View Full Version : Champions League - Drogs latest

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

23/07/2008, 5:39 PM
True, but I think Drogheda have done their bit. Realistically anything they get against Kiev will be a bonus, and not expected.

Yourselves and us should be looking to add by winning our games now.

Absolutely. I'd be disgusted if we don't win (although as long as we get through...) but Droghea could get a draw next week. It won't be easy but lots of european teams play defensively away

23/07/2008, 5:41 PM
Absolutely. I'd be disgusted if we don't win (although as long as we get through...) but Droghea could get a draw next week. It won't be easy but lots of european teams play defensively away

True. I think ye'l go through comfortably enough and win but ours is very dodgy.

We're certainly capable of it but away from home in Europe is always very tough. I cant see us keeping a clean sheet, so itl come down to whether we can score 2 or not.

23/07/2008, 5:44 PM

As fans ye will look for second win but managers just care about progressing.

We easily beat Ekranas of Lithuania 2-0 away from home only to play terribly losing 0-1 at home a couple of years ago.

sonofstan
23/07/2008, 5:48 PM
Great result - will go along on Tuesday, I think: i assume it will be free in for Bohs members? :)

chipsahoy
23/07/2008, 5:55 PM
class result. a testiment to the players and staff. and this was a deserved result in a fixture the drogs were the better team. hopefull this will give other irish teams confidence. would be delighted with a draw next week, even if its a scoring one. cant wait to be in the jodi now singin on the terrace!!!!

eamo1
23/07/2008, 5:56 PM
Congrats to Drogs from a Galway Utd fan,like most on here i dont care what E.L team does well in Europe,i even wouldnt begrudge Sligo:).

kingdomkerry
23/07/2008, 6:02 PM
Well done drogs. I was at the first leg in dayler and the jodi looked at least 90% full. Id expect a big increase in the crowd next tuesday. Where are they going to go. Can they open the uncovered seating in the far side?

23/07/2008, 6:15 PM
Good stuff out of Drogheda and good luck against Dynamo Kiev.

:ball:

Buller
23/07/2008, 6:18 PM
Well done drogs. I was at the first leg in dayler and the jodi looked at least 90% full. Id expect a big increase in the crowd next tuesday. Where are they going to go. Can they open the uncovered seating in the far side?

Yeah... thats where they put us every derby. Tis a bitch if it rains though... Would be class if they could use that tramway end terrace!
Great win - wonder how our co-efficients thing is looking so far with pats winning aswell last week?

shep
23/07/2008, 6:25 PM
Brilliant result Drogs,backed them at 9/4 also,so was very nervous at the end,especially when it seemed zayed missed about 3 clear chances

Saint_Charlie
23/07/2008, 6:31 PM
wonder how our co-efficients thing is looking so far with pats winning aswell last week?

http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/crank2009.html

Pretty healthy. He hasn't updated it with the Drogs result yet but if Pats win next week along with todays results we won't be too far off 30th :)

carrickharp
23/07/2008, 7:10 PM
Well done Drogs great result:cool:

23/07/2008, 7:19 PM
Great to get the victory out there, all the best against Dinamo.

23/07/2008, 7:39 PM
congratulations Drogheda - good result. put it up to those yukey b*astards next!

then lose. ;)

SalvadorSanchez
23/07/2008, 7:44 PM
Well done Drogs... all the best in the next round... get stuck in and give them everything....

oriel
23/07/2008, 7:57 PM
Super result, was delighted to hear this and especially for Gartland, he's a much better player than costing you the away goal and that pen v Cork City.

Its been a great record for Drogs in Europe since their arrival in the big time, I cant think of too many away wins for the great Dundalk teams of 1976-82 and Rovers 4 in a row 1984-1987.

Linfield (79) away for us, Rovers maybe in Iceland or was it Cyprus ?

irishultra
23/07/2008, 7:57 PM
Damn.....spit loyalty next week. I think I'll bring my ukraine flag with drogheda written on it. :D

When can i get tickets? I can't miss it for the world.

Sorry Kyiv but come on the Drogs.

headtheball
23/07/2008, 8:02 PM
Fantastic result for Drogheda. 2 wins makes it even better. :D

irishultra
23/07/2008, 8:07 PM
please lads tell me when i get the tickets?
Im so nervous i might miss this.

iceman
23/07/2008, 8:13 PM
Im so nervous i might miss this.
Keep an eye on www.droghedaunited.ie (http://www.droghedaunited.ie) lets hope theres someone back in the office tomorrow.

