View Full Version : Most annoying words & phrases
cheifo
19/05/2008, 1:19 AM
When people say "you know" at the end of every sentence.I do it and I am driving myself crazy.
19/05/2008, 7:32 AM
When people raise their voice? At the end of a sentence? As if they're asking a question? Makes me want to beat them to death?
Wolfie
19/05/2008, 7:51 AM
"Doo-lally" - as in, "He just went completely Doo-lally".
GAA commentators referring to the goalkeeper as "the Custodian".
The superfluous use of "very" in conjunction with superlatives. "I was very elated". There's no need to qualify how elated you were, you're either elated or your not!!!
Irish people using the derogatory phrase "That's a bit Irish". It is indeed.
"Stop following me and hiding in my back garden" - I hate when I hear that one.
kingdom hoop
19/05/2008, 7:54 AM
Oh my God thischarmingman, that's just like so weeeird! Did you know right, get this, I was thinking the exact same thing, that's just amazing. This is true; right from the get-go it's been grinding my gears, but the recent revelation that some of my (male, non gay) friends are doing it and even worse, a brother, is causing me serious disquiet in my moments of silence. What is happening to people? My nearest and dearest becoming like those I want to shove as far away as possible . Oh despair!
Seriously, can we inaugurate some conveniently initialled 'against the incredibly annoying question inflection', society? Time for all kindred spirits to unite against this dramatically propagating force of evil, I say! Let's put an end to the madness going forward!
19/05/2008, 9:54 AM
When people raise their voice? At the end of a sentence? As if they're asking a question? Makes me want to beat them to death?
***** all
smellyfeet
19/05/2008, 11:24 AM
When people use "Ever so" as in "ever so nice" in a sentence. Whats wrong with just saying "so nice", theres no need for the "ever" part at all.
People who use Random instead of cool or funny.
Gigs. Gaff. Scarlet. When people say im bullin for a ****.
I'm guilty of using the word "random"
Oh the randomness of it all....ha :p
19/05/2008, 12:07 PM
It's a normal thing if you're Australian...
19/05/2008, 1:42 PM
When people put 'Q.E.D (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Q.E.D.)' at the end of an opinion, to suggest it is actually..."FACT!"
cheifo
19/05/2008, 6:20 PM
Like sex with Random strangers!!!!!
An amnesty is awarded when used with such eloquence!
DaveyCakes
19/05/2008, 8:22 PM
"could/should of"..You all know who you are!
Nothing too spectacular from me with the inclusion of the substituting "was like" for "said".
But what really really bugs me is "it's not rocket science" for something deemed simple. :mad: :mad:
DaveyCakes
19/05/2008, 8:50 PM
The most annoying phrase of the last few weeks is:
"It's a disgrace that fans are being forced to spend thousands of pounds to go to Moscow"
gilberto_eire
19/05/2008, 9:32 PM
Savage
I hate when people say that, ''It was a savage night out'', such a culchie word!!
19/05/2008, 9:38 PM
Seriously, can we inaugurate some conveniently initialled 'against the incredibly annoying question inflection', society? Time for all kindred spirits to unite against this dramatically propagating force of evil, I say! Let's put an end to the madness going forward!
'Quit Using Irritating Ending Tones!' or...'QUIET!'
20/05/2008, 9:14 AM
But what really really bugs me is "it's not rocket science" for something deemed simple. :mad: :mad:
Someone said to me once "It's rocket surgery". :D
20/05/2008, 9:25 AM
"could/should of"..You all know who you are!
loose/lose
their/they're/there
you're/your
quiet/quite
All annoy me way more than they should
I've seen people that are supposed to be primary school teachers get this wrong
20/05/2008, 1:55 PM
loose/lose
their/they're/there
you're/your
quiet/quite
All annoy me way more than they should
I've seen people that are supposed to be primary school teachers get this wrong
...people who...
"...are supposed to be...". There's some doubt? They've rebelled and become award winning pastry chefs instead?
20/05/2008, 2:15 PM
"muppet" - corny, over-used and well past its sell by date
20/05/2008, 2:57 PM
...people who...
Where are you going with this John83? I'd hate to have to correct you again:)
smellyfeet
20/05/2008, 3:28 PM
Played a Blinder..Whats that mean?
gilberto_eire
20/05/2008, 3:44 PM
Just rememebered one today....
People who STILL do Borat imitations, even though it came out(the film anyway) nearly two years ago.
It was funny for about a minute!!
20/05/2008, 4:08 PM
...people who...
"...are supposed to be...". There's some doubt? They've rebelled and become award winning pastry chefs instead?
People that I don't know in person but who've said they are teachers in forums .
20/05/2008, 7:45 PM
People who endlessly quote comedy films.
I mean, I like Anchorman as much as the next man but...
Played a Blinder..Whats that mean?
It means 'had a great game'.
smellyfeet
21/05/2008, 2:46 PM
It means 'had a great game'.
Thanks stann, took you the full day to sort that out..:)
What about "had a stormer", would that be like "playing out of you skin":rolleyes:
News reporters who have renamed Sunderland FC to Roy Keane's Sunderland
Thanks stann, took you the full day to sort that out..
What about "had a stormer", would that be like "playing out of you skin":rolleyes:
No, just that believe it or not I'm not on here all day every day.
I see I'll have to put a ;) on everything from now on too.
