View Full Version : Limerick Transfer Rumours 2008
Pages :
[
3]
Balbec77
18/06/2008, 4:34 PM
martin wallace plays inter firm with us as far as i know he is off to australia in july for a year
Green_Hoop
18/06/2008, 4:53 PM
well said philbert.he has been knocking around the balla team around 3 years now id say.any time i have watched him play which has been at least 5times he has done nothing.balla only seem to play him when they want to give others a break imo.he would never start if balla had a full strength side.cant see why pike would want to sign him,sure they have boyle and o donovan for the right wing.imo what pike need badly are another top quality centre back,a left winger and a top centre forward.anybody from pike agree with me?
i think they are pretty much ok everywhere else
They need a right back badly, Consistent goal scoring Centre forward to go with Moloney and a Winger.
The right back place should be covered by J.Enright if/when Connie starts playing him in his ideal position. So that would mean they've to pick up a left back of some sort.
I'd like to see Cummins(AA) up front and winger is open to suggestions..
KevB76
18/06/2008, 5:00 PM
Bobby Gregg on the bench with L37 was minor with Wembley
Bobby Gregg has been injured all season, just back in training now I believe. Fine player, had a good season with L37 U21's last year and had a few games for the senior side. He's very good in the air despite being about 3ft tall, reads the game well and tackles hard. One complaint is he can be excessively hot-tempered. Personally I'd like to see him stay with L37, he's good enough for the first team but at least reserves if he's not getting on. Who knows, he might not want that.
see's it
18/06/2008, 8:38 PM
They need a right back badly, Consistent goal scoring Centre forward to go with Moloney and a Winger.
The right back place should be covered by J.Enright if/when Connie starts playing him in his ideal position. So that would mean they've to pick up a left back of some sort.
how about pike (biggest club in limerick) bring a player through from their schoolboy/minors
Green_Hoop
18/06/2008, 9:00 PM
how about pike (biggest club in limerick) bring a player through from their schoolboy/minors
Why do you bother posting when you already know the answer? /Troll man,get a life.
You could say that about most Premier Junior teams, excluding Wembley..
see's it
18/06/2008, 9:04 PM
Why do you bother posting when you already know the answer? /Troll man,get a life.
touchy on the home truths greener?
Green_Hoop
18/06/2008, 9:11 PM
touchy on the home truths greener?
Whoever you support can be said the exact same about unless your a Wembley supporter which I doubt.
Philbert
18/06/2008, 9:18 PM
You could say that about most Premier Junior teams, excluding Wembley..
Dont forget Green hoop, Wembly poach all their players around the 16's level as to have a feeder to their U17's and minor teams... They have been the biggest poachers at the underage levels in Limerick for years...
Not too much credit due there IMO
Credit has to be given to the lads up at Pike who are slowly getting the underage system back up and running...
Through U12's to Minor I never once played against a Pike underage side... A bit shocking to be honest and a shame really, hopefully that will change in the future...
Green_Hoop
18/06/2008, 9:34 PM
Credit has to be given to the lads up at Pike who are slowly getting the underage system back up and running...
Through U12's to Minor I never once played against a Pike underage side... A bit shocking to be honest and a shame really, hopefully that will change in the future...
Your obviously in your 20's then, There was a very solid underage system in place until our former chairman Noonan decided to scrap it for his own reasons.
There's been a solid start these last 2 seasons. 4 trophies this season from 6 age groups isn't too bad a start.
abbeyvale
18/06/2008, 10:22 PM
Why oh why do Carew need astro turf pitches? With no school boys and 1 junior team. Disgrace if its true. Another balls up from the LDMC..
Carew Park will have a B team next season.
abbeyvale
18/06/2008, 10:24 PM
Are you serious? He cant even get on the balla team!
Any Pike fans out there who have seen him play, ye cant honestly see him as a good signing can ye???