Celdrog
23/07/2008, 8:35 PM
Im so nervous i might miss this.They'll be on sale in Dalymount. This match will not sell out - if we get 5,000 we'll be delighted. Probably about 4,000 Drogs and 1,000 "non-Drog" Drogs:D

The trick will be to get a ticket for the Jodi. That will sell out very quickly.

Steve Bruce
23/07/2008, 9:01 PM
Well done drogs, good to see you progress to the next round. If there was one club in the LOI I would want to see progress far it would be you lot.

Linfield unfortunately has been knocked out, but we got a credible draw against a decent Zagreb side.

cheifo
23/07/2008, 9:11 PM
Well done Drogs.Imperative you rest a load of players on Sat night.:)

oriel
23/07/2008, 9:35 PM
Just on the next round, why did Drogs chose Dalymount over Tolka ? I always found Tolka a more atmospheric (if a bit run down) ground, also a bit closer for drog fans too

Finlay Harp
23/07/2008, 9:36 PM
yes play your under 16's;)

irishultra
23/07/2008, 9:40 PM
The promotion should go into overdrive for this match....5 days of high publicity to get Dalymount rocking.

bigmac
23/07/2008, 9:48 PM
Well done Drogs - huge result both for yourselves and the league in general. Looked like a very tricky draw but by all accounts Drogs were by far the better team and weren't flattered by the scorelines.

cheifo
23/07/2008, 11:06 PM
Pity about situation with Gavin and injuries to Robbo etc.Would have increased their chances of pulling off a shock obviously.

gufcfan
24/07/2008, 3:02 AM
Fantastic. Lets hope the neutrals come out in force.
A Drog fan has an email from MNS saying RTE covering it live.

Excuse my ignorance but, do you mean the next round against Dynamo Kyiv will be televised? Excellent news if it is.

I put all hatred aside when the euros are involved.

Good luck to the Drogs in the next round, and do the LOI proud.

Was just lookin up their squad on wikipedia there now and they seem to be very decent at the moment. No Shevchencos, but they are all the better for it, I reckon.

gufcfan
24/07/2008, 3:42 AM
A little video I found on the Kyiv site, about what the Drogs fans will expect to see at the away leg.

Click (http://www.fcdynamo.kiev.ua/ru/video/dktv/infrastructure/339.html)

Blue Man
24/07/2008, 8:17 AM
Delighted for Drogheda tonight, especially for Garto. After his nightmare in Europe last year and the rough few weeks he's had, he's showed what type of character he really is. C'mon the Drogs

iceman
24/07/2008, 9:00 AM
Yes , word is that RTE are covering both legs of the Drogs v Dynamo Kiev game.

Duggie
24/07/2008, 9:03 AM
would yez agree that drogs v kiev is similiar to shels v croatia zagreb a few years ago ??? could be a different result tho.

24/07/2008, 9:08 AM
Whoohoo congrats Drogs. Delighted. Annoyed that we are playing Shels next Tues night so cant be in Dayler to cheer you on. Will be in Dublin for a meeting that day and all so would have been perfect only for our match. Oh well.

Good luck against Kiev and let's hope they turn out to be chicken.... sorry.

24/07/2008, 9:31 AM
fair play to drogheda, look forward to watching the next match on tele. Hopefully st pats and cork can go on and do the same.

pateen
24/07/2008, 9:39 AM
Well done lads fair play.

I would expect 6 - 7 thousand.
I think drogs will bring about 4 - 5, about 2 thousand neutrals and Kiev will bring a few hundred. Theres a few ukranians living in dublin and they have a huge following back home.

What are the club doing to plug this as much as possible?

chipsahoy
24/07/2008, 12:27 PM
Excuse my ignorance but, do you mean the next round against Dynamo Kyiv will be televised? Excellent news if it is.

I put all hatred aside when the euros are involved.

Good luck to the Drogs in the next round, and do the LOI proud.

Was just lookin up their squad on wikipedia there now and they seem to be very decent at the moment. No Shevchencos, but they are all the better for it, I reckon.

they were in man utd's champions league group last year...

