View Full Version : Shamrock on Saturday (Shams 2-1 Rovers)
01/06/2008, 12:00 PM
There has been a bit of confusion regarding the kick-off time but it is confirmed for 7.30pm.
Bring it on:D
01/06/2008, 12:49 PM
a few of the section o crew will also be at the match as well considerin we are in incicore the nite before! goin to be a cracker of a game reckon sligo rovers will be strong favourites to win! let me know what yer plans are before the game!:D
forza rovers
01/06/2008, 1:35 PM
it will be a good one the cat&cage(i think its called that) before the game?
01/06/2008, 5:41 PM
Cat and Cage ?
deecay
01/06/2008, 6:33 PM
Ya I assume that what he means,love Section O and love Martinho.
Cannot wait
Is their gona be a BORST bus?
01/06/2008, 11:49 PM
a few of the section o crew will also be at the matchWill a certain Martinho II be part of this crew?
LondonRover
02/06/2008, 12:48 PM
Gutted I'm gonna miss this one. Had great craic at Bohs on Friday with the DSC. Bit rough on the flight back Saturday mnorning though :eek::D
forza rovers
02/06/2008, 2:29 PM
is their a bus goining?
02/06/2008, 5:35 PM
is their a bus goining?
there will be no trust bus as things stand. although there are a few buses goin from town afaik, theres defenitely one leavin from Tubber round 2, Sean posted it up here a while ago.
sligo23
02/06/2008, 7:06 PM
anyone have any details on a bus leaving from town???
sligo23
02/06/2008, 7:59 PM
There has been a bit of confusion regarding the kick-off time but it is confirmed for 7.30pm.
Bring it on:D
are you sure the kck-off is 7.30???
i've only ever seen it advertised fo 8pm,
it said 8pm on mns aswell.
02/06/2008, 9:08 PM
Ya I assume that what he means,love Section O and love Martinho.
Cannot wait
Is their gona be a BORST bus?
and I love u too deecay!! ;)
02/06/2008, 9:09 PM
Will a certain Martinho II be part of this crew?
indeed sligoman three of the other lads that drink in john joes are also goin as well.. cant wait... are ye worth a punt for a win sat nite??
02/06/2008, 9:16 PM
indeed sligoman three of the other lads that drink in john joes are also goin as well.. cant wait... are ye worth a punt for a win sat nite??
Look at Shams recent form Martinho II.;)
Look at our recent record against Shams.;)
03/06/2008, 11:08 AM
are you sure the kck-off is 7.30???
i've only ever seen it advertised fo 8pm,
it said 8pm on mns aswell.
Thought it was 7.30. I'll e-mail the FAI later
forza rovers
03/06/2008, 11:46 AM
it says 7.30 on the shams website.
Shedzer
04/06/2008, 8:19 PM
how do ye recon this one'll go? personally i recon brush has to start. jennings doesn't exactly instill confidence into the team, against bohs where he was dropping crosses and mis-hitting clearances etc.
many heading up?
showgies
04/06/2008, 8:39 PM
I will be interesting to see if Anto or Faz are playing. Playing either will cup-tie them for any future club...
05/06/2008, 12:03 AM
Playing either will cup-tie them for any future club...That shouldn't be any concern to Cook, he should only play his strongest team.
sligored
05/06/2008, 12:38 AM
bring back brush - he has been made a scapegoat for the pats defeat - very harsh in my opinion
sligofan4ever
05/06/2008, 8:55 AM
Brush has to be back in the goals Jennings just hasnt really done the job for us we gave him his chance against Bohs and he was dreadful. id reckon the team would lok something like this. Anyone know if Almeidas able to play too ?
Brush
Coleman Peers Almeida (if fit) Butler
Raff Anto O' Grady Cash
Faz Judge
Subs:
Jennings
Ventre
McKenzie
Doherty
Feeney
showgies
05/06/2008, 9:10 AM
That shouldn't be any concern to Cook, he should only play his strongest team.
If he is trying to do a deal to swap players, then he will concern him. Didn't he leave Turner out of this game last season for this very reason
redtildead
05/06/2008, 1:42 PM
If he is trying to do a deal to swap players, then he will concern him. Didn't he leave Turner out of this game last season for this very reason
Ya it was this game last year. Definitly if there is a swap deal on he wont be playing anyone involved in it.
05/06/2008, 4:10 PM
Bit rough on the flight back Saturday mnorning though :eek::D
Guinness with a Bulmers chaser will do that!
LondonRover
06/06/2008, 10:30 AM
Guinness with a Bulmers chaser will do that!
Can, will, do drink any aul ****e for a bit of variety mate! :p
sligofan4ever
06/06/2008, 10:39 PM
i see Rafael Cretaro is our only injury concern after getting food poisoning this week.
