View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

complexman
18/11/2008, 10:50 AM
Is it true that the much maligned Town PRO Muiris Walsh had a heart attack last week? Hope its no ture but would like to wish him well, he is, contary to what some people think, a really nice and decent man.
Get well soon

zizu's head
18/11/2008, 10:56 AM
Is it true that the much maligned Town PRO Muiris Walsh had a heart attack last week? Hope its no ture but would like to wish him well, he is, contary to what some people think, a really nice and decent man.
Get well soon

From what i've heard, he has Angina. It wasn't a heart attack.

Town Fan
18/11/2008, 12:06 PM
From what i've heard, he has Angina. It wasn't a heart attack.

Jesus, hope he is alright. I am a critic of his but hope the man is ok. How old is he?

GreenLane08
19/11/2008, 7:55 AM
All,
Muiris Walsh is ok he was back in work on Monday and seems ok. He got Angina, he is about 41yrs old. All at the Old Bridge wish him well.

zizu's head
19/11/2008, 11:58 AM
All,
Muiris Walsh is ok he was back in work on Monday and seems ok. He got Angina, he is about 41yrs old. All at the Old Bridge wish him well.

That's good to hear.
Despite what some people on here think of him, Muiris is a really committed club man and has done a lot of great work for Clonmel Town. :)

Soccer Man
19/11/2008, 7:54 PM
Does anyone who scored the goals for the oscar traynors last sunday ?

ronburgundy
21/11/2008, 6:24 PM
i think alan barry scored a hat trick and kennedy two. think this shows why barry ryan was left out of the team. unfair that he is not in squad however himself and kennedy probably need a big man beside them so could not play together. havent seen barry playing but must be decent, presume he is of the same style as moroney or o connor, although he is probably more likely to turn up;)

hooper74
22/11/2008, 11:32 AM
some intersting games this weekend,would expect saints and town to both make last 64 comfortably,if they can get some luck in the draw for next couple of rounds i would fancy both for quarter finals

celticlads
22/11/2008, 6:11 PM
our youths played clonmel town in munster youths 2nd round today and the game had to be called off as the clonmel players turned to violence when the celtic players were getting on top in the game, bad form!!!

balls
23/11/2008, 2:43 PM
what was the score in the match when it was abandoned. very unlike town to have been involved in a situation like this. was it a mass brawl or what.

ronburgundy
23/11/2008, 5:31 PM
was up at the complex today for the game nd im still concerned for town. they won handy but do not look like a side to challenge for national or provincial titles. they came up against the usual 45-60 mins decent peake performance today altho peake never looked like they would get something from the game. these are currently the top 2 in the table. standard a lot poorer than years past. town badly need aaron back.

balls
23/11/2008, 6:54 PM
who got towns goal. town and saints are our only tsdl reps in open draw so

useless
24/11/2008, 8:27 AM
Check your results again.Town,Saints and Rock Rovers to represent TSDL in last 64.Good Luck to all 3 teams.Anyone knowmwhen the draw for the 'Open' round is

balls
24/11/2008, 4:36 PM
sorry mate forgot bout rovers. with full strength team and if they get home draw rovers be very tough to beat. be great game if they drew carrick united in last 64

hooper74
24/11/2008, 5:00 PM
would have to disagree with ron,i went to watch town/villa game as expected saints and cashel to be a lot less lively,i thought villa gave town a big fright,charlie made all 3 subs at nil nil,one goal was always going to win it and villa dominated for large spells in the first half,if barry ryans strike that came back off the crossbar went in maybe it would have been villa going through,however the second half did see town become more dominant but right up til the end i thought villa might nick a draw,would agree town desperately need aoran moroney,alan coady never looked like scoring,i would be very confident saints will knock town out of munster cup because saints wont concede to easily and will definitely breach that town defence,it looked shaky at times yesterday

celticlads
24/11/2008, 5:22 PM
what was the score in the match when it was abandoned. very unlike town to have been involved in a situation like this. was it a mass brawl or what.
it was 0 - 0, no real chances for either side only one of our lads hit the post in a one-on-one. ya everyone from both sides were involved, some town subs even joined in, we had no subs to help us:D

GreenLane08
24/11/2008, 6:00 PM
Another great reuslt for Old Bridge yesterday beating Cahir away 3-1 with an Eoin Leahy hat-trick. That's 3 big wins in a row for Bridge and should defo stay up now.

