it later in the day.

Nothing for anyone to get worried about.

As I said.......... normal practise.

24/07/2008, 7:22 PM
Because most journalists not only don't care about the league, actively want it to fail. You'll notice the majority of these articles aren't written by the excellent young LOI journos such as Dan McDonnell or Mike Scully.

One journo told me before of his editors insturctions on a particular angle. When he refused to write that article he was relegated from the features writer. Large national newspaper too...

Can we all stop beating around the bush here. We all know well that the media in this country have the knives out for the league all the time, i mean its not like its a secret that just got out or anything.

Any media group will look back at the history in reporting on the league and see the sway to the negative side of things, contrived in alot of cases.

How many times have we seen it happen before on a slow news day, some rookie trying to find his teeth has just jumped through the editors hoop and castigated the league, as if it were some sort of initiation to the world of Irish sports journalism. Its as if they are stuck for a filler and they wheeled out this old chestnut.

There is no doubt in my mind there is an agenda against the league in the media circles in Ireland, its clear as day, i read, listen and see it all the time, is it that they didn't think we'd notice a trend or something?

I sincerely doubt that attitude pervails in editorial terms at the national broadcaster.

What kind of attitude does prevail though? If they can run with a nothing story about a sponsorship contract coming to an end and make it look bad for the league then what are they capable of?

Are people asking themselves this?

This story is a nothing and they have tarred the name of the league with it ..... again !! :eek: And then i'm the bad guy for pointing this out :rolleyes:

sullanefc
24/07/2008, 7:26 PM
Can we all stop beating around the bush here. We all know well that the media in this country have the knives out for the league all the time, i mean its not like its a secret that just got out or anything.

Any media group will look back at the history in reporting on the league and see the sway to the negative side of things, contrived in alot of cases.

How many times have we seen it happen before on a slow news day, some rookie trying to find his teeth has just jumped through the editors hoop and castigated the league, as if it were some sort of initiation to the world of Irish sports journalism. Its as if they are stuck for a filler and they wheeled out this old chestnut.

There is no doubt in my mind there is an agenda against the league in the media circles in Ireland, its clear as day, i read, listen and see it all the time, is it that they didn't think we'd notice a trend or something?

What kind of attitude does prevail though? If they can run with a nothing story about a sponsorship contract coming to an end and make it look bad for the league then what are they capable of?

Are people asking themselves this?

This story is a nothing and they have tarred the name of the league with it ..... again !! :eek: And then i'm the bad guy for pointing this out :rolleyes:

Agree with all of that, and have I have let MNS know about it. Tony O'Donoghue gone way down in my estimation after that "news" report.

24/07/2008, 7:31 PM
Because the sponsorship link between the league and international team are set to be broken.

Aren't they broken already? Aren't they two separate entities now no?

The International angle was the leverage to secure decent sponsorship for the league that hardly registers in peoples minds.

No, we always knew that. That was clear as day all along. It was never so clear as to when RTE asked to pay the FAI not to do MNS. We are all too aware of the fulcrum that exists.

But that is still the case today (i'll admit it wasn't in the past when the FAI didn't give a toss about the league) and no matter what deal is sought now, i'll say that come the end of that, it will still be the case. So what?

The FAI have something to sweeten the pill in the next deal, good .... thats what we all want isn't it. We didn't learn anything new today, no matter how its dressed up. It was a nothing.

24/07/2008, 7:40 PM
I actually hold my hands up on this one as regards Breaking News ...

24/07/2008 - 11:50:48

They corrected the story at the time above

Eircom have denied that they are about to end their sponsorship of the eircom League.

Ok, i paired them with RTE on reporting it and i was wrong there. They obviously saw the error of their ways at 11.50 and left it run all day until the 6.01 news corrected it seeing that it was wrong to mislead their readers.

24/07/2008, 7:40 PM
It was a slow news day lads, jesus talk about over reaction from both sides of this. What probably happened was, RTE needed a news story, some RTE source said they heard eircom won't be the sponser next year, RTE reported that eircom would be pulling the plug on the sponsership when in fact the deal is just running out, various people had several heart attacks.

Bar any leaked memo from RTE saying they want to discredit a league that they promote I would assume that all of this has come about through bog standard poor journalism. RTE heard eircom wouldn't be sponsers next year and assumed they were pulling out before checking when the deal was due to expire, which is where the actual news story lies

24/07/2008, 7:49 PM
Bar any leaked memo from RTE saying they want to discredit a league that they promote I would assume that all of this has come about through bog standard poor journalism.

Yeah, i guess you're probably right, much a do, yeah the league suffered again in the millionth news story with no substance that just so happens to err on the side that damages the league but sure who cares. Its just their standards again ... dang them boys at RTE and their dodgy standards, shucks will they ever learn

*gives them a playful dig in the arm*

What'cha say we carry on as if nothing ever happened !! ;)

[Queue the music for some eighties American tv show* with a happy ending]

* I'm sure you're familiar with them, we have to endure them on RTE often enough

Rovers Maniac
24/07/2008, 7:52 PM
Say what you want lads but i have been supporting Rovers for nearly 30 years and this is the worst i have ever seen the league as a whole collective. We are in absolute bits and over the chink of light is Drogs beating a team from Estonia who are a nation who's league is ranked well below ours.

