View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2008/09
Pages :
[
3]
ronburgundy
30/08/2008, 7:40 PM
very good signing. to put it simply and let us all b honest, if villa dont stop town taking 3 points away from thurles tommorrow we can all look forward to another boring 1 horse race of a league again this season. as a supporter of neither of the top 3 { if we are to include villa this season} i hope there can be an upset tommorrow and at least a draw. however, i fear the worst
hooper74
31/08/2008, 12:00 AM
spoke to a villa man in cashel tonight and they are without danny graham,polish centre forward,barry ryan and both duggans,cant see anythin other than a convincing win for town,saints and town will fight it out just like every year
town beat peake 2-0. looks like its towns league again. michaels beat rock 9-1 . looks like saints are getting there act together after dodgy start. relegation will be between cahir rock and rosegreen, think the other teams are alot better than these 3
kamikaze
31/08/2008, 7:25 PM
you are right about the relegation scrap i hate admitting it but Rock are in real trouble already if they get badly beaten against Town in the next game i think the team will be lucky to stay together till xmas,looks like there is serious unrest in the camp....:mad:
Tipperary_Man
31/08/2008, 9:24 PM
who did all the scoring for Michaels, they have scored is it 21 goals in their last 3 league games?
MunsterMunch
01/09/2008, 11:08 AM
Was at the Villa/Town game. Villa were the better side in the first half. Denied a definite penalty when michael ryan was hacked down. The ref bottled that decision. A couple of good saves kept Town in it, and Villa missed a glorious chance after thier center mid went around the keeper but then managed to hit the post. Town started to play the better football in the 2nd half. Some terrible defending from a corner gave them the lead, and villa didnt really look like scoring after that. o'conor is playing center half for villa, which is surprising as they looked to be missing the cutting edge u front.
ronburgundy
01/09/2008, 12:32 PM
ya was at the second half of town game yesterdy. villa arent as strong as expected. o connor at the back is a strange one as they seem to be very lightweight upfront. town look good for the league again, not playing great but grindin out results, always have a chance with the scullys in your team
Town Fan
01/09/2008, 5:20 PM
Couple of things.
Firstly I have always said that Muiris Walsh is a brilliant analyst on Tipp FM. He is by a mile the best on that show and I do look forward to listening to him. I didn't realise he wrote for South Tipp Today. If he does the GAA stuff, well again he is superb. Thats my last word on him.
Great news about Costigan signing. Mind you the defence looked good yesterday against Peake, still he is a good signing. Great 3 points yesterday. Hopefully we can kick on from here
ronburgundy
01/09/2008, 5:43 PM
what time is he on tipp fm at tonight?
GreenLane08
01/09/2008, 5:58 PM
TSDL refs are having a laugh this year. Have seen T.Maher , T.Keating and now M.Coady and they have all bottled decisions in big games.
Anyone else had any experiences or seen any of this so far this year??
Badly need linesman in big games and in local derbies?? Anybody feel the same??
Den Perry
01/09/2008, 6:08 PM
All I'll say is that how Michael Ryan was not given a penalty yesterday was unbelievable.....
Town Fan
01/09/2008, 6:14 PM
All I'll say is that how Michael Ryan was not given a penalty yesterday was unbelievable.....
it was a foul but it was outside the box but no doubt it was a foul
bishbash
01/09/2008, 6:34 PM
its a pointless exercise really moaning about refs. the big teams get the majority of decisions (st michaels and town). in the town celtic game with the score at 3-2 celtic were denied one of the most blatant pen you would see anywhere. paul shanahan was hacked down for celtic and the ref gave a free against him probably the most idiotic decision i've ever witnessed! but that is the way it is in the tipp league the refs dont have the bottle to give "vital" decisions against the big 2 and you either accept it or stop playing. .
zizu's head
01/09/2008, 7:27 PM
its a pointless exercise really moaning about refs. the big teams get the majority of decisions(st michaels and town). in the town celtic game with the score at 3-2 celtic were denied one of the most blatant pen you would see anywhere. paul shanahan was hacked down for celtic and the ref gave a free against him probably the most idiotic decision i've ever witnessed! but that is the way it is in the tipp league the refs dont have the bottle to give "vital" decisions against the big 2 and you either accept it or stop playing. .
I've been saying this for a few years now. I've seen it happen so many times, but like you say, there is nothing that can be done. If you make a complaint, you only end up making things worse for yourself and your club!
The league really needs more former players to start getting involved in refereeing but most just couldn't be bothered. When they stop playing they just want to finish completely, and who could blame them!