Tipperary_Man
24/11/2008, 7:22 PM
I decided to so see the Saints Cashel game but would first like to send best wishes to the Cashel player who suffered a very nasty leg break. Saints had their player sent off for the challenge, game was delayed for nearly an hour waiting on an ambulance.

Saints got their first just before the break, Cashel had their keeper sent off even though if the same incident happened at the other end i don't think the Michael's goalie would have gone. The resultant penalty was missed with a fine save from the stand in keeper but Chalkie scored after the corner wasn't cleared properly. Saints could have scored more than two,they were very wasteful but Cashel had plenty of chances also including a fantastic one at nil nil and on another day the game could have had a different outcome.
However can't see Michael's getting far in the comp and I expected more from Alan Barry with what they are supposed to be paying him but as they say it all depends on the draw

ronburgundy
25/11/2008, 1:23 PM
ah i see the ' ifs and buts' brigade are out in force once again after town and saints predictably go through. its a two team league lads. get over it:p

hooper74
25/11/2008, 7:45 PM
my prediction was both teams would go through comfortably,villa surprised me they shoved it up to town though,having read back over comments i dont see and ifs and buts,it took 2 teams to make a good game of it and i was particullarly happy coming away from complex as i feel ssaints will have big say in the league yet

ronburgundy
26/11/2008, 12:15 PM
my prediction was both teams would go through comfortably,villa surprised me they shoved it up to town though,having read back over comments i dont see and ifs and buts,it took 2 teams to make a good game of it and i was particullarly happy coming away from complex as i feel ssaints will have big say in the league yet
i would have to say that cloughjordan put up a better fight than peake. they managed to score and caused all sorts of problems for town. of course there will be an upset every 4 or 5 years but unfortunately for the league there are no real quality among the likes of celtic, peake or cahir etc

Town Fan
26/11/2008, 1:29 PM
i would have to say that cloughjordan put up a better fight than peake. they managed to score and caused all sorts of problems for town. of course there will be an upset every 4 or 5 years but unfortunately for the league there are no real quality among the likes of celtic, peake or cahir etc

I was at the Town match Sunday and I have to say, I thought it was a very good game of football. Peake were the better side in the first half but Town did get on top in the second. I can't see Town winning the FAI but they look a bit more solid at the back now that Costigan has signed. On their day, they are a match for anyone. They seem to have a full squad now.

Buzzer
26/11/2008, 1:35 PM
sorry mate forgot bout rovers. with full strength team and if they get home draw rovers be very tough to beat. be great game if they drew carrick united in last 64

rock rovers meet the winners of fairview rangers/wembley rovers tie.
that match goes ahead at the fairgreen this sunday.
rock rovers are at home to the winners.
what's the facilities like down there lads,pitch,dressing rooms etc...

complexman
26/11/2008, 2:22 PM
I was at the Town match Sunday and I have to say, I thought it was a very good game of football. Peake were the better side in the first half but Town did get on top in the second. I can't see Town winning the FAI but they look a bit more solid at the back now that Costigan has signed. On their day, they are a match for anyone. They seem to have a full squad now.

God Town fan has something positive to say about Clonmel Town
Joking aside, good display by Town, did enough to win the game. Will have to improve big time, if they are to have any chance of going far in this cup.

Good to see Muiris Walsh at the game, looking well

useless
27/11/2008, 7:26 AM
rock rovers meet the winners of fairview rangers/wembley rovers tie.
that match goes ahead at the fairgreen this sunday.
rock rovers are at home to the winners.
what's the facilities like down there lads,pitch,dressing rooms etc...

The pitch down there is excellent,its a big pitch which will benefit any team that likes to keep the ball on the deck.They do not have there own dressing rooms but for a game of this importance they would normally use a local GAA clubs facilities.They will be hostile enough on the pitch but very hospitable off it.