HarpoJoyce
24/07/2008, 3:18 PM
Well done Drogheda. Did the double in the Champions league, first time of asking. Fair Play.

fergalr
25/07/2008, 12:52 PM
Lads - any news on tickets for Tuesday? Will they be on sales beforehand in Dalier?

Celdrog
25/07/2008, 2:12 PM
Going on sale on Saturday morning in the Drogs shop and Tierneys in Navan. €25 each, €20 for season ticket holders. Thats the only official info so far.

I would imagine they will be on sale in Dalyer as well. To be honest I reckon they will be on sale on the night, probably just for the Des Kelly and/or Connaught. The Jodi will probably sell out on Saturday to Drogs.

fergalr
25/07/2008, 3:10 PM
Ta for that. Can you let us know if you hear when they go on sale in Dalier - cheers.

Celdrog
26/07/2008, 3:38 PM
Ta for that. Can you let us know if you hear when they go on sale in Dalier - cheers.

On Sale Now (http://www.droghedaunited.ie/news/single/id/1393)

fergalr
28/07/2008, 9:40 AM

Cheers Celdrog - thanks.

paddigol
28/07/2008, 8:43 PM
Best of luck tomorrow.
I have a feeling you can cause an upset.
Being out of the title race should help.
If your strikers weren't so impotent this season you'd still be in the hunt for the league. So whenever they click ye can beat anyone in the league. Hopefully they'll do it tomorrow.

28/07/2008, 9:39 PM

I presume they will they be on Sale before the game if tickets left? Maybe from the hunt Bohs use behind the school end?

If weather holds up will probably go.

HarpoJoyce
29/07/2008, 8:10 AM
Good Luck to Drogheda today they will have their work cut out.

The Dynamo squad that the club are bringing to Ireland is on their website.
http://www.fcdynamo.kiev.ua/en/dynamo/news/27627.html

Dynamo played a League game against Dneipr at the weekend.
http://www.fcdynamo.kiev.ua/en/dynamo/news/27618.html
1-3 away for Dynamo.

Larger report in Ukrainian
http://www.fcdynamo.kiev.ua/ua/dynamo/news/27619.html

Some more photos
http://www.fcdynamo.kiev.ua/ua/photo/current/championship/498.html

Again, wishing Drogheda Utd FC all the best in today's game.
I don't know if this is worth anyones time. But the Dynamo website has a poll on the likely result. 0-2 and 0-3 are running neck and neck at the moment.
I tried to enter a positive result for "Drogeda" but it isn't accepting my requests. (Right-hand side of page is the prediction poll)
http://www.fcdynamo.kiev.ua/ua/newsarchive?pg=1

WindmillWarrior
29/07/2008, 8:30 AM
I presume they will they be on Sale before the game if tickets left? Maybe from the hunt Bohs use behind the school end?

If weather holds up will probably go.

I know the school end/des kelly is being kept for Kyiv fans - not sure if all of it is though. The Connaught will be open as well so there'll be no prob getting tickets on the night. Weather should hold up on the east coast!

29/07/2008, 9:25 AM
Larger report in Ukrainian
http://www.fcdynamo.kiev.ua/ua/dynamo/news/27619.html

Again, wishing Drogheda Utd FC all the best in today's game.
I don't know if this is worth anyones time. But the Dynamo website has a poll on the likely result. 0-2 and 0-3 are running neck and neck at the moment.
I tried to enter a positive result for "Drogeda" but it isn't accepting my requests. (Right-hand side of page is the prediction poll)
http://www.fcdynamo.kiev.ua/ua/newsarchive?pg=1

love the overconfidence. :D

Forgive my ignorance and probably I'm the only one on this forum that doesn't speak Ukrainian so any chance of a translation? :D

HarpoJoyce
29/07/2008, 5:51 PM
love the overconfidence. :D

Forgive my ignorance and probably I'm the only one on this forum that doesn't speak Ukrainian so any chance of a translation? :D

No, any internet translation service I try, either doesn't work or I can't get to work. The Dynamo site does have a generous amount of English, by clicking 'eng' a tiny link near the top RH corner.

In the meantime, I'll leave you Dynamo's trophy list. (No translation necessary)
http://www.fcdynamo.kiev.ua/en/trophy/

29/07/2008, 8:55 PM
Well done tonight lads, excellent performance.