View Full Version : North Tipp & District League 2008/09

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

bawn79
11/07/2008, 10:56 AM
Just said Id add a new thread for a new season.

Plus on the off chance :
Anyone want to play for Ballymackey FC this year?
Got promoted to the first division and hoping to do a double promotion.
I think we are short 1 or 2 players though to achieve it.

bawn79
15/07/2008, 7:37 AM
Also Ballymackey have announced the purchase of a field in Ballymackey with the intention of putting in a development of 2 soccer fields, astro-turf pitch, 5a side pitch and club house in the medium term.

Big Ears
21/07/2008, 1:04 AM
Also Ballymackey have announced the purchase of a field in Ballymackey with the intention of putting in a development of 2 soccer fields, astro-turf pitch, 5a side pitch and club house in the medium term.

Ya heard yee got 5 acres or so, fair play about time some other clubs started putting effort into their facilities . Especially so considering Ballymackey would be seen as a smaller club .

Brickfields is coming on very nicely and I guess it will be done early into the new season .

Obviously I'm biased but I reckon we'll build on last years success to do even better this season .

bawn79
21/07/2008, 8:57 AM
Ya heard yee got 5 acres or so, fair play about time some other clubs started putting effort into their facilities . Especially so considering Ballymackey would be seen as a smaller club .

Brickfields is coming on very nicely and I guess it will be done early into the new season .

Obviously I'm biased but I reckon we'll build on last years success to do even better this season .

I dont doubt that ye will. Just heard the shield is starting 3rd August which seems very early in the year. Thats only two weeks away like!

Have Nenagh started back training yet, ye must have only just finished up from last year?

Also I got the North Tipp Soccer website to put this thread in its links page so hopefully a few more people might come in and post here.

bawn79
21/07/2008, 1:28 PM
Divisional Shields
Shield Draw 2008-2009 Season

Premier Division
First Round
Toomevara v Cloughjordan
Moneygall v Nenagh AFC

Quarter Finals
(A) Arra Rovers v Toomevara or Cloughjordan
(B) Thurles Town v Blackcastle Utd.
(C) Moneygall or Nenagh AFC v Nenagh Celtic
(D) Rearcross v Birdhill

Semi-Finals
D v A
C v B

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Division 1
First Round
Templetuohy v Clodiagh Rangers
Ballymackey v Borrisoleigh

Quarter Finals
(A) Borrisokane v Nenagh AFC B.
(B) Clonmore v Templetuohy or Clodiagh Rgs.
(C) Ballingarry v Kilcommon
(D) Ballymackey or Borrisoleigh v Sallypark

Semi-Finals
C v D
B v A

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Division 2
First Round
Gurtagarry v Cloughjordan B
Blackcastle Utd. B. v Clodiagh Rgs B.
Holycross v Kilcommon B.
Borroway Rovers v Nenagh Celtic B.
Sallypark B. v Noreside Celtic
Latteragh Celtic v Rearcross B
Moneygall B. v Ardcroney
Thurles Celtic Bye

Quarter Finals
(A) Thurles Celtic v Latteragh Celtic or Rearcross B.
(B) Gurtagarry or Cloughjordan B. v Moneygall B. or Ardcroney
(C) Borroway Rvs. or Nenagh Celtic B. v Blackcastle B. or Clodiagh B
(D) Sallypark B. or Noreside Celtic v Holycross or Kilcommon B.

Semi-Finals
A v C
B v D

Big Ears
21/07/2008, 6:00 PM
I dont doubt that ye will. Just heard the shield is starting 3rd August which seems very early in the year. Thats only two weeks away like!

Have Nenagh started back training yet, ye must have only just finished up from last year?

Also I got the North Tipp Soccer website to put this thread in its links page so hopefully a few more people might come in and post here.

We were officially back training last week, although some of the lads never properly stopped and kept at it once a week to stay sharp .

That's a nice tough draw in the shield, but it's probably a good thing to start the season with some hard games .

