View Full Version : New signings

13/06/2008, 11:17 PM
anybody know anything about these lads?

Stephen Goggin - Tramore AFC
Eoin O'Brien - Newmarket Celtic (thats clare right?)
Paul Walsh - Bohemians Waterford

these wouldnt be all UL by any chance would they??

Super Rovers
14/06/2008, 3:19 AM

indeed they would. all play or played with ul.

stephen goggin - centre/right mid. very good at breaking up the play and a tough tackler, a gattusso type of player. played with ul last year but think he is graduating from the college in september.

eoin o brien - left back/mid. very pacy and good on the ball. going into his last year in ul come september.

paul walsh - forward. very pacy and skillful and good finisher. going into his 2nd year in ul, september.

14/06/2008, 9:37 AM
Sounds promising, particularly need a player like Goggin from the sounds of things

see's it
14/06/2008, 7:26 PM
a player like him not another novice to the EL though

da bishop
15/06/2008, 3:09 PM

none of these lads any better than what we have already.lad from clare previously with lims 21s.when are we changing our name UL LIMERICK 37.

waylanderj
15/06/2008, 3:34 PM
Limerick 37 merging with UL would be a good idea in my opinion
the facillites are way better and cheaper too
plus football scholarships could be offered

JohnD
15/06/2008, 7:18 PM
How about getting some players from other junior clubs besides UL ?

Or does Lavelle not allow Mike to do this ? ;-(

John

15/06/2008, 7:22 PM
your going along the right lines but a merger with any college would be out as the FAI (i would imagine) be less then impressed with another college team being in the league. good points though

16/06/2008, 12:12 PM
indeed they would. all play or played with ul.

stephen goggin - centre/right mid. very good at breaking up the play and a tough tackler, a gattusso type of player. played with ul last year but think he is graduating from the college in september.

eoin o brien - left back/mid. very pacy and good on the ball. going into his last year in ul come september.

paul walsh - forward. very pacy and skillful and good finisher. going into his 2nd year in ul, september.

i don't know anything about these players so would you consider them to be an improvement on what we have and will they add some quality that is much needed in the squad? :ball:

gaidin
16/06/2008, 4:14 PM
i don't know anything about these players so would you consider them to be an improvement on what we have and will they add some quality that is much needed in the squad? :ball:

Dont think they will be much of an improvement on who is already there.

Maybe they will be used more for the A championship. That is starting this weekend isnt it?

sligofan4ever
16/06/2008, 6:51 PM

played and scored for the Liverpool ledgends on saturday :D

Super Rovers
16/06/2008, 10:22 PM

havent seen any limerick matches this year as im in the states for the summer so dont know who is playing well and where they are playing well. but definately walsh will improve yere scoring drought. excellent control and very quick. would need to be alongside delboy though cause by the description of bruton on here he sounds like a similar type player

L37Ultra
16/06/2008, 10:28 PM
I was impressed with Stephen Goggin in that game V Salthill Devon on Saturday. I think we badly need a defensive midfield type player and he slots into that role perfectly. Has Colm Caroll signed also? He is also a good player. They may end up playing in the A League but its good to add strength and depth to the squad.

see's it
17/06/2008, 1:54 PM
havent seen any limerick matches this year as im in the states for the summer so dont know who is playing well and where they are playing well. but definately walsh will improve yere scoring drought. excellent control and very quick. would need to be alongside delboy though cause by the description of bruton on here he sounds like a similar type player

Delboy?

17/06/2008, 3:00 PM
Delboy?

Derek McCarthy

Green_Hoop
17/06/2008, 4:31 PM
Delboy?

Rodney's brother.

Monkfish
17/06/2008, 7:01 PM
How about getting some players from other junior clubs besides UL ?

Indeed, I demand we raid the Desmond league seeing as its now officially the best in Limerick!

the quiet 1
18/06/2008, 1:58 PM
Jason Hughes has signed for Limerick 37 last night. He is only 18 but a fine stricker. IMO

Green_Hoop
18/06/2008, 2:30 PM
Jason Hughes has signed for Limerick 37 last night. He is only 18 but a fine stricker. IMO

It isn't potential players ye need at this stage to be honest. Some solid seasoned players.

18/06/2008, 3:36 PM
It isn't potential players ye need at this stage to be honest. Some solid seasoned players.

he's probably another one for the A team maybe.

dell hell
18/06/2008, 5:48 PM
Indeed, I demand we raid the Desmond league seeing as its now officially the best in Limerick!

bit stupid really...why don't ye bring players in from other EL clubs whats the word i'm looking for EXPERIENCED players

Monkfish
18/06/2008, 5:57 PM
bit stupid really...why don't ye bring players in from other EL clubs whats the word i'm looking for EXPERIENCED players

Like who? Glen Crowe, Neil Fenn and Danny Murphy probably wont take the 2000% wage cut. Bruton, McCarthy, Colbert, Barrett, Purcell all have years experience in the league. What we want is a young, locally based team which we can build and add to over the coming seasons. We have no choice anyway cause we cant afford the wages some of the top players in the league demand.