Rovers fan
06/06/2008, 11:14 PM
Can't make this one because of the L.C but try and cheer on the lads as much as possible(ogrady was talking about the importance of this in the champion). I'd say there will be a fairly big rovers(obviously sligo!!) crowd there. I have a sneaky feeling this is gonna be a one all draw and I'll get to see us beating them in the replay!! It will be interesting to see if faz and anto are playing,I wouldn't be surprised if faz is an unused sub. Come on the rovers,do the business!
sligofan4ever
06/06/2008, 11:18 PM
Can't make this one because of the L.C but try and cheer on the lads as much as possible(ogrady was talking about the importance of this in the champion). I'd say there will be a fairly big rovers(obviously sligo!!) crowd there. I have a sneaky feeling this is gonna be a one all draw and I'll get to see us beating them in the replay!! It will be interesting to see if faz and anto are playing,I wouldn't be surprised if faz is an unused sub. Come on the rovers,do the business!
if faz is an unused sub who can go up front with judge ? boco is on international duty and its still not the time to bring ross mcloughlin in. would it be Feeney up front if thats the case ?
deecay
06/06/2008, 11:24 PM
Steve is definatly up to it,would love to see him get a good run out
Boo_Boy
06/06/2008, 11:24 PM
I wouldn't be surprised if faz is an unused sub. Come on the rovers,do the business!
Feck faz's future at another LOI club, he's a rovers player & should be playing all the games he can.
Cookie has already said he will gladly keep faz til' the end of his contract if they dont recieve a reasonable offer, is it worth playing a potential game winner & keeping him til' the end of his contract?, i think it is. We have nobody else to play up front and score goals, do we want to hope 4 star scores?
sligofan4ever
06/06/2008, 11:38 PM
will there be live coverage on ocean fm ? thats what i heard.
sligofan4ever
06/06/2008, 11:55 PM
Steve is definatly up to it,would love to see him get a good run out
I think hes well capable of scoring. hope judge will put in an effort and try and go up for a header.
Boo_Boy
07/06/2008, 12:58 AM
will there be live coverage on ocean fm ? thats what i heard.
Full match coverage i think, i cant remember where i saw it..
maybe i dreamed about it, i dont know..
no there is: http://www.oceanfm.ie/onair/sligoleitrimsport.php?articleid=000002361
Boo_Boy
07/06/2008, 9:40 AM
I've got a good feeling about today.
Hopefully i'll survive the shopping spree with the GF today and get to the match!
COME ON BOYS!:)
Jeebus
07/06/2008, 10:04 AM
i see Rafael Cretaro is our only injury concern after getting food poisoning this week.
Must have been that dodgy chipper in Tubbercurry!! :D
DonalE
07/06/2008, 10:15 AM
Must have been that dodgy chipper in Tubbercurry!! :D
I'm amazed it took this long for a comment about his food poisoning to appear. Surely a pro like him wouldn't be eating fast food anyways :D
Rovers fan
07/06/2008, 11:04 AM
Surely a pro like him wouldn't be eating fast food anyways :D
but it might make him faster?!
sligofan4ever
07/06/2008, 11:29 AM
Full match coverage i think, i cant remember where i saw it..
maybe i dreamed about it, i dont know..
no there is: http://www.oceanfm.ie/onair/sligoleitrimsport.php?articleid=000002361
OK thanks I only heard it on the radio this morning anyways.
sligofan4ever
07/06/2008, 11:30 AM
I'm amazed it took this long for a comment about his food poisoning to appear. Surely a pro like him wouldn't be eating fast food anyways :D
will he be travelling up with the squad ?
sligofan4ever
07/06/2008, 8:29 PM
well by the sounds of it that ref has a thing for handing out cards 9 cards and butler also got sent off. fair play to anto though gave us a lifeline. and I also hear jennings made a blunder early on the game.
brianw82
07/06/2008, 10:07 PM
Come back Dick Brush, all is forgiven! Jennings truly had a howler. He inspires anything but confidence in his back four. They can't have confidence in him because they don't know what he's going to do in any given situation.
Butler was utterly stupid with his sending off. His first tackle wasn't malicious, but it was clumsy and dangerous. Deserved a yellow. The second was for threatening to box a Shams player. He knew he was on a yellow, so he should have behaved himself. Everyone around me seemed to think it was an awful decision, but they were 2 yellow card offences and 2 yellows = 1 red. Having said that, this ref was quite happy to dish out the cards.
Regarding our play, we did some good things, but there were few shots/headers on target, and you don't win games unless you force the goalie to work. For most of the game, we didn't do that. Saying that, Anto was outstanding in an unfamiliar forward role, and Seamie was great as usual. Not much came from the wingers, Doherty and Cash, and Raf was used in central midfield when he came on. Hate to say it, but Shams deserve the win for taking their chances. It could have been a different story with Brush in goals, though.
