Thread: Ultras

Question Ultras

Looking for some advice and suggestions.

A bit of background as to what i'm talking about:

We set up an ultra group in bray called na fanaithe at the start of the season, at the time the club and supporters club were all for it, but now the supporters club dont want anything to do with the name 'ultras' as they see it as something bad and the club have been trying to stamp it out at home games. There was a small incident outside the ground against drogheda (after the match) confrontation between fans - singin and chanting at each other etc, (local paper called it a riot!) nothing serious at all but we were blamed (most were still in the ground packing up the flags etc) and since then the group are not allowed use the word 'ultras' and they have threatened us that we wont be allowed back into the carlisle or use the supporters club bus to go to the away games... They are also blaming the 'ultras' for the bad language been used in songs etc. I been going to games for years and we havent changed many songs at all! Its like as soon as we get a name its our faultor if any incidents occur its our fault... Up in sligo on saturday the supporters club were a complete joke. (read our forum for more..)

Basically i'm asking has this happened in other clubs with ultra groups and what have people done about it? or what do you think we can do about it?

Any help/advice will be appreciated.

Thanks

all ya can really do is just try and open a dialogue with the club. just sit down with them and tell them what its all about. just tell them it may bring more fans in and that if there's any trouble that you's will do your best to stamp it out and remove anyone who's trying to create a hooligan element. aside from just maybe asking for more stewarding around you's and maybe staying in the ground after the games for a while theres not much else ya's can do

84 Posts
    Our supporters group had a silent protest well not really a silent one but when anyone said anything in the ground the whole group went ssssshhhhhhhhhhh.

It resulted in everyone hearing all the bad language on the pitch and from the dugouts and made everyone realise it is part of the game

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

My personal view is that supporters groups should avoid using the word 'ultra'.

Whether we like it or not, the word 'ultra' has developed clear associations with the problem of football hooliganism across Europe. To pretend that isn't so is niaive, as it would also be to think that the word can be 'saved' from this negative connotation by a handful of Irish football fans. It would be asking too much of human nature in general, and journalists in particular, to expect the wider world to be able to or to even want to differentiate between 'good' and 'bad' ultras. It's therefore just so much easier to avoid the name full-stop.

It's like the word 'Republican' in Ireland. I am a 'Republican' in the original sense of the word - in that I believe in constitutional democracy over any form of monarchy as the political structure of a state. In Ireland that word morphed firstly to describe those who support a United Ireland (you could have a British Republic without the Queen !), and then more lately to describe those who propose a militant path to securing that United Ireland. Hence - Unionists who would be happy without the monarchy are 'Republicans' in the original sense of the word, but not in its new meaning in Ireland. Words change meaning over time.

No doubt I'll get barracked for this, but it's my personal view on the word 'ultra'. The English and Irish languages are full of suitable words and names to call supporter groups. There is absolutely no need to use one that has clear associations with football hooliganism - even if it's to name a group that will have zero association with hooliganism itself.

Plus 'ultras' is a sh!t Euro-pop name that sounds daft in the English language, and refers to washing detergents in a non-footballing context.....

Steve, I think most Irish fans know what Irish Ultras are about and don't associate them with violence at games. In my experience its only the cops (predominantly in "The Rebel County") who can't tell the difference. Having said that Ultras groups don't necessarily have to have the word Ultra in their name. NBB and SEI don't for example.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Steve, I think most Irish fans know what Irish Ultras are about and don't associate them with violence at games.
    Drifting into Bohs langauage, the vast majority don't have a clue. FACT.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

First of all, foot.ie is completly the wrong place to be talking about this kind of thing, because half the posters are going to be against ultras or the word ultra, like dcfcsteve and the other half (well maybe not halves) would be for it and it will just develop into a big ridiculus arguement.

If you did set up a meeting with the club you could point out the other groups, like us at Shels, have been calling ourselves ultras for years and have a fine relationship with the club, and other supporters at Shels seem to appriciate the fact that more colour and atmosphere is generated by the ultras. And Im sure its the same at other clubs.

Your group is called Na Fanithe, so what exactly is the clubs problem? Do you have a banner saying "Ultras" or something or is it just that they dont like you calling yourselves that? I know it might come across the wrong way but I dont think an ultra group should really be caring what other people think of them or if people think they're hooligans.
    "Give franchise football the red card."
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor View Post
    Drifting into Bohs langauage, the vast majority don't have a clue. FACT.
    Maybe not in Doire but Bohs fans know what the NBB is about, and I'm sure the same can be said for the SRFC Ultras, BD, SEI and F45.

