View Full Version : League Cup 2008 games
02/07/2008, 4:42 PM
to everyone else - of course you want to win every game and every competition you are involved in but you cant. .
Errr - I think you'll find you can. It's called 'The Treble'.
Though you're probably unfamiliar with it, as it's only something that big clubs achieve...
:cool:
Errr - I think you'll find you can. It's called 'The Treble'.
Though you're probably unfamiliar with it, as it's only something that big clubs achieve...
after losing the League Cup final last year to the minnows from Derry im willing to take this season one step at a time.
dortie
02/07/2008, 6:35 PM
I hope Derry go on to win their favourite trophy in the world EVER. I really do. It appears to mean more to them than most.
The 'Big' club has really been sweeping up all the silverwear this past number of years, beggers cant be chosers !
beggars - ha! you lot up there would know all about that! playing the poor mouth when it suits ye. You Derry fans have no shame, you load of scabs.
Like i said, i hope you win the thing - rest assured it means nothing to most. Even a Cork fan agrees about its irrelevance.
Derry City, the biggest minnows in the league. :)
lofty9
02/07/2008, 6:50 PM
beggars - ha! you lot up there would know all about that! playing the poor mouth when it suits ye. You Derry fans have no shame, you load of scabs.
Like i said, i hope you win the thing - rest assured it means nothing to most. Even a Cork fan agrees about its irrelevance.
It's a free entry to Setanta for us. End of. We need to get into Setanta each year as the gates are good.
ah there we go. At least someone from Derry has the balls to say it like it is. You dont feel you can qualify for the Setanta by winning the league or the (real) Cup so you take the League Cup more serious than most.
Thank you, that is all.
dortie
02/07/2008, 6:56 PM
Go on, remind me about all the silverwear this past number of seasons....mmm...mm.
And a Dub calling anyone a 'scab' ? Hooo hoo:D
lofty9
02/07/2008, 7:05 PM
ah there we go. At least someone from Derry has the balls to say it like it is. You dont feel you can qualify for the Setanta by winning the league or the (real) Cup so you take the League Cup more serious than most.
Thank you, that is all.
And the big club has qualified for Setanta through which competitions?
Thank you, that is all.:rolleyes:
02/07/2008, 7:51 PM
Well - I make it some 43 years since you won your own national league
That. Is. All.
Gypsy1890
02/07/2008, 8:09 PM
I think a team like Bohs would happy with winning anything as it has been a while, no offence.
In fairness to the Bohs fans, we won our game and I still dont care about it. Its nice to keep up the winning run but its only the league cup.
Im sure the lads want to win everything but if we chose to rest players because of other competitions I certainly wouldnt be complaining. A competition with rubbish prize money and now even so devalued that youve to play the D1 winner for the Setanta place.
Its one thing them wanting ot win it while in the final last year when they were out of the league chase and not in Europe but its a very different scenario this year, and perfectly understandableExactly :cool:
Thank you, that is all.:D
In fairness to Derry they do have a great record in the League Cup. Even when it wasn't a gateway to the Setanta Cup Derry were probably the only team to take the League Cup as a top priority, whereas most other teams fielded under-strength squads, with players just coming back from injury and giving a chance to squad players. :p
oldyouth
02/07/2008, 10:23 PM
There's usually a shop and a chipper van but with it being the league cup and a small crowd expected, it probably wasn't worthwhile opening either. I think the FAI set cup prices (though I'm not sure if it's the same for the league cup) and €5 is pretty cheap in fairness.
The coulumns are supposed to be got rid of soon enough, there's a new roof to cover all the seats planned.
Sorry but €5 is not cheap for attending a football match for an under 10. Obviously (even for a UCD Student) the child did not make his own way there and a paying adult had to be with them. I paid for 4 adults, 2 OAPs, 1 student and 2 U10s (€94) last night to show my extended family why I support the mighty Youths and what did we get in return? Tickets that stated we were at a 'Premier League 2008' game and no shop open even to get a bottle of water after driving up from Wexford. We even had stewards telling us to sit down 'cos we might block the view of others when we all had approx 10 seats each.
One of our lads even missed the 2nd goal when searching for a vending machine to get his lad a tub of pringles.Thank God we do it right at Ferrycarrig Park as you found out at the pre-season friendly this year and you will again when you visit us in the league next year.
02/07/2008, 10:45 PM
This is no longer the case.
Really? When was it scrapped? Good news
Once the First Division clubs had voted in the new league, I assume.
Though it's news to me too. And in fairness, I didn't even notice the play off last year at the time.
It hasn't been scrapped as far as I'm aware. I'm sure I would have remembered reading about it if it had been.
Candystripe
03/07/2008, 1:27 AM
It hasn't been scrapped as far as I'm aware. I'm sure I would have remembered reading about it if it had been.
It is scrapped.
03/07/2008, 1:56 AM
It is scrapped.
It hasn't even been scrapped to be fair - it was always designed and presented as a one-off sweetener to get FD clubs to vote for the 10 team Premier.
dortie
03/07/2008, 8:09 AM
Well - I make it some 43 years since you won your own national league
That. Is. All.
