View Full Version : Weekend May 2nd 2008
GUFC 0-0 Derry FT Our 1st clean sheet of the season, something to build on.
3rd game in a row for Derry to remain scoreless
02/05/2008, 8:44 PM
F*%!
:mad:
Bray go 5th. Form team over the last 5 games. :eek:
hedderman
02/05/2008, 8:45 PM
3rd game in a row for Derry to remain scoreless
4 games in a row without a goal I just heard on RTE. :(
Good night for us......now we just need to get a result at Pats.
And if we win we'll be 6 points clear :eek:
02/05/2008, 8:53 PM
Aye 386 minutes to be exact - haven't scored since Pats away. :eek: :o
In fairness to Galway though, from what I heard they tried to play tonight, and created some of the better chances.
And if we win we'll be 6 points clear :eek:
If you win then we're are officially(by me :D) out of the title race...couldnt care about the rest of them.
02/05/2008, 8:57 PM
Pat's playing for the title against Cork, will they bottle it? :cool:
Aye 386 minutes to be exact - haven't scored since Pats away. :eek: :o.
Yeah, Monday Night's game should be a cracker!
hedderman
02/05/2008, 9:08 PM
Yeah, Monday Night's game should be a cracker!
Yeah, it should be. I know it's been a long time since we dropped points against Harps but I hate the prevalent attitude that we have a right to three points against Harps in every game. That's probably the Donegal coming out in me tho (and I'd say I'm in a minority of 1:o)
backofthenet
02/05/2008, 9:08 PM
Not surprised! Your team are hardly gonna have confidence when they see their fans wearing Cork City scarves! :D
You can expect some abuse if I see you in the library...(Pats fan from 4th year by the way!!)
hedderman
02/05/2008, 9:11 PM
Not surprised! Your team are hardly gonna have confidence when they see their fans wearing Cork City scarves! :D
You can expect some abuse if I see you in the library...(Pats fan from 4th year by the way!!)
Wow, that's a bit weird. I know another Pats fan in Trinity in 4th year as well. That's, including ourselves, 7 eircom League fans I know in Trinity. A veritable breeding ground.:p
flood hat trick. 3-0 shels ye beaut ye
We were rubbish tonight, got what we deserved. Speaking of getting what they deserve, yours truly won the half time draw at the game tonight, the prize you ask? Two tickets to Celtic v Hibs, flights, accomodation and spending money included, and who says nice guys finish last....:)
SPXcyan
02/05/2008, 9:15 PM
CMon bluesss :D
backofthenet
02/05/2008, 9:18 PM
Nah, that'd be me! I'm the Pats fan who caught you on the ramp wearing the Derry jersey and the Cork scarf! You should put that scarf to good use and join the Cork crowd in Richmond on Sunday to watch em get beat! Top o' the league 6 points clear here we come.
02/05/2008, 9:24 PM
Another pen conceded by UCD?! What is that 4/5?
5 games in a row. Crowe admitted he tripped over himself too.:mad:
Terry-Lander
02/05/2008, 9:24 PM
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS a clean sheet and we actually created chances. very happy.
Worthy of a point tonight. Defended well and counter-attacked well. Rogers was excellent aswell.
Massive game next friday against Harps if we win were right back in it.Having John Russell back was a huge boost .So hopefully Derek will be ok and we can get one or two of the injured lads back challenging for places.
02/05/2008, 9:47 PM
Bray go 5th. Form team over the last 5 games. :eek:
Delighted to win tonight. We didn't play as well as we did in the last few games but we just about had enough to see Cobh off.
Fair play to Cobh though. Went down to ten men when Alan Kearney was stretchered off and they actually went for an equaliser. Nervous last ten minutes for us.
Delighted with how things have turned around. Five weeks ago, if anyone had said Bray would be fifth in five weeks time, they'd have been laughed off the site. Really incredible turn around and we're now eight points clear of relegation.
Pat's playing for the title against Cork, will they bottle it? :cool:
Didn't the last time it happened. God bless Paul Osam (and handily for Oso, he's now his assistant)
Delighted with how things have turned around. Five weeks ago, if anyone had said Bray would be fifth in five weeks time, they'd have been laughed off the site.
Awful result for Rovers like Sligo's win in Ballybofey.
The only side Rovers have beaten at home are now three points above them..
02/05/2008, 11:33 PM
Youths were awful in Fingal. Looked confident in the first ten minutes, then fell apart. Made Robbie Doyle, in his tights, look world class and Dave Rodgers was like Paul McGrath at the back! Youth tried to hoof the ball to a centre forward that didn't exist and when they hoofed it down the line it invariably went into touch. Depressing night for the 60 or so Youths supporters. Worse than any performance I saw last season. Still, I live in hope.
Didn't the last time it happened. God bless Paul Osam (and handily for Oso, he's now his assistant)
Pats did great that night...it was like they had two keepers at one point there and of course 12 men...Dick O'Hanlon not so much;)
CameramanConka
03/05/2008, 1:32 AM
Yeah, it should be. I know it's been a long time since we dropped points against Harps but I hate the prevalent attitude that we have a right to three points against Harps in every game. That's probably the Donegal coming out in me tho (and I'd say I'm in a minority of 1:o)
Monday is a League Cup game. No points at sake.
03/05/2008, 2:30 AM
Another pen conceded by UCD?! What is that 4/5?
5/5. And not a single one was a penalty. Ridiculous... :mad:
(Though I'd have settled for a point before tonight)
Pats did great that night...it was like they had two keepers at one point there and of course 12 men...Dick O'Hanlon not so much;)
Wow, 10 years and you still can't admit it didn't cross the line, and was saved by the goalkeeper? DIdn't realise it hurt so much. Must remember to bring it up more often so
ForzaForth
03/05/2008, 8:31 AM
Agree with Passinginterest. Robbie Doyle looked good and the tall baldy forward beside him completed more passes than all the Youths put together.
