View Full Version : The Simpsons

Pages : 1 [2] 3

11/06/2008, 9:54 PM
there were a couple of classics on sky yesterday, including the monorail one, which contrast so sharply with the stale efforts of recent series.
I've been struck lately just how good the first ten series or so were. It's so easy to dismiss the programme because of recent series, but it really was quite superb in its day.

11/06/2008, 9:58 PM
To the tune of "More, More, More."

"Moe, Moe, Moe,
How do you like, how do you like me,
Moe, Moe, Moe,
Why don't you like me, nobody likes me"

Loved that!:D

gilberto_eire
11/06/2008, 11:40 PM
Just watched one there this evening which had this in it.......

Grampa:Look what your bad egg of a son did to my teeth!
Homer: [rolling eyes] Dad, you and your stories. "Bart broke my teeth," "The nurses are stealing my money," "This thing on my neck is getting bigger."

Wolfie
12/06/2008, 7:52 AM
From the Episode "Itchy and Scratchy Land"

Helicopter Pilot: "We are now approaching our final destination, Itchy and Scratchy Land, the amusement park of the future where nothing can possiblai go wrong. Uh...possibly go wrong. (nervous laugh) That's the first thing that's ever gone wrong." :D :D

anto1208
12/06/2008, 8:00 AM
I can tthink of his name but the sarcastic guy talking to comic book man about his star trek belt

Woh a fat sarcastic star trek fan bet your a hit with the ladies

12/06/2008, 11:18 PM
One of my favourite ones is the one where Sideshow Bob runs for mayor. There's one bit where he phones in the Republican radio show. It's something like this:

"I'm currently incarcerated for attempted murder. I mean, come on! Attempted murder, what is that?! Do they give a Nobel prize for attempted chemistry?!" :D

13/06/2008, 7:25 AM
Attempted literature. :)

Wolfie
13/06/2008, 7:47 AM
Springfield News Anchorman, Kent Brockman:

"Of course, it would be wrong to suggest this sort of mayhem began with rock-and-roll. After all, there were riots at the premiere of Mozart's "The Magic Flute." So, what's the answer? Ban all music? In this reporters opinion, the answer, sadly, is 'yes'."

13/06/2008, 11:12 AM
I'm pretty sure Superfrank is right.

13/06/2008, 12:37 PM
Well, I went and checked and here it is.

From The Simpsons Quotes (http://www.thesimpsonsquotes.com/characters/sideshow-bob-quotes.html):

Attempted murder, now honestly, what is that? Do they give a Nobel Prize for attempted chemistry?

13/06/2008, 12:42 PM
“Ladies and gentlemen, uh, we’ve just lost the picture, but what we’ve seen speaks for itself. The Corvair spacecraft has apparently been taken over — ‘conquered’ if you will — by a master race of giant space ants. It’s difficult to tell from this vantage point whether they will consume the captive earth men or merely enslave them. One thing is for certain: there is no stopping them; the ants will soon be here.

And I for one welcome our new insect overlords.I'd like to remind them as a trusted TV personality, I can be helpful in rounding up others to toil in their underground sugar caves."”

Kent Brockman

SaucyJack
13/06/2008, 1:20 PM
A favourite Kent Brockman moment;

Kent Brockman (covered in golden chains): Thank you, Mayor Simpson. Because of you, we are all taking golden showers. (people off-camera laugh) What?

13/06/2008, 3:33 PM

From The Simpsons Quotes (http://www.thesimpsonsquotes.com/characters/sideshow-bob-quotes.html):
So it is. My bad!

13/06/2008, 7:47 PM
Car Impound Lot Owner: "you must be stupider than you look"
Homer: "Stupider like a fox!"

anto1208
16/06/2008, 10:26 AM
Saw a new one yesterday thought it was ok laughed a good few times but its lots its overall apeal. First episode of simpsons ive watched in a long long time.

16/06/2008, 11:45 AM
My favourite:

Homer (in silly voice): Hello. My name is Mr Burns, I believe you have a letter for me.
Post office guy: OK Mr Burns, what's your first name?
Homer: I don't know.
Great plan Bart(!)

Wolfie
16/06/2008, 12:30 PM
From the Cape Fear episode. As Bart is receiving threatening letters from Sideshow Bob, "The Thompsons" are enlisted in a witness relocation programme.

Agent: Now, when I say, "Hello, Mr. Thompson," and press down on your foot, you smile and nod.
Homer: No problem.
Agent: Hello, Mr. Thompson! (presses on Homer's foot)
Homer: (whispers to other agent) I think he's talking to you.

boovidge
16/06/2008, 12:40 PM
Saw a new one yesterday thought it was ok laughed a good few times but its lots its overall apeal. First episode of simpsons ive watched in a long long time.