Classic, although not surprising response from a WB.
03/07/2008, 11:05 AM
Thank you, that is all.
SKStu - the chief rule of being a WUM is to actually be half-decent at it.
You're just rubbish at it. And you try so hard that it's painful to watch.
SkStu's WUM School Report 2008 :
"3/10. Exhibits more enthusiasm than skill for the topic. As a result tries very hard to achieve results, but falls short every time. Progression beyond beginner's level is severely questioned. "
03/07/2008, 11:51 PM
ha! good one DCFC. Though you should have bothered saving that well-rehearsed post for someone who actually is a WUM... if i was a wind up merchant i would have made some reference to the Queen, British etc etc but i wouldnt stoop that low as i actually like your club. But i will fight crap with crap. Back to the drawing board with that one DCFC. Must try harder.
now back to the point i was making - Bohs, the club, and Bohs fans are not particularly put out that we lost so early in the League Cup. 4-1 was a bit unexpected but id rather it happen away to Derry in the early stages of the League Cup than at any other time in any other competition. If you want to dispute any of that, go for it. But all the evidence points to my point being true. Shortage of first team players, Fenlons comments the week before about the priorities this season being League, Inter Toto (and i presume the real Cup). Im done with arguing over this, as you guys dont seems to have any substance behind your arguments. Good luck with the rest of your campaign.
04/07/2008, 1:30 AM
ha! good one DCFC. Though you should have bothered saving that well-rehearsed post for someone who actually is a WUM... if i was a wind up merchant i would have made some reference to the Queen, British etc etc
All of which would be primary school WUM-ery - the stuff before you even get a school report. So you're only slightly beyond that level.
now back to the point i was making - Bohs, the club, and Bohs fans are not particularly put out that we lost so early in the League Cup. 4-1 was a bit unexpected but id rather it happen away to Derry in the early stages of the League Cup than at any other time in any other competition.
Since when was the Quarter-Final of any competitions considered as still "the early stages" !?! You're 180mins from a final. That's not the early stages in anyone's books.
So you're either WUMming again or severly deluded. You chose.
Me thinks you doth protest too much about not being bothered over the League Cup anyway....
niallsparky
04/07/2008, 4:46 AM
Since when was the Quarter-Final of any competitions considered as still "the early stages" !?! You're 180mins from a final. That's not the early stages in anyone's books.
Playing you lot was only our second game in the competition, with only 90 mins played in the whole competition, how can it not be considered early stages in anyone's books? ;)
WoodquayBoy
04/07/2008, 8:43 AM
Oh dear, a Plastic getting his facts wrong about a playoff, bit of previous there
04/07/2008, 11:15 AM
Sorry but €5 is not cheap for attending a football match for an under 10. Obviously (even for a UCD Student) the child did not make his own way there and a paying adult had to be with them. I paid for 4 adults, 2 OAPs, 1 student and 2 U10s (€94) last night to show my extended family why I support the mighty Youths.If you want to pay for half the population of Wexford town, that's your business, I'd have expected the adults at least to pay for themselves. €10 less on the price wouldn't seem to make much diference to me, you probably spent more than that on petrol to bring them to the game, though no doubt that's "Dublin"'s fault too.
oldyouth
04/07/2008, 12:43 PM
If you want to pay for half the population of Wexford town, that's your business, I'd have expected the adults at least to pay for themselves. €10 less on the price wouldn't seem to make much diference to me, you probably spent more than that on petrol to bring them to the game, though no doubt that's "Dublin"'s fault too.
I am born and reared within 300 yards of UCD and went to their games before moving to Wexford over 20 years ago. The guests that I paid for were my extended family that live in the area and I wanted to show them the team I have adopted. If more adults could have made it, I would happily have paid for them too. My point is that €5 for U10s is wrong, they should be free with a paying adult. Ever wonder why the crowds might be low at Belfield?? Also, with the very nature of kids, you would think the club would have a shop or something to buy them crisps, or drinks etc.
Next year, you'll see how we do it properly at Ferrycarrig Park
04/07/2008, 11:27 PM
My point is that €5 for U10s is wrong, they should be free with a paying adult. Ever wonder why the crowds might be low at Belfield??
Very much doubt having kids in for free would be a panacea to our crowds.
And it's been mentioned before, but I'd be fairly sure Cup ticket prices are set by the FAI to ensure the away side is happy with its share of receipts.
oldyouth
05/07/2008, 9:39 AM
Very much doubt having kids in for free would be a panacea to our crowds.
And it's been mentioned before, but I'd be fairly sure Cup ticket prices are set by the FAI to ensure the away side is happy with its share of receipts.
I'm not going to drag this argument on and on but the tickets were pre-printed as 'Premier League Match' with the price stated on them. I must assume that it is the standard charge at Belfield.
I do think it would help the attendance if young kids were free with a paying adult. It would encourage the whole family to go more often
05/07/2008, 11:58 AM
200 kids at €5 a pop or 300 kids for nothing
I'd know which makes more financial sense...
oldyouth
05/07/2008, 9:07 PM
They can't get 200 adults (apologies, I mean students) for their home games let alone kids.
