View Full Version : Galway 6-5-08 l.c
forza rovers
04/05/2008, 7:33 AM
what do ye think for this one.id say it will be a tough game but we will beat them 2-0
Only1Rovers
04/05/2008, 9:27 AM
I'd like to see Anto go in centre of midfield again for this one.
I was very impressed with him against Shams. He put himself about and was challenging well.
I'm sure Kenna will have Galway up for this game though.
Rovers fan
04/05/2008, 11:49 AM
Hopefully we can heap more misery on galway!!
Rovers Maniac
06/05/2008, 8:49 AM
I think Cook will rest players for this but still put out a strong enough side. It will be interesting to see what both managers do, Galway themselves have a make or brake game against Harps on Friday.
06/05/2008, 10:33 AM
Hope Judge and Foy start. I'd say Jennings will.
2-1 to Rovers.
red_away
06/05/2008, 12:45 PM
We will win this one 5 - 1 ...no probs!!!
Only1Rovers
06/05/2008, 12:45 PM
Gavin is out for this game.
Hamstring trouble. Jamie will deff play, I'd say
06/05/2008, 1:20 PM
I know it sounds silly, but this is our best chance of a trophy this season. It really is a must win.
06/05/2008, 1:24 PM
I know it sounds silly, but this is our best chance of a trophy this season. It really is a must win.
Nothing silly about , it's been a while since we made a real impact on the League Cup
06/05/2008, 1:32 PM
Nothing silly about , it's been a while since we made a real impact on the League Cup
10 years this year.
He will play his strongest team available to him. He said at the start of the season that winning one of the Cups is a top priority. If Peers is injured I could see him move Ventre back into centre half and play O'Grady and Murphy in middle of midfield. If Murphy is still injured after Saturday night Boco might move back and Faz and Judge start up front.
Murphy had his best game of the season Saturday night.
life long red
06/05/2008, 2:32 PM
it is silly and only 9 games gone
06/05/2008, 2:37 PM
it is silly and only 9 games gone
9 games since what exactly?
Rovers Maniac
06/05/2008, 3:36 PM
Since the start of the season. Should be interesting on how they use the squad tonight.
06/05/2008, 3:48 PM
Since the start of the season.
When did I say anything about the start of the season?
Rovers Maniac
06/05/2008, 4:20 PM
you're being silly again, you said nothing of course.
sligofan4ever
06/05/2008, 5:24 PM
Should be a good match Galway might put up a fight this time round for any hope of some glory this season too so Sligo Rovers shouldnt be layed back if they take a 3-0 lead for example remember how close it was on Saturday also can see Pat Jennings getting a run out
sligofan4ever
06/05/2008, 5:44 PM
Whats your team for this one ? I can see some top players being rested so heres mine maybe the likes of Curran and Foy will play too and maybe rest Brush,Butler,Faz,o grady etc... for the next game. Or maybe even make them subs.
Jennings
Coleman McKenzie Foy Almeida
Raff Curran Ventre/Moore Cash
Boco Judge
Subs:
Brush
Faz
O 'Grady
Butler
Peers
dublinred
06/05/2008, 8:46 PM
Still 0 0 , foy missed last min penalty
06/05/2008, 8:52 PM
Extra Time.
06/05/2008, 9:04 PM
Foyzer just hit the crossbar.
**** sake
Terry-Lander
06/05/2008, 9:05 PM
Still 0 0 , foy missed last min penalty
Rogers SAVED last min penalty................Depends which side one is watching from:D
Paddyfield
06/05/2008, 9:45 PM
Galway United won 6 - 5 on penalties.
06/05/2008, 10:00 PM
****e game, neither team deserved to win.
Foyzer's first penalty was more of a good save than a bad penalty but his one in the penalty shoot out was poor as was Ventre's.
Dunno why Boco was taken off, and tbh Judge looks very very low on confidence atm. A shadow of when he was on song last season.
biscuit
06/05/2008, 10:02 PM
****e game, and thats not even getting round to the penos.
Galway, well they've tightened up at the back, but are an absolute horrible football team. And im not trying to antagonise yee, im sure you know this already.
Foyzers two penos were within good reach of the keeper. Dannys went three Hordings wide of the post!!
Bad night all round, never really seemed up for it apart from last 5 mins.
sligofan4ever
06/05/2008, 10:05 PM
Wasnt a great game neither team deserved the win. I was surprised at Foyzer having two penaltys saved :( and Judge wasnt very convincing he dosent seem commited to playing for us unlike last season Faz really got into form despite getting tired near the end. Danny Ventre had a dreadful penalty too and those anyone know why Boco got taken off so early ?.
Patrick Dunne
06/05/2008, 10:07 PM
Hard luck Sligs !
RedRebel32
06/05/2008, 10:11 PM
the game was a total bore.very scrappy and very little passing.galway are very poor in fairness and they will struggle to find the net this season i think.we had a couple of chances but due to our performance a defeat probably will act as a good wake up call to the lads before cork.shams was a good win but that effort and football must be produced every week.great performances by almeida,anto,mckensie,raf and butler aswell were all superb imo
sligored
06/05/2008, 10:11 PM
boco had a groin injury. judge was pathetic. even if he is low on confidence that does not stop him jumping for headers. at least 10 balls came in his direction and fitzgerald won every header. not even a jump from matthew. if he wants his place in the team he will have to earn it.
showgies
06/05/2008, 10:29 PM
I disagree that neither side deserved to win. I thought Rovers did, as we created 3 decent chances (4 if you include the peno)
First chance fell to Murphy (who had a very impressive 2nd half) and he ballooned it over the bar. Second chance fell to Raf, (from a superb pass from Anto) if his touch was better he would have got one on one with Rogers and the third chance was when Raf floated a great ball to Judge, who could only weakly head it into the arms of Rogers.