24/07/2008, 7:58 PM
Shoddy work by RTE.

The only quote I could find from eircom was Click (http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2008/0724/1216897658103.html)

"The current contract is due to expire at the end of 2008," read today's statement. "Eircom is currently in discussions with the FAI regarding sponsorship of Irish soccer.

Not sure how RTE can report this as fact.

Maybe RTE can sponsor the league. If it is good enough for Hurling.

Edit: The League Sponsorship is worth 1.2m a year from eircom

sullanefc
24/07/2008, 7:59 PM
Say what you want lads but i have been supporting Rovers for nearly 30 years and this is the worst i have ever seen the league as a whole collective. We are in absolute bits and over the chink of light is Drogs beating a team from Estonia who are a nation who's league is ranked well below ours.

Worst you have seen the league?? Cork, Drogs, Pats all getting coefficient points lately, the highest we have been, in the table. Better facilities than ever before. Turners Cross is a good stadium, Drogheda and Bohs planning new stadia and your own crowd moving to Tallaght next year. Worst you have seen the league. :rolleyes:

Would you rather go back to fat part timers playing in the depths of winter in the ****ing rain and getting hammered in Europe by minnows from the likes of malta??

24/07/2008, 8:02 PM

I guess your reflexes are working ok anyway :rolleyes:

There is loads going on in the league at the moment that is good but aside from that, my club Cork City only ten years ago was a completely different club, and i mean completely different. And i'd say that most clubs couldn't turn around as say that things haven't got better.

Circa ten years ago, Sligo Rovers got whipped by us 5/6 to 1 and ye sacked your manager the same night. Things were bad in Sligo at that time, very bleak.

Ten years on and you have made some unreal strides given your resources. I know it hasn't been well documented but thats not Sligos fault, its the medias.

I'm telling you, there is loads to be positive about. Look at the damage this article can do and dismiss it until you can see something with more substance.

When we do get a new sponsor for the league, will it be given that same attention, the same negativity? We'll have to wait and see.

24/07/2008, 8:05 PM

Is it? Really? Is it worse than even 5 years ago? I don't think so, I've only been a LoI follower for 7 years and I can see the difference in quality and vision quite clearly, so stop over-reacting

Yeah, i guess you're probably right, much a do, yeah the league suffered again in the millionth news story with no substance that just so happens to err on the side that damages the league but sure who cares. Its just their standards again ... dang them boys at RTE and their dodgy standards, shucks will they ever learn

It's not just RTE though, across the board in journalism the standards have been slipping for at least 20 years. RTE saying eircom have pulled out of the League of Ireland isn't even in the same ballpark as 13 British newspapers accusing Robert Morat of being a paedophile for example. I mean have you ever actually watched Fox News? No use complaining about RTE's journalistic standards when they're probably one of the better outlets, by comparison of course :)

Anyway in who's eyes does this damage us? The LoI fan knows it's rubbish, the barstooler thinks we're rubbish regardless, the non football fan probably didn't pay attention and the person thinking about going, well if they're put off by a 3 minute story on RTE then they wouldn't have stuck around for more than a handful of games anyway

Rovers Maniac
24/07/2008, 8:08 PM
Worst you have seen the league?? Cork, Drogs, Pats all getting coefficient points lately, the highest we have been, in the table. Better facilities than ever before. Turners Cross is a good stadium, Drogheda and Bohs planning new stadia and your own crowd moving to Tallaght next year. Worst you have seen the league. :rolleyes:

Would you rather go back to fat part timers playing in the depths of winter in the ****ing rain and getting hammered in Europe by minnows from the likes of malta??

Wow coefficients! Against a team from Latvia, Estonia and Finland amazing stuff. :rolleyes: Drogs and Bohs stadiums are a long long way from getting built. While the rest of the league is in bits bar UCD including the first divsion. Teams are skint close to folding in a lot of cases this is not a proper league it is a total joke. I predict we are about to lose some clubs very soon.

sullanefc
24/07/2008, 8:12 PM
Teams are skint close to folding in a lot of cases this is not a proper league it is a total joke.

This is through bad management at clubs. To blame the league or the Fai or summer football is deflecting blame from the clubs themselves.