Yeah, thats what I was getting at.
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

Quote Originally Posted by Joey Killester View Post
    First of all, foot.ie is completly the wrong place to be talking about this kind of thing, because half the posters are going to be against ultras or the word ultra, like dcfcsteve and the other half (well maybe not halves) would be for it and it will just develop into a big ridiculus arguement.

If you did set up a meeting with the club you could point out the other groups, like us at Shels, have been calling ourselves ultras for years and have a fine relationship with the club, and other supporters at Shels seem to appriciate the fact that more colour and atmosphere is generated by the ultras. And Im sure its the same at other clubs.

Your group is called Na Fanithe, so what exactly is the clubs problem? Do you have a banner saying "Ultras" or something or is it just that they dont like you calling yourselves that? I know it might come across the wrong way but I dont think an ultra group should really be caring what other people think of them or if people think they're hooligans.
    I'm not certain but I think the flags that were taken had `green ultras` written on them. People seem to automatically link ultras with casuals and hooligan firms. I definitely reckon that the name Na Fanaithe should be used as much as possible but the fact is that we are an ultra supporters group who wish to support our team and have the backing of our club. A meeting may be the way to go, hopefully the club will be more open-minded if any meeting takes place.

There have been some trouble makers (hard boys ) about. IMO all we can do is set a good example through our behavior and not partake in any chants or activity's that over-step the mark and tell a few people to cop-on... it would seem that some people within the club expect more than that from us... well I can't force people to do things and I damn sure don't pump as much money as I do into the club to spend my Friday's being treated like a criminal and expected to act like a steward!

all ya can really do is try and follow the ways of the BD and other groups. shels have no problem with the BD(allowing them to keep the gear in tolka and lettin them come in early to set up) because they know the atmosphere has improved and that if there is any trouble in the stands, the members of the BD would be the first to try and cut it out. this sort of relationship between club and ultras group can only be developed over time

Every second week a new Club seems to be calling themselves Ultras.
    Waving a few flags and banging drums does not make your group "Ultras".Ultras are extremists,doing extraordinary,radical and passionate displays.
    If the likes of Bray/sligo/Limerick/Drogheda etc think they're Ultras have a look at what Rovers and Bohs do.Even better would be to have a look at the Italian/Greek or other European Ultras.
    Ultras are fanatics,caring for nothing bar their Club and what they represent.

11 lads from Bray,waving 6 flags,banging 3 drums and blowing 2 Air horns are NOT an ultras group.
    Last edited by Conor H; 19/05/2008 at 3:57 PM.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Waving a few flags and banging drums does not make your group "Ultras".Ultras are extremists,doing extraordinary,radical and passionate displays.
    If the likes of Bray/sligo/Limerick/Drogheda etc think they're Ultras have a look at what Rovers and Bohs do.Even better would be to have a look at the Italian/Greek or other European Ultras.

11 lads from Bray,waving 6 flags,banging 3 drumsand blowing 2 Air horns are NOT an ultras group.
    I think we do as well as we can, comparing ourselves to the likes of Panathinaikos isn't worthwile IMO. We will hopefully organise the odd flair display, the club seem to be relatively receptive to this in the event of a big game such as a cup semi etc.

11 lads from Bray,waving 6 flags,banging 3 drumsand blowing 2 Air horns are NOT an ultras group.
    Great point, alot of the groups in Ireland call themselves "Ultras" for the sake of it, they don't know what it really means.
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

Quote Originally Posted by Stevo Da Gull View Post
    I think we do as well as we can, comparing ourselves to the likes of Panathinaikos isn't worthwile IMO. We will hopefully organise the odd flair display, the club seem to be relatively receptive to this in the event of a big game such as a cup semi etc.
    Ye do and fair play.
    But why call yereself Ultras?No offence,but ye're most certainly not "Ultras".
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

In fairness to Drogheda F45 they've done some really good displays. Particularly towards the end of the season.

well what else can you do nowadays in the eircom league for a display that wont get the club fined?

we're supporting the club not getting them fcuked!!
    DEVO: 'we want to challenge for the league next season' - speaking at the player of the year awards nite 2005. boy was he so far wrong!!

Ye do and fair play.
    But why call yereself Ultras?No offence,but ye're most certainly not "Ultras".
    I see what you're saying. As far as I'm concerned we are Na Fanaithe. Basically an independent supporters group who embrace many of the ultra's ideals - from wikipedia :

The four core points of the ultra mentality are:

* never stop singing or chanting during a match, no matter what the result
    * never sit down during a match
    * attend as many games as possible (home and away), regardless of cost or distance
    * loyalty to the stand in which the group is located (also known as the Curva or Kop).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ultras

Theres more to being an ultra then looking up wikipedia.
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

That link in itself is embarrassing.