View Full Version : Transfer Rumours (July 2008 Window)
Pages :
[
11]
14/07/2008, 12:56 PM
Tell me where is Wes Charles off too?
He dissapered on monday and appeared in vancouver friday. A lovely guy he did very well in a recent international against Canada and Vancouver are trying to get into the MLS.
Gone to Vancouver Whitecaps I think.
http://www.whitecapsfc.com/men/roster/teammember.aspx?id=15519&team=Male
Knappagh Red
14/07/2008, 4:34 PM
A lovely guy he did very well in a recent international against Canada and Vancouver are trying to get into the MLS.
Did very well, yeah, the defence only conceded seven goals in the two games, is that doing well by Galway standards?
Mr Maroon
14/07/2008, 4:58 PM
Did very well, yeah, the defence only conceded seven goals in the two games, is that doing well by Galway standards?
He personally did well by all reports. Also, there's ony 120,000 in SV&G.
That's half the population of County Galway!
Oh and Vancouver aren' trying to get in the MLS. Ex Pats league winner Jeff Clarke is their captain.
Where is Jason Gavin going?
Signed a pre-contract with Pats for next season according to Richard Sadlier on MNS tonight.
Maynard
14/07/2008, 10:06 PM
Georgescu going to Shels. Scored the equaliser in tonight's 1-1 draw with, ahem, Millwall.
Very good signing IMHO.
14/07/2008, 10:13 PM
Disappointed he's leaving. Franco's gone and we're holding onto Myler. :confused:
Kildare Lad
14/07/2008, 10:15 PM
Whats this Gorman fella like?
Good signing for Shels I think, one of the best players Kildare ever had. Scores goals, makes goals, trys hard, good player. Was kind of going a bit flat with us towards the end though.
DRDoc
14/07/2008, 11:14 PM
Philly Gorman - yeah good signing - on his day one of the best players in the first division
higgins
14/07/2008, 11:49 PM
Myler has been speaking to clubs but not sure why no deal has been done with anyone yet ?
Do Bray fans not rate Myler ? He seemed to be doing ok at Rovers last year and I was surprised he left.
Gorman and Georgescu are good signings for us. We are struggling to find a second decent striker for Anto Flood.
Black and White
15/07/2008, 12:43 PM
Anto flood is not a decent striker!!hes pure useless most of the time!!proved that when he was with us!!!
15/07/2008, 1:07 PM
Do Bray fans not rate Myler ? He seemed to be doing ok at Rovers last year and I was surprised he left.
Myler has had one decent game for us and that was against Athlone or Harps. He's just not up to it for us. To lose Franco and hold on to him is a bad move.
Battery Rover
15/07/2008, 2:26 PM
Myler has had one decent game for us and that was against Athlone or Harps. He's just not up to it for us. To lose Franco and hold on to him is a bad move.
Was against Harps as I chatted to him for a while before the League Cup game against yourselves and he was injured and just doing so light training before it.
Seagull-4-life
15/07/2008, 3:32 PM
Bray have signed Aidan O'Keefe on loan until the end of the season
LeixlipRed
15/07/2008, 5:19 PM
Anto flood is not a decent striker!!hes pure useless most of the time!!proved that when he was with us!!!
Where you there in Oriel this season when he, on his own, wiped the floor with you? Ridiculous post. Flood is the best player in the 1st Division by a country mile.
higgins
15/07/2008, 5:57 PM
If Dundalk had Anto Flood this season they would be out of sight!
You've no strikers worth talking about and don't seem in a hurry to sign any either.
Flood is top scorer in the First Division.
Going through a rough patch at the minute but remember he doesn't take the peno's for us either! Over 50% of Doyles goals must have come from the spot.
blue til i die
15/07/2008, 6:42 PM
Where you there in Oriel this season when he, on his own, wiped the floor with you? Ridiculous post. Flood is the best player in the 1st Division by a country mile.
you must be joking, thats hilarious :D
15/07/2008, 7:58 PM
Apparently Ramblers are to take Max Cream on loan from Shelbourne.
Supposedly he got a new job in Cork and Dermot Keely asked if Hendo would take him in order to keep him match fit.
Will probably be used as an A-Team player rather than a 1st team player.
15/07/2008, 8:34 PM
Keep him match fit for what? Will they be taking him back at some point?.
15/07/2008, 8:42 PM
Keep him match fit for what? Will they be taking him back at some point?.
I'm told it's only till the end of the season.
The Lilywhites
15/07/2008, 9:35 PM
Flood is the best player in the 1st Division by a country mile.
:rolleyes: No, he's not.
Best striker, maybe, but David Cassidy is, by a million miles, the best player in the First Division.
LeixlipRed
15/07/2008, 11:29 PM
:rolleyes: No, he's not.
Best striker, maybe, but David Cassidy is, by a million miles, the best player in the First Division.
Yeh, sure you're right. He ripped us a part those two times you haven't beaten us in the league this year. He first touch and finishing are out of this division anyway. And I dunno what that Waterford fan is laughing about. Ye don't even have one of this divisions best players now.
15/07/2008, 11:33 PM
I'm told it's only till the end of the season.
I gathered that, but does he have a contract at Shels that would mean they might be taking a particular interest in his future fitness or are they just letting him go?. Just mildly curious.
Bunny Kelly
16/07/2008, 9:29 AM
Perhaps unfair to compare Cassidy & Flood at a time where Flood is a little out of form but the fact Dundalk collapse completely when Cassidy is suspeneded would lead me lean towards the little man.
