View Full Version : Most annoying words & phrases
Sligo Hornet
05/06/2008, 12:21 PM
Cheers is probably the saying that annoys me the most.
From the soccer world i hate boring interviews where the interviewee overuses the word obviously, we want to get the three points obviously, John Terry and David Beckham very guilty of this.
From working in financial services I hate when people shorten words, abreviate and use jargon. I hear it every bloody day all around on phones and in office conversations, sometimes I feel like standing up on my desk and telling everyone to shut the **** up.
Yeah...so do I:D
05/06/2008, 2:22 PM
I hate when football is called 'soccer'. Despise that word.
05/06/2008, 2:45 PM
Text speak kack in text messages or emails:mad:
Dubs who frequently use "English" slang such "mate" and the like.
BGR, that "whenever" thing isn't a NI thing, don't know where you heard that.
Touch base :mad: :mad:
05/06/2008, 3:33 PM
don't know where you heard that.
Whenever a Belfast person is interviewed on UTV Live or BBC NI Newsline and constantly from a friend of mine from Andersonstown so it's probs just a Belfast thing
BGR, that "whenever" thing isn't a NI thing, don't know where you heard that.
I've heard it used lots by Northerners on TV. Agree with BGR it's very annoying.
Whenever a Belfast person is interviewed on UTV Live or BBC NI Newsline
You mean every single time in the history of UTV/BBC NI interviews? That's a pretty amazing coincidence.
06/06/2008, 10:01 AM
You mean every single time in the history of UTV/BBC NI interviews? That's a pretty amazing coincidence.
Pretty much everytime yep ;)
Morbo
09/06/2008, 12:14 PM
"the bottom line", "all credit to ...", "owned" or "pwned"
09/06/2008, 1:20 PM
must be a belfast thing and you just hear it once or twice.
09/06/2008, 1:29 PM
I hate when football is called 'soccer'. Despise that word.
Why? Its English slang.
09/06/2008, 1:30 PM
it wrecks my head the way some people say like at the end of each sentence and when its put with you know what i mean like.
Don't ever come to Cork, heads will roll like! :D
09/06/2008, 3:22 PM
I hate when football is called 'soccer'. Despise that word.It's a shortened form of AsSOCiation Football, and originates in England, despite being used far more extensively in America
deecay
09/06/2008, 6:18 PM
Well said Sligoman,Im geting angry thinking about that word.We dont live in America/Australia
gilberto_eire
09/06/2008, 7:01 PM
Well said Sligoman,Im geting angry thinking about that word.We dont live in America/Australia
No we don't, in America football is NFL and in Australia it's Aussie Rules..... BUT unlike England we have another game of football which is our National sport and thats Gaelic Football so the phrase is valid here, they can say it in England because to them it's there GAA/NFL/AFL ;)
Obviously i know it's not important in Sligo when ye could only manage 2 Connachts(or 3?) in your history but for succesful dual counties like ourselves we need a distinction! :D
09/06/2008, 7:07 PM
Obviously i know it's not important in Sligo when ye could only manage 2 Connachts(or 3?) in your history but for succesful dual counties like ourselves we need a distinction! :DYa see, that may be an insult if I actually cared about gah. As you can see from my sig, I just laugh at Shligo's efforts:).
Our 'national sport' as you call it, is called gaelic football, not football.
09/06/2008, 7:19 PM
And the sport you follow is called association football, not football.
09/06/2008, 7:33 PM
And the sport you follow is called association football, not football.I follow a sport run by the FAI, UEFA and FIFA. All those F's stand for football, not soccer, the association bit is true but irrelevant. GAA is Gaelic Athletic Association, nothing about football in their title. Game over;)
09/06/2008, 7:48 PM
That's irrelevant. I play chess, but don't call it échecs because the governing body is called Fédération Internationale des Échecs.
Perhaps you shout "Come on the Republic of Ireland" during internationals?
