View Full Version : Transfer Rumours (July 2008 Window)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14

Finlay Harp
08/07/2008, 4:51 PM
Mulryne would be a great Eircom league signing.I think his wage demands priced him out of a move to Linfield.

SwanVsDalton
08/07/2008, 5:53 PM
Mulryne would be a great Eircom league signing.I think his wage demands priced him out of a move to Linfield.

Seen a photo of him for Linfield the other day, he looks about 2/3 stone overweight.

08/07/2008, 7:05 PM
I'd say about 2,300 in the showgrounds last night

:o:eek:

08/07/2008, 7:23 PM
Ex-Norwich and NI international?
Yep. Officially, Linfield decided they wanted to focus on getting a forward instead (which is what we should be doing too), but Pete has said he was interested last month, so that counts as a rumour, I think. We've had few enough of them!

shep
08/07/2008, 7:34 PM
Heard O Keefe might be going to Dundalk on loan from Drogs,would be a great addition

neville neville
08/07/2008, 9:23 PM
UCD were after Phil Mulryne, whose moev to Linfield has fallen through. May be linked with him again now.

didn't he play a few times in the premier for Man United back in the day

finnpark
08/07/2008, 9:51 PM
Dundalk looking to sign derek glynn from galway!!any good???

Very good player.

Lots of pace.

Too good for the 1st division. Hope Harps are in for him.

08/07/2008, 9:51 PM
didn't he play a few times in the premier for Man United back in the day
Once (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phillip_Mulryne) (in the league anyway).

09/07/2008, 1:06 AM
Too good for the 1st division. Hope Harps are in for him.But sure he'd be too good for ye so wouldn't he?;) :p

09/07/2008, 8:27 AM
But sure he'd be too good for ye so wouldn't he?;) :p

Whys that?

wintz
09/07/2008, 12:17 PM

Nah, it was the size of his belly!

cheech
09/07/2008, 7:51 PM
Davy Byrne going from Athlone to Finn Harps.

But sure he'd be too good for ye so wouldn't he?;) :p

Why do you bother?

You are about as funny as a kick on the balls.

09/07/2008, 8:49 PM
No - couldn't have. Would be very surprised and a bit annoyed if he went to Dundalk. City could do with another striker and Glynn would be an ideal signging.

He is going nowhere.

LeixlipRed
09/07/2008, 9:14 PM
Davy Byrne going from Athlone to Finn Harps.

That's the sort of signing that will have you relegated in double plus time. Lazy, fat and always getting sent off.

sligofan4ever
09/07/2008, 9:15 PM
Harpal Singh is supposed to have joined Ballymena on loan.

10/07/2008, 12:43 AM
That's the sort of signing that will have you relegated in double plus time. Lazy, fat and always getting sent off.

A bad move for Harps alright. I'd say Athlone are delighted to get him off the wage bill. Although I'd imagine they would have been doubly delighted a year ago when he was on over a grand a week. He's produced feck all for about six years now.

monutdfc
10/07/2008, 8:49 AM
A bad move for Harps alright. I'd say Athlone are delighted to get him off the wage bill. Although I'd imagine they would have been doubly delighted a year ago when he was on over a grand a week. He's produced feck all for about six years now.
:eek::eek::eek:

10/07/2008, 9:41 AM
I know. I'm sure Ash or Battery Rover will confirm that. Last season they had six players on over a grand a week. Direct result of Michael O'Connor handing out net contracts. No wonder they sacked him.

LeixlipRed
10/07/2008, 11:39 AM
Yeh Davy was a decent player back in the day but the two or three times I've seen him since last season he's just embarrassing.

Krstic
10/07/2008, 12:35 PM
Davy Byrne is a cracking player...............................

Oh wait, this is 2008, i thought it was 1998:eek:

Tyical Finn Harps signing, ten years too late.
He'll keep Gary Beckett company in the seated part of the cowshed.

deecay
10/07/2008, 1:01 PM
You are about as funny as a kick on the balls.
Had to laugh

cheech
10/07/2008, 7:48 PM
Davy Byrne is a cracking player...............................

Oh wait, this is 2008, i thought it was 1998:eek:

Tyical Finn Harps signing, ten years too late.
He'll keep Gary Beckett company in the seated part of the cowshed.

Yeah, it's a pity you missed you out on the intervening ten years or would have had the same craic in HRH's Brandywell with Fenlon and Robinson's signings :D

10/07/2008, 11:32 PM
Yeah, it's a pity you missed you out on the intervening ten years or would have had the same craic in HRH's Brandywell with Fenlon and Robinson's signings :D
Why do you bother?

