View Full Version : North Tipp & District League 2008/09
celticlads
17/10/2008, 10:37 PM
the outcome of the north v south clashes has to disappoint north league fans.....it really does,personally i ended up at the villa clodagh game and it was a total mismatch as was the saints v blackcastle which would be te game i would normally have been at,do north tipp have oscar traynor team?
No douth about the gap between north and south teams.In reality any north team would struggle to compete down there at the moment.The villa v clodagh game is not a fair reflection however,the gap is not that wide.
18/10/2008, 1:16 PM
Any truth in d rumour dat town only had 7 training last week.
Text speak is not allowed on the site.
celticlads
18/10/2008, 5:16 PM
sorry only new to the site, but is there any truth in it??
bawn79
20/10/2008, 8:50 AM
No douth about the gap between north and south teams.In reality any north team would struggle to compete down there at the moment.The villa v clodagh game is not a fair reflection however,the gap is not that wide.
I still think the top four in North Tipp would compete down in South Tipp. Case in point Clough lost on penalties to Clonmel Town.
On the other hand, why are the south tipp teams still playing amongst themselves and why dont they push on to try and compete in the Munster Senior League?
celticlads
20/10/2008, 4:58 PM
I still think the top four in North Tipp would compete down in South Tipp. Case in point Clough lost on penalties to Clonmel Town.
On the other hand, why are the south tipp teams still playing amongst themselves and why dont they push on to try and compete in the Munster Senior League?
Clough were unlucky fair point,but do u think any north team could play that well week in week out because thats what it would take to compete down there.At the moment i would have to say no.
bawn79
21/10/2008, 12:59 PM
Clough were unlucky fair point,but do u think any north team could play that well week in week out because thats what it would take to compete down there.At the moment i would have to say no.
Well I guess it depends how you define compete. Ive no doubt that if u put the top four in the South Tipp Premier then they would stay up.
We played Rosegreen two weeks ago, they are a Premier team and are no way near as good as Celtic, Town, Blackcastle or Clough.
On the other hand as above no one seems to want to comment on why the South Tipp sides want to say they are better than North Tipp. Why dont the compare themselves to Munster Senior teams and try and push themselves on to reach that level?
hooper74
21/10/2008, 2:18 PM
bawn what is this obsession with south teams playing in MSL??? anyone who follows junior football knows it would not be viable due to travelling and the fact that st michaels and clonmel town are streets ahead of 90% of MSL sides and that is not an opinion but a fact,clonmel have anihilated 2 MSL sides in Munster senior cup in last 6 weeks and clonmel are struggling at present,the south tipp league is a strong league which sets up micheals and town for a good crack at fai and munster junior cups each season,nenagh would be competitive in south tipp but blackcastle are an extremely poor side,as for rosegreen they are a certainty for relegation already this season but i would fancy them to beat blackcastle 9 times out of ten,they actually took a point against saint michaels already this season
celticlads
21/10/2008, 4:02 PM
bawn what is this obsession with south teams playing in MSL??? anyone who follows junior football knows it would not be viable due to travelling and the fact that st michaels and clonmel town are streets ahead of 90% of MSL sides and that is not an opinion but a fact,clonmel have anihilated 2 MSL sides in Munster senior cup in last 6 weeks and clonmel are struggling at present,the south tipp league is a strong league which sets up micheals and town for a good crack at fai and munster junior cups each season,nenagh would be competitive in south tipp but blackcastle are an extremely poor side,as for rosegreen they are a certainty for relegation already this season but i would fancy them to beat blackcastle 9 times out of ten,they actually took a point against saint michaels already this season
What would you think of an all tipp cup,i know we would be all for it as it would bring our game on a great deal plus alot of the questions on this site would be answered aswell.
celticlads
21/10/2008, 4:14 PM
Well I guess it depends how you define compete. Ive no doubt that if u put the top four in the South Tipp Premier then they would stay up.
We played Rosegreen two weeks ago, they are a Premier team and are no way near as good as Celtic, Town, Blackcastle or Clough.
On the other hand as above no one seems to want to comment on why the South Tipp sides want to say they are better than North Tipp. Why dont the compare themselves to Munster Senior teams and try and push themselves on to reach that level?
Yes they would probably stay up but in my eyes thats not competing,i would be of the opinion that to compete you would have to get into the top 3.Maybe after 2 or3 seasons this would be possible but to go down and do it in your first year i dont know could any north team do it.
bawn79
21/10/2008, 5:00 PM
Well in my understanding it is the next level up, maybe it isnt. If it isnt then maybe the South Tipp teams should be aiming at the next level up.