GreenLane08
01/09/2008, 7:41 PM
its a pointless exercise really moaning about refs. the big teams get the majority of decisions (st michaels and town). in the town celtic game with the score at 3-2 celtic were denied one of the most blatant pen you would see anywhere. paul shanahan was hacked down for celtic and the ref gave a free against him probably the most idiotic decision i've ever witnessed! but that is the way it is in the tipp league the refs dont have the bottle to give "vital" decisions against the big 2 and you either accept it or stop playing. .
At the Town and Bridge game 2 weeks ago Emmet Johnson went one on one with the Town keeper and tried to go round him but was kicked up in the air. Everyone kenw it was a peno bu the ref bottled it cause it would have made the game level 2-2 if peno was scored and the ref would have had to send the keeper off.
Old Bridge managers confronted the ref T.Maher ( who is not a premier league ref ) at the end of game and he admitted he made a mistake and that it should have been a peno but the ref said that he would have had to send the keeper off if he gave the peno..........managers just said yeah thats your job isn't it. Ref bottled it cause he knew McKeever would have let fly at him after the match. Chairman of refs was at the match and he even said the ref had an awful game and that he should have sent of keeper. TSDL Refs cop on and be fair and don't bottle it against big teams
maxwellsmart
01/09/2008, 8:12 PM
Was at the Villa/Town game. Villa were the better side in the first half. Denied a definite penalty when michael ryan was hacked down. The ref bottled that decision. A couple of good saves kept Town in it, and Villa missed a glorious chance after thier center mid went around the keeper but then managed to hit the post. Town started to play the better football in the 2nd half. Some terrible defending from a corner gave them the lead, and villa didnt really look like scoring after that. o'conor is playing center half for villa, which is surprising as they looked to be missing the cutting edge u front.
Who had Town Playing up front? Is Aaron Moroney injured?
You said Peake lacked a cutting edge up front? Who had they playing there? have they not got graham and Michael Ryan?
How did the Peake defence play? I know they conceded two - however according to reports on this site earlier in the season they were at sixes andsevens earlier on in the season. Surprising O'Connor (I presume Ted O'Connor) was centre half as he would be regarded as one of the more dangerous forwards in the league played at the back? that said I think he played there some seasons ago
Who had town up front? Aaron Moroney and Rory Kiely? who scored?
And my final question......who was reffing?
Tipperary_Man
01/09/2008, 9:37 PM
Michael Ryan has started the season on fire but stupidly got sent off on Sunday for 2 yellow card offences, Peake could easily have gotten something from the game but when you play the top teams you need to put away your chances, FAI Junior Cup draw on tomorrow, is South Tipp in with North again?
hooper74
02/09/2008, 1:11 AM
saw the first half of saints game...they are very much getting it together and big danger to town,alan barry looks very good,went to see the villa town game,o connor was excellent centre half,after seeing them in cooke park it was a masterstroke,they should have beaten town,ref was totally one sided but villa missed a glorious chance to lead at the break,lacking a bit of phsicality around key areas,need a big man to partner barry ryan and need a replacement for duggan in midfield,whats the mystery surrounding duggans absence?
tipp man
02/09/2008, 9:25 AM
what time is he on tipp fm at tonight?
I think it was Blossom on last night not Muiris
MunsterMunch
02/09/2008, 12:56 PM
saw the first half of saints game...they are very much getting it together and big danger to town,alan barry looks very good,went to see the villa town game,o connor was excellent centre half,after seeing them in cooke park it was a masterstroke,they should have beaten town,ref was totally one sided but villa missed a glorious chance to lead at the break,lacking a bit of phsicality around key areas,need a big man to partner barry ryan and need a replacement for duggan in midfield,whats the mystery surrounding duggans absence?
I believe he's away in Australia or someplace. Fogarty going off at half time was also a massive loss to Villa. They dont have the strength and depth on the bench to lose key players like those. If they had a full squad (two duggans, horan and the polish guy), i think they could maintain a serious challenge for the title. Although it seems like every season they are missing 2/3 players every game.
bishbash
02/09/2008, 1:07 PM
its the same for a lot of teams clonmel celtic have been short at least 3 players in every game they have played this season and 5 the night they played peake villa! and all 5 of those would have started the match. thats the difference though the big clubs have bigger squads.
Town Fan
04/09/2008, 12:31 PM
Any news on draw for TSDL??
tipp man
04/09/2008, 2:17 PM
Ah Jaysus,
Can you re-post this better than that
bawn79
04/09/2008, 2:18 PM
Think that needs a tidy up.
hooper74
heard saint michaels play blackcastle away,anyone hear the other ties,town? villa?
mr. man
It is on this...
http://www.ccfl.ie/index.php?option=...id=12&Itemid=8 (http://www.ccfl.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=category§ionid=6&id=12&Itemid=8)
bawn79
04/09/2008, 2:20 PM
My first question is who are Brideview FC?