05/07/2008, 10:57 PM
I'm not going to drag this argument on and on but the tickets were pre-printed as 'Premier League Match' with the price stated on them. I must assume that it is the standard charge at Belfield.
Just means we didn't bother printing up special League Cup tickets for the game.
To be honest, I think you're whining for the sake of having a whine now.
06/07/2008, 7:48 AM
Next year, you'll see how we do it properly at Ferrycarrig Park
There's only a 50:50 chance our reserves will face you in the 'A Championship'.;)
oldyouth
06/07/2008, 11:00 AM
There's only a 50:50 chance our reserves will face you in the 'A Championship'.;)
Either way (ha!) you'll enjoy the experience at Ferrycarrig Park.
10/07/2008, 7:20 PM
The draw is on MNS on Monday.
10/07/2008, 8:08 PM
Depends if you're talking short term vs medium-to-long term financial sense though.
Having 50% more young people at your games would undoubtedly impact future attendances, and on a multiplying scale. Would also boost curent attendnaces too, on the assumption that someone has to bring most of those free kids to the games in the first place.
Without getting all Wacko Jacko, kids are the future...
oldyouth
10/07/2008, 10:12 PM
Leave them to it DCFC Steve. They are quoting 200 kids at €5 a go when they only drew 200 in total with over 50 of us as away support. I think the maths students were having a lie down that day. Lord knows what information they put down on the grant application form
11/07/2008, 12:18 AM
Leave them to it DCFC Steve. They are quoting 200 kids at €5 a go when they only drew 200 in total with over 50 of us as away support. I think the maths students were having a lie down that day. Lord knows what information they put down on the grant application form
The 200 kids was probably a probability figure that they found on a spreadsheet. Divorced, of course, from the actual reality of their situation...
:p
oldyouth
11/07/2008, 7:36 AM
The 200 kids was probably a probability figure that they found on a spreadsheet. Divorced, of course, from the actual reality of their situation...
:p
That's easy for you to say!!
11/07/2008, 11:18 AM
The 200 kids figure was a random figure I plucked out of the ether to illustrate a point.
I have no real interest of the happenings at the Bowl
14/07/2008, 7:23 PM
Cork v Wexford
Galway v Derry
Had really been hoping for a home draw. It'll be next to impossible in Cork. Just have to hope they think it's a fore gone conclusion and don't turn up on the night.
Youths4Ever
14/07/2008, 7:33 PM
Cork v Wexford
Galway v Derry
Obviously two clear favorites in these games but with a once off game you never know
Shame Wexford din't get Cork at home.
Cork v Wexford
Galway v Derry
Had really been hoping for a home draw. It'll be next to impossible in Cork. Just have to hope they think it's a fore gone conclusion and don't turn up on the night.
We're supposed to play 4 games in 8 days that week.
Thursday -away to Haka
Sunday-Away to Sligo
Tuesday-League cup
Friday-Bohs at home.
If so, Given the amount of travelling and the importance of the other games I'd be expecting a lot of our reserves to line out for this .
I certainly wouldnt be writing off your chances completely.
Footsoldier
14/07/2008, 8:39 PM
Woo Hoo! That'll be a piece of p1ss! Seriously though, it didn't really matter who we got. I suppose you never know in a once off cup match but I'm just delighted we got this far.
Paddyfield
14/07/2008, 9:00 PM
Cork v Wexford
Galway v Derry
Obviously two clear favorites in these games but with a once off game you never know
Indeed. Galway Utd V. Wexford Youths in the Final.
14/07/2008, 11:18 PM
Still only a grand at the end of the day and if you could get 15 of them in a few years to pay €15 x 17 home games x 6 seasons = €1530
You'll make your money back, you have to stay with it but you'll make your money back.
14/07/2008, 11:28 PM
This is a game that i'd put all on the shoulders of the A squad, they have to step up now sort this out, play and get themselves to a final. This is what they are being called upon for so hopefully they can show they can do the business.
Its gonna be epic !!
14/07/2008, 11:29 PM
Still only a grand at the end of the day and if you could get 15 of them in a few years to pay €15 x 17 home games x 6 seasons = €1530
You'll make your money back, you have to stay with it but you'll make your money back.
You're almost a week late on this one A Face
14/07/2008, 11:43 PM
A week is nothing, this should be a policy for 20 years ;)
Nice one Rico.
I expect Matthews to field strong side even though we have a lot of games as our squad is very thin. Suspension will allow a few players have a break.
Youths4Ever
15/07/2008, 8:44 AM
Indeed. Galway Utd V. Wexford Youths in the Final.
Here is Hoping :p
oldyouth
15/07/2008, 8:59 AM
It gives the students enough time to do the maths.
15/07/2008, 9:00 AM
You know you'll have to pay into this one too?
Just warning you in case you expect more free entertainment.
monutdfc
15/07/2008, 9:33 AM
Why was this thread merged? I have to wade through pages of posts about previous rounds to get to the current stuff about the semi-final draw. Mods, please don't turn the eL forum into the Irish International one with 150-page long threads.