By the looks of what I saw last season both Thurles Town and Birdhill will have to improve a lot if they are to survive .

bawn79
22/07/2008, 7:24 AM
We were officially back training last week, although some of the lads never properly stopped and kept at it once a week to stay sharp .

That's a nice tough draw in the shield, but it's probably a good thing to start the season with some hard games .

By the looks of what I saw last season both Thurles Town and Birdhill will have to improve a lot if they are to survive .

We kept things going till the end of May but I think you need a break from it too to get the mind fresh and bring a bit of hunger back.

I heard about the whipping ye gave Thurles in the cup final, Birdhill arent a bad team at all, there is a good pick of players down that area. The majority of team would be soccer only guys. Plus they have a very dedicated manager. I would bet on them staying up this year.

Borrisoleigh is a tough enough draw but we played them last year in the Tipp Cup and lost on penalties. If ever I saw a team that relies on hurlers its Borrisoleigh so we should be playing them at a good time of the year.

Ye should beat Moneygal, unless things have changed they are one of the worst teams in the Premier.

bawn79
25/07/2008, 7:36 AM
cough.......

jimhacker
25/07/2008, 8:43 AM
Lads, what's the story of Thurles Celtic?

Just that I never heard of them before.Would have thought that the last thing the game in Thurles needs is yet another club.

bawn79
25/07/2008, 11:51 AM
Lads, what's the story of Thurles Celtic?

Just that I never heard of them before.Would have thought that the last thing the game in Thurles needs is yet another club.

I havent played against them yet but yes I would agree with that, in north tipp alone there is Thurles Town, Borroway and Thurles Celtic. That doesnt include the teams in South Tipp and the teams on the outskirts of Thurles like Holycross etc.
Personally I do think it should be harder than just turning up with a set of jerseys to enter the league.

ronburgundy
27/07/2008, 6:54 PM
im involved in south tipp and have always thought a cup between both leagus would be a great success.can anyone see it happening? i believe underage teams have one

bawn79
28/07/2008, 8:37 AM
Big Ears mentioned in last seasons thread that it reckoned that the youths cup was an experiment for an eventual junior cup. I havent heard of anything for definite but I think it would be a good competition.
Best probably to play a few prelim rounds in your own section and then play inter-county between north and south.

bawn79
01/08/2008, 7:01 AM
bump xx

Big Ears
01/08/2008, 5:29 PM
We've signed Paul Kelly, Jerome Ashman, Stevie Ryan and 'Mole' Mitchell from Nenagh Celtic.

Very strong panel now, real competition for places and plenty of strength in depth.

The plan is to have a real go at winning the Munster Junior and FAI this year and improve on our performances in North Tipp competitions from last year.

Only after noticing now that the 3rd division has been scrapped, good decision imo.

Big Ears
03/08/2008, 1:09 PM
Moneygall FC 0-3 Nenagh AFC, not the greatest of performances but we got the job done.

We haven't had any friendlies so far this season so maybe that's why we were a bit off the pace today. Nenagh AFC v Nenagh Celtic in Islandbawn now on Wednesday in the Quarter Final.

bawn79
05/08/2008, 12:02 PM
We've signed Paul Kelly, Jerome Ashman, Stevie Ryan and 'Mole' Mitchell from Nenagh Celtic.

Very strong panel now, real competition for places and plenty of strength in depth.

The plan is to have a real go at winning the Munster Junior and FAI this year and improve on our performances in North Tipp competitions from last year.

Only after noticing now that the 3rd division has been scrapped, good decision imo.

Some very strong players there, Mitchell is a great striker. You should be hard to stop alright.
Best to luck in both the FAI and Munster, success in them can only help soccer in North Tipp improve in general.

We lost 4-1 to Borrisoleigh, no complaints really, they have all the hurlers back. I can see them winning the first division this year (Only to get relegated again next year if they go farther in the hurling!)
We lost our goalie from last year and are still trying to replace him. Until we do I think we will struggle.

Big Ears
05/08/2008, 8:16 PM
Some very strong players there, Mitchell is a great striker. You should be hard to stop alright.
Best to luck in both the FAI and Munster, success in them can only help soccer in North Tipp improve in general.