For North Tipp Teams aiming at the next level that would be an all Tipp league.
I just dont like south tipp teams saying that they would hammer the north tipp teams when the south tipp teams dont want to try and make the next step up themselves. Are they too content being big fish in a small pond?
Thats my point really.
As for Rosegreen, unless they had a very poor side against us they would lose about 7 out of 10 times against blackcastle.
hooper74
21/10/2008, 5:08 PM
the south tipp teams like saint michaels,clonmel town and peake villa strive to win provincial cups and national cups,they have dominated the munster cup in recent seasons......thats the progression.....its not a lack of ambition that you stay in a successful league....there is no need to leave something thats recognised and something that works,how could we possibly have an all tipp league....the north pitches are a disgrace,however an all tipp cup would be positive and it would be a start,i am not trying to slate north tipp but in terms of facilities and so on they have to realise the difference in the two leagues,some of the lesser lights in south tipp have the best pitches in the country,bansha and cahir are carpets
celticlads
21/10/2008, 9:30 PM
the south tipp teams like saint michaels,clonmel town and peake villa strive to win provincial cups and national cups,they have dominated the munster cup in recent seasons......thats the progression.....its not a lack of ambition that you stay in a successful league....there is no need to leave something thats recognised and something that works,how could we possibly have an all tipp league....the north pitches are a disgrace,however an all tipp cup would be positive and it would be a start,i am not trying to slate north tipp but in terms of facilities and so on they have to realise the difference in the two leagues,some of the lesser lights in south tipp have the best pitches in the country,bansha and cahir are carpets
Would i be right in saying that msl teams are mainly average.Judging on past results Clonmel, saints,pike,carrick and others of this quality beat most msl teams every year.As regaurds pitches never seen Bansha but Cahir is the best ive ever seen.
bawn79
22/10/2008, 7:37 AM
Fair enough but we are getting a slating by some for trying to be ambitious.
My own club has an ambitious plan to set up a facility similar to Cahir.
Anyway hopefully we will have an All-Tipp cup, it will do a lot for improving the standard in North Tipp playing against consistently good opposition. In fairness probably won't do a lot for the South Tipp teams but Im sure ye will be happy to be able to claim bragging rights.
I spend a good bit of time in Cahir and have played on their pitch, fantastic facilities alright fair play to them.
The next question on the agenda is
Do you think South Tipp would be able to sustain a League of Ireland Club, something similar to Wexford Youth?
hooper74
22/10/2008, 12:36 PM
if south tipp pulled together they would have a better selection of players,numerous south tipp players have played league of ireland in recent times,however they would never pull together,its the same with the oscar traynor,saints and town players dont mix
bawn79
24/10/2008, 10:55 AM
So has Trappatoni been down to open Brickfields yet?
I havent been in to see the new Club house but I hear its looking great.
Big Ears
24/10/2008, 4:03 PM
So has Trappatoni been down to open Brickfields yet?
I havent been in to see the new Club house but I hear its looking great.
Yes he has, that's all I know tbh I won't be able to see the clubhouse till I'm home for Christmas.
celticlads
24/10/2008, 8:32 PM
Yes he has, that's all I know tbh I won't be able to see the clubhouse till I'm home for Christmas.
The club house is top class,4 big dressing rooms downstairs and open plan upstairs at the moment not sure whats going up there.Huge building,cant wait to visit to play your A-team down there and of course beat ye HAHA.:D
bawn79
27/10/2008, 11:04 AM
I was wondering what happened to u Big Ears, you gone to college abroad or something is it?
Big Ears
27/10/2008, 4:25 PM
I was wondering what happened to u Big Ears, you gone to college abroad or something is it?
Ya I've gone to University in Middlesbrough to do a Sports Science Degree.
I think the plan with the upstairs of the clubhouse is to rent out half of the upstairs to recoup some of the money spent and after that who knows.
Celtic beat us at home ?, never gonna happen :D
I still actually prefer playing in Islandbawn though, that'll always feel like home to me.
celticlads
27/10/2008, 8:13 PM
Ya I've gone to University in Middlesbrough to do a Sports Science Degree.
I think the plan with the upstairs of the clubhouse is to rent out half of the upstairs to recoup some of the money spent and after that who knows.
