View Full Version : Provisional Licence D-Day
From 1st July all provisional licence holders need to be accompanied by full licence holder.
The RSA seem to have significantly increased the number of tests so now done on weekends too to get the backlog down. Its amazing they could not do this years ago.
I know a couple of people who passed recently at second attempt & unless they improved dramatically I have a suspicion pass % has been increasing. Either that or the fear of July 1st deadline made them take the test seriously.
Any one else noticed this?
13/06/2008, 2:57 PM
Waiting list has gone way down. I just applied yesterday for the 4th time. Twice I accept I failed, the third time was a joke (I didn't take the first seriously, the second nerves got the better of me and I made a silly mistake, the third baffles me, reasons for failing were never highlighted in numerous lessons and pre-tests and I know I drove the same way in the test itself as I had no nerves at all).
Unfortunately our testing system is horribly flawed, but that's a whole other argument.
It's ridiculous that it's taken this long to get the waiting lists down, it'll be interesting to see if they keep them down once the publicity dies away. I still think our attitudes to teaching people to drive and driver education need to be tackled before road safety improves. Many full license holder seem to think that getting a pink license allows you to forget the basic principles of safe driving.
It's like the 80s all over again. Two female drivers I know recently (last two weeks) passed on the first attempt. This despite one of them admitting to breaking down on m50, pulling over and crying the day before her test. She did so badly in her last test run she wasn't even going to bother going, and was only persuaded to go by her boyfriend asking her to drive to the test centre, see how she did and decide from there. Judging by that I have a feeling they are just throwing licences out before the deadline
13/06/2008, 3:00 PM
Pass rates are still below 50% in most of the Dublin and East coast test centers. As you go further West the pass rate is 60% or more oddly.
Its probably because we're better human beings than East Coasters
13/06/2008, 3:12 PM
Better drivers than me anyway... apparently! :)
anto1208
13/06/2008, 3:26 PM
Better drivers than me anyway... apparently! :)
Took me 4 goes too so dont feel too bad First was nerves 2nd i thought i did well in but failed , 3rd i failed because i went through an orange light , it changed when i was 5 feet from the line so i kept going as i couldnt stop in time and he said i broke a red light !!!! and the last one which i feel was the worst of the lot i passed !!!
So go figure
Billsthoughts
13/06/2008, 3:37 PM
People driving too fast on country roads seems to be the main cause of accidents and death in this country. Very rarely hear of any fatal crashes in Dublin. Got my test last week with only one fault. First time I had ever sat it. Wouldnt say they are any easier than before but the out sourced testers seem to be a lot less anal than the civil servant ones. As well as that the testing sheet and marking scheme is out there so easy enough to focus on the competencies.
KevB76
13/06/2008, 4:02 PM
Wouldnt say they are any easier than before but the out sourced testers seem to be a lot less anal than the civil servant ones.
I'd be inclined to agree with that :D
KevB76
13/06/2008, 4:10 PM
The RSA seem to have significantly increased the number of tests so now done on weekends too to get the backlog down. Its amazing they could not do this years ago.
Good point, my brother did his test a few weeks ago, I was astounded that he only had to wait about 6 weeks ! Its not so long ago another family member had to wait an eternity (well more than 6 months anyway) for the test date.
6 weeks is reasonable and acceptable and in line with the UK for example, should have been done years ago but at least they've got it right eventually.
In fairness, all credit to the powers that be for finally getting this sorted. The situation in this country with L drivers driving home (and everywhere else)after failing the test has always been slightly bothersome to me.
Student Mullet
13/06/2008, 4:12 PM
I'd be inclined to agree with that :D
That's my opinion as well.
13/06/2008, 4:25 PM
Failed my first attempt last month due to a bizarre mix up about the test centre on the day. Waiting on my date for the second go.
The crackdown appears to have started in Cork already pete, you sure its not til July?
13/06/2008, 4:33 PM
It's ridiculous that it's taken this long to get the waiting lists down, it'll be interesting to see if they keep them down once the publicity dies away. I still think our attitudes to teaching people to drive and driver education need to be tackled before road safety improves. Many full license holder seem to think that getting a pink license allows you to forget the basic principles of safe driving.
Driving should be a school subject. Its certainly more worthwhile than say, Irish, or imaginary numbers. It should be taught on a lessons-style basis and on an "hours"/miles type basis like flying a plane. I've driven 15,000 miles up and down the country in cities and in rural areas and on high speed areas; yet at the moment I'm just as much illegal as my girlfriend who hasn't actually driven at all. The test seems to be just a performance, putting on a show for the tester, all the exaggerated head movement, checking mirrors in cul de sacs, constant gear changing.