Thanks for that, Stevie Ryan has resigned for Nenagh Celtic without training or playing for us. That was his own personal decision and nothing to do with us.

Big Ears
06/08/2008, 8:24 PM
Nenagh AFC 6-2 Nenagh Celtic

Another below par performance from us but we got the job done.
Celtic's team was very young, which although promising for the future means they mightn't be in contention this year.

Blackcastle in the semi-final now on Sunday.

bawn79
07/08/2008, 7:31 AM
Another good win, I think I read that Blackcastle bet Clonmel Town recently so they cant be bad.
Still you should beat them.

Big Ears
07/08/2008, 5:27 PM
Another good win, I think I read that Blackcastle bet Clonmel Town recently so they cant be bad.
Still you should beat them.

They beat them 5-4, I've been told that Clonmel didn't put out that strong a side but still it's a win to be respected and we are well aware of what Blackcastle can do if we don't play to potential......the Premier Cup final wasn't that long ago.

bawn79
12/08/2008, 9:59 AM
The first division shield final is between Borrisokane and Sallypark which is a bit of a surprise. Sallypark bet Borrisoleigh which is definitely a surprise to me.
It was a mid week game and it may have been the Borrisoleigh were missing a lot of players.

On positive news for the youths league I believe this year teams will be able to combine youths teams. There is talk of Ballymackey joining up with Cloughjordan to enter a team. Did anyone hear anything about this?

Big Ears
12/08/2008, 10:50 AM
Nenagh AFC 1-1 Blackcastle(Nenagh win 6-5 on penalties)

Got out of jail a bit in thiz one, playing very poorly and trailing 1-0 for most of the game Mole Mitchell came off the bench to equalise in the 90th minute and send the game to penalties where we came off the better.

The only thing I've heard about the Youths is the same as what you've said there.

bawn79
12/08/2008, 3:22 PM
Nenagh AFC 1-1 Blackcastle(Nenagh win 6-5 on penalties)

Got out of jail a bit in thiz one, playing very poorly and trailing 1-0 for most of the game Mole Mitchell came off the bench to equalise in the 90th minute and send the game to penalties where we came off the better.

The only thing I've heard about the Youths is the same as what you've said there.

He is a fine player alright. Did Blackcastle play well or were ye just poor?

mr. man
14/08/2008, 4:04 PM
Wednesday Aug. 20th at 6.45pm.

Premier Shield Final
Greyhound Stadium Thurles

Cloughjordan v Nenagh AFC

Big Ears
14/08/2008, 7:25 PM
He is a fine player alright. Did Blackcastle play well or were ye just poor?

A combination of both, they had their homework done and knew what to do to try and stifle us. However it was our own poor play that allowed them to not only be in the game but deserve to win every bit as much as we did.

To be honest we haven't really started playing well yet this season, possibly down to the lack of friendlies. We normally get 2/3 friendlies before the year starts and we play poor enough before things click. Hopefully it's just that.

bawn79
15/08/2008, 7:31 AM
Wednesday Aug. 20th at 6.45pm.

Premier Shield Final
Greyhound Stadium Thurles

Cloughjordan v Nenagh AFC

I take it your from Clough then?

mr. man
15/08/2008, 11:52 PM
I take it your from Clough then?

Yep , we have had a good start to the season scoring plenty of goals also..
This wednesday will be alot tougher than what we have faced so far in the shield..
Hope tis a good game.... And we win !!!! :)

bawn79
21/08/2008, 7:41 AM
Yep , we have had a good start to the season scoring plenty of goals also..
This wednesday will be alot tougher than what we have faced so far in the shield..
Hope tis a good game.... And we win !!!! :)

How did ye get on?

mr. man
22/08/2008, 8:51 AM
Terrible !!! Lost 3 nil.. we were totally out played and the better team won..
We never got going in the match and twas probably our worst performance in 3 - 4 years.. Pity we saved it for the final..