20/06/2008, 4:29 PM
Players in:
Bobby Tier - Fairview
Rory Carroll - Kilmallock
Owen O'Sullivan - Fairview
Damian O'Rourke - Park Rangers
Brian Collopy - Wembley
Jason Hughes - Lourdes Celtic
Shane Barry - Limerick
Gary Sheehan - Limerick

abbeyvale
23/06/2008, 12:45 PM
Players in:
Bobby Tier - Fairview
Brian Collopy - Wembley
Shane Barry - Limerick
Gary Sheehan - Limerick

Have these all signed?

Battery Rover
23/06/2008, 1:18 PM
Gary Sheehan played Friday night

23/06/2008, 3:03 PM
Have these all signed?

yep with more to follow

L37Ultra
23/06/2008, 11:19 PM
Gary Sheehan played Friday night

As did Jason Hughes.

Anyone know the A team line-up for Sunday's game against Bray?

I know Manjor, Quinlivan, Grant, Fyfe, Gary Sheehan and Eoin O Brien all played.

abbeyvale
24/06/2008, 7:46 AM
yep with more to follow

Whats the story with teh A championships?
Do you have to be under a certain age?
If a player signs a first team contract can he play with the "A" team?

L37Ultra
24/06/2008, 11:25 AM
Whats the story with teh A championships?
Do you have to be under a certain age?

Theres no age limit.

There was about 5 first team players playing against Bray last Sunday so yes is the answer to your second question, I presume.

KevB76
24/06/2008, 12:09 PM

Yes, its a reserves league.

Market's Field
24/06/2008, 5:07 PM
As did Jason Hughes.

Anyone know the A team line-up for Sunday's game against Bray?

I know Manjor, Quinlivan, Grant, Fyfe, Gary Sheehan and Eoin O Brien all played.

Team line-up (according to the Bray Wanderers website) was:
1 Jimmy Fyffe (c); 2 Eoin O'Brien, 5 Owen O'Sullivan, 4 Damien O'Rourke, 3 Evan Quinlivan; 11 Gary Sheehan, 6 Bobby Tier, 8 Chimba Manjor, 7 Johnathan Grant; 9 Dave Ryan, 10 Rory O'Sullivan
Subs: 20 Shane Barry (gk, for Ryan 58)

You'll notice that Shane Barry came on in goals which meant Jimmy Fyffe played the last 32 mins up front! I guesss that means we only had 12 players???

24/06/2008, 7:25 PM
Players in:
Craig O'Hanlon - Wembley
Shane Byrne - Fairview

see's it
24/06/2008, 7:34 PM
is billy barrett involved in any way with the 20s?

L37Ultra
24/06/2008, 10:34 PM
is billy barrett involved in any way with the 20s?

Yes he is.

the only 1
25/06/2008, 6:34 AM
jesus lim37 are signing some top class players:rolleyes:

Joe McSweeney
25/06/2008, 8:00 AM
Players in:

Is this the ex-city player?

Right back and centre half are the two positions he can play like? Just back from the states?

Was hoping City would sign him back if it is-ye could have a quality player on ye'r hands.

superhero
26/06/2008, 9:39 AM
jesus lim37 are signing some top class players:rolleyes:

Sure pay peanuts get monkey

superhero
26/06/2008, 12:56 PM
Rossi was released from L37 also

L37Ultra
26/06/2008, 1:03 PM

That was expected.

Monkfish
26/06/2008, 2:07 PM
Sure pay peanuts get monkey

Racist!

Welcome. :)

waylanderj
26/06/2008, 8:44 PM
Gary Sheehan is a fine player
very fast

balls
26/06/2008, 9:33 PM
he bagged a brace tonight fair play to the lad

Aaron
30/06/2008, 7:16 PM
Players in:
Bobby Tier - Fairview
Brian Collopy - Wembley
Shane Barry - Limerick
Gary Sheehan - Limerick

Players in:
Craig O'Hanlon - Wembley
Shane Byrne - Fairview

Which of the above will be for the first team and which for A Championship. I dont want to litter the transfer thread with A Championship signings

Who is Rossi?

30/06/2008, 8:15 PM
Which of the above will be for the first team and which for A Championship. I dont want to litter the transfer thread with A Championship signings

Who is Rossi?

Leave it alone it looks impressive :D Seriously all players have been added to the squad there is no distingtion between A and first team players. Rossi would be Ross Cosgrove who has joined Pallas Utd, and Donie Curtin has also left the club

Green_Hoop
30/06/2008, 9:00 PM
Was just about to ask when gael sort of answered my question, with the aforementioned signings of recent, has there been any players off loaded? For cost purposes and all that malark.

the dazzler
30/06/2008, 9:21 PM
why didnt kerley ask alan carroll + harnett was told by both players they werent even asked to sign a disgrace when they likes of manjor plays:mad:

see's it
01/07/2008, 8:54 AM
why didnt kerley ask alan carroll + harnett was told by both players they werent even asked to sign a disgrace when they likes of manjor plays:mad:

both players asked numerous times.......

the dazzler
01/07/2008, 4:44 PM
both players asked numerous times.......

alan carroll was never asked

Monkfish
01/07/2008, 7:02 PM

Did Alan ask us? is he the next Ronaldo or something? :)

oscar
01/07/2008, 8:35 PM

ah yes he was