The crackdown appears to have started in Cork already pete, you sure its not til July?
I think that is a separate campaign this weekend although L platers current rules will be enforced. i.e. some L players can drive unaccompanied.
Maybe the system has always been a lottery (I know when I passed years ago on 2nd attempt I was a little surprised) however the two guys at work failed very badly last year. One guy was unable to acknowledge why he failed but maybe he did take it more seriously this time. Still surprised some of ye have same suspicions.
Where can you get the current pass rates?
redtildead
13/06/2008, 6:13 PM
Pass rates and waiting times here, in the column on the left
http://www.drivingtest.ie/frameset.html
I got my test in 5 weeks last December passed it first time
13/06/2008, 6:23 PM
Judging by that I have a feeling they are just throwing licences out before the deadlineI agree. I know a fella who got a couple of theory questions wrong in the test and yer man said 'are you sure' basically giving him the hint that he's wrong and to guess again. It's only a small thing but I do think they're easing up just to clear waiting list.
Good time to get your test out of the way now.
Pass rates and waiting times here, in the column on the left
Figures are for 2006. I think there were 400k+ provisional licence holders last winter. At 50% pass rates that is a lot of tests to get number down. Of course if pass rate is say 70% could clear in them a lot quicker.
Would not be surprised at all if Minister gave an unofficial decree as lets face there would be massive backlash and votes lost fromL platers unable to drive to work legally.
gilberto_eire
15/06/2008, 12:37 AM
Figures are for 2006. I think there were 400k+ provisional licence holders last winter. At 50% pass rates that is a lot of tests to get number down. Of course if pass rate is say 70% could clear in them a lot quicker.
Would not be surprised at all if Minister gave an unofficial decree as lets face there would be massive backlash and votes lost fromL platers unable to drive to work legally.
That's what i was thinking, i knew the figure was between 400-500k, if Fine Gael were to come out and say that they would back the L plate drivers they would gain a massive margin on Finna Fail, voters don't care about Hospitals and roads(in general), they care about stuff that affects them directly and it would get a lot of new voters on the register.
However the election has just passed and from a safety point of view i could'nt it been offered to a return to the current system.
What's needed is a new system that does'nt put new drivers COMPLETLY off the road, there has to be some lee-way.
How are new drivers meant to get experience when they can't legally drive?!
15/06/2008, 12:45 AM
Didn't realise those pass rates were from '06. I'd imagine they probably have started passing more people then. Would be interesting to see. I hope to God I pass this time, I don't think I could live with the slagging if I get failed again.
The girlfriend passed first time a few moths back, she only had her first provisional 7 months. To make it worse the same instructor, on the same test route, passed her, all her family have passed first time too (parents and three siblings) the slagging I get is unmerciful already.
I wouldn't mind but people are always commenting that I'm a good driver, including instructors and people who would normally be nervous passengers. I reckon I've clocked over 20,000 miles of driving, seriously think I'll be tempted to burn the car if I fail again!
Billsthoughts
15/06/2008, 12:57 AM
I agree. I know a fella who got a couple of theory questions wrong in the test and yer man said 'are you sure' basically giving him the hint that he's wrong and to guess again. It's only a small thing but I do think they're easing up just to clear waiting list.
Good time to get your test out of the way now.
it is policy to give them as much chance to get the questions rite as possible. its on drivingtest.ie or something. to fail the test on the questions you would nearly need to get every single one wrong.passinginterest there is a little book out called how to pass the driving test. i found it v helpfull. its not that big but it goes thru each thing they test ya on in a clear way. its deffo on the counter of the book shop n stephens green centre. just read that and didnt get any pre test lessons.
best of luck with it anyways and dont be bothered bout anyone else passing it.
15/06/2008, 1:19 AM
it is policy to give them as much chance to get the questions rite as possible. its on drivingtest.ie or something. to fail the test on the questions you would nearly need to get every single one wrong.passinginterest there is a little book out called how to pass the driving test. i found it v helpfull. its not that big but it goes thru each thing they test ya on in a clear way. its deffo on the counter of the book shop n stephens green centre. just read that and didnt get any pre test lessons.
best of luck with it anyways and dont be bothered bout anyone else passing it.
Had that book the last time. It's excellent. I was 100% certain I should have passed the last time. It was way better than my previous attempt and I would have passed that but for one stupid mistake (the guy actually apologised and said sorry he couldn't pass me). I'm convinced I came across as over confident, I was very relaxed, our car looks a little sporty (despite being a totally unmodified 1.3 Hyundai), the tester just decided she was going to fail me. The things she marked me for were so different to my previous tests and to anything that was mentioned in pre tests. I had to ask her to repeat herself when she told be I failed because I was convinced I heard wrong!
