View Full Version : MNS - First Division Related
5ForKeeps
08/05/2008, 2:51 PM
I like the show as the League is getting exposure but what is really grinding my gears lol, is that the First Division is getting non-existent coverage. I for one have had enough, i would advise all supporters of First Division sides to email mns@rte.ie and complain about this injustice and non-exposure of our teams it's an utter disgrace.
??
finnpark
08/05/2008, 3:25 PM
I like the show as the League is getting exposure but what is really grinding my gears lol, is that the First Division is getting non-existent coverage. I for one have had enough, i would advise all supporters of First Division sides to email mns@rte.ie and complain about this injustice and non-exposure of our teams it's an utter disgrace.
??
As a premier division supporter I actually agree with you. They should have highlights from at leats one match each week
08/05/2008, 3:26 PM
Look - the best way I can equate this is that no-one wants to watch the donkey derby when you've got the Grand National on down the road...
Resources as they stand don't permit the covering of "First Division" soccer without compromising the integrity of the standard of Premier Division game coverage on MNS.
I'd rather sit through 10 minutes of analysis and highlights of Derry vs. St Pats than get 5 minutes of that and 5 minutes devoted to Kildare County vs Athlone Town.
At a push - they should maybe show some highlights from a game towards the end of the season if it's between the top 2 or has some bearing on the title (eg. The game when promotion is secured)
socket
08/05/2008, 3:28 PM
never a truer word said...............
RTE only made a commitment to show all the Premier division games which they have kept to so far. Pointless criticising from for not showing Kildare v Monaghan.
KBurke
08/05/2008, 3:34 PM
In fairness its not like we see to many highlights as is. There's more time spent talking and on other features than there is on actual match highlights
Next will probably have less football as they're having the Fai cup draw during the show.
Duggie
08/05/2008, 3:56 PM
wouldnt mind seeing waterford utd's new stand.
wha bout finn harps new stadium when they get relegated........:D
08/05/2008, 3:58 PM
Much and all as I would love to see more first division coverage, I am hoping that they hold off until we get things back on track. Would die if had to watch "highlights" of our recent games against Waterford and Kildare.
Maybe they could do a highlights package for first division just for their website for now and see what the interest is like?
They should maybe give a little more mention to the first than just the results and fixtures but I dont blame them for not covering it fully at the moment. Maybe they could do a club feature every now and again and include 1st division in that.
08/05/2008, 4:01 PM
??
I would advise all supporters of football generally to email mns@rte.ie to beg them not to expose First Division football to public scrutiny, when we are trying to persuade fans of ManU etc that the game here is worth watching.
08/05/2008, 4:02 PM
Maybe they could do a highlights package for first division just for their website for now and see what the interest is like?
Great Idea. Here have one of these (http://www.upload.moldova.org/social/2006/mar/Blue_Peter_Badge.gif)
oldyouth
08/05/2008, 4:11 PM
Probably agree that the general standard of 1st division football would not make great telly but I'm surprised at the derision Premier League supporters are aiming towards their LOI colleagues. Surely, the ultimate goal is to promote League football in general.
I don't see why a feature couldn't be included to do a profile of every LOI team (facilities, stadium, matchday build up, key personnel, potential, fans etc)
One a week would cover all clubs
PS I can understand why Reiteoir might need 10 minutes of analysis on a Derry V Pats game but most of us get by just watching the bloomin' thing
5ForKeeps
08/05/2008, 4:14 PM
The point i wanted to make about the lack of First Divison coverage is that considering it is more competitive than usually is previous seasons espeically with one promotion spot going this season. All teams are evenly matched apart from a few freak results dished out to Monaghan in the last 2 matchdays. Espeically with the draw of the clubs in the division Shels, Dundalk, Waterford, Sporting Fingal which are the main contenders if Longford can sort themselves out. Even at that my club Wexford Youths, although small in stature, have improved this season on last year in terms of performances and results. The Fingal game apart we have given a good account ourselves and should not be underestimated when the draw for the League Cup quarter-finals comes out....
We only have to look up North how bad coverage of the League is up there. Hopefully, this won't happen here down South, we need to promote all aspects including the A Championship and u-21's. It would give all of us fans to get a glimpse at emerging talent. RTE just don't have a clue. The coverage of soccer in Ireland needs a re-structure so it can be promoted better, League and Cup games.
