View Full Version : League Cup 2008 games
Burny89
01/07/2008, 8:35 PM
Doubt it, nobody is really bothered about the League Cup this year, we've more important matches to play, hence the team we put out where there is currently only 1 out-and-out defender playing at the back (and even at that he is playing out of position).
Ofcourse your not bothered about it :rolleyes:
01/07/2008, 8:37 PM
okay, okay we played our strongest team and we are gutted. I hope Derry goes on to win the cup so the shame and embarrassment of losing this game can be lessened...
Aye cracker. What was you're line up? Genuinely want to know.
galway 3-0 bray
o'shea against his former club
Aye cracker. What was you're line up? Genuinely want to know.
Team
Konopka
Heary
Rossiter
Hunt
Oman
Heary
Kelly
Cronin
McGinley
Mansaram
Singh
Subs
Murphy
Byrne
O'Donnell
Crowe
Fenn
only 4 definite starters in that team.
Footsoldier
01/07/2008, 8:41 PM
2-1 to Youths and according to my sources, 5 mins injury time to play.
Blow up ref FFS!!!!!!!!
i can see the RTE report now...
"...and tragedy struck today in Belfield in an FAI Cup game as the referee between Wexford Young Boys and Trinity College self exploded and died at the scene. Foul play is not suspected. Early reports from the FAI suggest that the game will not be replayed and the win will be awarded to St. Pats Teacher Training College..."
Headline: Suicide Bombing at Belfied, One Killed
5ForKeeps
01/07/2008, 8:54 PM
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
What a night for the Wexford Youths FC and the whole soccer scene in the County.
Brilliant! What a win what a night....bring on any of the remaining three Cork, Derry or Galway. We get them at our place will be one hell of a night at Ferrycarraig
Footsoldier
01/07/2008, 8:56 PM
Well it worked, didn't it!! You fcukin' beauty!!!!! Anyway, they'd have said Queens were winners.
Our team tonight:
Doherty
Deery
Callaghan
McChrystal
Grey
McLean
Higgins
Martyn
McGlynn
McHugh
Sammon
Outplayed Bohs, Glen Crowe is fat and ****e. And Pat Fenlon was ripped into. Good night all round:)
delighted for Derry. Well done lads.
getting serious now, thanks to the Derry fans for providing the radio commentary.
NavanBohs
01/07/2008, 9:21 PM
Ofcourse your not bothered about it :rolleyes:
Actually we're not. Fenlon said it himself after the Finn Harps match. We have 3 league fixtures already postponed because we're in Europe. Drogheda will be using Dalymount for one or two European midweek games so we cant play them then so we're gonna have a hell of a backlog.
Win win situation - we're out of that minnow competition and can focus on the bigger fish we have to fry, and yous take a step towards winning your favourite competition in the world.
01/07/2008, 9:26 PM
we're out of that minnow competition.
I seem to remember youse making a bit of a deal over it last year :confused:
Gypsy1890
01/07/2008, 9:34 PM
Glen Crowe is fat and ****e. And Pat Fenlon was ripped into. :)
I'm sure their league and FAI Cup medals are a comfort to them.
Enjoy your run of Tuesday night football in the Brandywell cause that's the best you can hope for his season. ;)
I seem to remember youse making a bit of a deal over it last year :confused:
if you happen to get to a final cos no one is good enough to beat you along the way, you might as well want to win it. But Derry won it and that was nice to see.
I'm sure their league and FAI Cup medals are a comfort to them.
Enjoy your run of Tuesday night football in the Brandywell cause that's the best you can hope for his season. ;)
Just you keep telling yourself that;)Dont get too cosy up there, i'm sure Fenlon knows that himself from past times
Footsoldier
01/07/2008, 9:42 PM
Are the semis played over 2 legs?
01/07/2008, 9:44 PM
Are the semis played over 2 legs?
No.
Footsoldier
01/07/2008, 9:47 PM
Ah ****! Really wanted an away trip. Might have to play at home now. Life's so not fair!!!!!!!!!!
Actually we're not. Fenlon said it himself after the Finn Harps match. We have 3 league fixtures already postponed because we're in Europe. Drogheda will be using Dalymount for one or two European midweek games so we cant play them then so we're gonna have a hell of a backlog.
Win win situation - we're out of that minnow competition and can focus on the bigger fish we have to fry, and yous take a step towards winning your favourite competition in the world.
God listen to the bohs excuses, 2 years ago we won both cup competitons, lost the league on the final day of the season played 6 matches in europe and we didnt complain. The league doesnt revolve around bohs and fenlon. your squad is bigger than ours was then so get a grip, and listen to skstu who has taken defeat like a man.
HarpoJoyce
01/07/2008, 10:21 PM
Very disappointed.......Wexfords Youths played in their black home jerseys.
Still, well done, good luck in the next round.