EDIT to say thanks for the advice and good wishes :)
Anyway as is pretty obvious I'm a bit bitter about it. I looked into the appeals process, but it's basically non-existent, you have to go to court and the most they can do is order a re-test. I don't drive much since the other half passed anyway, no point taking the chance, it's just handy when I want to head home to Wexford the odd time, otherwise I wouldn't be bothered if I never passed.
15/06/2008, 11:11 AM
Passed yesterday on my first and a half go (car wasn't ready the first time.)
Two people before me both passed aswell, a fella on his first go and african woman on her fourth.
Very handy.
Insurance won't come down that much until i'm 25 but at least I don't have to dodge the PSNI next time I'm in Derry.:eek:
shantykelly
15/06/2008, 1:47 PM
ssems like the gardai-psni co-operation is increasing. student engineer on our site in derry was coming back from belfast the other day. hes from clonmany and his car is dl reg, tax was about 3 months out. psni hit him with a £200 fine on the spot.
Cooperation is always possible when money involved.
In fairness, all credit to the powers that be for finally getting this sorted. The situation in this country with L drivers driving home (and everywhere else)after failing the test has always been slightly bothersome to me.
For creating the mess in the first place? It's year 11 of this Government, not year 1.
16/06/2008, 12:52 PM
How can the PSNI verify that a car is untaxed in another jurisdiction?
I would presume they don't have access to the Irish tax records and made the decision on the basis of the old tax disk displayed.
I'd almost guarantee this could be appealed.
Billsthoughts
16/06/2008, 1:06 PM
Saw one road block all weekend. On a roundabout in the middle of nowhere.
Just on the earlier point about observation being all a show for the tester. I nearly got ploughed by some sham pulling out of an estate last nite cause he was waiting for a van to pass before pulling out and then pulled ou with out looking to see I was coming the other way. Ya need to be aware of your surroundings so its not just for show.
I would presume they don't have access to the Irish tax records and made the decision on the basis of the old tax disk displayed.
Don't know about the UK, but I assume it's the same as here, in that the fine is for failure to display a current tax disc. Doesn't matter if you actually have one or not (although in most cases if you said you did have one you'd get a chance to produce it).
btw - the waiting list for the NCT is ridiculous. I think it's same company that does the NCT and the driver test. One side of the system improves the other gets worse. Should've just gone for an MOT style system with proper controls, where you can just turn up at an approved garage.
Wolfie
16/06/2008, 1:13 PM
Had that book the last time. It's excellent. I was 100% certain I should have passed the last time. It was way better than my previous attempt and I would have passed that but for one stupid mistake (the guy actually apologised and said sorry he couldn't pass me). I'm convinced I came across as over confident, I was very relaxed, our car looks a little sporty (despite being a totally unmodified 1.3 Hyundai), the tester just decided she was going to fail me. The things she marked me for were so different to my previous tests and to anything that was mentioned in pre tests. I had to ask her to repeat herself when she told be I failed because I was convinced I heard wrong!
EDIT to say thanks for the advice and good wishes
Anyway as is pretty obvious I'm a bit bitter about it. I looked into the appeals process, but it's basically non-existent, you have to go to court and the most they can do is order a re-test. I don't drive much since the other half passed anyway, no point taking the chance, it's just handy when I want to head home to Wexford the odd time, otherwise I wouldn't be bothered if I never passed.
Even your Username mocks you, Passing Interest!!!! :)
I've endured the same woes - failed in March for the third time. :(
In fairness, I've contributed to my own downfall here - zero interest for years and poor preparation. That said, thought I drove well for the last test.
I was a bit unfortunate as the lights had failed at a junction which threw me a bit. I slowed right down to ensure the way was safe and clear and then proceeded but apparently in this instance you treat the junction with the faulty lights as a Full Stop. It was a safe manouevre - but the wrong one. :(
What works against me is that I don't drive continuously which leads to rustiness.
At least I'll have a designated driver as the Missus passed 7 years ago - first time.
KevB76
17/06/2008, 12:29 PM
btw - the waiting list for the NCT is ridiculous.
I'd say the nct waiting list depends upon where you are.
Here the wait is about 2 weeks which is grand.
Student Mullet
17/06/2008, 5:04 PM
At a guess I'd say that your appeal would have to include evidence that your car was taxed. If you don't have that you won't get far.
I got stopped today and my dad got stopped yesterday so they're about.