08/05/2008, 6:02 PM
RTE only made a commitment to show all the Premier division games which they have kept to so far.
That is it in a nutshell. They are doing what they have said they would do. They will not send cameras to Fist div grounds to do weekly highlights as the cost would be too much. I know TV3 used to take footage from clubs but RTE wont do that it seems (unless its very good quality)
That is a good idea and should be suggested. And further to that, there is nothing stopping anyone doing a podcast on the first div either.
I don't see why a feature couldn't be included to do a profile of every LOI team (facilities, stadium, matchday build up, key personnel, potential, fans etc)
That is a good idea as well and should be suggested. A feature on all clubs
Cant see it happening in one week to be honest. What would it be like? Just a blurr trying to fit in everyone. One a week would be the way to go.
D.U.F.C Daire
08/05/2008, 6:05 PM
RTE just don't have a clue. The coverage of soccer in Ireland needs a re-structure so it can be promoted better, League and Cup games.
You're lucky you weren;t around for the TV3 era so.
That is a good idea and should be suggested. And further to that, there is nothing stopping anyone doing a podcast on the first div either.
Is there one for the Prem? :eek:
08/05/2008, 6:18 PM
Is there one for the Prem? :eek:
Yeah, its here (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/mns/)
08/05/2008, 6:23 PM
I'd like to see the First Div goals at least. The goals couldn't be that much to show. They could get through the five games in a few minutes and maybe have a look at the table and go through the fixtures.
They could drop 60 (please) and get Jacqui Hurley to commentate on the First Div goals.
08/05/2008, 6:25 PM
I'd like to see the First Div goals at least. The goals couldn't be that much to show. They could get through the five games in a few minutes and maybe have a look at the table and go through the fixtures.
They could drop 60 (please) and get Jacqui Hurley to commentate on the First Div goals.
Cameras, there is no way they will pay for cameras to go to circa extra 5 games a week and only show 5 minutes footage. Its not going to happen.
pól-dcfc
08/05/2008, 6:25 PM
It's the cost of getting the equipment and a cameraman to another 5 grounds which would be the stumbling block.
08/05/2008, 6:31 PM
It's the cost of getting the equipment and a cameraman to another 5 grounds which would be the stumbling block.
Cameras, there is no way they will pay for cameras to go to circa extra 5 games a week and only show 5 minutes footage. Its not going to happen.
Don't Dundalk record some of their matches? I'm pretty sure they have a Youtube section, as well as Athlone. I know Limerick had enough to put together some footage from their matches to make the Setanta add.
If the clubs were willing to supply the footage (clearly some of them are already recording their matches), at no cost to RTE, they should definitely show the goals.
Whatever they do, they should get rid of 60.
5ForKeeps
08/05/2008, 6:51 PM
RTE have studio's all around the country in the main region town's/cities. For example, in City Square in Waterford if Damien Tiernan can go around doing feck all why don't they get him and a camera and do the Waterford/Wexford home games likewise in Limerick. Surely someone can come out of Donnybrook to show highlights of Shels and Sporting Fingal home games. Setanta need to have more of an input as well as RTE. TV3 were useless alrite but the MNS show is near on the same as their Eircom League Weekly except longer and more analysis and that 60 second crap.
They should have highlights package which covers all the games over the weekend in both divisions. Show at least 1 game both the FAI Ford Cup and Eircom League Cup rounds and show both semi-finals and final on TV to promote the game more in the country at club level just like what is happening with the Setanta Cup. As usual, FAI are backward thinking just like our government.
Do what I do and don't watch the show, I've no interest in Premier League football and so can't be bothered watching MNS, especially if there is a round up from one of the better leagues on Setanta or Eurosport
08/05/2008, 7:47 PM
As a premier division supporter I actually agree with you. They should have highlights from at leats one match each week
That's only because your team will be down there next season.
Probably agree that the general standard of 1st division football would not make great telly but...
...and stop. MNS is one of the most important things to happen to Irish football in years. It's the first time that the league has a chance to showcase itself on national TV, at primetime, for a decent length of time. We have to get it right. It's taken long enough to get this far and as far as I'm concerned right now the league is in the business of challenging the old prejudices about domestic football and trying to connect with the thousands of potential fans out there. That means showing the best teams in that league competing. The First Division may be exciting and competative but I'm afraid that's just not enough. It's not merely the standard of football although that's obviously an important part. It's about the overall look. Obviously Premier League games can be boring, lack skill, have low attendances and woeful defending, but it's the best we've got at the moment, and that's what it's all about for the time being, [B]showcasing the best we've got.