Kenny Browne as the divisions third best player perhaps for the Waterford lads that need to defend their players
LeixlipRed
16/07/2008, 10:11 AM
Well watch us without Flood. We lack any ideas going forward. We're a one man show at the minute. Hopefully with Romanian Joey Ndo coming in that will improve.
stann
16/07/2008, 12:17 PM
Perhaps unfair to compare Cassidy & Flood at a time where Flood is a little out of form but the fact Dundalk collapse completely when Cassidy is suspeneded would lead me lean towards the little man.
Kenny Browne as the divisions third best player perhaps for the Waterford lads that need to defend their players
Cassidy and Flood have both, in different ways, destroyed us this season, and both Shels and Dundalk have looked shadows of themselves when without them, or when they're marked out of it.
It's more than a bit unfair to compare players who play in totally different positions though, but what's not in question is that Flood, Cassidy and Fletch are easily the best three players in the league.
But Fletch is the best. :p
16/07/2008, 2:41 PM
This reminds me of the epidose of Father Ted when Mrs. Doyle tells Ted that he is the second best priest in the country...
*** Cut to Anto Flood having a dream with Mrs. Doyle repeating 'only the second best player in the first division, you're only the second best player..' ***
(It has been a long day!)
Philly
16/07/2008, 10:26 PM
Was Andy Cousins at a club? At 23, he has been appointed manager of Newbridge Town FC!
monutdfc
17/07/2008, 8:42 AM
He was at Newbridge last season, joined MUFC in the transfer window, played for most of the rest of the season but if I recall correctly he wasn't around for the last couple of games of the season.
GuisaSaigon
17/07/2008, 9:24 AM
Was Andy Cousins at a club? At 23, he has been appointed manager of Newbridge Town FC!
Is he Tony's brother?
Bunny Kelly
17/07/2008, 9:50 AM
Was he not at Bray before Monaghan, I thought he played a few games at the start of the season for them.
BrayUnknowns
17/07/2008, 10:21 AM
Was he not at Bray before Monaghan, I thought he played a few games at the start of the season for them.
He was with Bray, went to Kildare, released and then went to Monaghan. And yes he is Tony's younger brother.
monutdfc
17/07/2008, 12:20 PM
He was with Bray, went to Kildare, released and then went to Monaghan. And yes he is Tony's younger brother.
I remember now - he was meant to join us at the start of the 2006 season, but couldn't as he had played with Newbridge Town. He then joined Bray in the 2006 transfer window. Not sure if he was at Kildare between us and Bray but he joined us in the 2007 transfer window.
Kildare Lad
17/07/2008, 5:44 PM
He was with Kildare in 2005, then Newbridge Town, then Bray, then Monaghan I think?!
still crazy that hes a manager at that age! I believe hes related to Tony but amnt sure if its his brother.
monutdfc
18/07/2008, 8:37 AM
He was with Kildare in 2005, then Newbridge Town, then Bray, then Monaghan I think?!
still crazy that hes a manager at that age! I believe hes related to Tony but amn't sure if its his brother.
That's the order of his recent clubs alright.
Was he at Leeds in the UK?
Very good player but struck me as happy to rely on his ability without putting in the extra effort. Pretty sure he's Tony's brother.
Kildare Lad
18/07/2008, 2:50 PM
Yeah was with Leeds before us, came over to us along with Robbie Shields and Andy(??) Kinsella both from Leeds also
Meyler deal seems to be close to conclusion. Reported figure 180k sterling http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/premier_league/article4360414.ece
Hibs4Ever
20/07/2008, 2:59 PM
Latest rumour on Gamble is he's staying - on the city forum. Great news for us if true
Will be interesting to see what happens now. What with him also signing a pre contract with St Pats ;)
21/07/2008, 8:08 AM
Will be interesting to see what happens now. What with him also signing a pre contract with St Pats ;)
Pre-contract agreement.
As in, distinctly not a contract, and carrying none of the legal weight of a contract.
charliesboots
21/07/2008, 10:58 AM
Pre-contract agreement.
As in, distinctly not a contract, and carrying none of the legal weight of a contract.
Tell that to Ciaran Martyn ;)
adamd164
21/07/2008, 3:56 PM
Confirmed by Mathews he has signed with us till the end of 2011.
sporting
21/07/2008, 4:18 PM
stephen rice will sign for sporting fingal by end of week for 15k
TheFingallian
21/07/2008, 4:31 PM
Ha i kinda dismissed this in the Fingal section. Where have you heard this?
21/07/2008, 4:33 PM
It has to be rubbish... Doesn't it? :eek:
TheFingallian
21/07/2008, 4:34 PM
It has to be rubbish... Doesn't it? :eek:
Even i'm thinking that. Unless we are throwing ridiculous wages his way.
21/07/2008, 4:35 PM
What a waste!:eek:
The Lilywhites
21/07/2008, 4:39 PM
Unless we are throwing ridiculous wages his way.
You're doing that with plenty of players already.
skitz3
21/07/2008, 4:45 PM
I heard that one too.
sporting
21/07/2008, 5:13 PM
he is in talks with fingal since the start of june, but was holding out for a prem team in dublin, with no 1 coming in and the transfer window nearly closing. he doesn't want to be stuck at rovers, so will drop division to win league with us. and he wont be on massive wages!