Celtic beat us at home ?, never gonna happen :D
I still actually prefer playing in Islandbawn though, that'll always feel like home to me.
I have to agree Islanbawn is a better pitch alright but Brickfields is looking great know fair play and in time to come should become the base.Once the pitch is right they should all play down there and maybe use Islanbawn for training As,Bs and youths only,what do you think?
bawn79
03/11/2008, 8:16 AM
Any results from the FAI matches?
celticlads
03/11/2008, 3:00 PM
Any results from the FAI matches?
Birdhill beat us on penalties 2-2 AET.No complaints ,they were the better side and should have won it in normal time.Another poor performance from us,we havent played well since the 1-1 draw with town.
bawn79
03/11/2008, 4:48 PM
Birdhill beat us on penalties 2-2 AET.No complaints ,they were the better side and should have won it in normal time.Another poor performance from us,we havent played well since the 1-1 draw with town.
Birdhill arent a bad team, have a good squad and arent dependent on hurlers.
To be honest after the way Town ran away with things last year I didnt think Celtic would be able to close the gap.
Although is it a question of Celtic getting better or Town getting worse?
celticlads
03/11/2008, 4:58 PM
Birdhill arent a bad team, have a good squad and arent dependent on hurlers.
To be honest after the way Town ran away with things last year I didnt think Celtic would be able to close the gap.
Although is it a question of Celtic getting better or Town getting worse?
ya i was impressed with birdhill they will take points of some of the top team. I think its a bit of both although the same could be said about last year we got worse and they got better.In my opinion there are 5 teams in contetion for the league and it will go to the wire.
mr. man
03/11/2008, 5:57 PM
In my opinion there are 5 teams in contetion for the league and it will go to the wire.[/quote]
Ya i have to agree that there is def 5 teams in contention this year, which is good because it has been town and Celtic for too long..
It can only be good for the league..
We palyed Arra yesterday and i dont think they have any hope of staying up this year.. Just not good enough.. Moneygall and Arra to go down imo..
celticlads
03/11/2008, 10:08 PM
In my opinion there are 5 teams in contetion for the league and it will go to the wire.
Ya i have to agree that there is def 5 teams in contention this year, which is good because it has been town and Celtic for too long..
It can only be good for the league..
We palyed Arra yesterday and i dont think they have any hope of staying up this year.. Just not good enough.. Moneygall and Arra to go down imo..[/quote]
Ya the more teams in cotention the better ,it will up the standard in north tipp which is what the league needs.All the top 5 five are capable of taking points of each other and it makes for a good finish,also i think moneygall will stay up.
mr. man
03/11/2008, 11:48 PM
All the top 5 five are capable of taking points of each other and it makes for a good finish,also i think moneygall will stay up.[/quote]
So who do you think will go down ?? I am just basing my opinion on the teams we have played so far and Arra and moneygall have been the worst.. The funny thing is we drew with moneygall in the league which was possibly our worst performance this season.. Still think they wont stay up..
celticlads
04/11/2008, 1:18 AM
All the top 5 five are capable of taking points of each other and it makes for a good finish,also i think moneygall will stay up.
So who do you think will go down ?? I am just basing my opinion on the teams we have played so far and Arra and moneygall have been the worst.. The funny thing is we drew with moneygall in the league which was possibly our worst performance this season.. Still think they wont stay up..[/quote]
Arra,Thurlas,Toome 2 out of the 3 moneygall missing a few with the hurling
bishbash
10/11/2008, 9:08 PM
whats Nenagh AFC set up like pitch etc?
mr. man
11/11/2008, 12:21 PM
whats Nenagh AFC set up like pitch etc?
They use 2 pitches and both of them are very good to play soccer on..
They are also building a new clubhouse... Dont know whether it is ready to be used yet... Overall a very good setup ( Best in North tipp along with Rearcross )
http://www.nenaghafc.ie/ - you should be able to find out more on their website
bawn79
17/11/2008, 7:47 PM
How did Nenagh Celtic get on against Wexford Youths the weekend?
celticlads
17/11/2008, 8:03 PM
How did Nenagh Celtic get on against Wexford Youths the weekend?