Buzzer
27/11/2008, 8:42 AM
The pitch down there is excellent,its a big pitch which will benefit any team that likes to keep the ball on the deck.They do not have there own dressing rooms but for a game of this importance they would normally use a local GAA clubs facilities.They will be hostile enough on the pitch but very hospitable off it.

thanks for that....whoever wins on sunday between wembley and the view will be used to "tasty encounters",shall we say.
both fairview and wembley like to play ball so the pitch should suit either.
once again thanks for the info

studsup
01/12/2008, 5:02 PM
lads just wondering does the current Clonmel Town (a quality side) team have any junior internationals? and if any of their youths side from last season are playing with them this year??

balls
01/12/2008, 5:27 PM
ya tony scully is a junior internatioal. as for youth players of last year they definatley have michael coady and dwayne byrnes. 2 quality players both on oscar traynor team this year

Bin Ladin
02/12/2008, 3:19 PM
wel lads wat do ye tink or how do ye tink the rock wil do at home to fairview

hooper74
02/12/2008, 10:18 PM
rock are shocking,saints hit them for 9 i think it was,they will probably have a few sent off as well

Jock MIB
03/12/2008, 10:26 AM
Set up your account to allow PM and i will tell you reason but not on here buzzer

Buzzer
03/12/2008, 10:30 AM
Set up your account to allow PM and i will tell you reason but not on here buzzer

green as grass MIB...barely able to use a calculator,not to mind was you ahve asked me to do.
learning from my son...not very computer literate.so i will just take it you had a legitimate reason and let it lie,if that's ok with ya

Jock MIB
03/12/2008, 10:38 AM
green as grass MIB...barely able to use a calculator,not to mind was you ahve asked me to do.
learning from my son...not very computer literate.so i will just take it you had a legitimate reason and let it lie,if that's ok with ya

If you go to TOOLS in top right corner beside log out, then go to EDIT OPTIONS and if you scroll down you will see option to allow private messaging click it and hey presto :D

and there was a legitamite reason :)

Buzzer
03/12/2008, 10:53 AM
If you go to TOOLS in top right corner beside log out, then go to EDIT OPTIONS and if you scroll down you will see option to allow private messaging click it and hey presto :D

and there was a legitamite reason :)

think i did it!!!

Town Fan
08/12/2008, 3:08 PM
would have to disagree with ron,i went to watch town/villa game as expected saints and cashel to be a lot less lively,i thought villa gave town a big fright,charlie made all 3 subs at nil nil,one goal was always going to win it and villa dominated for large spells in the first half,if barry ryans strike that came back off the crossbar went in maybe it would have been villa going through,however the second half did see town become more dominant but right up til the end i thought villa might nick a draw,would agree town desperately need aoran moroney,alan coady never looked like scoring,i would be very confident saints will knock town out of munster cup because saints wont concede to easily and will definitely breach that town defence,it looked shaky at times yesterday

You certainly got this prediction wrong. Town always in control and apart from one effort from Sean O´Hallornan, Richie Ryan never troubled.
Town looked very good yesterday. Costigan big signing and doing well. David McGrath looks like an excellent striker

Jock MIB
08/12/2008, 3:25 PM
no buzzer still cant send you private mgs

Your a funny man Darcy!!! :rolleyes:

hooper74
10/12/2008, 9:12 PM
so can anybody stop clonmel town?? went to the town-saints game and it was over in 20 minutes,have never even heard of the youth player who scored both goals for town,saints were as bad as i have ever seen them and i dont say that lightly,it was awful,wasnt even a bite in the game

abbeyvale
12/12/2008, 9:06 AM
so can anybody stop clonmel town?? went to the town-saints game and it was over in 20 minutes,have never even heard of the youth player who scored both goals for town,saints were as bad as i have ever seen them and i dont say that lightly,it was awful,wasnt even a bite in the game

Who are Peake Villa's main/best players, and what positions do they play?
We will more than likely be playing them in the last 32 of the MJC!!!!