mr. man
04/09/2008, 2:22 PM
Ah Jaysus,
Can you re-post this better than that
Sorry bout that ... Had to delete it :)
mr. man
04/09/2008, 2:23 PM
Clonmel Town v Cloughjordan
tipp man
04/09/2008, 3:25 PM
How did Town v Rock Rovers finish up last night?
kamikaze
05/09/2008, 8:56 PM
How did Town v Rock Rovers finish up last night?
it was called off dont know why
kamikaze
06/09/2008, 8:17 PM
lads a good friend of mine recently took over a 4th division team in the TSDL(team is near Clonmel)he has a nice little squad, but is really lacking a centre forward with some expierience this team would really suit someone who played a bit and wants to get back into the game or someone just wants to play ball and wants to drop down a division or two,they are a nice bunch of lads any one intersted or know anyone interested gimme a shout here(private message) thanks for your help boys...
Town Fan
08/09/2008, 12:39 PM
I was at the Rosegreen v Town match yesterday. Very sad to see Town with only 11 players. Simon Scully had to play in goal for Town. Town won because Rosegreen were so poor. But as I said before, Clonmel Town football club is in bits!!!
ronburgundy
08/09/2008, 6:41 PM
shocking to hear only 11 for clonmel. but still the 100 percent record. will be great t see saints take something from them. when do they play? by the way i was asked an interesting question at the saints match on sunday...........who from any of the other teams could make the big two stronger. couldnt think of many..........maybe cosgrove,foggy,kennedy,tony egan,higgins,duggan. makes you wonder how strong the league in general is
the league in general is in a terrible state. cant believe town only had 11 players. you would think most young fellas would give anything to play on a quality team like towns. there B team havent started as strong as last year either so maybe a few little problems for the club. But in my opinion Clonmel would be biggest junior clun in munster so it doesnt bare well for junior football in general in this country when town can only field the bare 11 players. the full 3 rounds of tsdl section munster junior cup draw is on mfa website. Town and saints due to meet in round 3 if they both progress. My 3 tips to progress from tipp would be town, peake and clonmel celtic
hooper74
08/09/2008, 8:43 PM
saints big problem is scoring goals,there only 4 or 5 goalscorers in the league over last 10 years,tony scully gets plenty of goals from midfield for town and chalky and breeno get goals from set pieces for saints,aoron moroney guarantees you 20 plus a season,halk gave saints that when they were reaching fai finals against portmarnock and mark tobin gave saints that too,barry ryan probably hits 20 every season for peake too,o connor will get u that too although he is at the back this season,i liked paul kennedy as well,very clever player,saints havent really replaced him but the goals come from everywhere with saints although in saying that alan barry might score the goals saints need,i still stand by what i said 3 weeks back they will push town big time
zizu's head
09/09/2008, 9:40 AM
Munster Junior Challenge Cup Draw 2008-09
Munster Junior Cup 2008-09
Preliminary Round Draw
Galbally Utd v Ballyneale FC
Glen Villa v Killenaule Rovers
Ballingarry Albion v Clonmel Town FC
Two Mile Borris / St Kevin's v Killusty FC
1st Round Draw
Clonmel Celtic v Two Mile Borris/St Kevin's or Killusty
Mullinahone FC v FC Dundrum
Moyglass Utd FC v Glen Villa or Killenaule Rvs
Ballingarry Albion or Clonmel Town v Wilderness Rovers
Cahir Park AFC v Vee Rovers FC
Kilmanahan United v Galbally Utd or Ballyneale
Redmondstown v Peake Villa FC
St Michael's AFC v Cullen-Lattin FC
Rock Rovers FC v Glengoole United
Old Bridge FC v Rosegreen Rangers
St Kierans v Cashel Town FC
St Nicholas FC v Bansha Celtic
2nd Round Draw
A Cahir Park or Vee Rvs v Rock Rovers or Glengoole Utd
B Mullinahone or FC Dundrum v St Nicholas or Bansha Celtic
C St Kierans or Cashel Town v Redmondstown or Peake Villa
D Kilmanahan United or Galbally Utd or Ballyneale v Moyglass Utd or Glen Villa or Killenaule Rvs
E Ballingarry Albion or Clonmel Town or Wilderness Rvs v St Michael's or Cullen-Lattin
F Old Bridge or Rosegreen Rgs v Clonmel Celtic or Two Mile Borris/St Kevin's or Killusty
3rd Round Draw
E v F
D v A
B v C
abbeyvale
09/09/2008, 9:15 PM
saints big problem is scoring goals,there only 4 or 5 goalscorers in the league over last 10 years,tony scully gets plenty of goals from midfield for town and chalky and breeno get goals from set pieces for saints,aoron moroney guarantees you 20 plus a season,halk gave saints that when they were reaching fai finals against portmarnock and mark tobin gave saints that too,barry ryan probably hits 20 every season for peake too,o connor will get u that too although he is at the back this season,i liked paul kennedy as well,very clever player,saints havent really replaced him but the goals come from everywhere with saints although in saying that alan barry might score the goals saints need,i still stand by what i said 3 weeks back they will push town big time
Heard Alan Barry has already transferred back to the Limerick league with Pike, any truth in that?