We were beaten 5-2.Wexford are a good side and they have some set up down there,we had a few young lads playin and we couldn't quite live with them in the 1st half.Played a lot better in the 2nd half and the lads stayed going untill the final whistle fair play to them.Well worth the trip down there,a good expierence for our lads.Our youths play clonmel in munster this week at home should be a cracker.
was that a friendly ye played wexford youths in. i wouldnt fear clonmel youths that much there not a patch on youth teams they have had past few years. so if ye are strong ye will have decent chance of beating them
Big Ears
17/11/2008, 9:30 PM
was that a friendly ye played wexford youths in.
u17 FAI
celticlads
18/11/2008, 12:19 AM
was that a friendly ye played wexford youths in. i wouldnt fear clonmel youths that much there not a patch on youth teams they have had past few years. so if ye are strong ye will have decent chance of beating them
We lost 2-1 to them in fai 2 weeks ago but were missin 5 of starting team because of minor hurling final we think we have a good chance of turning them over.
bawn79
21/11/2008, 9:16 PM
Website or Aertel wasnt updated this week. Its normally fairly good but one week missing kinda lets it down.
celticlads
21/11/2008, 11:12 PM
Website or Aertel wasnt updated this week. Its normally fairly good but one week missing kinda lets it down.
The man that does the updates was on holiday.He was in amsterdam so there mightn"t be any updates this week either :D
bawn79
23/11/2008, 9:05 PM
The man that does the updates was on holiday.He was in amsterdam so there mightn"t be any updates this week either :D
Thats fair enough really i suppose.
bawn79
03/12/2008, 4:53 PM
Bumpy
celticlads
15/12/2008, 8:48 AM
Nenagh Celtic top of the league at xmas and hoefully in the open draw of MJC.Things are looking good again after 1 bad year.Any thoughts?
mr. man
15/12/2008, 11:28 AM
ya a long to go in the league yet.. always nice to be up there though
rearcross drawing blackcastle was a great result for everyone up at the top..
we beat birdhill yesterday 2 .1 after a very bad performance...got lucky !!
celticlads
15/12/2008, 1:59 PM
ya i agree only half way there yet and im not that silly 2 say were gonna win it but its great 2 be in with a shout this year after the way things went 4 us last year,ye still have a chance but i think birdhill might fade away.Being top of d league at xmas is great and d rest of ye chasing us only makes it better,it wont be won easy dis year.
Have to agree and their not even playing that well yet, from what i saw of them, they missing numerous players each week.Very young side too. Clough to be honest just dont have the quality, blackcastle will go close but it will be eventually between the 2 nenagh teams again. Maybe with towns other distractions, the league form may dimenish??what you think? Think Blackcastle could shock them this sunday in munster junior?
mr. man
16/12/2008, 4:37 AM
clough dont have the quality ??? can you explain further ??
Think town will beat blackcastle in the munster junior by 2-3 goals.. This is based on our league meeting with blackcastle which without a doubt we should have won easily.. it was our only league defeat this season and we were cruising up until our goalie was sent off!! ridiculous decision.. Blackcastle aint that great imo..
Celtic should have no problems against borris..
daz22
16/12/2008, 10:19 AM
What i meant is skill wise, technique, player for player those other teams are better than cloughjordan, plus all other teams know how to win a league where as clough dont.it my opinion that clough will drop points to the lesser teams more so than any of the others that all.That is what will put them out of contention in the end. just to add clough are a very fit team so that what aids them, admittingly clough do have some very good players. Ohdo you think with all the games being called off it could hurt clough later in that hurling and football will be back resulting in many of your players laying those codes???dont Think your right about town beating b,castle because blackcastle should have beaten them twice this seson, plus in all the big games between them town bottle it
bawn79
16/12/2008, 1:09 PM
Any one else think its a joke playing games on the weekend before Xmas?
im a celtic man of course!! that why think town get beat!!!
Some joke alright but problem has being the weather in previous weeks and the top tema like town and celtic if get decent runs in MJC and FAI will be miles behind and end up at the end of season with the league wanting them to play wed, fri and sunday. you see my point. Plus i think alot of games in the last few weeks called off for convenience for certain teams
mr. man
16/12/2008, 2:10 PM
fair enough Daz i take your points.. We have already drawn with 2 of the bottom 3 teams allready which is crazy if we want to win a league.. we are not as needy for our hurlers as in previous seasons but it will affect us a bit i am sure.. we are out of mj and fai so we should get our league games over with alot quicker than twn and celtic..
mr. man
16/12/2008, 2:17 PM
yes totally agree but we have no game this weekend so it does not affect us thank god :)
what annoys me is games being called off on a sunday morning when it could and should be done on a sat when it is obvious say that the pitch will be frozen.. give a chance for lads to go out.. I mean it is a long enough season..