We only have to look up North how bad coverage of the League is up there. Hopefully, this won't happen here down South, we need to promote all aspects including the A Championship and u-21's. It would give all of us fans to get a glimpse at emerging talent. RTE just don't have a clue. The coverage of soccer in Ireland needs a re-structure so it can be promoted better, League and Cup games.
Regardless of the level of coercion involved (and that's another reason the First Division won't be covered) RTE are doing a great job at the moment. Have you even seen ELW? It would be nice to have the opportunity to watch 'emerging talent' but surely it's putting the cart before the horse? When we have a credible league with a decent image in the country we can start showing U21, and A Championship games: right now, they're just not the priority. Let's walk before we start running.
Don't Dundalk record some of their matches? I'm pretty sure they have a Youtube section, as well as Athlone. I know Limerick had enough to put together some footage from their matches to make the Setanta add.
If the clubs were willing to supply the footage (clearly some of them are already recording their matches), at no cost to RTE, they should definitely show the goals.
No, no, no, no, noooooo!! We can never, ever go back to the days of handheld, amateur footage. It looks absolutely horrendous, it's a total no-go area. The fact that ELW was on so late at night, in changing timeslots so it was unlikely you'd catch a glimpse of it, is the only reason handheld, youtube-esque camera clips didn't end up doing the league even greater damage than they did. I appreciate the effort put in by volunteers and I acknowledge the fact that the two-angles-awful-replays cameras used in MNS are not exactly going to be bothering Sky, but they are a vast, vast improvement. Unless we want to take a step back, that kind of footage can never be seen on MNS. Ever.
Oh and (off topic) 60-seconds is frothy nonsense but if it dehumanises players and makes people even the slightest bit more interested in the game here, it's worth it.
TV3 were useless alrite but the MNS show is near on the same as their Eircom League Weekly except longer and more analysis and that 60 second crap.
No offence, but that's rubbish. There's no comparison.
08/05/2008, 7:48 PM
Is that footage broadcast quality though, TV3 didn't need it to be but RTE insist on it.
No going to happen, its got a good reaction so its not going to be dropped.
RTE have studio's all around the country in the main region town's/cities. For example, in City Square in Waterford if Damien Tiernan can go around doing feck all why don't they get him and a camera and do the Waterford/Wexford home games likewise in Limerick. Surely someone can come out of Donnybrook to show highlights of Shels and Sporting Fingal home games.
Its the cost though, who will pay for it? Will the clubs pay? Even at that RTE might not budge as they only agreed on Prem coverage, and its the quality of the football that would be their primary concern.
Setanta need to have more of an input as well as RTE.
You will have to take that up with Setanta. They are a separate company to RTE.
TV3 were useless alright
Maybe ask them to cover First Div games/highlights
but the MNS show is near on the same as their Eircom League Weekly except longer and more analysis and that 60 second crap.
That is some wild statement right there :p
They should have highlights package which covers all the games over the weekend in both divisions.
They didn't sign up for it though
Show at least 1 game both the FAI Ford Cup and Eircom League Cup rounds and show both semi-finals and final on TV to promote the game more in the country at club level just like what is happening with the Setanta Cup.
Ask them -> mns@rte.ie
As usual, FAI are backward thinking just like our government.
The FAI have no say in how it is run, they are a Football Association. RTE are the National Broadcaster. They signed up for Prem games and thats what they are doing.
5ForKeeps
08/05/2008, 8:46 PM
Is that footage broadcast quality though, TV3 didn't need it to be but RTE insist on it.
No going to happen, its got a good reaction so its not going to be dropped.
Its the cost though, who will pay for it? Will the clubs pay? Even at that RTE might not budge as they only agreed on Prem coverage, and its the quality of the football that would be their primary concern.
You will have to take that up with Setanta. They are a separate company to RTE.
Maybe ask them to cover First Div games/highlights
That is some wild statement right there :p
They didn't sign up for it though
Ask them -> mns@rte.ie
The FAI have no say in how it is run, they are a Football Association. RTE are the National Broadcaster. They signed up for Prem games and thats what they are doing.