Defensively we looked sound, at no time did I really believe Galway were going to score. Galway were no better or worse than the last time they visited the Showgies. Except this time nobody was able to produce a wee bit of magic to turn the game.
Had Boco and Anto not gone off injured I think we could have won the game handily.
I do worry now about the fitness of some of the players for the Cork game.
Why didn't Faz take the peno??
srfc1928
06/05/2008, 10:32 PM
Cork will be happy. Extra time and penalties 3days before we play them.
When was the last time we won on penalties ?
06/05/2008, 10:37 PM
worst penalty ever
06/05/2008, 10:40 PM
Why didn't Faz take the peno??
'Cause Keith Foy did.
showgies
06/05/2008, 10:41 PM
Ventre's effort was funny. I thought he was just kicking the ball away.
Is he not aware the objective of a penalty is to shoot at the goal. If I were Cookie I'd check his trouser pocket for betting slips; surely he had GALWAY TO WIN......
showgies
06/05/2008, 10:41 PM
'Cause Keith Foy did.
Oh! thanks
Rovers Maniac
06/05/2008, 10:57 PM
Game was not helped by the fact that 17 Galway fans came, Rovers fans had to make the atmosphere all by themselves. :mad:
I overheard Kenna say something like if only 17 of them travel why are they so bitter :D
06/05/2008, 11:17 PM
Ventre's effort was funny.How can you find that funny? We go out of a competition, and your laughing head off. :rolleyes:
Rovers Maniac
06/05/2008, 11:19 PM
Funny are you for real Brewer how could think that man?
Edit:misread previous post
Yes it is not funny at all.
06/05/2008, 11:21 PM
Anyways, back to the game.
Anto had a stormer of a game in the middle. What a player and I think he's the creative spark we need to replace Hughes/Turner. He was nearly involved in every chance we created tonight looking at my notes from the game. He's got to play centre midfield from now on.
Rovers Maniac
06/05/2008, 11:24 PM
Anyways, back to the game.
Anto had a stormer of a game in the middle. What a player and I think he's the creative spark we need to replace Hughes/Turner. He was nearly involved in every chance we created tonight looking at my notes from the game. He's got to play centre midfield from now on.
Notes? are you a coach at the club? GC?
06/05/2008, 11:25 PM
Notes? are you a coach at the club? GC?
I'm Paul Cook.:eek:
showgies
06/05/2008, 11:26 PM
How can you find that funny? We go out of a competition, and your laughing head off. :rolleyes:
Who said I laughed?
It was funny in the same way your 'Cause Keith Foy did comment was, I guess
Rovers Maniac
06/05/2008, 11:29 PM
I'm Paul Cook.:eek:
Oh hi Paul unlucky tonight, you are doing a great job, keep the head up.
06/05/2008, 11:59 PM
Foy should never have been allowed take a penalty in the shoot-out after missing in the game, he was destined to miss again. As for Danny Ventre, don't know what he was at, he looked shattered after the game, must have been dreaming of his bed as he ran up to take that penalty.
The game itself, I thought we deserved to win. Galway are still very poor, although a bit more organised. That loss takes some of the fun from Cork game Friday:(
celticV3
07/05/2008, 12:26 AM
i dont think foy was right to take that penalty, after missing the first one it would have been nice for him to make ammends but another choice in the earlier penalties would have been better,
some good performances tonigh but an probably the most boring game ever, neither deserved to through and i'd say kildrum tigers are kicking themselves. would have been nice to have a good cup run but theres the fai cup for that and obviously the icing on the cake was the 6 galway fans celebrating like it was a cup final, i suppose celebrate all wins over the bigger teams as first division football is o it's way i suppose?
07/05/2008, 7:41 AM
i dont think foy was right to take that penalty, after missing the first one it would have been nice for him to make ammends but another choice in the earlier penalties would have been better,
some good performances tonigh but an probably the most boring game ever, neither deserved to through and i'd say kildrum tigers are kicking themselves. would have been nice to have a good cup run but theres the fai cup for that and obviously the icing on the cake was the 6 galway fans celebrating like it was a cup final, i suppose celebrate all wins over the bigger teams as first division football is o it's way i suppose?
6?
What a pathetic post.UTD fans were celebrating a penatly shoot out win.We weren't the one's with the drums etc behind the goals.:o
As for the game.Awful boring.No team deserved to win.We'll take that though.
07/05/2008, 9:51 AM
Penalties are always a lottery like that , very disappointed to go out, Foy shouldn't ahve taken the first penalty , no reason why a man who hasn't played all season should overtake Faz as the penalty taker ,Positives that can be taken are that I thought Murphy , Cash and McKenzie did well , Raf Mauro and Seamie were as good as usual , Hopefully everyone will be fit and ready for Turners Cross on Friday
jamie m
07/05/2008, 10:17 AM
really disapointed, seemed inevitable we would have penalties the longer the game went on, felt sorry for foyzer, regardless of whether he should have taken the peno or not at least he showed a bit of bottle in stepping up especially after missing the first, Hopefully Cookie can pick the lads up for the trip to cork, agree about anto, thought he picked it up a level last night, hopefully a sign of things to come,
red bellied
07/05/2008, 11:09 AM
Galway keeper shouldnt have been on the pitch to save any of Foys two penalties. Should of received straight red for taking down Raf as he was last man back.
07/05/2008, 11:59 AM
no reason why a man who hasn't played all season should overtake Faz as the penalty takerFaz didn't seem too interested in taking the penalty. It was Foy and Judge who were arguing about it.