Complete spoof green hoop
Pa Barry to Pike or Boro............I told you this 2 weeks ago.
abbeyvale
18/06/2008, 10:26 PM
well said philbert.he has been knocking around the balla team around 3 years now id say.any time i have watched him play which has been at least 5times he has done nothing.balla only seem to play him when they want to give others a break imo.he would never start if balla had a full strength side.cant see why pike would want to sign him,sure they have boyle and o donovan for the right wing.imo what pike need badly are another top quality centre back,a left winger and a top centre forward.anybody from pike agree with me?
i think they are pretty much ok everywhere else
well if the above rumours are correct, you could have o'sullivan up front with moloney.......sniffer can play centre half, and pa barry on the left wing..........problems solved.
hoops12
18/06/2008, 10:53 PM
i wont miss you anyway
green hoop is on pike commitee 2 minutes and he,s putting people down that have given years service to the club
hoops12
18/06/2008, 11:01 PM
Your obviously in your 20's then, There was a very solid underage system in place until our former chairman Noonan decided to scrap it for his own reasons.
There's been a solid start these last 2 seasons. 4 trophies this season from 6 age groups isn't too bad a start.
mick noonan never scrapped schoolboys,where in the name of god are you getting your info from,we were thrown out of schoolboys befor mick noonan came back to the club,
hoops12
18/06/2008, 11:05 PM
Pa Barry to Pike or Boro............I told you this 2 weeks ago.
trust me pa barry will not be playing with pike next season,there wo,nt be too many changes up there but possibiliteis would be mark sheehan,paul finucane,cyril maher and alan barry [if shane o hanlon isnt over the boro]
oscar
18/06/2008, 11:07 PM
shane is over the boro next year
dalegend
18/06/2008, 11:22 PM
Trust me alan nd pa barry wont be playing with pike for definate full stop. Alan wouldnt play with pike even if hanlon wasnt over the boro (his words) Pa's got a choice star or boro if star put a good team together then he'll stay
hoops12
18/06/2008, 11:37 PM
Trust me alan nd pa barry wont be playing with pike for definate full stop. Alan wouldnt play with pike even if hanlon wasnt over the boro (his words) Pa's got a choice star or boro if star put a good team together then he'll stay
pike do,nt want to sign pa believe me.
abbeyvale
19/06/2008, 12:11 AM
pike do,nt want to sign pa believe me.
Now, come on.........They've already asked him (and thats from the man himself)
starbar
19/06/2008, 12:21 AM
its true,conny offered him an irish cap
hoops12
19/06/2008, 1:07 AM
Now, come on.........They've already asked him (and thats from the man himself)
they have not alan honestly.
Green_Hoop
19/06/2008, 1:07 AM
green hoop is on pike commitee 2 minutes and he,s putting people down that have given years service to the club
I'm on the Pike committee now am I? Pity no ones told me for the last 3 weeks(well 23 days to be exact) I would have come back for the announcement..
Reverse there a second,when did I go from being Mark Mulally(well hoops12's interpretation was "go back towalking the field on your own" I think is how he phrased it, to Jan Malone to being on the Pike committee? What next? Any chance I can be connie?
Honest question, Can you be on the LDMC committee and your Club committee? As I apparently am. dalegend my friend, I'm John/Jan Malone right? I've briefly forgotten...
Jesus lads,we're crossing the line now..
halo16
19/06/2008, 7:20 AM
i thought mitchell and purcell were the 2 right back options for pike.both decent players in mr eyes although i would admit jamie enright is probably better.sniffer would possibly solve the centre forward situation but that would leave them with a lack of pace up front.cummins would be a good option but would he leave aisling?i think mark sheehan at left back would be a great signing for pike
halo16
19/06/2008, 7:23 AM
well if the above rumours are correct, you could have o'sullivan up front with moloney.......sniffer can play centre half, and pa barry on the left wing..........problems solved.
wouldnt agree with you there abbey. o sullivan not good enough to be a starter up front in my eyes,maybe a sub right winger.i would agree with you about pa barry,i think sniffer would be a better option up front.aint the quickest but would be a great targetman.anytime ive seen him up front he has played well
Goals4fun
19/06/2008, 8:46 AM
i thought mitchell and purcell were the 2 right back options for pike.both decent players in mr eyes although i would admit jamie enright is probably better.sniffer would possibly solve the centre forward situation but that would leave them with a lack of pace up front.cummins would be a good option but would he leave aisling?i think mark sheehan at left back would be a great signing for pike
pike options at right back are, mitchel, enright, corbert and purcell if stuck.