Of course the FAI have a say in how it is run who is making the changes for next season the FAI. Who controls the TV deals, fixtures etc.. the FAI. The FAI like the national team for the last 2 to 4 years haven't a clue. Next season 12 teams out of the 22 in the Eircom League will get no coverage it's a travesty that there isn't any exposure outside the Premier that is all i think, if they want the game to progress the game needs to be promoted better, i an example of this the draw for the League Cup Quarter-Finals no news when the draw is on. In fairness to Setanta they are showing Live games over the weekends but overall the Eircom League has the ability not to be the extremes of the Premiership but better than the SPL. I have emailed MNS anyway :D
08/05/2008, 8:54 PM
Next season 12 teams out of the 22 in the Eircom League will get no coverage it's a travesty that there isn't any exposure outside the Premier that is all i think,
pre·mier: prĭ-mîr', -myîr', prē'mîr
adj.
First in status or importance.
Surely it's supposed to be a competition. If you want the money, the exposure and the TV airtime, get promoted. Like I said above, it would be great to have a First Division highlights program, but it's not the priority right now.
if they want the game to progress the game needs to be promoted better,
...by showing the best teams in the fullest stadiums, with the better atmosphere, and the higher quality every week or by watching Kilkenny (average attendance: 191) v Wexford?
5ForKeeps
08/05/2008, 9:00 PM
Well Kilkenny ain't in the league even saying that there attendence average would have been worse only for the 2 Wexford games last season lol. Like a highlights section would be nice, even that would be a step in the right direction.
08/05/2008, 9:18 PM
I'm going to demand that BBC start showing League 2 highlights on Match of the Day then
Flawless
08/05/2008, 9:38 PM
I'm going to demand that BBC start showing League 2 highlights on Match of the Day then
Sky show League 2 highlights all the time!
One of the lads from orielweb contacted MNS and they said they will cover some First Division games "Towards the Business end of the season" :rolleyes:
08/05/2008, 9:53 PM
Of course the FAI have a say in how it is run
They absolutely do not have a say. The contract is signed and there is no going back on it. Its done.
Having said that, there is a working relationship. I'd imagine there are agreements to supply information, enable cameras at grounds (infrastructure, all done in eL licence) and there is a forum for their input/advice etc. but its all RTE after that.
who is making the changes for next season, the FAI.
Yeah, thats their job.
Who controls the TV deals
After they sign contracts then its up the the TV company who control the content. The TV deal is all worked out prior to signing, and once that is done its all down to the TV company
fixtures etc.. the FAI.
Agreed
The FAI like the national team for the last 2 to 4 years haven't a clue.
Wide open for debate, not unknown to happen on this forum :p
Next season 12 teams out of the 22 in the Eircom League will get no coverage it's a travesty that there isn't any exposure outside the Premier that is all i think
You could be right, not saying you are not
if they want the game to progress the game needs to be promoted better
Who, the FAI, definitely ..... its a must. It is vital if we ever want progress.
RTE, not in their remit (to an extent, something i have a problem with to be honest given their role as a National Broadcaster, but thats another debate) they have signed up for Prem coverage and they are doing that.
i an example of this the draw for the League Cup Quarter-Finals no news when the draw is on.
Monday night on MNS ..... are i right? Can anyone confirm this?
In fairness to Setanta they are showing Live games over the weekends but overall the Eircom League has the ability not to be the extremes of the Premiership but better than the SPL.
In time i'd agree with that, right now no. Walk then Run !!
I have emailed MNS anyway :D
Fair play
Guitd
08/05/2008, 10:03 PM
Sky show League 2 highlights all the time!
One of the lads from orielweb contacted MNS and they said they will cover some First Division games "Towards the Business end of the season" :rolleyes:
So we wont be seeing Dundalk feature on telly so
Well Kilkenny ain't in the league even saying that there attendence average would have been worse only for the 2 Wexford games last season. Harps brought a bigger crowd to one game than the Youths did for two so you dont know what you're talking about!
MNS is one of the most important things to happen to Irish football in years. It's the first time that the league has a chance to showcase itself on national TV, at primetime, for a decent length of time. We have to get it right. It's taken long enough to get this far and as far as I'm concerned right now the league is in the business of challenging the old prejudices about domestic football and trying to connect with the thousands of potential fans out there. That means showing the best teams in that league competing. The First Division may be exciting and competative but I'm afraid that's just not enough. It's not merely the standard of football although that's obviously an important part. It's about the overall look. Obviously Premier League games can be boring, lack skill, have low attendances and woeful defending, but it's the best we've got at the moment, and that's what it's all about for the time being, showcasing the best we've got.