League is starting this weekend so we hope to get off to a good start when we play monegal at home..

bawn79
22/08/2008, 11:17 AM
Terrible !!! Lost 3 nil.. we were totally out played and the better team won..
We never got going in the match and twas probably our worst performance in 3 - 4 years.. Pity we saved it for the final..

League is starting this weekend so we hope to get off to a good start when we play monegal at home..

Unlucky, personally I hate midweek matches. Dont seem to have the same legs after a days work during the week compared to a weekend.
I hear a few of Clough youths might be playing with Ballymackey this year, what do ye guys think of that?
I believe they can still play for Clough at junior level etc. Have ye heard about the development we are working on, when we get the astro-turf going it may be useful for Clough as well.

mr. man
22/08/2008, 11:50 AM
Unlucky, personally I hate midweek matches. Dont seem to have the same legs after a days work during the week compared to a weekend.
I hear a few of Clough youths might be playing with Ballymackey this year, what do ye guys think of that?
I believe they can still play for Clough at junior level etc. Have ye heard about the development we are working on, when we get the astro-turf going it may be useful for Clough as well.

I think it would be a good idea for the youths to play with Ballymackey cos it has been a while since we have had a youth team and seen as it wont affect them playing for us at junior level.. Ya why not !!
We have no youths making the junior squad at the moment but that can change quickly enough..
Ya heard about the development ye are doing ..Great to see and it will come in handy for us for training etc..
We dont even have our own field (Just renting it ) so we cant do anything like that.. I wish we could.. It is nearly impossible to buy a field near the village at the moment..

bawn79
25/08/2008, 9:02 AM
I think it would be a good idea for the youths to play with Ballymackey cos it has been a while since we have had a youth team and seen as it wont affect them playing for us at junior level.. Ya why not !!
We have no youths making the junior squad at the moment but that can change quickly enough..
Ya heard about the development ye are doing ..Great to see and it will come in handy for us for training etc..
We dont even have our own field (Just renting it ) so we cant do anything like that.. I wish we could.. It is nearly impossible to buy a field near the village at the moment..

Ya I know what you mean, well if it all works all we will have three fields and we could probably use the money. Proposed ground share perhaps!

historynut
28/08/2008, 3:24 PM
Would anyone have details of past champions of the North Tipp league ?

bawn79
29/08/2008, 8:00 AM
Would anyone have details of past champions of the North Tipp league ?

Like a list of names and the years they won it kind of thing?

mr. man
29/08/2008, 5:43 PM
Here are the priemier Fixtures for this weekend..
I see Blackcastle are playing on a Saturday again.. Two weekend in a row !! Must have someone on the board
Twoud be nice to give other teams a chance now and again to play on a Saturday...

Saturday August 30th
Premier Division League

Birdhill v Blackcastle United 6.30 pm.

Sunday August 31st.
Premier Division League

Nenagh AFC v Rearcross 11.30
Arra Rovers v Cloughjordan 11.30
Moneygall v Nenagh Celtic 11.30
Toomevara v Thurles Town 2 pm.

historynut
29/08/2008, 8:57 PM
BAWN 79 - YEP that kind of thing - details odf past campions since league started - prob arond mid 70's

Big Ears
31/08/2008, 7:15 PM
Nenagh AFC 3-1 Rearcross, a poor enough first half but we got going in the second and got the job done. Should have probably been a bit more as Rearcross left themselves very open when trying to get back into the game and we had plenty of chances but a win is a win.

Interestingly Birdhill beat Blackcastle 4-1 aswell, which was quite surprising.

bawn79
01/09/2008, 9:50 AM
Nenagh AFC 3-1 Rearcross, a poor enough first half but we got going in the second and got the job done. Should have probably been a bit more as Rearcross left themselves very open when trying to get back into the game and we had plenty of chances but a win is a win.

Interestingly Birdhill beat Blackcastle 4-1 aswell, which was quite surprising.

Birdhill arent a bad team at all and have a large pick around that area taking in Newport, Ballina and even in as far as Castleconnell in Limerick.