17/06/2008, 5:24 PM
I was out this morning, and there seemed to be an unusually high number of cars with L plates around. I wonder if it's people preparing for those last minute tests, or just fear that they'll get done for not displaying the plates at the moment.
17/06/2008, 7:37 PM
At a guess I'd say that your appeal would have to include evidence that your car was taxed. If you don't have that you won't get far.
I got stopped today and my dad got stopped yesterday so they're about.I got stopped three times on Friday driving across the country, but thats not the point.
You can't enforce another country's laws and to the extent you are enforcing your owns laws, you need sufficient evidence to do this.
But good to see the Guards and PSNI enforcing road rules. The cost of uninsured drivers (who will also likely be untaxed) adds a sizeable amount to everyone's annual premium.
I heard a news story that the pass rate in the private test centres in higher. Could not find web link though...
65% against 51% according to Radio 1 this morning.
I passed a guy on a motorbike today - hi-vis vest, and an L plate stuck on his back. Is that part of the new regs.?
65% against 51% according to Radio 1 this morning.
I passed a guy on a motorbike today - hi-vis vest, and an L plate stuck on his back. Is that part of the new regs.?
65% is almost 1/3 better chance than 51% which is significant,
Noticing a few more shiny new L plates in recent weeks. I think many some people were not displaying them previously.
18/06/2008, 12:08 PM
The pass rates were in the Herald yesterday. In one particular town the RSA centre had a 30 something percent pass rate while the SGS center had close to 70 percent. The justification was that those tested by SGS have been waiting longer and are better prepared.
18/06/2008, 12:50 PM
Im doing my test with SGS on the 8th of July. Just back from my 4th lesson there now and the instructor was fairly impressed. Anyone else here do their's with SGS?
higgins
18/06/2008, 2:04 PM
They say thy have been handing the SGS crowd the more experienced drivers, those waiting for longer periods and who were on 2nd 3rd etc provisionals.
I would stand to reason that these are people with more driving experience and the pass rate would be higher ?
They say thy have been handing the SGS crowd the more experienced drivers, those waiting for longer periods and who were on 2nd 3rd etc provisionals.
I would stand to reason that these are people with more driving experience and the pass rate would be higher ?
You could also suggest they are getting the 4+ brigade. Lets face it if you can't pass after 3 you probably never will.
Sometimes more experience means more bad habits for the test.
higgins
18/06/2008, 5:29 PM
Yeah but it was very common for people to get to the 3rd license and not have done a driving test. There was never any real need to rush was there ? Insurance being the only factor. I had a 1st provisional and never really used it to drive! Couple of years later I got the 2nd provisional but was out of the country when it came for my test date. Eventually I had to re order the test then apply for a 3rd provisional. I was a further 8 months waiting on a test.
I assume I was passed over to the SGS crowd when they started to clear the backlog as I was down as a 3rd provisional licence holder.
I'd never failed a test yet was 8 months into my 3rd provisional.
Of course those on the 4th 5th etc would have had to do a test but not the ones on a 3rd.
Having said that the pass rate does seem very high in certain places and I wouldn't be surprised if they were told to clear the backlog 'wink' 'wink'
joe_barry80
24/06/2008, 10:02 AM
I have to say the Driving license setup in Ireland is a disaster. I keep hearing about people failing 2 or 3 times. Can people not see that they are just doing you for more money? My auntie got her driving license given to her in the 80's because the list was so long. To be honest I do have worries when I get in the car with her.
I done my driving license here in Austria the system here is great but maybe expensive.
1. You register with a driving school.
2. You have to do a 2 week course 3 1/2 Hours Mon - Fri
3. Within these 2 weeks you have your driving lessons Min 15 Hours Driving
4. After the 2 week course you can sit the computer test.
5. A week after that you do the driving test; 99.9% pass
6. You get a paper saying you passed and you can drive that minute away.
7. A week later your License comes
8. Within a year you have to do 2 times an hour with the instructor and a day at a track where you practice breaking on wet surfaces and fake ice surfaces. You also have to talk to a psychologist for an hour.
9. Then you are on a 2 year probation. e.g. Your alcohol intake must be low, no accidents, speeding etc. Or you have to go back and do the re schooling.
10. You don't have to renew the licence either
That cost me in total €1400 all in Lesson's, License, Taxes, The Extra Courses
It sounds a lot but you are out driving within 3 weeks.
anto1208
24/06/2008, 10:20 AM
I have to say the Driving license setup in Ireland is a disaster. I keep hearing about people failing 2 or 3 times. Can people not see that they are just doing you for more money? My auntie got her driving license given to her in the 80's because the list was so long. To be honest I do have worries when I get in the car with her.