RTE are doing a great job at the moment. It would be nice to have the opportunity to watch 'emerging talent' but surely it's putting the cart before the horse? When we have a credible league with a decent image in the country we can start showing U21, and A Championship games: right now, they're just not the priority. Let's walk before we start running.
You're dead right. As much as I would love to see a round up of the goals & a few decent highlights (I'll admit, if any) of the First Division or even a club profile section, its not going to happen.
It's hugely important that we keep seeing as much as possible of the likes of Fahey, McCourt, etc. as people enjoy watching them. The league is getting the best coverage now than its ever gotten before so be grateful for what you're getting.
No, no, no, no, noooooo!! We can never, ever go back to the days of handheld, amateur footage. It looks absolutely horrendous, it's a total no-go area. Unless we want to take a step back, that kind of footage can never be seen on MNS. Ever.
I know Kildare County have the handheld footage of their games on Youtube also (now no offence to lads that do it & fair play to them for doing it) but you couldn't show it on Prime time national television when you trying to promote the league & hopefully provoke some of these armchair/sky-loving/preimer league team supporters into actually gettng up off their ar ses and actually going to a live game on their doorstep.
08/05/2008, 10:17 PM
No, no, no, no, noooooo!! We can never, ever go back to the days of handheld, amateur footage. It looks absolutely horrendous, it's a total no-go area.
First thing I thought too.
I'd like to see more coverage of the First Division too - it's one of the problems the league has that if you're relegated, you're pretty much left to rot. But even showing all the First Division goals would require an extra five cameras and camera teams, which is an extra cost for what's still a minority programme. And I definitely don't want to go back to YouTube standard, insufficient resolution again, with respect to those who provide that service for the relevant clubs.
08/05/2008, 10:47 PM
I'd like to see more coverage of the First Division too - it's one of the problems the league has that if you're relegated, you're pretty much left to rot. But even showing all the First Division goals would require an extra five cameras and camera teams, which is an extra cost for what's still a minority programme. And I definitely don't want to go back to YouTube standard, insufficient resolution again, with respect to those who provide that service for the relevant clubs.
Why not just do the pick of the games in the first division then each week? Like the Dundalk-Shels game tonight for example, with a crowd of 2500 - how is that not an advertisement for the leage?
LeixlipRed
08/05/2008, 10:51 PM
Yes with a crowd of 2500. Not a chance
08/05/2008, 11:46 PM
What first division clubs have footage of their games?
skitz3
08/05/2008, 11:59 PM
Shels do and i know Athlone do too
oldyouth
09/05/2008, 7:48 AM
All home games for the Youths are recorded and replayed in the clubhouse at HT & FT. Don't know where I can get my hands on a copy. Dundalk & Shels produce copies of their games and sell them as a way of raising a few bob
oldyouth
09/05/2008, 7:49 AM
Quote:Oldyouth
Cant see it happening in one week to be honest. What would it be like? Just a blurr trying to fit in everyone. One a week would be the way to go.
Is that not what I said??:confused:
09/05/2008, 8:53 AM
Maybe they could do a club feature every now and again and include 1st division in that.
That is a good idea as well and should be suggested. A feature on all clubs
Eh hello.........Give me all the credit here A Face for goodness sake, the way things are going for Mons at the mo I need all the kudos I can get!! :D
shelsfan1
09/05/2008, 10:09 AM
no one's really askin them to show 5 mins of kildare vs monaghan. but earlier in the season and last night they had a great opperyunity with shels vs dundalk. good crowds(more than some premier games) and a bit of excitement in the games. there's no point just showing the table at the end of mns cos it doesn't show the state of the game in the first division and that there really is a battle for the title
Billy-Green
09/05/2008, 10:28 AM
I'd like to see the First Div goals at least. The goals couldn't be that much to show.
Thats about all we see of the premier division anyway. I wonder was there a camera at the Dundalk & Shels match?
As the old saying goes you have to crawl before you can walk, so id say let rte focus on the premier division first, some players in the 1st division cant even run anyway
5ForKeeps
09/05/2008, 10:44 AM
no one's really askin them to show 5 mins of kildare vs monaghan. but earlier in the season and last night they had a great opperyunity with shels vs dundalk. good crowds(more than some premier games) and a bit of excitement in the games. there's no point just showing the table at the end of mns cos it doesn't show the state of the game in the first division and that there really is a battle for the title
That is the whole point of why i created this thread in a nutshell and to provide a good discussion what people think.