Purcell played nearly all his games at centre half (pushing mcgarry out to left full when enright played).
Pike have enright, mcgarry and purcell at centre half to chose from.
They could do with sniffer coming back.
halo16
19/06/2008, 9:43 AM
pike options at right back are, mitchel, enright, corbert and purcell if stuck.
Purcell played nearly all his games at centre half (pushing mcgarry out to left full when enright played).
Pike have enright, mcgarry and purcell at centre half to chose from.
They could do with sniffer coming back.
your on the ball ok there goals4fun,i forgot agout corbett.pike look ok across the back so i suppose.i still think one more centre back wudnt go astray though.its a long season.sniffer would defo add another dimension to ye.any sign of derek mc carthy going back to pike?he was good when he was with them a couple of seasons back
Goals4fun
19/06/2008, 11:09 AM
your on the ball ok there goals4fun,i forgot agout corbett.pike look ok across the back so i suppose.i still think one more centre back wudnt go astray though.its a long season.sniffer would defo add another dimension to ye.any sign of derek mc carthy going back to pike?he was good when he was with them a couple of seasons back
derek is playing with limerick as far as i know. he was a good option, but i think sniffer, moloney, funnicane, morris and maybe somebody with pace up front would be good.
halo16
19/06/2008, 12:11 PM
derek is playing with limerick as far as i know. he was a good option, but i think sniffer, moloney, funnicane, morris and maybe somebody with pace up front would be good.
fair point.i would agree with you fully regarding someone with pace.its the one thing the 4 you mentioned are lacking.thats how i thought mccarthy fitted in well when he was there,he has a handy bit of pace.you never know frankie might yet be back:D
Balbec77
19/06/2008, 1:37 PM
would be hopeing mccarty would sign for kilmallock if any team being a kilmallock man at heart and coaching us for the last two seasons but is a limerick 37 player so wishfull thinking
abbeyvale
19/06/2008, 6:19 PM
they have not alan honestly.
He told me they did............Dont shoot the messenger
abbeyvale
19/06/2008, 6:22 PM
Pa Barry can play up front....................easily one of the top 3 quickest Prem players in town.
i think we should start a thread dedicated to the one and only Pa BArry,that way he won't be takin over every other thread:D
see's it
19/06/2008, 9:23 PM
what is it with you and pa barry seriously its not right the amount of times you post about him
abbeyvale
19/06/2008, 9:44 PM
what is it with you and pa barry seriously its not right the amount of times you post about him
Just stating that if he signed with Pike, then they could use him up front as an option (as the Pike lads on here were looking for a pacy striker).
Couldn't care less who he signs with tbh,.
Just stating that if he signed with Pike, then they could use him up front as an option (as the Pike lads on here were looking for a pacy striker).
Couldn't care less who he signs with tbh,.
surely you'd want him to sign back
abbeyvale
19/06/2008, 9:50 PM
surely you'd want him to sign back
Of course I would, what I meant was, IF he does leave, then, where he goes wont make a difference to me.
I wish him all the best and in all fairness, he's too good for Div 1A.
see's it
19/06/2008, 10:07 PM
Of course I would, what I meant was, IF he does leave, then, where he goes wont make a difference to me.