I done my driving license here in Austria the system here is great but maybe expensive.
1. You register with a driving school.
2. You have to do a 2 week course 3 1/2 Hours Mon - Fri
3. Within these 2 weeks you have your driving lessons Min 15 Hours Driving
4. After the 2 week course you can sit the computer test.
5. A week after that you do the driving test; 99.9% pass
6. You get a paper saying you passed and you can drive that minute away.
7. A week later your License comes
8. Within a year you have to do 2 times an hour with the instructor and a day at a track where you practice breaking on wet surfaces and fake ice surfaces. You also have to talk to a psychologist for an hour.
9. Then you are on a 2 year probation. e.g. Your alcohol intake must be low, no accidents, speeding etc. Or you have to go back and do the re schooling.
10. You don't have to renew the licence either
That cost me in total €1400 all in Lesson's, License, Taxes, The Extra Courses
It sounds a lot but you are out driving within 3 weeks.
You can pay up to 50euro for a lesson here and some people need to get 20 or 30 lessons and still fail, so 1400 to get it right in 3 weeks sounds much better.
The problem on Irish roads is they teach people how to drive at 30 mph around a city then when they can just about do that your alloud to drive at 60 on country roads or 70 on motorways and they wonder why the road deaths are so high.
How long have the government been talking about regulation of driving instructors? Aside from the obvious flaws of a system that allowed you to fail a test & drive home it is ludicrous that anyone can set themselves up as a driving instructor with a roof sign. Seriously, how hard is for the Minister & department to come up with a regulatory system - they have one for almost everything else you can think of.
ramsfan
26/06/2008, 5:50 PM
only country in world that you can fail your driving test for major errors and still drive home from test centre:confused:
26/06/2008, 7:52 PM
You can pay up to 50euro for a lesson here and some people need to get 20 or 30 lessons and still fail, so 1400 to get it right in 3 weeks sounds much better.
The problem on Irish roads is they teach people how to drive at 30 mph around a city then when they can just about do that your alloud to drive at 60 on country roads or 70 on motorways and they wonder why the road deaths are so high.
20 or 30? :eek: who are these people and where should i avoid?
Newryrep
27/06/2008, 7:55 AM
How long have the government been talking about regulation of driving instructors? Aside from the obvious flaws of a system that allowed you to fail a test & drive home it is ludicrous that anyone can set themselves up as a driving instructor with a roof sign. Seriously, how hard is for the Minister & department to come up with a regulatory system - they have one for almost everything else you can think of.
Why do driving instructors need to be particulaly regulated ?. Who pays for this regulation ?, do we need to hire more public servents to check driving instructor standards - you have got to be joking
This is driving a bloody car. 95% of it is common sense/experience after you have mastered the basics of changing gear/signal/brake etc.
If people need 30-40 lessons from a driving instructor to pass a test
a. They are too stupid to realise that driving instructor is ****
b. They are too stupid to realise they are a **** driver and maybe they shouldnt be driving at all.
Note: I speak as somebody who passed UK test first time ,who never took a lesson but drove occasionally but always accompanyied for almost 2 years so I had the necessary confidence.
Nobody has a right to drive iresspective of whether they live in the city centre or out in the middle of nowhere.
Anybody who has been driving on their own for years and still failed their test perhaps shouldnt be on the road.
Why do driving instructors need to be particulaly regulated?. Who pays for this regulation?.
Usually the regulated pay for the regulation. Instructors should have to pass a test to ensure they are training people correctly. Correctly trained drivers is the benefit of everyone.
Newryrep
27/06/2008, 9:27 AM
Usually the regulated pay for the regulation. Instructors should have to pass a test to ensure they are training people correctly. Correctly trained drivers is the benefit of everyone.
So the private sector will pay for the public sector to regulate them
If instructors are not training people correctly then they will be failing tests - if people are failing tests because of an instructor, word will quickly spread and he will be out of business.
Correctly trained drivers are a benefit to everyone but you dont need an instructor, nor a registered instructor teaching you to be a good driver.
I have no objection to the testers being regulated/checked but regulating driver instructors sound like 'lets make up a job' - it doesnt need it and there are more needy regulating bodies of public money eg Nursing homes
27/06/2008, 11:34 AM
So the private sector will pay for the public sector to regulate them
If instructors are not training people correctly then they will be failing tests - if people are failing tests because of an instructor, word will quickly spread and he will be out of business.
I have a similar line of thought on doctors. Screw this medical qualification BS - it's costing the state stupid money.