We lost 3-0 to Clodaigh Rangers. Two very poor teams out to be honest.
We are not going well at all, cant get a settled team at all.

bawn79
01/09/2008, 9:51 AM
BAWN 79 - YEP that kind of thing - details odf past campions since league started - prob arond mid 70's

http://www.northtippsoccerleague.com/

Would be worth contacting these guys I think, they should have that list but Id say it has never been committed to soft-copy before.

Big Ears
01/09/2008, 9:22 PM
Birdhill arent a bad team at all and have a large pick around that area taking in Newport, Ballina and even in as far as Castleconnell in Limerick.

We lost 3-0 to Clodaigh Rangers. Two very poor teams out to be honest.
We are not going well at all, cant get a settled team at all.

They looked pretty poor when we played them last season, think we won 5-0.
They also finished behind Thurles Town who didn't look great either and a young Celtic beat them 4-1 in the first League game so considering the trouble we've had with Blackcastle the last 3 times we played them it was quite a surprise to me.

Maybe they just had a weakened side when they played us lasy year because I thought they were very poor that day.

bawn79
03/09/2008, 2:46 PM
They looked pretty poor when we played them last season, think we won 5-0.
They also finished behind Thurles Town who didn't look great either and a young Celtic beat them 4-1 in the first League game so considering the trouble we've had with Blackcastle the last 3 times we played them it was quite a surprise to me.

Maybe they just had a weakened side when they played us lasy year because I thought they were very poor that day.

They are also mainly a soccer only team, not many of them play hurling too. So they have a fairly consistent team.

We are scheduled to play this saturday with no time being given. Nice bit of organisation with the Ireland match being on at 5pm.
What time are these matches normally fixed at?

Big Ears
03/09/2008, 10:26 PM
They are also mainly a soccer only team, not many of them play hurling too. So they have a fairly consistent team.

We are scheduled to play this saturday with no time being given. Nice bit of organisation with the Ireland match being on at 5pm.
What time are these matches normally fixed at?

11:30 or 14:00 on Sundays unless a different time is looked for but a Saturday game could be on at any time. The home team will probably decide what time it's at.

bawn79
04/09/2008, 1:03 PM
11:30 or 14:00 on Sundays unless a different time is looked for but a Saturday game could be on at any time. The home team will probably decide what time it's at.

On at six on sunday now.

Flexible
04/09/2008, 2:32 PM
Hi

Thought I'd hijack ye're thread to say hello. I am secretary with Brideview Utd and we have drawn Ballymackey at home in the first round of the FAI Junior Cup. We had a couple of games last season against teams from your league. We beat Nenagh Celtic 3-2 AET and went down in the next round 2-0 home to Thurles. We thought Nenagh were much better than Thurles and we really should have done better against them. Dont know what kind of team we will have as our hurlers are still in the championship and are not playing until they are finished. We have floodlights and a Friday or Saturday match might be a possibility ( even though I haven't spoke to our manager yet ). I see one poster is from Ballymackey - I will have to try and find details of your secretary and see what your thoughts are on it.

bawn79
04/09/2008, 6:00 PM
Hi

Thought I'd hijack ye're thread to say hello. I am secretary with Brideview Utd and we have drawn Ballymackey at home in the first round of the FAI Junior Cup. We had a couple of games last season against teams from your league. We beat Nenagh Celtic 3-2 AET and went down in the next round 2-0 home to Thurles. We thought Nenagh were much better than Thurles and we really should have done better against them. Dont know what kind of team we will have as our hurlers are still in the championship and are not playing until they are finished. We have floodlights and a Friday or Saturday match might be a possibility ( even though I haven't spoke to our manager yet ). I see one poster is from Ballymackey - I will have to try and find details of your secretary and see what your thoughts are on it.

Sent you a PM.

Big Ears
07/09/2008, 3:12 PM
Right Thurles Town 1-1 Nenagh AFC, two penalties, Nenagh scored in first half, Thurles equalised very late on with theirs.

We hit the post twice but if you don't take your chances then you only have yourselves to blame. Well done Thurles who fought hard.

