View Full Version : Cobh Ramblers vs Sligo Rovers 28/6/08

sligofan4ever
24/06/2008, 1:14 PM
This is a game we should win easily. And with Boco back we have fire power up front with Faz probably playing his last mach for Rovers n Saturday. Should win it comfortably. I would say a 3-0 finish for us.

biscuit
24/06/2008, 1:20 PM
afaik,due to lack of funds, the team will be traveling and playing on the same day.

LondonRover
25/06/2008, 9:21 AM
Feck.

Redzer
25/06/2008, 9:35 AM
afaik,due to lack of funds, the team will be traveling and playing on the same day.
It didn't do a lot of good going up the night before v Shams in the cup:(
It's time for them to start earning their crust. Cobh are not a good team, They should be able to travel early and have a few hours rest. No excuses lads.

sligofan4ever
25/06/2008, 10:11 AM
I think since were more than likely going to beat Cobh it will be a 3-0 score IMO. so lets hope a good result on Saturday encourages more people to go to our next game against the Derry the following week. But sticking with the next game. And will Boco be back for the match on Saturday ? i'd also like too see Judge start hopefully he can show that he is starting to find his form.

DrainBamaged
25/06/2008, 12:32 PM
I predict massive drunkeness before and during the game followed by a wicked hangover on Sunday. 2-0 Rovers FT.

Rovers fan
25/06/2008, 1:25 PM
I predict massive drunkeness before and during the game followed by a wicked hangover on Sunday.

Hopefully we will have sobered up by time we are getting the plane back to dublin!!!

2-1 to rovers,I hope.I don't think we'll beat them by as much as 3-0 tbh.I don't care what anyone says,this isn't going to be easy.They've had good enough home form and there's bound to be a backlash after cork thrashed them last week.Add to that the fact that we haven't won in a few games(5 afaik) and it's obvious that we aren't such overwhelming favourites.I'll take any kinda win at this stage.Many heading to it?

25/06/2008, 6:56 PM
I can't see us winning.

1-1.

Faz with a farewell goal on a dissapointing day for the Bit O'Red.

25/06/2008, 11:13 PM
TBH I just see us losing this for some reason...

1-0 to Cobh...:(

DocRovers
26/06/2008, 8:03 AM
Hard to predict but results have been very poor of late. If we do lose even more heads will roll.... The lack of funds to send the team overnight should be a wake up call to the lads, the MC would only do that if things were bad!

jamie m
26/06/2008, 11:52 AM
any kind of win will do to get us back on track , reckon 2-1 to the bit o red, am heading down but no flights for me, bussing it all the way!

26/06/2008, 5:26 PM
**** the killjoys!! 5-0 Rovers...and of course, a good time had by all.

Feeney and Judge both out according to the talk.

LondonRover
26/06/2008, 10:04 PM
I think drunkeness is guaranteed - on my part anyway. But that's just cos I'll be celebrating/mourning my 30th birthday with the help of the DSC (and my good lady friend). The result itself - whilst important - may well fade into the background as the evening wears on...

26/06/2008, 10:06 PM
Its slightly acceptable for the like of bohs and city to be talknig about us in such a manner but Sligo, cop on lads.

deecay
26/06/2008, 10:31 PM
Its slightly acceptable for the like of bohs and city to be talknig about us in such a manner but Sligo, cop on lads.
What are you on about?Dont come on to our forum and tell us what to do

26/06/2008, 10:55 PM
i'm going with rovers1 on this one. 5-0 rovers, boco hat-trick

LondonRover
27/06/2008, 9:02 AM

Not quite sure what this is meant to mean but if you look on the Rams message board the amount of slaggin' and infighting is savage...

sligofan4ever
27/06/2008, 1:05 PM
i'm going with rovers1 on this one. 5-0 rovers, boco hat-trick

that would be some return for him. I can see him scoring 1 or 2 but dont see him getting the hat trick.

redobit
27/06/2008, 1:59 PM
There has to be some unrest in the camp with transfer window looming but I still think we should get the 3 points.

alansmithccfc
27/06/2008, 3:40 PM
Hi,
OnSide magazine will be at the game and are looking for a sligo fan to participate in the fan focus feature. Just a few questions etc before the game wont take long.

Will there be many Sligo fans down at the game tomorrow night?

DonalE
27/06/2008, 3:45 PM
Hi,
OnSide magazine will be at the game and are looking for a sligo fan to participate in the fan focus feature. Just a few questions etc before the game wont take long.