09/06/2008, 7:59 PM
Coming from a GAA family, I can understand some people's distaste for the word 'soccer'. I've often heard the word spat like a curse or drawn out in a contemptuous manner. Anyone who associates the word with that kind of thing will naturally dislike it.
deecay
09/06/2008, 8:01 PM
No we don't, in America football is NFL and in Australia it's Aussie Rules..... BUT unlike England we have another game of football which is our National sport and thats Gaelic Football so the phrase is valid here, they can say it in England because to them it's there GAA/NFL/AFL ;)
Obviously i know it's not important in Sligo when ye could only manage 2 Connachts(or 3?) in your history but for succesful dual counties like ourselves we need a distinction! :D
In America they call American football,football and Australia they call Aussie rules, football.
GAA is a sport riddled with nepotism, for thugs,stupid people and country people:)
13/06/2008, 6:39 AM
'Natch' really f*cking annoys me. Natch. Its short for naturally. What does 'mkay' mean? seen it used and it equally annoys me.. not too up on internet slang..
Our 'national sport' as you call it, is called gaelic football, not football.
Is Hurling not the national sport? I'm ashamed if I got this wrong
That's irrelevant. I play chess, but don't call it échecs because the governing body is called Fédération Internationale des Échecs.
Peasant
What does 'mkay' mean? seen it used and it equally annoys me.. not too up on internet slang..
Its from South park http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=m'kay
My particular bugbears include the poxt "end of" to try a finish an arguement, the ridiculous use of "legend" and "ledge" to describe everything and pretty much all "management speak" (e.g. "thinking outside the box")
Wolfie
13/06/2008, 8:01 AM
A Skangers weapon of choice at times - a slang word to describe something as very good - "Massive".
I can remember describing Vanessa Phelps to a work colleage as "Massive".
She replied - "What - like, she's deadly, like?". :rolleyes:
13/06/2008, 9:06 AM
GAA is a sport riddled with nepotism, for thugs,stupid people and country people:)
Just as well no one from outside a major city plays soccer here then
Is it just me, or in the last 12 months has every politician, bluffer, halfwit & chancer, every businessman, clergyman, spaceman & layman started to throw the phrase "in terms of" into every single sentence & statement they utter in a feeble attempt to give credibility to an otherwise very normal speak.
Walk into your local mace and ask where the coco pops are... you'll get told by the pompus manager they are in the aisle behind you, between the cornflakes and the weetabix. "In terms of popularity we realised cornflakes & weetabix had the upper hand, so we positioned coco pops between them in a strategic attempt to tempt the normally health conscious cornflake buyer..." I only asked where the coco pops were....
Honestly, every time I ask a question these days, at work, in the supermarket, in the barbers.. some clown decides to give me a pointless answer, but throws the all important "in terms of" in the middle therefore instantly earning some sort of undefinable believability.
"In terms of" I guess its a the John O'Shea of phrases but its really beginning to get up my nose.
deecay
13/06/2008, 11:38 AM
Just as well no one from outside a major city plays soccer here then
Lost ya at the word soccer
see's it
13/06/2008, 2:01 PM
'moving forward' anytime you hear that it means the person saying it hasnt got a clue!
Rovers fan
14/06/2008, 9:32 AM
BUT unlike England we have another game of football
England actually do have another game with football. The correct name for rugby union is rugby football.
14/06/2008, 9:54 AM
I'm starting to hate the words "treaty", "yes" and "no" :)
zenokelly
14/06/2008, 6:05 PM
There is nothing worse than living with someone who uses this term "TAKE A CHILL PILL", every second minute, take my word.
And I do hate football being nicknamed "soccer". The only people that use it are those that favour rugby and GAA, or am I wrong because anyone I know who is big into football actually call it that?