01/07/2008, 10:43 PM
two quick questions,
when is the draw for the semis? and, when are the matches pencilled in for?
01/07/2008, 10:54 PM
when are the matches pencilled in for?
First Monday/Tuesday in August.
sligored
01/07/2008, 11:11 PM
well done derry- bohs cant be choosy about what silverware they win - surely their fans know this by now.
01/07/2008, 11:33 PM
to be fair the only silverware Sligo have any chance of seeing in the next 20 years is the cutlery laid out for the Sunday lunch
01/07/2008, 11:40 PM
Beamer for steve :)
Derry now 2 up, Sammon.
I'm delighted my tempting of fate worked...... :D
I'm also loving the 'sure we don't care' bullsh!t coming from Bohs fans. Surprising that that sort of attitude was absent last year.... :o
Also - anyone who thinks Fenlon wouldn't be snapping to win a cup quarter-final against Derry is living in a dream. He still has a point to prove up there.
01/07/2008, 11:49 PM
Very disappointed.......Wexfords Youths played in their black home jerseys.
Still, well done, good luck in the next round.
Thought that too! Reckon we should have played in our away jerseys just to see a bit of pink.
Game was OK for a League Cup tie. Two horrendous mistakes (one from Billy, one from Evan or Shorty, not sure which) gave Youths a 2-0 lead against our reserve team (can't see any of the starting against Drogheda on Friday, with the possible exception of Timmy, and maybe Shorty if McFaul's international clearance doesn't come through) before we woke up and dominated the remaining half hour. Our keeper missed a penalty, Evan scored a bullet header, we had a few scambles off the line, but overall, well done to Wexford - they held on and went through. I think their fans were a little bit too excited at the final whistle (and on here), but what can you do.
Oh, and that person on PA was coolness personified; the best performance of the night. :cool:
WoodquayBoy
02/07/2008, 12:03 AM
to be fair the only silverware Sligo have any chance of seeing in the next 20 years is the cutlery laid out for the Sunday lunch
And not even then as they use plastic cutlery (and yes, I know, United fans aren't exactly in a position to sneer at other clubs regarding finances, but that was too good an opportunity to miss)
Youths4Ever
02/07/2008, 8:05 AM
Thought that too! Reckon we should have played in our away jerseys just to see a bit of pink.
I think their fans were a little bit too excited at the final whistle (and on here), but what can you do.
Some of us wore the pink jerseies just for ye :cool:
As for the over excited fans yes we where second year in league and into a cup semi final. know it second cup but it still a cup semi and only first division side left in competition. also league form not been very good lately (understatement I know) so to see a win is great.
Never been to UCD before and once found the pitch it was nice ground. Expect for no shop could not even get a bottle of water and the steward who asked us to sit down as we were blocking the view of the wall. :p
What was official attendance last night reckon Wexford had about 75-85 fans there.
Youths4Ever
02/07/2008, 8:08 AM
Ah ****! Really wanted an away trip. Might have to play at home now. Life's so not fair!!!!!!!!!!
We have four away games on the trot would not mind a home game :D
02/07/2008, 8:37 AM
As for the over excited fans yes we where second year in league and into a cup semi final. know it second cup but it still a cup semi and only first division side left in competition.
True. Can't take it away from you. You'll get old and cynical in a few years though!
What was official attendance last night reckon Wexford had about 75-85 fans there.
Didn't get one. Was estimated at 200ish. Good crowd from Wexford alright; would have said 50, but decent for a midweek League Cup game.
02/07/2008, 8:42 AM
I'm delighted my tempting of fate worked...... :D
I'm also loving the 'sure we don't care' bullsh!t coming from Bohs fans. Surprising that that sort of attitude was absent last year.... :o
Also - anyone who thinks Fenlon wouldn't be snapping to win a cup quarter-final against Derry is living in a dream. He still has a point to prove up there.
tbf Steve - at that point last season all Bohs had left to play for was the League Cup.
This year the League form, the European exploits and the fact that the FAI Cup is still on the agenda kinda outweighs anything that may have been there last season.
The FAI should really have scheduled this game for towards the end of July, and let them get one of the postponed League games out of the way - seeing as the next round isn't until August iirc.
Coupled with the fact that Drogs will be using the Dalymount facilities for their European games - meaning that Bohs can't use the pitch on those dates to play games - and the fixtures start to pile up.
Not making excuses as it were - but the bigger picture needs to be looked at - call it "prioritising competitions"
dortie
02/07/2008, 11:20 AM
The FAI should really have scheduled this game for towards the end of July, and let them get one of the postponed League games out of the way - seeing as the next round isn't until August iirc.
Catch yourself on, every season is the same, every club has had to deal with this situation in the past.
Bohs were brutal last night.