Now, **** the game for a minute, we had 3 phones and several wallets robbed from the changing room and other peoples money too. Just a word of warning for others visiting the Greyhound stadium, keep your valuables safe.

bawn79
08/09/2008, 5:43 PM
Right Thurles Town 1-1 Nenagh AFC, two penalties, Nenagh scored in first half, Thurles equalised very late on with theirs.

We hit the post twice but if you don't take your chances then you only have yourselves to blame. Well done Thurles who fought hard.

Now, **** the game for a minute, we had 3 phones and several wallets robbed from the changing room and other peoples money too. Just a word of warning for others visiting the Greyhound stadium, keep your valuables safe.

Its a pity that there isnt some room put aside there for changing and storage of gear etc. With all the space that is there.

Our game was called off, seemingly pitch wasnt playable but Kilcommon had a stag the night before so sounds suss.
We have had plenty of these things over the years and always managed to put a team out, even if it meant taking a beating.

Benjy Riordan
09/09/2008, 1:36 PM
NORTH TIPPERARY D.L.

Preliminary Round Draw

Cloughjordan v Moneygall FC
Clodiagh Rangers v Nenagh "B" AFC
Templetuohy FC v Clonmore FC

1st Round Draw

Cloughjordan or Moneygall v Ballingarry FC
Thurles Town v Templetuohy or Clonmore
Birdhill FC v Arra Rovers
Nenagh "A" AFC v Sallypark Odrans
Borrisokane FC v Clodiagh Rangers or Nenagh "B"
Borrisoleigh FC v Nenagh Celtic
Rearcross FC v Toomevara FC
Blackcastle Utd v Borroway Rvs

2nd Round Draw
A Blackcastle Utd or Borroway Rvs v Rearcross or Toomevara
B Borrisokane or Clodiagh Rangers or Nenagh "B" v Birdhill or Arra Rvs
C Cloughjordan or Moneygall or Ballingarry v Nenagh "A" or Sallypark Odrans
D Borrisoleigh or Nenagh Celtic v Thurles Town or Templetuohy or Clonmore

3rd Round Draw
B v D
C v A

bawn79
09/09/2008, 3:28 PM
NORTH TIPPERARY D.L.

Preliminary Round Draw

Cloughjordan v Moneygall FC
Clodiagh Rangers v Nenagh "B" AFC
Templetuohy FC v Clonmore FC

1st Round Draw

Cloughjordan or Moneygall v Ballingarry FC
Thurles Town v Templetuohy or Clonmore
Birdhill FC v Arra Rovers
Nenagh "A" AFC v Sallypark Odrans
Borrisokane FC v Clodiagh Rangers or Nenagh "B"
Borrisoleigh FC v Nenagh Celtic
Rearcross FC v Toomevara FC
Blackcastle Utd v Borroway Rvs

2nd Round Draw
A Blackcastle Utd or Borroway Rvs v Rearcross or Toomevara
B Borrisokane or Clodiagh Rangers or Nenagh "B" v Birdhill or Arra Rvs
C Cloughjordan or Moneygall or Ballingarry v Nenagh "A" or Sallypark Odrans
D Borrisoleigh or Nenagh Celtic v Thurles Town or Templetuohy or Clonmore

3rd Round Draw
B v D
C v A

Why dont they make this into geographical sections like the FAI Junior Cup. It seems like such a chore to play against all the usual teams just to get into the Munster Junior Cup proper?
Maybe you could even have two Munster Junior Cups - An 'A' for Premier and First Teams and a 'B' for lower divisions. I believe they have something like that in Leinster, A Leinster Junior Cup and A Leinster Junior Shield for the lower divisions.

hooper74
09/09/2008, 8:58 PM
to be fair lads wouldnt it be better if all the north teams went into a shield with sides from clare and kerry and the desmond league,a proper shot at winning a provincial title? i know nenagh every odd couple of years had a result against saints or clonmel town but most finals in recent years have been all tipp south affairs with saints playing town,i am however hugely in favour of an all tipp cup,cant understand why it hasnt happened