15/06/2008, 8:06 AM
The use of the word "everyone". Here are a couple of examples I heard on tv/radio recently:
"Jack & Vera, everyone's favourite couple". :confused:
"Everyone tuned in to the final episode of Life on Mars". (never even heard of the series)
Just because the person talking is actually interested in the topic, they think "everyone" else is as well.
15/06/2008, 11:08 AM
Years ago, I knew a guy whose conversation consisted almost entirely of quotes from D'Unbelievables. Now, I'm not a major fan of them, but one or two quotes, with a few months in between, might be acceptable, or even funny. A constant stream of them is not.
I saw the same thing after the Budweiser ad with all the actors whouting 'WHASSUUP!!' into phones or intercoms. For an excruciating time, everybody (Just for you, Owlsfan!) was doing it.
15/06/2008, 11:29 AM
In classes or more likely training seminars/focus groups.
"There's no wrong answers."
Grand, I'll just head back downstairs then. Course passed.
16/06/2008, 9:04 PM
The latest buzz phrase from the RTE Panel: "weak at the back" and then they show maybe 3 clips from 90 minutes showing the opposition creating some chances to show just about every team as "weak at the back" :rolleyes:
06/11/2008, 11:20 AM
Thought id resurrect this one. When someone hears a song they like in a club or on the radio and they go 'TUNE!' I really hate that.
Wolfie
06/11/2008, 12:28 PM
Thought id resurrect this one. When someone hears a song they like in a club or on the radio and they go 'TUNE!' I really hate that.
Christ that sounds really annoying.
I've not come across this yet - but by God if I do - the perpetrator is getting a swift kick up the hole.
stann
06/11/2008, 12:55 PM
I didn't think people still said that. Sooooo late 90s! :D
Anyway...
Futsal.
I hate it, f**king hate it! :mad:
Wolfie
06/11/2008, 1:00 PM
People that use the phrase "You're a Pet" or "Thanks Pet".
Pet?
Stupid Cants.
06/11/2008, 1:04 PM
at work here someone is never working in Dublin , they are working out of the Dublin office
hula4
06/11/2008, 10:49 PM
"me mot" does anyone know where this came from?
its only in dublin i think never heard it anywhere else, think it sounds brutal
joey B
07/11/2008, 1:05 AM
People from cork saying 'D ye know' after every sentence why:confused:
SunnySweeney
07/11/2008, 1:42 AM
People from cork saying 'D ye know' after every sentence why:confused:
It sounds terrible. I'm from Cork and I cringe when I hear it. I (imo) usually hear it from people who are both insecure in themselves and what they have to say and who are bad conversationalists in general.
I dislike when I hear people say "at the minute" as opposed to "at the moment" e.g. "we're not playing well at the minute".
It's a part of the English vernacular which has sadly crept into the Irish vocabulary.
I would have said 'at the minute' is more a northern thing? Am sure those from closer to there will swiftly disabuse me of the impression if it isn't! :D
I like it though, I have to say.
stojkovic
07/11/2008, 7:11 PM
"me mot" does anyone know where this came from?
its only in dublin i think never heard it anywhere else, think it sounds brutal
I think it originated with 'maithe cailin' but I could be wrong.
08/11/2008, 9:32 PM
Hate when the word 'ye' is used when referring to just one person. Mainly used by Northerners and paul oshea on here;). Ye means a group or more than one person!
08/11/2008, 9:54 PM
Hate when the word 'ye' is used when referring to just one person. Mainly used by Northerners and paul oshea on here;). Ye means a group or more than one person!
Pineapple Stu, Bald Student (I think), Aberdonian Stu and I once used yous, ye, yez and y'all in consecutive posts as the plural of you. Schumi cursed us all, either in a post or in person, I forget. Granted, I definitely used y'all just to keep the pattern going. :)
I find myself using "like" as pointless filler when speaking now. It's irritating.
MysticMon
11/11/2008, 9:22 AM
"Can i just say" or "D'ye know wat i mean like" after every sentence!! Now whats that about?