I wish him all the best and in all fairness, he's too good for Div 1A.
is it true pa boland has gone aswell,star could be in trouble for the next few seasons
abbeyvale
19/06/2008, 11:04 PM
is it true pa boland has gone aswell,star could be in trouble for the next few seasons
I'm still waiting to hear from the club..........the managers job has been advertised externally, but I'm not certain if Pa has re-applied for the position, as I haven't seen or spoke to him in a few weeks.
The next decision could make or break the club, as I know a lot of the current squad only signed because of Pa Boland (myself included)................so we'll have to wait and see.
da bishop
19/06/2008, 11:12 PM
its true,conny offered him an irish cap
JEEPERS,i hope gerry smith has those 20 caps ready for conny and has arranged a few extra games to facilitate all the pike lads who are going to get capped.m.sheehan wont sign with pike.p.barry has loads of talent but does not use it,and is certainly very quick but in one direction only,whats important for him is not so much which club he signs for but which manager,one who will get the best out of him.
hoops12
20/06/2008, 12:43 AM
I'm on the Pike committee now am I? Pity no ones told me for the last 3 weeks(well 23 days to be exact) I would have come back for the announcement..
Reverse there a second,when did I go from being Mark Mulally(well hoops12's interpretation was "go back towalking the field on your own" I think is how he phrased it, to Jan Malone to being on the Pike committee? What next? Any chance I can be connie?
Honest question, Can you be on the LDMC committee and your Club committee? As I apparently am. dalegend my friend, I'm John/Jan Malone right? I've briefly forgotten...
Jesus lads,we're crossing the line now..
your a fair man posting from america bout the outcome tuesday and the small matter of expenses ,ps this is the last time i will ever read or reply to your posts and i hope everyone else does the same
big mac
20/06/2008, 6:08 AM
I know we are still in 1a but Aled Harkin,Ger Burke and Ian Dunworth are all giving serious consideration to joining Mungret Regional as they are very good friends with a number of lads on d team......watch this space!This could be a great boost for us next year
whitestripe
20/06/2008, 11:23 AM
Cummins will be back in Limerick and will definately be playing with Aisling next season.
dalegend
20/06/2008, 12:53 PM
Cummins will be back in Limerick and will definately be playing with Aisling next season.
Not if the talk above in the view is true
halo16
20/06/2008, 1:06 PM
id agree with whitestripe that he will prob stay at aisling.hes had a good season.it will be interesting to see how it progresses at the same time though.dont think myself going to fairview would be much of a step up at the moment.will aisling be looking to strengten in any areas for the coming season whitestripe?
I know we are still in 1a but Aled Harkin,Ger Burke and Ian Dunworth are all giving serious consideration to joining Mungret Regional as they are very good friends with a number of lads on d team......watch this space!This could be a great boost for us next year
If Aled Harkin go's any where he is going back to the dines
whitestripe
20/06/2008, 1:39 PM
id agree with whitestripe that he will prob stay at aisling.hes had a good season.it will be interesting to see how it progresses at the same time though.dont think myself going to fairview would be much of a step up at the moment.will aisling be looking to strengten in any areas for the coming season whitestripe?
I would be 100% sure Cummins will be with Aisling this season.
We are looking to strengthen the team for the season, I am sure most clubs will be doing the same. There will be loads of transfer rumours going about and most stem from players enjoying the fact that they are linked with a move to a different club. We will also have players back from long term injuries and players moving back to Limerick that will help.
Does anyone know when next season is going to start?
hoops12
20/06/2008, 8:15 PM
ya i heard ger bourke has promised vinny a season at mungret next year,big loss for regional
I would be 100% sure Cummins will be with Aisling this season.
We are looking to strengthen the team for the season, I am sure most clubs will be doing the same. There will be loads of transfer rumours going about and most stem from players enjoying the fact that they are linked with a move to a different club. We will also have players back from long term injuries and players moving back to Limerick that will help.
Does anyone know when next season is going to start?
jesus dalton wait for this one to finish first
sky blue
21/06/2008, 7:22 AM
heard keith harnett might be leaving pike any truth in this hoops12