Yeah it was alright, good to see what happened to Lurleen.

stann
16/06/2008, 1:44 PM

Well done that man!

I'm not sure what happens now, but I think pineapple stu implodes or something. :D

gilberto_eire
16/06/2008, 9:47 PM
My fav' bit of all time comes from the ''Franchise/Pretzel Wagon'' episode

Marge goes to the "Picture Perfect" seminar.

Host: Now, folks, I don't wanna alarm ya, but scientists say forty
percent of America's pictures... are hanging crooked.

[the audience gasp in shock]

Yep, it's true. And I hear you asking: "Well, who's gonna
straighten out all these artistic abominations?" Your friends?
A neighbor? Those fat cats at Washington? [chuckles] Good
luck. Hey, you know, maybe no one'll notice! Maybe the problem
with ju-u-u-st fix itself.

Marge: Now you're the one who's being naive.

Man: Okay. Fair enough. But you sound like you're ready to become
your own boss in the exciting world of frame-nudging! Yes, for
a minimal franchise fee, you'll receive a pair of straightening
gloves, a cannister of wall lubricant and a booklet of the most
commonly asked questions you will hear, including: "Who are you?"
and "What are you doing here?"

The bit about the booklet just tops a very funny scene IMO, the words to that part run through my head about 5 times a day, stuck i tell ya!!:D

17/06/2008, 11:51 AM
Some of my favourite Homer quotes

Homer: There's your giraffe, little girl.
Ralph Wiggum: I'm a boy.
Homer: That's the spirit. Never give up.

Homer: How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?
Marge: That's because you were drunk!
Homer: And how

Homer: From now on, there are three ways to do things: the right way, the wrong way, and the Max Power way.
Bart: Isn't that just the wrong way?
Homer: Yeah, but faster!

:D:D

17/06/2008, 11:56 AM
And then Mr.Burns bets lines

Mr.Burns: Quick Smithers. Bring the mind eraser device!
Smithers:You mean the revolver, sir?
Mr.Burns: Precisely.

Mr. Burns: Smithers I'm thinking about donating some money to the orphanage..when pigs fly!
(Homer's bbq pig flies past the window)
Smithers: Will you be donating that money now sir?
Mr.Burns: No, I'd rather not

After Springfield has had it's power switched back on after a blackout
Smithers: But sir, where did you get the extra power?
Mr.Burns: I just diverted it from the local orphanage, who are they going to complain to? Their parents? :D:D:D

Morbo
17/06/2008, 3:32 PM
Another one that made me laugh was when Burns was giving a lecture to a class of 8 year olds
Burns: Family, friends, Religion. These are the demons you must slay if you wish to succeed in business

anto1208
11/07/2008, 11:21 AM
Saw the end of one last night they where trapped in the school by snow principle skinner sent a hamster in a ball out to get help when they got out of the school skinner was in a sack for dodge balls for some reason and he says to the hamster.

"You did it nibbles you saved us now chew through my ball sack for me"

I spat the dinner out all over the sitting room laughing at that.

11/07/2008, 12:24 PM
Exactly the kind of poor, puerile jokes the show has been reduced to, unfortunately.

11/07/2008, 12:30 PM
Exactly the kind of poor, puerile jokes the show has been reduced to, unfortunately.

100% agree. They tried a more family friendly South Park approach to the show when the natural storylines dried up, that didn't work, they've tried turning Homer into Peter Griffin (remember when his character used to be likeable?) and that isn't working, don't see anywhere else for them to go at this stage

sligofan4ever
20/09/2008, 11:06 PM
One of my favourite moments is where there playing poker at lenny's house I remember it was something like this

Moe:"HOMER! You always do this! aghh! chokin' onmy own rage here."
Carl: "Hey don't yell at Homer just becase hes slow."
Homer thinking to to himself: "Uh-Oh something said.Not good. Was it "Dont yell at homer!" no thats ok, waiiiiitttttt, they called you slow!".
Homer:"How there you call me sl- *presumably hours later, everyone has left.
Lenny: "Homer you're still here ? pfft you are slow."
Homer thinking to himself again: Uh-oh, something said. not good-"
Lenny: "Get the hell out of here!"
*Homer gets kicked out the door.

Classic moment :D.

sligofan4ever
16/03/2009, 3:48 PM
Simpsons episode based in Ireland on tomorrow night, anyone watching it ? I cant help but feel it will be a let down considering the comedy in the simpsons has deteriorated, I hope they don't do what they always do now and crack jokes from the episode of Family Guy when they went to Ireland. They don't have any big guest stars lined up for this one either, except for Colm Meaney, they have 3 others but i've never heard of them, one of them aren't even Irish.