30 at least

Rovers fan
27/06/2008, 4:02 PM
Hi,

will ye be selling the 1st issue?

alansmithccfc
27/06/2008, 5:33 PM
will ye be selling the 1st issue?I'm not sure. I'm only doing a couple of interviews with fans and have nothing to do with selling the mag tomorrow night. I'l try and find out and let you know

Thanks,
Alan

27/06/2008, 7:16 PM
Should be well able to win this one, Cobh are a first division side and a draw or worse really would be a poor result.

Boo_Boy
27/06/2008, 7:19 PM

Good luck finding a sober one..:D

sligofan4ever
27/06/2008, 9:20 PM
according to Rovers website Feeney (hamstring) and Judge (chest infection) are out of this one. But atleast Butler and Coleman are back. Altough our attacking options arent great again with Faz gone to Drogs (according to another thread).

DonalE
28/06/2008, 10:09 AM
3-1 to Rovers, Faz to score his farewell goal and give RoryH something to sing about

28/06/2008, 6:47 PM
brush, seamie, butler, almeida, peers, raf, doherty, o'grady, ventre, anto, boco.

faz isn't at the game

28/06/2008, 6:50 PM
1-0 doherty, deflected shot

28/06/2008, 6:59 PM
boco missed a peno. anto scored 2 mins later. oh ye of little faith who thought we couldn't beat a 1st division team...

28/06/2008, 7:11 PM
Great start to the match.

Does anyone know who pays Faz's wages this week?

28/06/2008, 7:51 PM
Mauro off with back injury, McKenzie on.

28/06/2008, 7:54 PM
3-0...:D

28/06/2008, 7:55 PM
3-0 boco header

28/06/2008, 8:19 PM
Butler off injured with knee problem, Judge on.

Not good on the defensive injuries front:(

28/06/2008, 8:24 PM
3-1...

sligofan4ever
28/06/2008, 8:38 PM
3-1 should be a good result since thats how it looks to finish. I never understood why people tought we'd get beaten by them. Anyone know what happened with Boco's Peno ? was it saved or did he miss the target ?

28/06/2008, 8:47 PM
Saved

Boo_Boy
28/06/2008, 9:00 PM
I didnt understand why alot of people on here said we would lose to them.:confused:

sligofan4ever
28/06/2008, 9:06 PM
I didnt understand why alot of people on here said we would lose to them.:confused:

Same, we would've been well capable of beating them anyways but lets hope we can push forward from this. And also people say we should be positiv about Rovers yet they say we cant beat Cobh Ramblers.

28/06/2008, 9:11 PM

Because our recent form coming into this was absolute ****.
Because it's a 5hr+ journey that the lads would have to burden on the same day as the game.
Because Cookie's recent tactics have been baffling.
And because some (not me) would argue that our season is over already while Cobh have the relegation to fight.

happydays97
28/06/2008, 9:39 PM
Great start to the match.

Does anyone know who pays Faz's wages this week?

Sligo will have to pay his wages. He's under contract there till the transfer window opens.

His new contract can't start with Drogs until July 1st

28/06/2008, 11:00 PM
Well then why wasn't he playing? Or at least made travel with the squad instead of swanning around Drogheda getting settled in.

sligofan4ever
28/06/2008, 11:05 PM
Well then why wasn't he playing? Or at least made travel with the squad instead of swanning around Drogheda getting settled in.

Wouldve liked too see him play one last match before he goes on the first of July. but I think that shows he wanted out of Sligo Rovers badly if he didnt want to play one last match before officially going to Drogs.

28/06/2008, 11:12 PM
if he didnt want to play one last match before officially going to Drogs.Just in case anyone takes it the wrong way, I'm not saying it was Faz's decision not to play. It's a question for Paul Cook really as he picked the team.

sligofan4ever
28/06/2008, 11:15 PM
Just in case anyone takes it the wrong way, I'm not saying it was Faz's decision not to play. It's a question for Paul Cook really as he picked the team.

I doubt Faz was going to be a part of the team anyways but we still did well without 3-1 was a decent result.

sligored
28/06/2008, 11:19 PM
is it unfair to say that maybe we might be a better "team" without faz

Only1Rovers
28/06/2008, 11:21 PM

I thought he wasn't putting the effort in??????????? why would you want him on the pitch?

Any excuse to have a go at him i fink.

Only1Rovers
28/06/2008, 11:22 PM
is it unfair to say that maybe we might be a better "team" without faz

The Terry Henry effect?

28/06/2008, 11:23 PM
I thought he wasn't putting the effort in??????????? why would you want him on the pitch?

Any excuse to have a go at him i fink.No, just don't see why we pay his wages if he's not going to be even at the match.