Battery Rover
09/05/2008, 10:57 AM
What first division clubs have footage of their games?
I film every Athlone Town game and it would be of broadcast quality (mpeg 2) and I have sent stuff to TV3 and the company involved in the end of year awards before. The home games would be excellent as it is filmed from the press area without obstructions in the way.
lilywhite stu
09/05/2008, 11:06 AM
They could easily show highlights of the biggers first division games. tv3 used to show the all the rovers games. couldn't we see some highlights of a game like dundalk v shelbourne last night? There would be plenty of interest in it, its already looking like the first division is going to be a tight contest this year.
At the very least in the piece at the end of the show where they go through the results they always show next weeks premier league fixtures but never the first division ones, that would only take 20 seconds for feck sake!
I haven't watched in recent weeks, but have they even started showing the fixtures for the 1st yet? It would be good if they showed highlights from one match a week, or even every few weeks - last nights game for example is obviously enough an important one in the scheme of things.
I have to say, as a now a first division fan, there isn't enough to keep me watching MNS - not enough highlights, too much irrelevant bull from panelists, not enough analysis. They could easily free up 2 or 3 minutes for some mention of the 1st.
Premier Division Supporters seem like the new barstoolers judging by this thread - "sure why would we watch that rubbish, it's crap"
09/05/2008, 11:19 AM
Look - the best way I can equate this is that no-one wants to watch the donkey derby when you've got the Grand National on down the road...
The grand national? Are you for real? By that logic they'd be better off scrapping the whole things and showing another English Premier League show. Or an SPL one maybe. There are more Celtic fans in this country (however lazy their fandom is) than there are of all 22 league clubs combined. Overall I don't see any reason why they'd do more than pay lip service to the First Division but don't get too carried away either. Plenty of clubs have come up from the first division and done reasonably well in the last few years so the gulf isn't quite what you're alluding to and certainly if the first division is a donkey derby the Premier is a long, long way from the Grand National.
Never was a truer word spoken. For all the talk of making the league look professional amateur crap like this is an embarrasment.
09/05/2008, 11:30 AM
But it's totally inconsistant. It just wouldn't fit with the programme. A decision was made (the right one) to show Premier Division highlights. Do the BBC ever say on MOTD, "First we've got Liverpool and Chelsea, after that Newcastle take on Man United, oh and there was a really exciting Championship match you just have to see as well." No, because it looks amateur and it's inconsistant. Where do you stop? What's the criteria for showing a match? Over 2100 fans? More than 2 goals? More than 4 pieces of skill?
No, because it looks amateur and it's inconsistant.
More like they don't have the rights? The Championship programme on ITV shows goals for all 3 leagues without being amateur or inconsistant. Of actually match of the day in the early rounds of the FA Cup come to think of it, with a lot bigger difference in standards too.
09/05/2008, 2:06 PM
More like they don't have the rights? The Championship programme on ITV shows goals for all 3 leagues without being amateur or inconsistant. Of actually match of the day in the early rounds of the FA Cup come to think of it, with a lot bigger difference in standards too.
Yes, and note that they have a totally separate programme for the lower leagues. I'm sure if they wanted the rights badly enough they could get them but being a tax-funded state broadcaster they can't justify the expense.
Early rounds of the cup is obviously totally different to week-in-week-out league action and it's not what we're talking about here but given the choice between a top of the the table Championship clash in the cup or Reading v Blackburn, guess which one the BBC will braodcast?
Why can't we do our best to try and change the image of the EL by putting on the most professional programme we possibly can and then a couple of years down the line when we hopefully have more exposure, more money and more fans, we can start showing Division One highlights? If I was trying to build a house the very first thing I'd do would be to make sure I bought the plot, got planning permission and arranged for the foundations to be laid. I wouldn't begin by choosing the colour of the settee.
09/05/2008, 2:16 PM
If I was trying to build a house the very first thing I'd do would be to make sure I bought the plot, got planning permission and arranged for the foundations to be laid. I wouldn't begin by choosing the colour of the settee.
You are such a man! I would build the house around my furniture and colour schemes, but then I once bought a car solely on the basis that it was purple. :o