Roadend
16/03/2009, 4:14 PM
Since the Simpsons has not been remotely funny for years now I will give this a miss

16/03/2009, 4:39 PM
The Simpsons has fallen so badly you rarely see it mentioned in any Top 10 of all time lists, where a decade a go it would be surprising if it wasn't Number One

I can only imagine how lame the episode tomorrow will be cause I won't be watching it

stann
17/03/2009, 6:51 PM
Unfortunately I'm not nearly so cool and sophisticated as the throng of people who'll be on in a while to trash this, but I'm enjoying it so far.
Cisc O'Systems.
"So, it's our syntax you're criticising then?!" :D

17/03/2009, 7:00 PM
Meh. Was ok. Nothing great. One of the better "new" episodes.

Still ****e compared to mid 90's episodes etc.

stann
17/03/2009, 7:19 PM
But sure so what if it is.
So is music, for the most part. So am I at playing football. No reason to stop any of them, though, is it? :)

You're right RWR that it was merely one of the better recent episodes, but other posters above seem to be overlooking the fact that, as a series, even past its best it's still miles better than 99% of the sh!te that's elsewhere on TV.

17/03/2009, 7:23 PM
Very bad episode. Like i mean when the Police came it actually had police on the van and the staion. Not Garda! Like if they go to all the effort of producing a show based in ireland, get it right!

eamo1
17/03/2009, 11:07 PM
All the usual Stereotypes rolled about us,nothing new.Actually there was one joke i did laugh out loud out at but i cant remember it now so it must'nt have been that good:)

17/03/2009, 11:46 PM
It was sh!t. I think I even noticed a Celtic jersey in it! Also the "police" looked like the S.S.

Ringo
18/03/2009, 5:57 AM
Very bad episode. Like i mean when the Police came it actually had police on the van and the staion. Not Garda! Like if they go to all the effort of producing a show based in ireland, get it right!

thought that too.

Roadend
18/03/2009, 8:19 AM
its best it's still miles better than 99% of the sh!te that's elsewhere on TV.

Eh, no it most certainly isn't.

18/03/2009, 12:34 PM
Like i mean when the Police came it actually had police on the van and the staion. Not Garda!
In fairness like. When Hugh Parkfield proposed to Lisa in one of the "good" episodes, he spelt "honour" without the "u". It's made for an American audience; no point confusing them with different spellings and languages. And it's not as if it was supposed to give a realistic image of Ireland.

18/03/2009, 12:42 PM
Didn't see much of it, but Grandpa's flashback brought back the memories. Apparently, it is a reworking of the ancient myth of my conception:cool:

hula4
18/03/2009, 3:15 PM
does anyone know where i could find this? missed it last night

18/03/2009, 3:17 PM
does anyone know where i could find this? missed it last night

Check your Pm's.

Didnt know if I could post the link here.

18/03/2009, 3:37 PM
Really enjoyed it! :)

As someone else said -even a ****e Simpsons is much better than the vast majority of other stuff on tv ...including animated stuff -much of which wouldn't be on at all but for the Simpsons.

A lot of what's being said here reminds me of the Futurama episode where someones saying the simpsons is still being made but hasn't been any good for 500 years.

18/03/2009, 6:09 PM
I actually enjoyed it, especially after the Simpsons had arrived in Ireland

Favourite part was when the gardai broke up the smoke easy and Homer responded to them saying 'so it's a smoke easy you're running is it' and 'think you would get away with it did you' by saying

'I don't know if those are questions or statements'

:D:D

brianw82
18/03/2009, 9:41 PM
Otto - "Hey Landlord, some clown changed the locks, padlocked the door and put up this eviction notice!"

18/03/2009, 9:48 PM
Lisa: Dad, women wont like being shot in the face.
Homer:Women will like what I tell them to like.

18/03/2009, 9:49 PM
I watched it, thought it was ok.

Funniest joke I thought was when the guards were throwing them in the van and he said "Throw him in the paddywagon...uh...I mean the us-wagon."

18/03/2009, 9:53 PM
anyone know is it available online? did a few searches, cant find it though :(

18/03/2009, 9:54 PM
anyone know is it available online? did a few searches, cant find it though :(

Check your pm's.

EireBadBoy
25/03/2009, 1:33 AM
I got this from a very good source who was trawling the American animation sites. It's a leek apparently that they had in the show but found out after it was very political. It shows Bart pointing out the error on the map since it is in the South of Ireland. The show included planes emblazoned with Derry Air and a village call Dunkilderry.
They withdrew the Bart scene as it was obviously a bit too much. Alledgedly the writers heard that the scene was something an Irish crowd could laugh at but were warned it was still too close too the knuckle.
All in all, Bart does know his geography.

The American press are waiting to hear from the writers to see why they scratched the clip.

I thought it was a pretty good episode, the gay leprechauns aside.

http://eirebadboy.mindparity.com/files/photos/simpsonslondonderry.jpg