Rovers Maniac
24/07/2008, 8:15 PM
Is it? Really? Is it worse than even 5 years ago? I don't think so, I've only been a LoI follower for 7 years and I can see the difference in quality and vision quite clearly, so stop over-reacting

It's not just RTE though, across the board in journalism the standards have been slipping for at least 20 years. RTE saying eircom have pulled out of the League of Ireland isn't even in the same ballpark as 13 British newspapers accusing Robert Morat of being a paedophile for example. I mean have you ever actually watched Fox News? No use complaining about RTE's journalistic standards when they're probably one of the better outlets, by comparison of course :)

Anyway in who's eyes does this damage us? The LoI fan knows it's rubbish, the barstooler thinks we're rubbish regardless, the non football fan probably didn't pay attention and the person thinking about going, well if they're put off by a 3 minute story on RTE then they wouldn't have stuck around for more than a handful of games anyway

7 years of watching Lims and it still is rubbish. Look Jebus i shoud have said off the field it is a shambles off the field. I think it can't be argued that there has been a better standard of football being played today in the premier. However i will say that if that Shelbourne team that were around 5 years ago were still around they would win the league anyway i don't think it is an over reaction.

Rovers Maniac
24/07/2008, 8:18 PM
This is through bad management at clubs. To blame the league or the Fai or summer football is deflecting blame from the clubs themselves.

These clubs are budgeting for what they would get through on an avg season in the winter and it is coming up short. They are frustrated that just a few clubs what to chase something that is miles off and may never get i.e. group stages of champions league.

24/07/2008, 8:20 PM

Jebus, it does huge damage and its compounded with every story.

If they reported accurately and with a bit of civic pride they i'd be happy, i'm not saying they have to hype it up the other way, just a fair crack of the whip and give it the coverage it deserves.

Do you know what, i'd actually say there is a case for them not actually knowing how the whole sponsorship element works. I'd say they could plead dumb on this one and just say they got it wrong

24/07/2008, 8:21 PM
7 years of watching Lims and it still is rubbish. Look Jebus i shoud have said off the field it is a shambles off the field. I think it can't be argued that there has been a better standard of football being played today in the premier. However i will say that if that Shelbourne team that were around 5 years ago were still around they would win the league anyway i don't think it is an over reaction.

What are you talking about? Seriously could you go back and edit that. There's a better standard of football today than 5 years ago, but the Shelbourne team of 5 years ago would walk it? First off, that's debatable, second off, so what if they would, we would still have more quality teams in the league than 5 years ago.

As for Limerick, we are in a much better financial position than 5 years ago. On the pitch we are a better team that 5 years ago (we were woeful that season), we have two plans for a stadium, we're not in any financial trouble whatsoever and the future is finally starting to look bright.

Jebus, it does huge damage and its compounded with every story.

If they reported accurately and with a bit of civic pride they i'd be happy, i'm not saying they have to hype it up the other way, just a fair crack of the whip and give it the coverage it deserves.

Do you know what, i'd actually say there is a case for them not actually knowing how the whole sponsorship element works. I'd say they could plead dumb on this one and just say they got it wrong

That's what I've been saying, this really looks more like a case of RTE just making a mess of the story than it being a massive RTE conspiracy against the LoI

sullanefc
24/07/2008, 8:22 PM
These clubs are budgeting for what they would get through on an avg season in the winter and it is coming up short.

Well more fool them. Why would they budget for an avg season in the winter, when we are now playing summer soccer with the last 5 years. :confused: Its because of idiotic management like this that these clubs are in trouble.

Rovers Maniac
24/07/2008, 8:25 PM
Well more fool them. Why would they budget for an avg season in the winter, when we are now playing summer soccer with the last 5 years. :confused: Its because of idiotic management like this that these clubs are in trouble.

Exactly so you have just admitted the crowds are over, good night case closed ;):D

sullanefc
24/07/2008, 8:28 PM
Exactly so you have just admitted the crowds are over, good night case closed ;):D

Crowds are over what?? :confused:

24/07/2008, 8:29 PM

These clubs are budgeting for what they would get through on an avg season in the winter and it is coming up short. They are frustrated that just a few clubs what to chase something that is miles off and may never get i.e. .

Thats not the league fault, thats the clubs fault .... single out the chairman and treasurer and they are your problem.

Are they more accountable now and have to balance the books and adhere to the rules (i.e. have proper accounts, cant cook the books) Are they learning that they cant get away with it now.

Should they be aiming to run their clubs with a sound financial plan as opposed to reaching the 'group stages of champions league'. Walk before you can run.

The league is times better now matter how hard you try to say other wise.

Rovers Maniac
24/07/2008, 8:32 PM
Crowds are over what?? :confused:

Crowds are down (will have to cut down on my cider intake :))

24/07/2008, 8:33 PM
That's what I've been saying, this really looks more like a case of RTE just making a mess of the story than it being a massive RTE conspiracy against the LoI

I was being sarcastic there :p

Man, if they really did 'get it wrong' then they really are a bunch of mo-mos and now i'm really worried :eek:

I actually think its habit, they are in the habit of battering the league so much, they just cant shake the habit.

24/07/2008, 8:35 PM
Crowds are down (will have to cut down on my cider intake :))

I knew it, you're drunk at the wheel :p