If so how many games did Alan actaually play for St.Michaels and how many golas did he score........??
maxwellsmart
10/09/2008, 11:07 PM
shocking to hear only 11 for clonmel. but still the 100 percent record. will be great t see saints take something from them. when do they play? by the way i was asked an interesting question at the saints match on sunday...........who from any of the other teams could make the big two stronger. couldnt think of many..........maybe cosgrove,foggy,kennedy,tony egan,higgins,duggan. makes you wonder how strong the league in general is
Pretty much agree, but Michael Ryan and Ted O'Connor of Peake Villa are two strong candidates that you have ommitted from that list.Robbie Costigan of Cahir and Clonmel Celtic have a pretty decent midfielder (think he's Slovakian)also springs to mind...couple of handy players coming through at Cashel also(though they've yet to prove themselves in top division).
maxwellsmart
10/09/2008, 11:15 PM
the league in general is in a terrible state. cant believe town only had 11 players. you would think most young fellas would give anything to play on a quality team like towns. there B team havent started as strong as last year either so maybe a few little problems for the club. But in my opinion Clonmel would be biggest junior clun in munster so it doesnt bare well for junior football in general in this country when town can only field the bare 11 players. the full 3 rounds of tsdl section munster junior cup draw is on mfa website. Town and saints due to meet in round 3 if they both progress. My 3 tips to progress from tipp would be town, peake and clonmel celtic
Can't see how its in a terrible state....with the exception of last year Saints and Town go well in Munster, two teams from League in FAI quarters last season...Saints robbed in Mayo, Town unlucky against Killester.
Its odd that Town only had 11 players lastSunday I'll admit, but the League has always been dominated by two teams in recent times(with the exception of Villa threatening on occasional seasons) so can't see how it is in a bad state. I don't mean to be argumentative, just think its a pretty good Junior League
bishbash
10/09/2008, 11:32 PM
robbie costigan is with clonmel town now.
zizu's head
11/09/2008, 6:34 AM
robbie costigan is with clonmel town now.
Sorry to slag but ... welcome to 3 pages ago ! :D
complexman
11/09/2008, 9:09 AM
Can't see how its in a terrible state....with the exception of last year Saints and Town go well in Munster, two teams from League in FAI quarters last season...Saints robbed in Mayo, Town unlucky against Killester.
Its odd that Town only had 11 players lastSunday I'll admit, but the League has always been dominated by two teams in recent times(with the exception of Villa threatening on occasional seasons) so can't see how it is in a bad state. I don't mean to be argumentative, just think its a pretty good Junior League
I must say that it is a disgrace that Town only had 11 players. I never remember that happening before. For a club of Town's stature, it is very, very sad. I only hope that it is a one off but I was in Thurles for the Peake game and we only had two subs. Not good enough Town.
Get your act together!!!
ronburgundy
11/09/2008, 9:40 AM
alan barry scored all 4 last week. best striker in the league by far. any truth in the departure of town manager?
Town Fan
11/09/2008, 10:13 AM
[QUOTE=ronburgundy;1019148]alan barry scored all 4 last week. best striker in the league by far. any truth in the departure of town manager?[/QUOTE
I haven't heard but I hope so
daz22
11/09/2008, 10:19 AM
good player,good addition.Handy game for town in the FAI
bishbash
11/09/2008, 11:33 AM
Sorry to slag but ... welcome to 3 pages ago ! :D
go back a page to maxwellsmarts post i was setting the man straight..... smartarse :)
zizu's head
11/09/2008, 11:42 AM
go back a page to maxwellsmarts post i was setting the man straight..... smartarse :)
I'll just go and take my extremely large foot out of my even bigger mouth!! :D
abbeyvale
11/09/2008, 10:46 PM
alan barry scored all 4 last week. best striker in the league by far. any truth in the departure of town manager?
how many games did he actually play for St.Michaels to date and how many golas has he scored for them, in those games?
GreenLane08
12/09/2008, 9:48 AM
From what I have heard it seems that Town's boss McKeaver is not giving any Town youth players a chance in the squad that is why they only had 11 players last week and as far as I am aware they have only had 2 subs for each game. I remember when there used to be 6 or 7 youth players STARTING on the Town team. Think there is too much of a "click" in the Town team and certain players are not allowed to be dropped regardless.
Town's B team got hammered by St.Nicholas last week they must have barely had a team as well.
Town are still wininng fair enough but think dreams of an FAI again this year are not going to come true.