Bin Ladin
12/12/2008, 10:47 PM
i was at the town and michaels game town to strong all over the field saints never looked like scoring town will take sum beating in all compititions very fit and physical id fancy tralee to beat saints in fai sunday

Bin Ladin
12/12/2008, 10:51 PM
peake villa wont concede many goals dere not a great side just wel organised wil be notin between them and star especially in the island field

ronburgundy
15/12/2008, 1:52 PM
villa are a pretty limited outfit. lacking quality right thru the spine of the team, altho leahy is a very good marker at the back. the 2 ryans are their best chance of a goal. ive seen them play against saints and town this year. they like to play football but any high ball in or around the box causes them big trouble. question marks over their keeper. as a supporter of tsdl i hope that villa can progress but they are not contenders. what kind of side have ye got?

maxwellsmart
16/12/2008, 2:16 PM
their three best players are all attackers, Michael Ryan, Paraic Fogarty and Ted O'Connor. However the latter two are injured/ cup tied or something because I've not heard mention of them in months.

That said they are a pretty decent team with a good cup tradition and won't be easy

hooper74
16/12/2008, 5:00 PM
have seen villa play against saints,clonmel and clodagh in the fai game and they are a mixed bag,o connor hasnt played since his suspension for red card in tipp town and a reliable source told me in cashel a couple of weeks ago that o connor wouldnt be too friendly with the villa manager and most of the squad would burn the same guy,not a good sign in any club and probably explains the absence,fogarty played with saints but is now back with villa but is cup tied,would agree with ron leahy is excellent,a bit on the small side but a very good player and the 2 ryans are the goal threat,they had an excellent central midfielder in recent seasons but im told hes in austrailia,i dont know anything about star united but would expect villa to come through this one

abbeyvale
16/12/2008, 5:15 PM
villa are a pretty limited outfit. lacking quality right thru the spine of the team, altho leahy is a very good marker at the back. the 2 ryans are their best chance of a goal. ive seen them play against saints and town this year. they like to play football but any high ball in or around the box causes them big trouble. question marks over their keeper. as a supporter of tsdl i hope that villa can progress but they are not contenders. what kind of side have ye got?

We are an average team, mid table in the second tier of Limerick football.

awiseman
16/12/2008, 11:30 PM
dont be modest alan why not tell them how good ye are and then go on about how many ye will be missing when it comes to play em

abbeyvale
17/12/2008, 2:57 PM
dont be modest alan why not tell them how good ye are and then go on about how many ye will be missing when it comes to play em

and who do you play with bud?

the snake
17/12/2008, 3:05 PM
Wiseman=boroman=Hasnt a clue :eek:

abbeyvale
17/12/2008, 4:00 PM

We are the only non premier side from Limerick remaining in the comp, and in fairness Peake Villa would be strong favourites to advance, but we have been known to cause a shock or two on our home patch.

oscar
17/12/2008, 10:24 PM
Wiseman=boroman=Hasnt a clue :eek:

even though this is nothing to do with this thread i'd like to say awiseman has nothing to do with the Boro

ronburgundy
18/12/2008, 6:30 PM
have seen villa play against saints,clonmel and clodagh in the fai game and they are a mixed bag,o connor hasnt played since his suspension for red card in tipp town and a reliable source told me in cashel a couple of weeks ago that o connor wouldnt be too friendly with the villa manager and most of the squad would burn the same guy,not a good sign in any club and probably explains the absence,fogarty played with saints but is now back with villa but is cup tied,would agree with ron leahy is excellent,a bit on the small side but a very good player and the 2 ryans are the goal threat,they had an excellent central midfielder in recent seasons but im told hes in austrailia,i dont know anything about star united but would expect villa to come through this one
isit my imagination or does it seem that there is always a problem in the peake dressing room? every year we have stories of bust ups and revolts against managers, and now again it seems o connor doesnt get along with the rest of them. is it any wonder that they havent challenged for anything in years. i remember maybe 8 or 9 years ago their youths teams used to come down and walk all over ours. where have all these guys gone? im not one to talk as enough goes on in my club as any but at least we have titles and cups to look back on. peake is a wasted club and these players careers are passing them by either due to poor leadership or the fact that they are all head the balls :rolleyes: ps.........saints to beat town at the weekend