If anyone saw the scuffle outside after the game, I was the Rovers fan that got hit from behind by some cowardly scumbag. Luckily, he was nabbed by a steward and promptly put in cuffs by the gardai. Myself and a witness will be giving statements and hopefully this hoodlum will get the book thrown at him.
oldrover
07/06/2008, 10:48 PM
Why was Brush dropped..makes no sense. Manager would also need to instill more discipline in team although I thought Butler's first yellow card in particular very harsh and the sending off effectively gave the game to Shams. Even with 10 men rovers did well to fight back but whatever chance they had was undone by the bad goalkeeping choice. The Sligo support was great yet again and deserved more.
Need badly to regroup now and avoid falling away in league ...this will be a big test for manager and team but let's get behind them and aim for a top four position.
sligofan4ever
07/06/2008, 10:49 PM
Come back Dick Brush, all is forgiven! Jennings truly had a howler. He inspires anything but confidence in his back four. They can't have confidence in him because they don't know what he's going to do in any given situation.
Butler was utterly stupid with his sending off. His first tackle wasn't malicious, but it was clumsy and dangerous. Deserved a yellow. The second was for threatening to box a Shams player. He knew he was on a yellow, so he should have behaved himself. Everyone around me seemed to think it was an awful decision, but they were 2 yellow card offences and 2 yellows = 1 red. Having said that, this ref was quite happy to dish out the cards.
Regarding our play, we did some good things, but there were few shots/headers on target, and you don't win games unless you force the goalie to work. For most of the game, we didn't do that. Saying that, Anto was outstanding in an unfamiliar forward role, and Seamie was great as usual. Not much came from the wingers, Doherty and Cash, and Raf was used in central midfield when he came on. Hate to say it, but Shams deserve the win for taking their chances. It could have been a different story with Brush in goals, though.
If anyone saw the scuffle outside after the game, I was the Rovers fan that got hit from behind by some cowardly scumbag. Luckily, he was nabbed by a steward and promptly put in cuffs by the gardai. Myself and a witness will be giving statements and hopefully this hoodlum will get the book thrown at him.
what does he have to be fogiven for ? hes been great this season and if pat jennings starts against UCD I have lost some respect for paul cook I mean we gave pat 3 games and he wasted the chances to prove himself and as you said bring back dick brush (PLEASE!!!)
sligofan4ever
07/06/2008, 10:51 PM
Why was Brush dropped..makes no sense. Manager would also need to instill more discipline in team although I thought Butler's first yellow card in particular very harsh and the sending off effectively gave the game to Shams. Even with 10 men rovers did well to fight back but whatever chance they had was undone by the bad goalkeeping choice. The Sligo support was great yet again and deserved more.
Need badly to regroup now and avoid falling away in league ...this will be a big test for manager and team but let's get behind them and aim for a top four position.
I have a sneaky feeling its just to give pat a few run outs but that proved horribly wrong choice. even in the first match he was dreadful also good to see Judge put in an effort tonight.
Rovers fan
07/06/2008, 10:52 PM
The next 5 games will shape the rest of our season imo. 4 of them(cobh,ucd,harps,galway) are very winnable,we need to pick ourselves up quickly and make something of our season!
Rovers fan
07/06/2008, 10:54 PM
I have a sneaky feeling its just to give pat a few run outs but that proved horribly wrong choice. even in the first match he was dreadful also good to see Judge put in an effort tonight.
I don't think they give a wee runout in the most important game of our season.
sligofan4ever
07/06/2008, 11:00 PM
I don't think they give a wee runout in the most important game of our season.
suppose, but wouldnt you expect pat to be dropped after a 3-0 loss. if Brush was in (altough I wasnt at the match) I have a feeling he could've made a difference. And afaik he really couldve made things worse for himself, I was listening to the match and I understand early on in the game he messed up a kickout and almost put in his own net.
oldrover
07/06/2008, 11:03 PM
Yes, you play your strongest team in the FAI cup.
Raf and Judge also improved things when they came on and still think we might not be out had Brush started.How the manager picks the team up now will be a real test...lets hope for the best
sligofan4ever
07/06/2008, 11:10 PM
Yes, you play your strongest team in the FAI cup.
Raf and Judge also improved things when they came on and still think we might not be out had Brush started.How the manager picks the team up now will be a real test...lets hope for the best
hope Cook thinks twice anymore about who he puts in goals too. And ive probably said it already but by the what i heard on the radio Judge really put in an effort probably the first and last time we'll see him try this season :D (well for us anyways i'd say he'll be gone in july along with faz)
oldrover
07/06/2008, 11:15 PM
Faz was poor tonight imo and certainly looks as though he is gone hope we can keep Judge as with a bit of confidence think he might come right again.