Is the Frank O'Neill mentioned in the Fingal programme as assistant coach the great Hoops player? One of the best I ever saw in the LOI.
03/05/2008, 9:59 PM
Bray go 5th. Form team over the last 5 games. :eek:Joint form team;).
St Pat's 1-0 Cork City
Gary O'Neill, 2 minutes gone
04/05/2008, 6:53 PM
Who's the psycho next to the mic? His team is one up, but he's not happy! :D
04/05/2008, 7:32 PM
Who's the psycho next to the mic? His team is one up, but he's not happy! :D
Really is annoying, you'd think they'd dim that mic or something.
Before tonight, I wasn't aware that if a player jumps at you, you get booked. The eircom league referees continue to educate. Another game, another sending off.
Pats full value for their win tonight but if I have to watch another team putting 8/9/10 behind the ball while we have it I'll crack up.
edit: 2-1 now, maybe there's some hope.
04/05/2008, 7:44 PM
Don't I look silly! :D Doubtcha Johnny, Leeside legend. Why didn't he start?!
edit: Damn it, damn it to hell.
04/05/2008, 7:46 PM
Have to feel a bit sorry for Cork there. Some strike by Fahey.
04/05/2008, 7:46 PM
What a goal. Fahey the destroyer to the rescue!
04/05/2008, 8:12 PM
Fahey's free was deflected, gutting stuff.
Great game to watch, dunno what cork fans on about with hoofs they played well from midfield forward, even your keeper took every kickout short, defence kept making stupid unforced errors but georgie was brilliant.
We played well but sat back again and were punished, got away with that a few times this season but Cork got 2 goals that they earned with 10 men Ryan fupping up twice.
lost another defender with Lynch gone off, we have one left from our best back 4
Fahey was brilliant again even when getting chopped down, our 2nd goal was excellent build up with an LOL finish.
kdjac
04/05/2008, 8:35 PM
Danny Murphy shouldn't have got any card, not to mind a red one. It really messed up things for us, Sullivan was playing well, making up for Kearney being so poor. Flynnie should have started.
Fahey with goal of the month again, even if it was deflected. Pats are a great side, and if they had everyone available they'd run away with it. Some really nice stuff from them at times. Early days but i'd have them down to win the league with what we've seen already.
04/05/2008, 8:50 PM
Danny Murphy shouldn't have got any card, not to mind a red one.Mathews saw it for the first time in the replay and did well to hold his tongue. Shocking stuff and you have to imagine that Murphy got 2 cards tonight based on his reputation.
Fahey with goal of the month again, even if it was deflected.:confused: It was a fairly bog standard drive at the wall until the deflection, Devine would've caught it standing. With the deflection he had to dive from standing further back and despite it being a bit central, couldn't keep it out. Having played in goal, there's nothing worse than that.
Was behind the goal when the free went in, was it a peno? Tackle was fairly close to the line.
kdjac
04/05/2008, 8:57 PM
Was behind the goal when the free went in, was it a peno? Tackle was fairly close to the line.No, it was about 6 yards out. Silly area to concede a free, didn't see who conceded it and in what circumstances but you can't do that.
04/05/2008, 9:17 PM
Thought Pats played pretty well when they wanted but at 1-0 and 2-0 they didn't seem to bothered to get forward that often. They looked very nervy at the back.
Fahey and O'Flynn changed the game really. Cork were never going to score with Behan up front and Fahey completely bossed the game in midfield.
Having no Gamble really showed for Cork, noone was willing to grab the game by the scruff of the neck for them.
I thought both keepers did reasonably well, bar Ryan's howler for Cork's second.
Fahey was brilliant again even when getting chopped down, our 2nd goal was excellent build up with an LOL finish.Does that include the stamp on Hoggie who very nearly kept it out, amazing talent but can be a nasty piece of work.
Gamble was a big loss alright - we would have won if he was playing
lol sure, we should have been 3 or 4 up at HT but we keep sitting back on leads, considering you scored the same amount of goals that we have conceded this season makes yah wonder what score it would ahve been if we had a fit defence.
Only one Cork player pats fans fear and you playing him as a centre back :p
kdjac
04/05/2008, 9:54 PM
Does that include the stamp on Hoggie who very nearly kept it out, amazing talent but can be a nasty piece of work.
I missed that, will have to look at that again.
Does that include the stamp on Hoggie who very nearly kept it out, amazing talent but can be a nasty piece of work.
You and others have been trying to kick him off the park in every game, seriously not in a position to be picking on him when your entire team trying tio take him out for the whole game.
kdjac
04/05/2008, 10:01 PM
You and others have been trying to kick him off the park in every game, seriously not in a position to be picking on him when your entire team trying tio take him out for the whole game.
Are you after a few pints?
kdjaC
04/05/2008, 10:06 PM
Are you after a few pints?
I watching the game now and how the jesus does anyone think you didnt try take Fahey out, its fine your not the 1st this season just dont expect it from Cork. fact he hasnt reacted ....much is the good thing.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/soccerc/2464977811/in/set-72157604884907359/
funny when that fell apart, lost its meaning without the 1st part :D
kdjac
04/05/2008, 10:41 PM
You and others have been trying to kick him off the park in every game, seriously not in a position to be picking on him when your entire team trying tio take him out for the whole game.I can honestly say that I never touched Fahey tonight.
I watched it on the telly FFS and while i'm good I ain't that good :D