BTW, in case you were being serious with your "what does that mean", blinding is a term frequently used in the UK, particularly in London (you'd hear it a lot on Fools and Horses for example), meaning outstanding or spectacular. It possibly derives from the idea of an object so bright or shiny (and thus spectacular) that it blinds, and it's easy to see how 'played a blinding game' became 'played a blinder'.
22/05/2008, 2:02 PM
"my bad".
/me shudders
23/05/2008, 12:35 PM
Another footie one. Anyone else getting sick of the constant references by commentators to teams "Asking questions" of one another ? e.g Chelsea are asking a lot of questions of Man U now. Gives me visions of one player going up to another and whispering in his ear "What's the capital of Columbia ?"
29/05/2008, 7:04 AM
Do you reckon Ashley Cole or Wayne Rooney would have known the answer to that one?
29/05/2008, 8:02 AM
Not really an annoying phrase, but it annoys me that a lot of people can't spell 'Colombia'. ;)
29/05/2008, 8:37 AM
It annoys me when people change their names on internet forums!
29/05/2008, 8:38 AM
Very good! :D
Another thing that annoys me. When English people say 'they had a good crack'.
29/05/2008, 10:54 AM
Not really an annoying phrase, but it annoys me that a lot of people can't spell 'Colombia'. ;)
In their defence, that's how a lot of US institutions named for old Chris are spelt. In English, his name is spelt with the 'u' too, so it's easy to make a slip.
Wolfie
29/05/2008, 12:26 PM
The mass over use of the phrase "Legend". We're leaving real legends with nowhere to go!!
All you can hear at the moment is:
"My milk man is an absolute legend"
"My Granny is a total legend" - unless your Granny was Deirdre of the Sorrows.
"Thanks for the lend of the tenner - you're a legend".
29/05/2008, 12:31 PM
In their defence, that's how a lot of US institutions named for old Chris are spelt.
People who say "named for" instead of "named after"
29/05/2008, 12:33 PM
The mass over use of the phrase "Legend". We're leaving real legends with nowhere to go!!
All you can hear at the moment is:
"My milk man is an absolute legend"
"My Granny is a total legend" - unless your Granny was Deirdre of the Sorrows.
"Thanks for the lend of the tenner - you're a legend".
Even worse when it's shortened to ledge.
29/05/2008, 12:35 PM
Or dmandmythdledge :p
29/05/2008, 12:52 PM
People who say "named for" instead of "named after"
Interesting. I've never really thought about it. A little searching seems to suggest that both were valid in the days of yore, but while Britain settled exclusively on "named after" more than a century ago, the Americans stayed flexible. An off the cuff remark on wikipedia even suggests that New Zealanders use "named for" exclusively.
In conclusion: Brit!
Wolfie
29/05/2008, 12:57 PM
"The yoke over beside the thing" :confused: :confused: :confused:
29/05/2008, 1:50 PM
"The yoke over beside the thing" :confused: :confused:I love saying that:p
Wolfie
29/05/2008, 3:49 PM
"The yoke over beside the thing"
I love saying that:p
I suppose it can come in handy sometimes.
Q "Which one is she?"
A "The yoke over beside the thing" :D
Hope this qualifies but mine is a grammatical / phraseology thing
It is the way pronouns are put to the end of sentences by football commentators.
Benign example:
They are have a really good coach in Trappatoni, Ireland.
They have a new lease of life, Ireland
Stunning example
He's passed it to Michael Carrick, Carlos Tevez
29/05/2008, 4:04 PM
Interesting. I've never really thought about it. A little searching seems to suggest that both were valid in the days of yore, but while Britain settled exclusively on "named after" more than a century ago, the Americans stayed flexible. An off the cuff remark on wikipedia even suggests that New Zealanders use "named for" exclusively.
Quite common actually. "Ize" instead of "Ise" is the best example; -ize is the original British spelling, but is now considered purely an Americanism.
forza rovers
29/05/2008, 8:08 PM
it wrecks my head the way some people say like at the end of each sentence and when its put with you know what i mean like.
29/05/2008, 10:19 PM
Hope this qualifies but mine is a grammatical / phraseology thing
It is the way pronouns are put to the end of sentences by football commentators.
Benign example:
They are have a really good coach in Trappatoni, Ireland.
They have a new lease of life, Ireland
Stunning example
He's passed it to Michael Carrick, Carlos Tevez
Oh yeah, that gets right on my wick. Especially when a "has" is added. e.g "He's had a fine game, has Rooney." It's a real Ron Atkinson/Clive Tyldsley trademark. Some journos have even started to use it in writing (I'm looking at you Paul Hyland).
29/05/2008, 11:17 PM
it wrecks my head the way some people say like at the end of each sentence and when its put with you know what i mean like.
A bit like this...?
fEyFKbG13z0
05/06/2008, 11:46 AM
I dont know if its a Belfast thing or a NI thing in general, but their completely incorrect use of the word "Whenever" the way they use it instead of "When" they say stuff like it ended 1-0 whenever Boh's played Rovers, eh no that'd be a pretty amazing coincidence if every Bohs v Rovers match in the history of the League ended 1-0
Ceirtlis
05/06/2008, 12:11 PM
Cheers is probably the saying that annoys me the most.
From the soccer world i hate boring interviews where the interviewee overuses the word obviously, we want to get the three points obviously, John Terry and David Beckham very guilty of this.
From working in financial services I hate when people shorten words, abreviate and use jargon. I hear it every bloody day all around on phones and in office conversations, sometimes I feel like standing up on my desk and telling everyone to shut the **** up.