You are about as funny as a kick on the balls.Cough. Practice what you preach!

Krstic
11/07/2008, 8:26 AM

If you're trying to be smart at least get the name right ya traitor.

11/07/2008, 12:50 PM
Sunderland are in for both Meyler and Mooney apparently.

Theyve been following Meyler for a while and had an offer of 150k rejected according to the echo and some other sources. They're expected to come back with a bigger offer.

11/07/2008, 12:51 PM
Who's Meyler again?

11/07/2008, 12:54 PM
Who's Meyler again?

Central Midfielder for our A team. Hasnt broken into the first team yet but is on the bench. Played for Ireland u19 a few months back.

Rocky77
11/07/2008, 1:00 PM
Who's Meyler again?

Isn't he a son of John Meyler the Wexford hurling manager?

11/07/2008, 1:03 PM
Isn't he a son of John Meyler the Wexford hurling manager?

Yes. He was injured so couldn't start the game when Cork played Wexford in the youth cup final.

11/07/2008, 1:14 PM
Yes. He was injured so couldn't start the game when Cork played Wexford in the youth cup final.

We played Wexford in the youth cup final. :confused:

11/07/2008, 1:21 PM
Sunderland are in for both Meyler and Mooney apparently.

Theyve been following Meyler for a while and had an offer of 150k rejected according to the echo and some other sources. They're expected to come back with a bigger offer.

For those of you who don't read the Evening Echo here is todays back page (http://www.eecho.ie/pdf/back.pdf)!

11/07/2008, 1:29 PM
We played Wexford in the youth cup final. :confused:

Sorry the other one, the inter league youth cup final. The one we win every second year. :D

Kildare Lad
11/07/2008, 10:22 PM
Heard Philly Gorman is going to Shels from us and we might be getting Philly Hughes in return

11/07/2008, 10:23 PM
According to some paper were 'expected' to sign Brendan McGill, ex Gretna winger.

11/07/2008, 10:34 PM
Echo said an ex-Notts County player and an ex-Sunderland player have agreed to sign for ye.

Just checked and it seems that Brendan McGill made one appearence for Sunderland between 1998-2002.

LeixlipRed
12/07/2008, 6:22 PM
Heard Philly Gorman is going to Shels from us and we might be getting Philly Hughes in return

Hughes must have fallen out with Keely. Tbh, he never was given a chance with us. And Dave Freeman is a joker. And Gorman has never really impressed me. Depressing stuff as our season seems to be falling apart.

12/07/2008, 6:27 PM
Depressing stuff as our season seems to be falling apart.
Seems to be the entire division's season falling apart (Waterford and Dundalk too in particular). Fingal for promotion? :eek:

steno
12/07/2008, 7:43 PM

:eek::mad:
I hope this doesn't happen, Philly would be a huge loss.

12/07/2008, 8:12 PM
:eek::mad:
I hope this doesn't happen, Philly would be a huge loss.Yeah but Philly will be coming in his place so tis grand;)

Hibs4Ever
12/07/2008, 8:14 PM
Fingal for promotion? :eek:

They're certainly worth a bet @ 7/1

12/07/2008, 8:15 PM
Have them each way since the start of the season (5/1). Didn't think they'd have enough from the off to take the title though.

13/07/2008, 3:44 PM
I heard Drogheda offered a small sum for Fingal's Paul Caffrey and were told to go pluck themselves. Bray and Galway supposedly interested in Athlone's Carmine Russo but neither offering particularly good terms so he'll probably stay put.

13/07/2008, 3:51 PM
I heard Drogheda offered a small sum for Fingal's Paul Caffrey and were told to go pluck themselves
Jaysus, thats some barrel scaping by Drogheda. Replacing Byrne with Caffrey? :eek:

Battery Rover
13/07/2008, 4:44 PM
Bray and Galway supposedly interested in Athlone's Carmine Russo but neither offering particularly good terms so he'll probably stay put.

Didn't hear any rumours regarding that down here. He has played for us for 2 years under age and now in his third season at senior level as a pro so I would think it might cost some money to get him.

irishultra
13/07/2008, 5:44 PM
Where is Jason Gavin going?

13/07/2008, 6:29 PM
Pats according to the rumour mill

Battery Rover
13/07/2008, 7:00 PM
Noel McGee of Athlone town being watched by a couple of clubs apparently. Anyone hear anything?

skitz3
13/07/2008, 7:06 PM

Whats this Gorman fella like?

The Fox
13/07/2008, 7:14 PM
Tell me where is Wes Charles off too?

13/07/2008, 7:18 PM
Gone to Vancouver Whitecaps I think.