View Full Version : Ultras

Pages : 1 [2]

Joey Killester
23/05/2008, 3:31 PM
Indeed. Some of them come across as right obsessed/ fanatic types. :eek:

Damn straight, and proud of it!

Rovers fan
24/05/2008, 12:22 PM
Ha, Im not trying to discourage at all if thats what you think. But again, if you mean just using your tifo flags by "we can use our tiofs", there are many more ways of creating a display by then using your big flags and pyro. Tifo flags on their own I wouldnt really consider a proper display in most cases.

We'll i wouldn't say being an ultra is a way of life,but supporting sligo rovers is, so it goes hand in hand.I don't say i have an ultra mentality just for the sake of it. No Irish ultra groups go around robbing other groups' flags,fight or have political displays(this is a godd thing)Our group(forza rovers) have rakes of tifo flags,2sticks, small wavey flags,banners and most importantly we sing for 90mins,more so then any other fans in the country imo,who generally don't sing after conceding or when they are 3-0. I don't the NBB sing much at all,surely this is the most important thing?? I feel we bring as much colour as any other team(albeit certain groups like the NBB have very innovative displays). We use flares and till roll only very occasionly as our club is financially shagged. So can I ask you what makes ye any different?

24/05/2008, 12:29 PM
Anyone else ever read an interview or see a documentary about European Ultra groups and think 'what a bunch of sad cases'? I mean having your life 100% about supporting football when you're a teenager is grand, but when work, love and life gets involved you should really branch out your interests don't you think? Just what I've taken from what I've seen of these people anyway so I don't know why anyone would want to be an Ultra in the truest sense of what it means

Da Real Rover
24/05/2008, 12:46 PM
I agree about the other interests thing. But I find it worse when there are people who work nine to five monday to friday and have no interests at all. Just working untill the day they retire, when they retire the highlight of their day is making the toilet in time before they embaress themselves infront of the various vegtables that glare out the window in the home where their family have deposited them.
A life with no meaning is way more sad, at least the Ultras have a focus.

24/05/2008, 3:50 PM
Anyone else ever read an interview or see a documentary about European Ultra groups and think 'what a bunch of sad cases'? I mean having your life 100% about supporting football when you're a teenager is grand, but when work, love and life gets involved you should really branch out your interests don't you think? Just what I've taken from what I've seen of these people anyway so I don't know why anyone would want to be an Ultra in the truest sense of what it means

I'd imagine most people have other interests but those TV shows only show one side of it. I mean if I was asked to talk about supporting Bohs on a TV show, I wouldn't go into detal about my other interests.

Joey Killester
24/05/2008, 4:47 PM
We'll i wouldn't say being an ultra is a way of life,but supporting sligo rovers is, so it goes hand in hand.I don't say i have an ultra mentality just for the sake of it. No Irish ultra groups go around robbing other groups' flags,fight or have political displays(this is a godd thing)Our group(forza rovers) have rakes of tifo flags,2sticks, small wavey flags,banners and most importantly we sing for 90mins,more so then any other fans in the country imo,who generally don't sing after conceding or when they are 3-0. I don't the NBB sing much at all,surely this is the most important thing?? I feel we bring as much colour as any other team(albeit certain groups like the NBB have very innovative displays). We use flares and till roll only very occasionly as our club is financially shagged. So can I ask you what makes ye any different?

What are you on about "different to ye"? You (or one of the other Sligo lads, who ever it was), said said that it's hard to be an ultras group here because of fines for flares and that and I said that there's more to displays then flares and things that get you fined. Then you said yous have "waveys" and two sticks aswell as if to say "Well we dont just use pyro, we use our flags too", but I was pointing out that doesnt constitute a display really and there are many more methods of making a good tifo then just flags and flares. As you said yourself, some grups do quite innovative displays. I never seen your group in action in person so I dont know how much you sing or anything like that. And the the part about ultras way of life, I didnt even mentioned that where you quoted me. Hope that's all clear.

Rovers fan
25/05/2008, 4:13 PM
What are you on about "different to ye"? You (or one of the other Sligo lads, who ever it was), said said that it's hard to be an ultras group here because of fines for flares and that and I said that there's more to displays then flares and things that get you fined. Then you said yous have "waveys" and two sticks aswell as if to say "Well we dont just use pyro, we use our flags too", but I was pointing out that doesnt constitute a display really and there are many more methods of making a good tifo then just flags and flares. As you said yourself, some grups do quite innovative displays. I never seen your group in action in person so I dont know how much you sing or anything like that. And the the part about ultras way of life, I didnt even mentioned that where you quoted me. Hope that's all clear.

My post was a general reply to what you have posted in the thread. What makes your displays so different is what I meant?
The way of life thing was mentioned by someone else,sorry!!
O and i suppose you won't be seeing our displays for a good few years,enjoy the 1st division!!

Joey Killester
26/05/2008, 11:56 AM
Ive seen your "displays" through the internet, what I said was I havnt heard you sing during a match or anything. And Im not going to give you advice on displays. If you have any knowledge of ultras and tifo you'll have seen way more diverse displays then flags and pyro.