Maynard
02/07/2008, 11:44 AM
Highlight of the night had to be the UCD 'keeper running the length of the pitch in his exquisite bright red gear, taking the ball from under the noses of several technically proficient outfield players before blasting his peno about 7 yards clear of the crossbar.
An absolute ballbag of the highest order.:)
02/07/2008, 12:11 PM
Highlight of the night had to be the UCD 'keeper running the length of the pitch in his exquisite bright red gear, taking the ball from under the noses of several technically proficient outfield players before blasting his peno about 7 yards clear of the crossbar.
He's scored in several penalty shootouts, I think it was reasonable for him to take it. I think his biggest problem was that he'd just pegged it down the pitch and hadn't got his breath back.
02/07/2008, 12:32 PM
And given that half of our squad have missed penalties this season, I don't think they could be deemed any more "technically proficient" then him!
Rovers Maniac
02/07/2008, 1:21 PM
And not even then as they use plastic cutlery (and yes, I know, United fans aren't exactly in a position to sneer at other clubs regarding finances, but that was too good an opportunity to miss)
By the sounds of things your plastic cutlery is 12 and a half% smaller than ours !:)
Rovers Maniac
02/07/2008, 1:25 PM
tbf Steve - at that point last season all Bohs had left to play for was the League Cup.
This year the League form, the European exploits and the fact that the FAI Cup is still on the agenda kinda outweighs anything that may have been there last season.
Coupled with the fact that Drogs will be using the Dalymount facilities for their European games - meaning that Bohs can't use the pitch on those dates to play games - and the fixtures start to pile up.
Not making excuses as it were - but the bigger picture needs to be looked at - call it "prioritising competitions"
I think a team like Bohs would happy with winning anything as it has been a while, no offence.
oldyouth
02/07/2008, 1:52 PM
No, the highlight had to be (as was said earlier) the steward telling the lads in the back row to sit down as they might block someones view. The low lights were no shop, restricted views with the columns for the stand, €5 charge for under 10s (is this specific to UCD or do all Premier clubs rip off families).
On a positive note, the pitch was so good I'd say it is nearly on a par with ours and I can report that the reputation students have for being noisy is without any basis in fact. They were nice and quiet throughout.
All said and done, I'm looking forward to the league visit next year
I think a team like Bohs would happy with winning anything as it has been a while, no offence.
In fairness to the Bohs fans, we won our game and I still dont care about it. Its nice to keep up the winning run but its only the league cup.
Im sure the lads want to win everything but if we chose to rest players because of other competitions I certainly wouldnt be complaining. A competition with rubbish prize money and now even so devalued that youve to play the D1 winner for the Setanta place.
Its one thing them wanting ot win it while in the final last year when they were out of the league chase and not in Europe but its a very different scenario this year, and perfectly understandable
lofty9
02/07/2008, 2:03 PM
€5 charge for under 10s (is this specific to UCD or do all Premier clubs rip off families).
I hope you don't come to the Brandywell then. £8 for my 5 year old last night in the stand. Free in the terracing but you can't guarantee a dry night in an Irish Summer.
02/07/2008, 2:03 PM
The low lights were no shop, restricted views with the columns for the stand, €5 charge for under 10s (is this specific to UCD or do all Premier clubs rip off families).There's usually a shop and a chipper van but with it being the league cup and a small crowd expected, it probably wasn't worthwhile opening either. I think the FAI set cup prices (though I'm not sure if it's the same for the league cup) and €5 is pretty cheap in fairness.
The coulumns are supposed to be got rid of soon enough, there's a new roof to cover all the seats planned.
02/07/2008, 2:05 PM
There's usually a shop and a chipper van but with it being the league cup and a small crowd expected, it probably wasn't worthwhile opening either.Do the regulations stating hot and cold food be available at games not apply to the league cup?:confused:
02/07/2008, 2:10 PM
Do the regulations stating hot and cold food be available at games not apply to the league cup?:confused:Didn't know there were regulations on that. I have no idea.
02/07/2008, 2:12 PM
Didn't know there were regulations on that. I have no idea.It's definitely part of licencing for league games, no idea about cup ones.
CameramanConka
02/07/2008, 2:47 PM
A competition with rubbish prize money and now even so devalued that youve to play the D1 winner for the Setanta place.
This is no longer the case.
Really? When was it scrapped? Good news
02/07/2008, 3:51 PM
Once the First Division clubs had voted in the new league, I assume.
Though it's news to me too. And in fairness, I didn't even notice the play off last year at the time.
ive read it all now!
i forgot how laden down Sligo Rovers were with cups, medals and shields over recent years!!
no offence, like.
to everyone else - of course you want to win every game and every competition you are involved in but you cant. And the fact that we are out of the least important competition that we were involved in is an absolute blessing in disguise. Bohemian priorities lie elsewhere this season.
I hope Derry go on to win their favourite trophy in the world EVER. I really do. It appears to mean more to them than most.